Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ploughing 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Went yesterday and brought one of the kids for their first time. Junction 17 was a mess with big signs to say take it and then a big queue for it along the hard shoulder of the motorway and when we got there 2 guards waving lads on down the road - no sign then at junction 16 even if it was the obvious one to take next! Left early so no issue coming home with traffic.

Enjoyed some bits of it. I'm looking into getting a few bits for the farm and alternative fertilizing options so there was a good selection there and had a few good chats. The livestock area was very disappointing with so few breeds - really disappointing. The likes of McHale and major still had a big presence but a lot others missing. The top half of the show was just a disaster from a crowds point of view. Regular bottlenecks and the queues for the likes of O'Neills, Aldi, RTE, McKeevers etc were ridiculous. It's definitely losing it's 'soul' - and probably had a long time ago. Might go once or twice more to give the younger kids who haven't been one visit each but will be Tullamore from now on. It's a real pity as I used to love it but came away yesterday afternoon really disappointed with the direction it's taken. Lack of toilets in the busy areas was a serious let down as well - some people queueing 30 mins and more - although there were more then at the back of the O'Neills tent and no queues.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭davidk1394

• Registered Users Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Don't want to come across as "old man yells at crowd" but have to agree with this. This year was my first ploughing in roughly 10 years, and I thought that there was definitely a noticeable change in demographics - to the detriment of the event I would say. Too many secondary school students, and more worryingly, stands aimed at them. I know they add something (carnival atmosphere?) to the event, but too many cooks spoil the broth and all that. Maybe the event would be better served by having one day dedicated to secondary school tours, and the remaining days for the regulars.

Also agree with the general sentiment on here that the show was poor enough quality overall. Especially for what once-was/should be the target audience - farmers. And I think that's the issue. In trying to be all things to all people, the ploughing has gone from a farmer-oriented event, to a celebration of rural life, to what it is now - a commercial sell-out. Less cattle, less machinery, and more commercial stalls from behemoths like Aldi, RTE, and political parties. Which can all be visited for the princely sum of €25. It will be another 10 years before I'm there I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Jimbo789

I went yesterday. I have gone around once every 8-10 years. Weather was good and no issue with traffic. Like most people have said, the Tullamore show is better from the farmers perspective.

I might go again in another 8-10 years, the only thing that might persuade me to go sooner would be if there was an over 18s day with no children allowed so it would be much easier to walk around.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭DBK1

I went yesterday as I had 3 items I wanted to see with the intention of buying.

Got there at 11, what would normally be an hours drive from here took about an hour and 10 minutes, the same on the way home after leaving it at 6.30pm. Definitely could have no complaints about the traffic.

The food is always going to be overpriced at the ploughing but I don’t mind that as it’s to be expected. Although I went to one of the rumbles “sit down” restaurants at half 3, only a handful in the queue, loads of spare seating and a good dinner for €15. A choice of beef, chicken and a few other items. Potatoes and veg with them. I thought that was great value considering it was €12.50 for a burger and chips at the takeaway tents and the food was good quality too.

The exhibitors area was a disaster. For once it was well laid out with all similar items grouped together, but there was one end up near the funfair and it was just jammed solid. They had all the stalls that kids would be interested in grouped together, Grassmen, O’Neills, Aldi, TikTok, Hurley makers, etc and it was mayhem with 1000’s queueing in the walkways to get into them all. We were parked in car park 1 and the entrance from there was in that corner and it was some job trying to get through all of that crowd to the remaining stalls. Although once you got through that corner the rest of the walkways were ok so maybe it was a good thing to keep all that stuff up in one corner.

The machinery and livestock tents were very disappointing. From talking to people I know that were on stands the price hikes for the space have been crazy so it’s not a bit surprising to see so many big names gone. Condells in Portlaoise are only a stones throw from there and had no stand at it with the Massey tractors so that tells you enough. Atkins normally have one of the best stands with Fendt and Bredal and this is the first time they weren’t there. McHales, Major, Malone, Samco and Abbey had the most impressive stands from what I remember. I think all of the machinery and livestock exhibitors should get together and tell the NPA they’re all pulling out together if they don’t do something about the setup and pricing.

The 3 items I wanted to see were a silage rake, a generator and a gps for one of the tractors. I think Malone, McHales and the JF centre were the only stands with rakes there, none of the more common manufacturers. The few stalls selling generators were all crazy busy so I just got brochures and will contact them again. I saw no one there with gps systems so that was a dead duck too!

A sure sign of the way it has changed into a show for tat rather than agriculture when you can’t even view what would be very common agricultural items at it any more. 10 years ago I’d have been able to do a deal on all of them items I wanted there on the day, you can’t even see them there any more now.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Was that the junction with 3 guards but one was jumping up and down like a child not getting his way swinging both arms. We actually commented he would be fun to work with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭MfMan

Toilet blocks down at the end of the vintage display area tend to be quiet and no queues either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Tileman

I think tullamore needs to go to two day event. Much nicer aimed at farmers rather than anything associated with rural Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭MfMan

Anyone know the results of international classes from yesterday, or have they been announced? Not carried on the NPA website as yet. A small crowd had gathered around Eamon Treacy yesterday as he completed his plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No you’re right I despise the teen mobs that have become a feature of it. They get in the way and cause mayhem. I can only imagine what they are like today with the wet day. 20 years ago we didn’t go, it wasn’t the done thing and there’s no way the school would have approved of bus loads taking a day off for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,069 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I didn't go this year and it sounds like I missed nothing.

Watching Agriland Live here and Alice Doyle from IFA was just speaking.

Have to say every time I hear her speak, I'm in awe of her. A real intelligent and competent speaker.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,687 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've been to Tullamore but found I planked myself at the Limousin Ring and didn't move for the day. I don't think I got to see any machinery. Going to the ploughing has always been a tradition for a lot of country folk. Sad that they messed it up with exorbitant stand prices.

Imagine the biggest farming event of the year and the largest machinery manufacturers and cattle breed societies not being there.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

That was it!

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭farmerphil135

We got in there at 7:40 Tuesday morning and had 3/4 of it seen by 10:30 including pricing a few bits and stopping for pictures. I reckon only for we were to be at Herdwatch from 12 we’d of had it all seen and done, dinner ate and ready for home by 2. Far cry from what it used to be like where you’d hardly see it in the day.

if they don’t cut stand prices it’ll dwindle into a small show in years to come

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Is the size of the thing noticeably reduced?

I get the impression that apart from the State stands, media and the likes of Oneills selling tat you can buy in any sports shop or online there’s not a lot to see this year?

I remember good stuff like the Land Rover off-road area or Husqvarna chainsaws- pure marketing of course but really good displays and entertaining. Sounds like there’s nothing like that now

• Registered Users Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭tanko

Two days isn’t practical for the livestock exhibitors tho, they don’t go to the ploughing because they’re stuck there for three days.

I'll take a punt on which stand and say our young lad had a great time moving the robotic lamp in the opposite corner of that stand

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭DBK1

I’m just after being travelling around the Tullamore bypass and there’s a lot of very dirty cars coming from the Portlaoise road. Judging by some of them where all toy can see of the windscreen is the section cleaned by the wipers I’d say the car parks are great fun today!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

It's a tradition in my house. The excitement of looking forward to going to the ploughing and the day out weeks in advance is almost better than being there itself I think.

Have to laugh at the young lads of 15 or 16 walking around with hats they bought that had the cannabis plant design on it.

Less laughing at kids of 9 or 10 with hates saying TikTok on them. Sad that young kids who technically aren't even allowed to have accounts are actively wanting gear with a social media sites name on it.

Prams and buggies shouldn't be allowed either. People taking up too much space with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Have we reached 'Peak Ploughing'? Yesterday felt like it. Full of TY students and college kids which is fair enough but it does change the feel of the day. Spoke to on 75 year old ploughing veteran competitor who got landed into a bin by a group of lads in blue Aldi cowboy hats - classy lads. Plenty of straw hats and spare tyres wandering about.

Livestock display was non-existent except for a few Angus runners. An AI company rep told me that the companies had agreed to sign up for one combined marquee which NPA didn't allow so they all gave it a miss. No new tech or machinery worth seeing either. Expected things like the Agriland tent to be full but they had very little going on. Big push from left wing and fringe parties for the farmer vote- they will get it up north and west.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,477 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Back home in Cavan now.

we were in the parking at 8:45, straight run in, light traffic at that time so hard to judge how the set up was.

crossed a large stubble field, aluminium track half way, two cars in front of us bogged down as soon as we left it, one a silly lowered bora with a big back pipe and the bumper pulled off it, we did laugh. Very sticky coming out, good few stuck cars and cans in our corner but they were driving into a wet hollow like lemmings rather than looking at the field and taking to the high ground.

disappointed less stock on show.

down the funfair end was total rubbish, tat stalls and young kids hanging about. But in general I’d say the large groups of teenagers were less and possibly better behaved than in the past,

rain always woefull when we arrived and it kept the crowd small, we got to the few stands we wanted and there was plenty of time to talk to reps, made our purchase. Spoke to department rep about ACRES scheme which was very helpful, she wasn’t that confident about uptake among intensive farmers, but agreed that not all Tier2 farmers would ever get in. Spoke to her about plan carrying over to use in second year and she said there would need to be an additional payment to the advisor no matter what but that would be up for negotiation with them.

young lass had a great day. Mrs came and hadn’t been in 25years.

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭farmertipp

I think wheeling out the old lady every year isn't the type of image we want . also I believe the personal enrichment of the few and the greed involved will finish it off unfortunately.

it's a pity the industry doesn't come together and organise an alternative that exhibitors could afford in a good location that would be more focused. hold it around the 10th of September.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

There’s probably an opportunity for a more farmer-focused, smaller event alright. Maybe Punchestown, which seems to host a few events like this already.

Let the ploughing continue to be a media circus for everyone else who sells to farmers.

And you’re right, it’s a bit leprechaun-ie to wheel out the elderly lady every year to sing her song. It lets the city folk look down on the simple oul country people and our culchie accents

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

especially when you know there's nothing simple about the people who own that show

• Registered Users Posts: 11,069 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There's a few saying this end of the country they're getting more enjoyment from Tullow, Tinahealy, Bannow and Iverk shows than this years event.

Haven't gone to any of those this year either.

But thank the committees they're still going ..strong.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I saw the old lady being driven around the site in a big lump of a top of the range Mercedes jeep today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Cran

Was talking to a large exhibitor last week, said when turned up on site they had 30metre frontage instead of 23 they’d booked. Obviously a tactic to cover up the gaps in the show, he did also say Royal Highland was same this year though load of large machinery missing

• Registered Users Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

did anyone see tv3 news a few mins ago

...Anna May getting her retaliation in first, talking about how much it costs to put on the ploughing and all the effort and work that goes into it....I was there yesterday and like a lot of the previous comments I couldn’t but be disappointed with the low turnout from both the cattle associations and also the machinery dealers. I heard from good sources that the charges this year were bordering on price gouging (maybe to make up a few quid after the pandemic??) and a lot of dealers said...thanks but no thanks.

The machinery dealers are gone to the specialist events now.

Ploughing has turned more into a secondary school tour type of event and the amount of hawkers selling rubbish was shocking altogether. Or the card trick lads FFS like.

Add to this the rip off prices for Tae and coffee not to even talk about food.

The ploughing has got progressively less enjoyable over the years. It’s sad but it was a victim of its own success and greed really.

if they want It to survive long term they would identify the shortcomings and rectify them pronto so that it doesn't slip any further but I doubt they will

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭youllbemine

Just back from the ploughing now. Drifted in at 1:30, missed the traffic and the rain thankfully. Thought the show was lacking in livestock and demonstrations. But enjoyed Teagasc, Organic Village and Innovation Centre stands. Left around 6pm, very light traffic. Went down the fun fair end and Christ it was some kip, all the crap clothes stands and tat being sold was incredible. Don't remember it being that bad last time I was there in 2015. I remember a proper robotic demonstration from Lely with cows there for the three days, and other demonstrations aswell. Was some big names missing today for sure. As said on here, sounds like they're putting the hand in for the fees.