If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

Was considering it but the negative results seem to outweigh the positives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

You should sit back and and think this over a bit. Food is not a problem.

Shelter, health care and education is.

So maybe the shame is on the people taking them in knowing that there are no services to cater for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Why aren't you playing your part and hosting some of these fine people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,608 ✭✭✭enricoh

Everywhere will get to play their part, the Ukrainians have only started coming! The Ukrainian flags have quietly disappeared around where I am, some iffy enough looking blokes around the place now.

You see this is all you have- a sense of shame , begrudgers, xenophobia etc. You have no plan to deal with the clusterf#£k that is coming in the next few months- none whatsoever.

The Scottish with the same population as us have capped numbers at 8 k we will have over 80k in the next 4 months. You lot have zero answers except the above rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nonsense guilt-tripping and virtue-signalling that completely ignores the reality of the situation we're in now. It's either naivety, a disconnect borne out of not being impacted anyway, or having no real sense of connection to the country or its wellbeing/future - or perhaps a combination of all three.

In any case, I think the only feelings that most people will have looking back will be a deep sense of regret that we didn't vocally demand an end to the free-for-all sooner, and concern about the future for themselves and their families and children.

The answer to the teacher shortage is not to import Ukranians. It is for the government, via the teaching council, to stop putting stupid rules into place that prevent IRish teachers from securing permanent teaching contracts. There are plenty of Irish teachers working abroad who cant come back here because they received their qualifications in another country. I considered secondary teaching myself and have a PhD in my area, and several years teaching experience, but in order to gain a permanent contract I would have had to pay 15 grand for a PME course that would take two years to do - and after that it would have taken a further two years to hopefully get a contract ( no guarantees) . The PME used to take one year and was government funded - it's now a money racket like everything else in Ireland. That's why we have a shortage of teachers. Importing Ukranians to solve this problem is beyond stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

"Importing Ukranians "

Enough said, we know where you stand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

And by completely ignoring the rest of the post we know where you stand.. 🙄

Here's where I stand:

I don't agree with people who try to justify opening the floodgates to an unlimited amount of Ukrainians , and paying them a variety of full-rate social welfare payments so that they potentially have more disposable income that an Irish taxpayer, by saying that these refugees might be the solution to a teacher shortage that exists because of the state putting crazy obstacles in front of Irish people. That's where I stand.

Do you have any proper counter argument to this or are you just going to spout silly accusations of xenophobia?

I have counter arguments throughout this thread from way back. Maybe take a look before you leap in head first. IMO No amount of mean spirited(I'm not suggesting you are btw) begrudging of food, shelter and clothing is justifiable. We have "concerned citizens " posting here about "iffy looking people " around the place. We all know as a result of this war we have to makes sacrifices and the majority will play their part but the usual "Oh but I'm very concerned about blah blah....brigade" will do what they always do,moan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

I don't begrudge anyone in need receiving food, shelter or even monetary support. I am however concerned about the lack of any forward planning for it. The hope for the best doesn't cut it.

The injury unit in a local hospital is closed temporarily for the second time in as many weeks meaning people have to travel to the hospitals in Limerick or Ennis. If the money is there for 60 modular homes then surely some (more) of it could be there to provide back up staff to keep that injury unit open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Irish people might like the opportunity too. Maybe after the Ukrainians go home when the war ends.

You didn't make a counter argument to me though, you just implied I was xenophobic. You're not doing yourself any favours by resorting to accusations that people who say something that you dont like are simply xenophonbic.

The point I made was in regards to suggestions that Ukranians are going to fill a teacher shortage, which is nonsense. They're not qualified to teach here based on the rules of the Teaching Council - rules that have prevented many UK or EU-qualified teachers from coming home to work. Or do you think we should just forego PME requirements (which cost citizens around 15 grand per year) simply because they are Ukranian? Or would you be happy for the Teaching council to put some rule into place where Ukraninans can maybe do some paid-by-hour subbing or something - and screw the impact it might have on Irish kids in schools? What's your view on this?

You had a problem with me using the word "importing". If we are going to encourage tens of thousands of Ukranians to come here simply to provide cheap labour, well then "importing" is probably the right word to use.

I would love to read an opinion from one of the posters who keep stating people are xenophobes, begrudgers 🙄, racist, or just against refugees in principal or whatever other label they keep putting on others.

Not one post that I have read seems to be aware what is happening either in this thread or in the country.

EDIT - Post above just appeared with similar queries, doubt we are alone in noticing.

Some private consortium may do well to buy up a couple of those companies and see if they can get awarded any government contracts for housing refugees. I would hazard a guess that a couple of hundred of those units are easily worth.... hmmm.. let's see... about €13.7m to rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

No one in public wants to address the elephant in the room but if we have over 100,000 refugees by Christmas some one or party will have to.

Will students get their accommodation by collage start in September, how will national and secondary schools cope? There are many more valid concerns, etc. The cost of it all well that is truly going to be a shocker.

The back hands with hotels in the governments pocket, it will be some Pandora’s box when it’s opened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Towards the beginning of the war there was a post on the Irish helping Ukraine Facebook I'm sure it's still there somewhere.

Some Ukrainian asked about teaching jobs in Ireland and a man who had arrived in Ireland already, posted with a reply like something below.

"But you have to pay 90 euro to register, I got a job as a cleaner instead"

He'd rather clean mouldy toilets than educate the youth of today for the sake of 90 quid.

Not really relevant but thought it was funny in a scabby way 😂 Not sure he's into the whole career progression thing.

I see where you're coming from but I have always felt and not just on the Ukrainian issue but other homegrown problems such as housing medical care etc that where there's a will therea way. Many posters are giving out abou FF,FG,Greens, others are scared of what SF would do if in power ,all horseshit! We the people are the solution. The money can be found to build all the accomodation and all the medical care required BUT , sacrifices would have to be made by all of us. Are we prepared to forego public service pay increases for a while or no increase in social protection payments or pensions. Would our hospital consultants take a reduction in salaries or maybe our paye sector pay a bit more in tax. I know I'm leaving out a whole traunch of sectors and bodies but the gist of my point is we simply as a people, and not just us Irish btw, are not prepared to pony up and provide for all our citizens. And I guarantee you there is not one politician of any party and none who will be as honest and open as I have just been, why? Because we wouldn't elect them if they threatened our income.

I agree.

When these people resort to accusations of racism just because someone brings up a counterpoint to their argument, they are quite clearly just trying to shut down discourse. They spout claims of xenophobia, but they are really just cliches themselves - "snowflakes" (or whatever label you want to put on it) with nothing to offer to the debate. It's very worrying to see.

I have followed the thread for a while and I have not read anything that has convinced me that opening the floodgates to god knows how many Ukranians, and paying them so much in social welfare payments even if they are being housed, is justifiable. I think it's truly awful and I absolutely will not be voting FF or FG ever again. I know that the alternatives might be as bad, but these two parties have spearheaded this and I just cannot ever vote for either again.

Any and every single state project overruns budget, every gov department overspends and everything else in this country has money thrown at it and is pissed away.

Rather than just giving the government more of my money that I get up every morning and earn through my own labour how about they use what they get more efficiently and effectively .

Don't get me started on the public sector

Your point is indeed relevant so thanks. As you suggest, Ukranians are absolutely NOT going to fill our teacher shortage. It's good to get that straight before anyone else comes to the thread trying to use this reasoning as a justification for importing tens and tens of thousands of Ukranians, and paying them thousands of euros each month despite them being entitled to free everything.

90 euro to register plus months of waiting to get processed before they begin, plus police vetting, and then a requirement to do a VERY expensive masters if they want to go permanent. Are people suggesting we just cancel all these rules for them or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

It's a mad oul shop.

One minute you're the minister for health, the next week you're the minister for education.

So what's your experience in these sectors. Ehhhh none. Oh wait I went to school. Any college? Nah. I did a certificate course in the local TEC.

They haven't a clue. And once the money starts rolling in and you know a big pension is on the way then why bother?

All those nice incentives and perks need to be taken away immediately or you should be sacked and barred from running again if you can't do the job you've been given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Why should we have to spend so much money supporting people from one of the largest countries in Europe who could no doubt find safe areas in Ukraine to live, its going to cost us 3 billion next year, imagine what difference that could make to our health or education system

all horseshit! We the people are the solution. The money can be found to build all the accomodation and all the medical care required BUT , sacrifices would have to be made by all of us. Are we prepared to forego public service pay increases for a while or no increase in social protection payments or pensions. Would our hospital consultants take a reduction in salaries or maybe our paye sector pay a bit more in tax.

Where the f*ck did they find all the money for the last three years and counting?

That could have been used long ago when things started to look like they were going sideways. For some reason they didn't. Now it is being abused to no end and not really solving anything. It is just patching the holes as the extra 200,000 get here.

In a few years we will have 200,000+ extra here, less money, and more problems. Many of the same onbes that could have been fixed when they were cheaper, and we had more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Well they like to get involved with housing.

Are you saying they just pick issues to get involved with for political gain?

I thought they were there to hold the government to account as the main opposition party?

It's the 19th Covid strain.

What a country indeed. At least tge current guy is a shrewd operator and certainly not a complete bluffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

That was funny when Harris said that, what a moron!

Just shows the level of intelligence running the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Slava_Ukraine

I didn’t see any figures quoted, he said some. A reasonable statement I would think.

I have 2 living with me, actually 3, a professor of medicine and two doctors.

Thinking aloud here what the apologist boys would do if they had to meet face to face with them or anyone of similar education, or more importantly intellect.

Ah I chuckled

If they are male they should be at home fighting for their country .

If they are female they should have their qualifications recognised and be actively seeking employment. Surely such educated minds won't want to be idle for too long.

That's if they exist at all of course .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Slava_Ukraine

Female, and working since they came here, took them a week to find employment. Not in chosen fields but delighted to keep busy and keep minds off the situation at home.