If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭aziz

Can’t believe that he wasn’t thrown out the door by his own party and told “feck off ya eegit,yer starting to make the Healy raes look intelligent “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The only "counterargument" I've seen from you (and others with the same view) is emotive guff about "doing our part" and nonsensical inferences about begrudgery and how we're all big xenophobic racists if we don't agree with supporting these poor "refugees"/economic migrants, and completely ignoring or dismissing the entirely reasonable points put to you and others in this thread.

Let me be very clear...

Charity is only of use to anyone if it's sustainable, planned, and has an endgame outcome for those receiving it - thus far we have seen none of this in regards to the current free for all around our Ukranian response.

We absolutely HAVE seen a worsening of the situation for the Ukranians who have arrived here in the last few months, and knock on negative effects for the same services that the natives and EU citizens here rely on, depend on, and are entitled to (through virtue of birth, citizenship and/or tax paying contributions) expect to be able to avail of when they need them. This is not in dispute. It's been covered extensively in the media as this has progressed.

We have also seen a rise in concern among those same natives and citizens regarding the numbers arriving, the supports being offered, and the lack of an upper limit given the impact this response is already having. This again is not in dispute. The recent IT poll result shows that a majority favour better controls and limits being established - for the benefit of not just them, but the new arrivals themselves.

It is also not begrudgery, xenophobia, racism or any other such term to have and express these concerns, or to be more concerned about the longer term impact of these measures on our country and its ability to provide for and support its citizens.

It is not begrudgery or whatever to be concerned about what this will mean in terms of being able to access essential supports such as school places, college accommodation, GP access, social housing or housing in general, or any other core service that people rely on.

It is not wrong for natives and citizens to be concerned about the impact of these things on themselves and their families.

It is not wrong to ask what the impact of large influxes of people with no link to our country or culture beyond financial dependency will be on particularly smaller rural communities, now and in the future.

The nonsensical notion that people we are not even doing basic checks on will all be an asset to their new environments is exactly that - nonsense. The truth is that we don't know who we're welcoming into our localities and in some cases, homes. Some will indeed be an asset absolutely, but many will not for a variety of reasons, and it'll be those communities who will be expected to deal with the fallout.

It is not wrong to question what agenda the Government is following here given the clear and substantially negative impact these policies are having - both to the new arrivals themselves, and to the rest of us.

It is not wrong to be more concerned about all of these things over and above virtue signalling, emotional blackmail and attacks towards anyone who questions any of this.

Simply put... And again I will be very clear...

Charity begins at home. We have more than enough significant and long standing problems right here that successive Governments have failed to address and indeed claimed that they couldn't do so quickly.

We have absolutely every right to question why then such extraordinary efforts have been made to respond to this issue by Government, especially as these efforts are at the cost - directly and indirectly - to the citizens and taxpayers of this country .

We are not responsible for and have no stake in this conflict between Russia and a non-EU nation beyond the aforementioned charitable contributions (within sustainable limits), and condemnation of Russia's actions.

We are under absolutely no moral or legal obligation to put the needs of these people ahead of our own needs (because that is the point we have now reached).

And finally, and personally, I am absolutely far more concerned about the longer term impacts this misadventure will have on my 10 year old son's ability to get a place in a good school, or college, what kind of job prospects will await him, what sort of country and political and economic state will he inherit. These things are less than a decade away for him, and what we are doing today will still be felt long into the future.

I make zero apologies for that. He has a right to expect to grow up in a country where he has the opportunity to learn, work, live, and succeed, and he has absolutely MORE of a right to that than any refugee or economic migrant that lands at the door so accusations of -ists and - isms are completely wasted on me I'm afraid.

It's as simple as that, and all the virtue signalling and name calling in the world won't change that reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

Invest in an atlas. The majority of Ukraine hasn’t been bombed. Secondly, read a newspaper. Other EU countries are stopping paying them welfare payments. Hence why we have a huge number of them on telegram looking to come here for handouts. Thirdly, don’t waste my time by regurgitating the usual nonsense.

The fact of the matter is that we are Treasure Island to these people and they’re fleeing nothing but a low bank balance. Time to close the borders and cut them off from welfare. Anything else is insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Moragle

If sinn feins core objective is a United Ireland then they're definitely barking up the wrong tree with supporting this uncontrolled immigration. I live and work in donegal and spend half my summer explaining to people from the north that what they don't pay for there, they have to pay for here.

Taxes are only going one way, so even sinn feins magic money tree is going to be Bare. But God knows how bare it'll be by the next election

I'm not sure if it was you or someone else linked the article a few pages back about the 28 teachers from Ukraine who are now registered here.

I don't need them to all be my maths teacher to divide that into 40000 Ukrainians and realise its not going to help the current lack of teaching supply.

And seeing as you're one of the most vociferous supporters of this uncontrolled immigration from Ukraine policy, what percentage of the Ukrainian kidd could be taught by these 28 teachers?

Why haven't they registered to work here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m not surprised anyone dismisses what you call entirely reasonable points, when having read them, they amount to nothing more than, as you put it yourself - emotive guff. This bit in particular though -

He has a right to expect to grow up in a country where he has the opportunity to learn, work, live, and succeed, and he has absolutely MORE of a right to that than any refugee or economic migrant that lands at the door so accusations of -ists and - isms are completely wasted on me I'm afraid.

It's as simple as that, and all the virtue signalling and name calling in the world won't change that reality.

He doesn’t. Every child, regardless of their legal status, has exactly the same right to expect to grow up in a country where they have the opportunity to learn, work, live and succeed. I’m not going to accuse you of -ists or -isms either, it’s simply a fact that your virtue signalling is not grounded in reality in the first place -

1. States Parties shall take appropriate measures to ensure that a child who is seeking refugee status or who is considered a refugee in accordance with applicable international or domestic law and procedures shall, whether unaccompanied or accompanied by his or her parents or by any other person, receive appropriate protection and humanitarian assistance in the enjoyment of applicable rights set forth in the present Convention and in other international human rights or humanitarian instruments to which the said States are Parties.

2. For this purpose, States Parties shall provide, as they consider appropriate, co-operation in any efforts by the United Nations and other competent intergovernmental organizations or non-governmental organizations co-operating with the United Nations to protect and assist such a child and to trace the parents or other members of the family of any refugee child in order to obtain information necessary for reunification with his or her family. In cases where no parents or other members of the family can be found, the child shall be accorded the same protection as any other child permanently or temporarily deprived of his or her family environment for any reason, as set forth in the present Convention.

From the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, ratified by Ireland back in 1992 -

https://www.ohchr.org/en/instruments-mechanisms/instruments/convention-rights-child

And just to give some idea of the profile of Ukrainian refugees arriving in Ireland and what’s being done to help them secure employment in order to be able to provide for themselves and their children, that whole notion you have about charity being sustainable and having a goal all the rest of it, beginning in the home? I can’t think of any better goal of charity than enabling people to be self-sufficient in order to be able to provide for their families themselves so they’re not relying on charity -

• Women aged 20 and over account for 47% of arrivals to date, while individuals aged 0-19 (both male and female) account for 37%. 
    • The highest percentage of those arriving (39% or 17,034 individuals) were categorised as 'One parent with children' under the broad relationship classification headings used. Note that spouses/partners may have stayed in Ukraine.
    • Of the 13,514 arrivals who attended an Intreo event, 9,645 had recorded previous occupations with "Professionals" being the largest group at 33%. Of the 9,744 persons where the highest level of education was recorded, 69% had achieved an NFQ level equivalent to 7 or higher.
    • Based on administrative data currently available to the CSO, of the arrivals from Ukraine aged 18 and older, 91% showed activity in administrative data after 31 May 2022.
    • As of 10 July 2022, of the arrivals that attended employment support events arranged by Intreo Public Employment Services, 66% were noted with English language proficiency being a challenge in securing employment.

Figures from the CSO -

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/fp/p-aui/arrivalsfromukraineinirelandseries4/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Sums up my thoughts and fears exactly, very well expressed kaiser.

2,500 Ukrainians have entered the country in the past fortnight. And all this happening when the clowns that run the country are on a six weeks holiday.

I'm not sure if it was you or someone else linked the article a few pages back about the 28 teachers from Ukraine who are now registered here.

That was me, and it was in response to a poster asking for a source for the suggestion that there would be teachers and doctors among the Ukrainian refugees. There was never any suggestion that it would in any way address the shortage of teachers in Ireland, tht was an entirely separate idea that came from the suggestion by another poster that there was no shortage of teachers or doctors in Ireland. Again, there was never any suggestion made that the shortages of teachers and doctors would be or even could be addressed by any number of teachers and doctors among Ukrainian refugees.

The reasons for the shortages of doctors and teachers are obviously more complex than just being a question of numbers or the amount of people who are qualified as either teachers or doctors. Simply being qualified doesn’t mean they are in any way suited to either profession. I say that because I’m aware of the numbers of people who were made redundant in 2008 at the height of the recession who decided to do the Hibernia course to become qualified as teachers -

https://www.ippn.ie/index.php/99-news-and-views/education-news/863-downturn-drives-men-back-into-teaching-independentie

The Dail not sitting doesn’t mean that the Government is shut down completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Amazing. All medical professionals ,all female, all took only a week to find work.

A real good news story and something for others to use as inspiration.

Are they all living with yourself they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The underlying assumption in this is that the situation will remain this way permanently. In all likelihood once this is resolved, very many will return home and your son's college place will be saved. Personally I'd view a child's potential college place as being down to the work they do themselves. At the outside we are looking at 3 years until it is over, and it may be a lot less, the numbers will then fall substantially.

I do think you are being particularly harsh on these refugees. Through some work I do I have encountered quite a number of Ukrainians, these teachers, doctors and kids smart enough to go to college anyway. I've also met widows doing their best for their families. They tend to want to resume a level of normality in this country and many have skills to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,069 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If they have pps numbers they are on the "register"

You've clearly misunderstood or are deliberately misinterpreting the charity point, so I'll clarify for you.

Charity begins at home means that if the State has additional resources to spend on those who are in need, then those resources should go to addressing the issues faced by natives and citizens first and foremost. That includes at a minimum ensuring that everyone has a roof over their head, food in their belly, access to essential medical care, and access to other support services to allow them to ultimately better their own situation.

After that, absolutely should we provide aid to others in need - but only insofar as is economically sustainable, and without compromising the services and supports to the group above. This also does not mean bringing people to Ireland to do this, and it's worth remembering our huge expenditure on foreign aid which even through the recession stood at 650 million euro annually.

In short, Ireland - it's Government and people - does more than enough to support the needy and vulnerable of the world. We do arguably more than we should given our population size, and the fact that we are NOT fully able to address the needs I referred to above - to say nothing of the huge problems faced by those who don't qualify for supports but yet are not able to fully provide for themselves either without compromising on essentials.

The only thing your CSO data above shows is that these already compromised services will be further stretched by the demands placed on them as a result of this open door policy. That benefits no one - not the staff involved, not the natives and citizens who are reliant on them, and certainly not the new arrivals themselves.

The choice then becomes one of who is served first, and as above, it should not be those who were born here or who are here as legal citizens who lose out in favour of what is increasingly becoming obvious are economic migrants and chancers who are compromising the ability to support their own countrymen already here and who do need whatever resources (again within sustainable limits) we DO have to offer.

It is not Ireland’s role to save or resettle all the people of the world who are facing persecution or who want a better life. That's not realistic in any sense and we are already seeing the massively negative effects that taking on even 40, 000 is having here. We can only do so much and that absolutely needs to be recognised.

As for your other point. That may be fine if you place no value on the idea of nations, citizens, culture and the social contract between them but it goes against pretty much every historical milestone and societal concept we have.

The idea of multiculturalism certainly devalues all of these things in favour of a happy notion of a big melting pot where everyone is the same, and no distinction is made between borders or nationality - but again, this is not the case and anywhere it has been attempted (and we can see it throughout Europe including our nearest neighbours), it has in fact resulted in more division and social and economic issues. This is empirical fact.

As a native citizen and taxpayer, who pays his way, follows the rules, and who gets very little in return for it (another problem in our current system), the MINIMUM I expect is that my son will have access to the supports, services, and opportunities he needs to build a life for himself and maybe his own family in this country as an Irish native and citizen. That is a fundamental element of the social contract and one I make no apology for.

You may place no value on these things, but I dare say you're in the minority with that view.

Hey steady on! You don't have to write a mini novel of a post justifying your position to me, I don't really care. You mentioned your 10 year old, well I know in years to come I will have no difficulty explaining what my attitude was to those refugees who came to our shores.

I'll take this then as proof that you in fact HAVE no counterargument, no answer to how the challenges I called out should be addressed, no solution for the problems we already face, let alone those we've now taken on.

It's a common issue with the superficial "we have to do more... coz" attitude. It expects things to just magically happen or work itself out but with no real thought or plan as to how that might happen.

Unfortunately, the real world doesn't work like that!

Enjoy your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

And finally, and personally, I am absolutely far more concerned about the longer term impacts this misadventure will have on my 10 year old son's ability to get a place in a good school, or college, what kind of job prospects will await him, what sort of country and political and economic state will he inherit. These things are less than a decade away for him, and what we are doing today will still be felt long into the future

Hopefully he gets married to a 'non native' and písses off his father no end.

As I pointed out previously we have more than enough to look after our own citizens plus refugees. The problem is we are not prepared to do so. There isn't much point in repeating that to the " we can't afford to look after our own " brigade when clearly they should be saying " we are not prepared to look after our own " . But hey each to their own, you do or don't do what you feel is right and I'll do the same.

Poor effort Boggles, but not unexpected!

The default response from folks like yourself, when your virtue-signalling grandstanding is confronted with a dose of reality, is always to reach for the -ist/-ism cards. It's also always instead of actually (being able to) debating the points raised of course.

I'm sure you thought yourself very clever when you typed that but it's wasted on me though I'm afraid. Maybe have another read where I refer to not just natives but EU citizens here as well.

As for my son.. if he gets married, or doesn't, as long as he is happy and able to look after himself and his family and be supported by the State he and his father grew up in and contributed to, that's all that'll matter to me.

I haven’t misunderstood your point about charity beginning in the home at all, when you then go on to refer to the States responsibilities as though the State were a charity.

That being said, and I say this with the greatest of respect and admiration for your capacity to articulate your opinions - I can only hope that your child has inherited your ginormous brass balls, because they’ll see him in good stead a hell of a lot more than your creation of an expectation that he has any right to anything he hasn’t earned.

That’s one of the values I instilled in my own child, the other being of course that charity begins in the home - that he would always give to those who are less fortunate than he is, and don’t go breaking anyone’s balls. Everyone has their own challenges in life, and the last thing anyone needs is someone making their life even more difficult, just for what appears to be the sheer hell of it, because they can, or at least they’re operating under the impression that they can anyway.

I was particularly impressed by your suggestion of the introduction of even more bureaucracy into an already laden down with bureaucracy system which would be an absolute nightmare to administrate, but civil servants would love you for it, because of the utter waste of public funds it would take to provide public services according to anyones citizenship status. But this bit was the absolute cherry on top -

That may be fine if you place no value on the idea of nations, citizens, culture and the social contract between them but it goes against pretty much every historical milestone and societal concept we have.

Your own suggestions for how the country should operate according to your ideals, stands in direct opposition to what you’ve just suggested above. Have you considered a career in politics? Because the only politician I can think of who might have even bigger brass balls than yours, is Leo, when he came out with this absolute clanger -

Immigrants 'more likely' to work and pay tax than average Irish person - Varadkar

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/immigrants-more-likely-to-work-and-pay-tax-than-average-irish-person-varadkar-37378427.html

I've a friend whose daughter qualified as a primary teacher abroad. Speaks 4 languages but didn't do LC Irish.

She's home and wants to teach but can't.

Public sector employees get up early as well and provide the services you are moaning about. Maybe you should have a chat with your local Garda, fireman, nurse, prison officer, for further information on the public sector before you get started.

Again somehow entirely missing the point - deliberately or otherwise - in an attempt to score points against things that weren't said.

Read again the parts where I talk about contributing, paying your way and such - but absolutely do we as natives and taxpayers have a right to expect that in return for those efforts, we will be supported with essential services such as access to healthcare, housing and indeed education. It's not - despite what Government may occasionally wish to believe - strictly a one-way flow of effort and resources.

Read also the parts where I refer to absolutely helping the needy (as we already do and have long before Putin's troops set foot in Ukraine), but NOT doing so at the cost of essential services and supports to those here at home who need them. Again, perfectly reasonable to expect.

As for my ability to articulate and have I considered a career in politics - It has actually been suggested over the years that I could have been a journalist/writer or politician, but alas I am probably too old at this stage for that so I'll remain an interested observer, commentator, and stakeholder in how the country is run and its future.

virtue-signalling

It's amazing how often this phrase is misused and misunderstood. It does continue to amuse me though.

is confronted with a dose of reality

Are you dipping from the same well of reality where you spent 18 months telling me and everyone else Covid mitigation measures would destroy society and the economy for a generation?

You'll have to forgive me if I am sceptical of your clairvoyance abilities, which are largely based on a quite unhealthy doom mongering fetish and not anything resembling reality.

Ah that other common tactic - try to drag in points and discussions from completely unrelated topics when flailing.

But yes.. As I stated throughout, Covid was indeed - thankfully - not the massive threat it initially was feared to be, and our response was completely overreactive and disproportionate and in turn has now led to issues where SME's are starting to struggle and fail (read more on the "recession is coming" thread) now that Government supports have been wound down.

But not for this thread... nice try though.

But surely if she intended becoming a teacher in Ireland she would have known that, rightly or wrongly, she would need LC Irish.

I don't think you should be too hard on yourself, after all as they say age is just a number. I think you would be a shoo in to be nominated as a candidate for the Irish National Party. Getting elected however might be a little more difficult

Ah that other common tactic - try to drag in points and discussions from completely unrelated topics when flailing.

Pointing out your most recent doom mongering predictions is completely valid.

rte.ie/news/business/2022/0803/1313776-exchequer-recorded-surplus-of-5bn-at-end-of-july/

That racist blog which seems popular on here is also always looking for contributors.

"journalist" might be stretching it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Given primary teachers would be teaching it that's not an unreasonable standard. If she speaks 4 language she can register for LC Irish and should quite fairly pass it. As they say in German, where there is a will there is also a way (Wo ein Wille ist gibst auch ein Weg!).