If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

One teacher per classroom obviously! Even 2 or 3 new extra pupils can have a huge impact on a class, especially if there is a language barrier.

Also, one additional teacher in a school will only benefit one class level at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

Where do i sign up to free hotel room, 3 meals free a day, free gp card, free college place plus 200 odd euro a week allowance to live on.

Il save a few quid, no electric, heating or tv bills too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I can propose teaching Arabic in primary school, don’t mean it’s happening, we’ve been flexed over a barrel for xx, so I think we are not for anymore flexing. The country has a sore back it’s been bent over so badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

So that's still a no.

Yes, I posted quotes, no idea what the other wild unsubstantiated claims are, but none of them were by me. Are you claiming I made up the Telegram posts? They are there for you to see yourself.

Why don't you tell her how easy it is to survive on nothing here and save 200 quid a week on dole.

First of all, it's not just a €200 a week dole, is it? You are leaving out the very important, no mortgage or rent. Free food. No bills, electricity, gas etc..

If she could gain Ukrainian citizenship, and claim refuge in her families home with her children, and her husband getting €400 a week to house them, she would get around €275 a week if she has 3 kids, but they would still have bills. Electricity, Gas, Food, Internet, Phone etc.

I really don't get what you don't understand. When they arrive they have no bills, no rent, no mortgage, no expenses. They are getting more per week than many over there earn per month.

You can buy a house in Odessa for less than €800. They can send up to 20KG free back to Ukraine with An Post. We already know they can request all kinds of stuff in the groups. Furniture, clothes, furnishings. etc.

Tell me again how that is not an incentive for them to do nothing. Tell me how that compares to living here with rent or a mortgage and bills on €200 a week. I literally pointed out the main difference three times on this post. Yet wouldn't be surprised at all to still see you avoid those points to mention dole for a few weeks again.

By the way, it is not lost on me that you are trying to keep the conversation centered on the dole and cost of living here, or xenophobia etc. Or that you have not expressed any real views in any capacity. Yet won't discuss outside that area nevermind acknowledge that we can't do it.

You can dress up your views however you like. The fact remains we are obligated to accommodate these people. No matter how many facebook posts or telegram groups you find to confirm your views, they don't matter. We have to get on with it and you have to accept it.

I don't have to, nor have I tried to dress up my views. I have stuck to my opinion all along, except maybe from early on, when I had no issue with them coming here, until it became apparent it was not possible without completely f*cking up this country.

I most certainly do not have to accept it. Where do you think we are? North Korea? Somebody decides something and we have to accept it? More and more people are becoming aware of this mess by the day. While many papers are slowly leaking bits here and there, they aren't doing a good job of giving people the broader picture. With enough people and the right people ('confirming my views'??) - agreeing with me and others and becoming more aware of the situation, it does of course matter, and it can of course make a difference.

A huge part of me thinks the government and EU already know this, they are just chancing their arms seeing how much they can get away with, Otherwise is makes no sense. Because Ukraine is not in as much danger as they would have us believe and the repetitive nonsense about doing our bit and think of the war babies etc.. is just playing on people for their benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,160 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I understand all that, but it’s just the way it sounded the first time like you were suggesting 333 Ukrainians were going to be attending the school with one teacher. I just thought “hang on a sec, that’s not right?” 😳

Population of 2,000 with 300 people added to it and a single primary school with a capacity for 350 pupils though? I know it’s only one school, and I know what you mean about the logistics and stuff, but it’s not exactly… I dunno, mathematically impossible?

I dunno, it’s not exactly population explosion territory that suggests the school wouldn’t be able to cope with the numbers? Longford on the other hand, Jesus they must only have to breathe on each other for that kind of a population explosion 😂

https://www.strathamnh.org/longford-wrongly-advised-to-reduce-population-forecasts/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭aziz

A few thousand?

40 thousand and counting,and plenty more to come

get a grip

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Right, five and a half months since the first arrivals and that’s probably about closer to 50,000 now…

so I’d imagine that another around 35,000 between now and the new year.

i wonder, will the government need to cancel the Christmas social welfare bonus… id say it’s under threat… it would be expected to be given to the Ukrainians too…

so that could be an extra roughly 16 million of our taxes thrown at them…think what good that could do put into public transport, healthcare, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

I'd like to PM you about this but we are both private profile now (in my case cos folks who themselves are private profile keep trying to dig into my personal details and attack me , sadly this the way it is going).

Post edited by maninasia on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭slay55

They are getting more than plenty from the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,990 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Ben should consider standing for election.....Oh hang on, that didn't go well! He has some neck that fella.

Do you remember when all this kicked off in late February. We saw on our screens the flight of people from their bombed out homes with nothing but the clothes on their back. And shortly after evidence of the torture, rapes,and murder of civilians. And do you remember how we said this is horrible we must help in any way we can even if it means making sacrifices. Well your post sums up what I've said for years, that is that many of us don't really give a **** about others. Putin and his likes will always continue their slaughter while there are knobs out there who are more concerned about their welfare bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

Work for the Govt as im a civil servant in a large dept actually not that its any of your business.

I also play gaa, have a kid and girlfriend (i know not married shame)

Rented and paid my own way since i was 18 and went to college. Wasbin australia for 18 months, USA for few pound for a few summers (good old GAA)

Anything else you would want to know.

Going by your posting history if i said what i think you are id be banned

You're doing well, in a job for life with all the perks that civil servants get and you begrudge giving a dig out to those fleeing their homes in Ukraine ! If I said what I think it wouldn't be banned I'd be ,I'd probably get jail.

Did I logically say that? I read an article that the school's population had increased by 10% and that was in March. What is the percentage going to be now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,900 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My folks are both retired, live in a fairly large home - which they keep very well - and wanted to help with the refugee crisis. They signed up with the Red Cross, got their Garda vetting - they've never had any trouble with the law - and did an interview. They offered two bedrooms with double beds for anyone in need.

Since then they've had multiple people ask them the same questions about what size the rooms were, the usual stuff. They've been contacted by the Red Cross, the IOM, the county council and have now been passed on to the Peter McVerry Trust. The guy from the council seemed more concerned with planning permission than refugees. Almost five months have passed and the rooms are sitting unoccupied.

They did get a call saying there was a family of three looking for something. They were asked if one of the bathrooms would be made exclusively available to the family, the response being that the house had two shared bathrooms. The family refused, possibly because they wanted an en suite.

With so much duplication of effort, it's not surprising so many are going to end up in tents and other emergency accommodation. Granted it's only one anecdotal account, but the refugees getting too picky isn't going to help either.

At this stage, I can see them withdrawing the offer so they can go on holiday and also free up the rooms for visitors. I wonder how many other offers have been withdrawn because the effort to organise everything has been so thoroughly messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭Field east

By way of example , I find Suckit’s take on the Ukr refugee issue extremely disappointing t- to put it very mildly. One would swear that either there is really no war going on - dust a bit of a skirmish between two teenagers - or if there is a war that it is going on in a very small corner of Ukr and the rest is in absolutly NO danger. So those Ukr coming to Irl are ALL milking the system. It’s of interest how many of the posts - the vast majority - are ‘giving out’ about the Ukr refugees eg driving around in big cars, putting pressure on all of our services, are pedophiles, robbers, taking our jobs, work in the black market, want to live in groups with other Ukr, etc, etc, etc, etc

if the international media is to believed, there is a very serious and very intensive war going on, no war rules are being adhered to, absolutly no place is safe, built up towns , villages , farm buildings, cities , service utilities and infrastructure are being completely razed to the ground, etc, etc, etc. and I get the impression that the majority of boardies on here think that your typical refugee from Ukr have come to Ireland FOR THE CRACK.

put yourself into the shoes of your typical UKr living in Ukr for one week with relatives, friends and contacts living throughout the country and then tell me what you would do including where would you go. Stay where you are and continue on as normal with my children, wife, granny and grand dad? Build a bunker or repair your old one ? Go to a ‘safer place ‘ and hire a farm manager or equivalent to keep the business going? And OF COURSE you are certain what parts of U kr PUTIN is NOT GOING TO BOMB.

my overall take on the refugee issue is that your typical Ukr who have left Ukr because of the war and those remaining are experience severe suffering - both physical , financial and mental and we, in principal, should share this suffering in other ways - accept that aspects of our lives will be disturbed a bit - due to higher prices, pressure on services, etc

we, in Ireland, do not know how lucky we are with our democracy, stable governments since independence, a very manageable climate re floods, drought, very fertile soil, a relatively. Safe place to live in , good social welfare supports. Go live somewhere else in a few other countries and I guarantee to you that , in most cases, you will be glad to come back and continue living inIreland - so I think that we can afford to share our ‘luck’ with others that are less fortunate and feel a little pain while doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,819 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So you are doing excellent.

Yet you are jealous of literal refugees.

That's beyond sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,160 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ahh here, the 10% increase meant the school population which did stand at 250, would be increasing by 25.

The point is that you didn’t say how many people among the 333 were primary school age children. They’re increasing the current population of 2,000 people by 333, in an area where the primary school has a capacity for 350 pupils following expansion before reopening in September.

@[Deleted User] picked it up the same way I did, so at least now I know it wasn’t just me 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭timmyntc

oh my god a LITERAL refugee, imagine being jealous of a literal refugee.

No mention of the fact that said refugees are put up in free accommodation, free medical cards, priority school places, spending money etc etc.

The current situation with ukrainians in this country makes a mockery of the word ''refugee''. It's beyond sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

On Newstalks hard shoulder last night Ciaran Cuddihy had on a woman called Ruth who will have to be out of her rented house in Galway in a couple of weeks and can't find anywhere to rent in Galway as there are so few available and those that are available get quickly snapped up. Shes desperately looking for somewhere for her and her two teenage children but is getting no support. I tweeted the show making the comparison with newly arrived Ukranians who have support services available as soon as they arrive. Naturally my tweet was deleted. The interview was bizarre in that there was no linking of the lack of available accommodation with the fact that in the space of a few months we have 50,000 new arrivals being housed by the government.

oh my god a LITERAL refugee, imagine being jealous of a literal refugee.

It's beyond weird degeneracy.

Imagine being so unhappy and bitter in yourself you are jealous of someone whose life has been ripped apart.

Was she willing to live in a tent with her kids, disused sports hall, community centre?

Quite a few refugees here have come from West Ukraine that has no war ongoing in it - were their lives "ripped apart" too?

What about the couple who flew over here from Miami, were their lives ripped apart?

Oh right back to Kremlin talking points, if you are not being actively bombed or raped there is no war.

Get up the yard.

So the Ukrainians who moved here from Miami were all a kremlin propaganda piece? Thats why they were on Irish radio and all? 🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

There was a lady who lived on the border with Moldova (the complete opposite side of the conflict) in the west of Ukraine who left her family ,husband and business to travel to Ireland which is the furthest west country in Europe!

No you are.

But could you give some context to this Miami Couple?

They left Florida to live in a crammed hotel / camp site in Ireland.

Take it from there.

Actually they were looking for own door accommodation, dont forget many Ukrainians were offered spare rooms or even spare homes. Its not all "crammed" hotels or camp sites, camp sites in particular are the vast minority so very disingenuous of you to try and paint them as being the norm.

Then again, you were the poster who claimed there was no covid shutdown in construction because "i went for a walk and the sites round me still had people on them"! 🤣😂 A real paragon of integrity boggles