Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,632 ✭✭✭timmyntc

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/11/24/world/europe/ukraine-american-missile.html

For those still in denial about the stray AA missiles - it has happened before, and that was with more modern plane launched missiles.

There have been plenty of reports of apartment blocks being hit by stray S300 and NASAM missiles inside Ukraine. Its not an isolated phenomenon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,792 ✭✭✭✭josip

I believe Bakhmut is still fully under Ukrainian control. I though it was supposed to fall weeks ago? Is it still well equipped Wagner troops that are mincing themselves trying to take it. Or are they using mobniks now?

No.

When the first winter war was fought from November 1939 to March 1940, the USSR was not part of the allied side. That only happened when Germany attacked the USSR in June 1941. For its actions in attacking Finland, the USSR was thrown out of the League of Nations.

You think you know Russias corruption and misinformation?

Have you seen the state of the russian army in Ukraine?

You really think the state of their nuclear arsenal is any better?

What does Putin gain from destroying Russia,absolutely nothing,and Russia still have a no first use policy when it comes to use of nuclear weapons,meaning they have to change the law again to be able to use it.

And its not Putin that sends the missiles,its their military command,and i am sure there still people with a conscience left in Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Im fairly sure this was the plan until the Ukrainians put up such heroic and constant resistance to the Russian invasion. There is zero doubt in my mind, that if Ukraine falls, Moldova goes with it then Russia begins its usual plans of causing tensions in bordering countries to create an opportunity for them to 'liberate' those areas. Russia wants to reclaim what they lost during the collapse of the Soviet Union. Now it turns out out, there vaunted and fearsome army was just a paper tiger and that Russias grand imperial ambitions are now in ruins. This kind of reminds me of the Russia-Japanese war of 1905.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

And what did NATO do after?article 4 and nothing more

And we are very thankful that cooler calmer heads prevailed. Article 4 was the right call. Article 5 would have been very dubious. But the day might still come when Russia does something incredibly stupid that causes Article 5 to be invoked.

"You really think the state of their nuclear arsenal is any better?"

It may surprise you to know that the current fleet of Minuteman III missiles in use by the US were first deployed in 1970 and aren't due to be replaced until after 2030.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Gerry T

I wouldn't go so far as to say Ukraine should do what the Russians are doing, but I can understand Gatlings view on this. But you have to factor in that if Russia can do something awful then it will. It's not holding back with anything. If Russia thought it could use Nuclear weapons then it would, so Ukraine can't "attack" Russia as that would give Russia the excuse it needs.

What I think Ukraine should do more of is the guerrilla attacks, don't claim responsibility but covert missions into Russia and take out their power sources, take out Moscow or St Petersburg electrical/oil supplies. Let the wealthy and densely populated areas of Russian feel that pain. Some mysterious fires, unfortunate mistakes or spread a rumor that Russia is going to blow-up its own infrastructure to blame Ukraine, then go ahead and do it for them. Everyone will know what's happening but Russia can't go Nuclear. But there is no way Russians should be sleeping comfortably at night while they destroy Ukraine.

And how many times have they been upgraded?

And last i looked US used 60 billion $ a year to maintain their nuclear weapons.

I wonder if Russia does the same with their corruption

Looking at the state of the russian military in Ukraine i have my doubts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

@timmyntc There have been plenty of reports of apartment blocks being hit by stray S300 and NASAM missiles inside Ukraine. Its not an isolated phenomenon.

Has there been plenty of varifed reports that Nasams and S300s hitting Ukrainian blocks ???

This is the first claim on here by anyone,you took one incident which has had no apparent investigation by experts on the ground that was actually reported and multiplied it to suit an agenda.

strays happens alot when used in populated areas with air defence systems,for sure,then its usually a operator failure,not missile.

But i cant say i have heard of any NASAMS or S300,BUK and TOR systems i have seen and heard of.

Air launched from fighters happens more frequent and then its a missile failure.

So do you really want to give the bear a good kicking and find out what state its in?

If Russia does that,they know the outcome,and espesially now when their military is weaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,792 ✭✭✭✭josip

It's been a while since Sergei's $18m home was posted. I think he's on a $110,000 basic? Must be doing a lot of overtime.

image.png

Oh completely agree. We all know that if Russia did not have nuclear weapons, this war would have been over after 96 hours.

Good post. Yes, well conducted asymmetric warfare can cause real trouble to a bigger opponent.

NASAMs was in the last few days, clearly identifiable fragments of the missile at the scene.

Plenty of pics of S300 damage in the past, claimed to be russian S300s launched into Ukraine. The NY times article shows another instance of an AGM-88 hitting an apartment building in Kramatorsk in september

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Long Range ICBM such as minuteman are kinda of defunct at the minute (no pun intended), they carry the W78 warhead (about 300kt)

A NATO strike would more likely be carried out by a Submarine carrying Trident II missiles with a W88 warhead (about 450kt)

A tactical strike with a smaller warhead could potentially be carried out by an F-22 (Or other stealth fighter with a large enough bay to house an B61)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Beyond the basic stuff we all share as humans some parts of "Russian Culture" can be a very different mindset and not one that's particularly recognisable to other European cultures. Take something like going on demonstration marches. Non government approved ones of course. They're a given. In "the West" we kinda take these for granted, even if we might not agree with the marchers. People march shout slogans carry placards etc and you have police standing by. If it goes south then you can even have riot police to disperse the crowd. Normal stuff. Meanwhile in Russia...

When the vids came out from Russia of people being just picked up off the street for protesting, or even having a blank sheet of paper, or even in one case a woman being interviewed condeming the protests was whisked away, to gauge their reactions/opinions I asked a couple of Russians I knew what was going on, including one who I know disproves of this war. Their take was the same; Russian authorities and the general public feel anti authority marches can be dangerous to society and can easily get out of control, so Russian police take the approach of nipping it in the bud early so they don't have to rely on riot police trying to control a much bigger crowd and failing. Even that fewer people might get hurt. Yep. Their society is deathly afraid of societal chaos of any sort and of course their rulers keep this fear going. This is an even bigger fear for those who lived through the actual chaos of the 90's. There can be very much a vibe of indoor versus outdoor opinions.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

WW2 flak was pretty innacurate and you also run the big risk of all that hot metal flying around and coming back down.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

The socalled Russian bear went from bear to teddy bear in the first two weeks of the war when their super military was exposed.

And i know what state their in,i happened to work in Russia just before the invasion.

And the country itself looks great from Moscow but not outside in the smaller villages around moscow.

Remember soviet union was experts in deception and misinformation,and Russia isnt any better

Potemkin villages

Any links to that?Strange that wasnt all over the news then?

And HARM missiles goes for radars and if a apartment block is in the way of the radar,then it will happen or its being decoyed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So that's a no then other than the NYTimes article concerning a harm missle.

think this was an issue with the German V2 in WW2. The Brits worked out more would die from AA fire than the actual bomb itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

there's talk of using Barrage Balloons to protect key infra from drone strikes. WWI tech, strange but in theory it could potentially work and it would be cheap and easily deployable

Why would it be in the news? We are only now seeing reports of events that happened in september with missiles accidentally hitting civilian targets, it could be next year before this is reported in papers, if an investigation happens on the ground in the first place.

It's pretty clear that NATO has no intention of getting dragged into this. Not without major provocation, which putin won't do. He's not a fool, at least on this subject. Neither are NATO. They give two hoots about his conventional forces, but the old doctrine of MAD is still in play on both sides.

Two examples: The French stated that even if putin were to detonate a nuke in Ukraine they would not retaliate with nukes of their own as it would not be an attack on France. The US have been pretty open in saying that if putin escalated to nukes Russia's conventional forces would be in serious trouble. But no nukes. The missile that landed in Poland killing two Poles another better example. The US were very quick to say nope, looks like a Ukrainian air defence missile went rogue, even when Zelensky was not happy and saying it was definitely Russian and they weren't allowed investigate the site themselves. Zelensky may want NATO to get "official" or naturally get more NATO help coming out of that, but NATO didn't bite. For all the Pro Russian eejits looking for NATO false flags, that missile in Poland was a gift wrapped in a bow for NATO. If they wanted to take it. Clearly they didn't.

NATO are prefectly happy with supplying intel and weapons to Ukraine. It's bleeding Russia out without having to ramp things up, go in, inevitably lose NATO personnel(unlike Russia this matters) and possibly escalate to nukes. It's also an absolute bargain costwise, even earns money for the arms industry and is a testing ground and major advertising for future sales. Feck all will be buying Russian militay kit after this, that's for sure. NATO 1, Russia 0.

Yeah, but I still wouldn't want to test the state of their nukes though. According to armscontrol.org (2020 figures) Russia has 320 land based missiles with 1180 warheads. Say only 30% of them worked, thats still about 350 warheads hitting their targets. The resulting destruction would be off the scale.