Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ploughing 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭laoisgem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭valtra2

Wow. The begrudgary on here amazes me. I thought it was great. But then some people can never be pleased. You talk about 25 euro been a lot. How much is it to get in to coke Park for a match or even a concert. You also bitch about the organisers but I don't see anyone else organising a 3 day event like that with that much people attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭roosterman71

No begrudgary here. There's criticisms of the event. Proper criticisms too. Comparing the ploughing with Croke Park matches is comparing apples and wet farts. Compare the ploughing to Tullamore, or any other farm related show. Bigger != better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭kk.man

I heard that the 'volunteers' are members of the country wide NPA and the just get fed and are expected to turn up.

Thought 25e was grand given the three kids got in free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Centrepassage

The state of the limerick/south west car park was disgrace yesterday. No bark or mulch spread when the place turned into a mud bath. Lot of cars damaged being toed through it. Then the lads toeing them out were stood down and stopped pulling them with the gators and tractors. The stands that once made it what it is today were priced out of it by the organisers. No charolais or limousines there but hey ming flanigan had a fine marquee. '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭memorystick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The company behind the National Ploughing Championship taking place this week in Co. Laois has €11 million cash on its balance sheet – which nobody owns!

NPAI also received €75,000 in government grants last year and availed of €80,000 in wage subsidies in the financial year to January 2022.

🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

That's the ''Ploughing'' in bad weather I'm afraid, you need to familiarise yourself with the towing point on your car then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Did Ming give you a good pull off his spliff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I was in Ming's tent. Fecking huge. Only free samples were, free tea and coffee .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭JoeCasey

More than 10 years since I was at the ploughing. I seem to remember special offers and bargains.

I saw nothing cheap this time. Don't know why I would buy at the ploughing when the local dealer has the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭naughtyboy

I was there Wednesday , I am a regular goer to the ploughing

The amount of drunk and drugged school Kids around was a disgrace.

This bullsh1t of schools sending bus loads to it has to be ended by the organisers

This should be a family event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,922 ✭✭✭✭road_high

This is a mad take- while “some” staff might genuinely enjoy it I can speak from experience and say a LOT hate having to attend for work having to deal with the public, the traffic, the weather, the standing on a stand for hours on end, crap food, horrible toilets etc etc. I work in an industry supplying technically directly into agronomy and we wouldn’t touch the ploughing with a barge pole. An absolute nightmare and I’d actively avoid any role where attendance would be part of the work calendar

No problem with farmers kids or those with a genuine interest but the roving gangs of pissed off their heads scumbags has reached ridiculous levels. Needs to be banned at school level or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Base price

After reading so many negative comments about this year’s ploughing championships I’m glad we didn’t go. We were going to go either Tues or Wed but we got delayed drawing the turf home.

I didn’t go this year but usually do- as the saying goes “ya missed nothing”!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭naughtyboy

I agree

I am not a farmer but raised on one and have 2 brothers and 2 sisters farming and I know lots of farmer

All were not impressed by this year

Going by the ''ploughing'', it would seem that most of the Irish are dirty f....rs that never learnt how to use a toilet. I'm sure there was a slatted shed in the farmyard that'd be good enough for them to go on.

OH was responsible years ago for organising a locked toilet for the sheep tunnel so we could have a clean toilet to use......it was in absolute sh... at the end of the first day as the guys responsible for looking after teh toilets were locked out too.

Two years ago I was at a high class wedding in England . the reception was at the brides house in a marquee, I can assure you that a slatted shed would've been good enough there too

Post edited by wrangler on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Is it any wonder big trade stand are not bothering when you consider the changing demographic.

How long before there is a TikTok stand with some z list Irish celebrity that is famous for either:

1) walking around in tight cloths 2) Having a funny smile, 3) having a catchy saying in staged videos.

I heard the bar was 8 people deep with teenagers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

There was actually a TikTok stand there this year! Walked past it. There was a line of kids waiting to get into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Says it all. Tik tok rubbish but it’s very popular with the young farming demographic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭tractorporn

This times 1000. I gave four days last week on site for work and they are the most universally hated few days of the year, by all our staff, for all the points above. People seem to think its some glamorous jolly, but it's days away from your family, listening to people trying to extract as much free crap as they can off ya, with crap food, long days, f*ck all sleep and f*ck all thanks. The 3 years of covid were a complete blessing and the sooner it dies the death that is coming the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I thought all the young people I saw were very well behaved on the day. I can't see why everyone is so negative towards them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭DBK1

As someone who spent 15 years on a stand at it I couldn’t agree more as well. I’ve yet to meet anyone on a stand that enjoys being there. Your description on sleep, food etc. sums it up perfectly.

I used to describe it as the 3 hardest days work you’d do all year but you don’t do an ounce of work all day! Thank God I haven’t had to be there “working” for a good few years now and I don’t miss it one bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭9935452

I was in the limerick/ south west car park on the last day. It was swimming but didnt have any problems getting out.

The car park was done badly. All down hill going into it so up hill on the way out.

Then half the problem witb peole getting stuck was when one car stopped , everyone in the line stopped,nobody was able to go forward or back.

The other half is people not watching where they are driving, not aiming for the better ground and going around with the foot to the floor not aallowing the car to get grip

It’s not an Irish only phenomenon, hate this usual Irish bashing rubbish.

btw you contradicted yourself in that post if you have same experience in England

It seems that portaloos at electric picnic had the walls and roofs daubed with excrement too.

Thankfully so far I've avoided the old age bowel /bladder problems so I seldom have to use public toilets in places like the ploughing but God help anyone that does

He was handing out seeds. I was told it was cabbage but you never know 😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Odelay