Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart Price Tracker

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 13,291 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

So much for softening prices.

Thank God for the lad selling them though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

There's some fair touches through that especially for sub 500kg stock. The 850kg heifer @ €2260 looked to be the only value imo (that's coming from someone who doesn't kill cattle so could be wrong).

Apart from the cow trade I don't think that beef/forward store cattle softened that much in the marts around here recently. I sold bullocks a month ago for a relation and had been led to believe that the bullock trade was well back at the time. The first bullock he had was a spring 20 born CHx. He would have been a right one only he got a horrid doing with angleberries and didn't grow or thrive right until this summer. He weighed 590kg (he was a little muscly lad and I thought he'd be nearer 650kg, easy known there was no real power in him) at €1880. I couldn't believe it tbh, a total rob imo and I wouldn't like to be killing him based on past performance.

The rest were HEx runners he bought off a dairy man locally. They were autumn 20 born and did ok but nothing exceptional thrive wise. They were from 500-550kg and made between €1200-€1300.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,188 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Depending on how empty the heifer was she could have made a bit more in the factory. However hard to see any margin in the rest of the cattle sold there

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 10,697 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just had a quick look at the Ennis weanling sale there now. First ones I saw, 380kg Jan & Feb 2022 - €1280. Another 460kg €1360 Jan 2022. All nice golden char.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

Some unbelievable calves through it. There was calves went through and no fuss was made about them that would win rakes of show n sales down here. Its some county for stock. I always say its the cheapest mart in ireland for weanling because they'll always pull home better than they look up there.

Some from New Ross last Saturday and a few from their first weanling sale on Monday evening. I watched a bit of it online Monday and most of the weanlings were Autumn 2021 born. All making big money anyway

https://www.facebook.com/141016896079994/posts/pfbid02y27ReUnurnkjWcq6aAnGhBgt5hyLfXWQjS3UfykcUsZAAGf9si9om7Dq2MnYtdYml/?d=n

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Katie 2018

Have pbr limousine bull 7 year old thinking of moving on.round 850 900kg.any idea what he make through the ring.still suitable for breeding but I'd say it be factory he will end up in

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@Katie 2018 any of them strong breeding bulls I have seen sold lately are making between €1.80 - €2 /kg in the Mart. They are making €3 - €3.35 / kg in the factory, if there is any cover on him he should kill 60 - 62%

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Katie 2018

He has been getting no feeding as he still running with cows.he in good nick with the good year at grass

He is probably lean enough so..and would probably take a fair bit of meal to get him into a fat score 2= in the factory. You could be look at €300 over then next 6 weeks in a shed & there is no guarantee of getting it all back so might be as well let off in the Mart to lads who specialise in feeding lads like him and know where to get top prices.

He don't look that big until you see yer man standing in the background.

865kilos @€2800  ... 3.24/kg

Facebook

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

There was a bull for sale in Carnaross two weeks ago, he was 1,450 kgs, he was a serious height and length, you could see him from anywhere in the yard towering over all the other cattle in it and there was was a good few between 800 kgs and 1,000 kgs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

A big camel of a beast, he didn't weigh that well for the size of him although he's mostly legs going by the video. He'd be a fair one this time next year!!! It looked a right touch for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

He made something along with €2,700, can't just exactly remember but I know he didn't make €2/kg.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Anyone any idea what good quality calved autumn calvers are making? I’m normally spring calving but have 3 this autumn and was thinking of selling them.

1st and 2nd calvers AI bred. In calf to AI ch, lm & BB. Average replacement index 125

2 sim x ch, 1 lm. 1 calved, other two due in next week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

Look at gortatlea tonight. Big suckler sale on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Brought a heifer out of there today...he badly needs to up the game there. Penning was scandalous I appreciate he's getting huge volumes of stock but either he caps it or the dept should step in

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

i saw a 4month old calf weighing over 400kg sold out west during the week… how do they get away with it

You’d see the odd one like that in the Journal too at times. I’d be wondering the same: does anyone in DAFM care that calves are being registered not just a week wrong but months wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭dzer2

At least they are registered lad close to us only tags when he tests. All.his cows calf in the first 2 weeks of September.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,777 ✭✭✭amacca

😂🤣......impressively tight calving period.

Great to see Abbeyfeale mart open today good turnout of stock and place was packed with people hopefully it'll stay open for the autumn

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭somewhat disappointed

I was talking to a man yesterday who said he is getting €350 along with the weight for January and February born Friesian bull calves. He says some of these calves will weigh 300 kgs. I know he gave them a good do but these figures seem unrealistic to me. He has 90 of these calves which he bought for €30 each. He must have kept meal tipped in front of them 24 hours a day. He says the buyer has viewed these calves on the Farm and agreed these prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭kk.man

It's hard to believe 350 with the kg. They did some thrive for 30e calves. Even if they did that good with the price of fertilizer, milk replacer and meal he wouldn't be making a pot of money. It be very hard to have 90 runners weighing that well together.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭somewhat disappointed

I don't know that is what he told me he said next year he is going to increase numbers it ain't my lie but it seems totally unrealistic. To me Friesians always weigh light for comparative size. He says he is going to eliminate heavier cattle from his Farm and concentrate on Friesian Bull and Fodder Sales.

Closed since the springtime has only being selling calves for a good few years opening only really from Feb to May today they had a mix of everything from calves to cull cows