Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DF Commission Report

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭roadmaster

So for the air corps are we looking at in the short term 1 extra 295 for transport and 2 139s. Then long term 8 189s or similar?

Level 4 armour for the army what APC would that be?

An the navy early repacement of niamh and her sister?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

Excuse my ignorance...What is a 189?

Is it a chopper?

Excuse my ignorance...What is a 189

Thanks. Only one I could come up with was the FW 189!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

AW189 is the upgraded AW139.

Though in reality its the difference between the 5 seat Renault scenic, and the 7 seat scenic.

Better off doing it properly this time, go for EH101, and get extra EC135 for training & air Ambulance. If the lads in cork can do it with a light heli in the same range as the EC135, then the Air Corps could too. Also there is less chance of the skids getting bogged down in a field somewhere.

No more civvy helis painted green.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭tippilot

AW189 is actually the civilian version of the AW149. Same size, minus the military bells and whistles.

No thanks to the AW189, yes please to the 149 which was designed from the outlet as a military chopper. The 189 actually came second and was derived from the 149.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,839 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm not impressed at all with the lack of acceptance in the HLAP of the recommended C2 structure and force element parity (labelled as revert to Govt at later stage).

As someone who is a project and change manager by profession, I don't think you can agree civilian appointments immediately for Heads of Transformation and Strategic HR, without so much as a roadmap for achieving the key Chief of Defence, Deputy and Vice Chiefs and Heads of Service to enable operational reorganisation.

Failing to do so, sets up the kind of dysfunction that was seen in An Garda Siochána when the senior civilian administrators landed, without any reform of the Brass and it became a zero buy-in, adversarial environment.

This worries me quite a bit and makes all other physical equipment decisions fairly incidental.

PS - I see a footnote in the implementation table, that The Minister wishes to see these recommendations (collectively the above) implemented sooner. There must have been an almighty tussle at Cabinet or inter-department, if Coveney ended up forcing what amounts to a Minority Report, into the HLAP document.

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

Re Aer Corps air lift, there was commentary recently re an aviation agent examining 2 second hand C 295s on behalf of the DoD? To be fair via some prudent acquisitions good kit can be acquired which meets our needs, with a relatively short lead-in time. Obviously, C130s would be better, but to be fair the commonality of airframes / engines etc would be a big consideration, particularly when technical crew are low in numbers. This will be an incremental build-up of capacity across all three arms.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The referenced section in the footnote seems to imply that it is outside of the remit of the Minister of Defense to actually conduct, though I don't see why that is different from a bunch of other suggestions.

is the issue with the new Chief role thah He/She will control the budget and thads we it needs legislaton

I also noted in the government document a major reset of ATCP. So those mean i wonder no more troops for details to Portlaoise prision, Prision transports, Government Buildings, Enfield etc?

Post edited by roadmaster on

Based on what was said in the Dail recently, Portlaoise is done. there are very few prisoners left in the High Security wing, and they no longer need the military level of protection that was required when the PIRA were breaking their folk out using armoured trucks and helicopters.

I'd say the rest would be reviewed periodically to determine if they are still justified, and that's a discussion I'd rather not touch with a 20 foot pole.

Face it though, ATCP was only ever there to fill out a poorly equipped unarmed police force. Garda ASUs can do most of the escorts the DF used to do in the past. Having worked on both Garda/Army checkpoints and Unarmed/Armed garda checkpoints the ASU are well capable of doing the task, and possibly better equipped in reality.

Fair point Grassy.

There was never a question but that the new C2 structure would need legislation, not just the Defence Acts, but in various finance and public service instruments too.

I don't see any good reason why the Govt with the Attorney General, shouldn't begin that drafting exercise forthwith. Its not like there are any constitutional limitations, thanks to Articles 13 and 15.

I agree about the ATCP. We can move well away now from the optics of The Troubles era of the Army escorting defendants into Green Street and minding cash consignments. We do have tactical Garda units well capable of the task and as can be seen on TV regularly, it is the unmarked SUVs of the Garda ERU that escort high security and gangland prisoners to Court these days.

There will of course be situations where Army assistance will need to continue, such as the movement of blank currency paper from the Airport to the Mint, potentially worth billions if compromised, where an Army convoy and two or three helicopters in escort is appropriate and that should be provided for.

Also and hopefully never to be employed, the Army is also trained in public order measures, in case of serious civil disorder and that insurance policy should be maintained.

Availibility of C130-J is very low. One of the reasons the Dutch recently rejected it was to achieve their required available hours, they needed 5 airframes. The C-390 could do it with 4. So they are buying 5, and will be able to contribute flight hours to the muntinational transport fleet.

A bare bones C-295 doesn't offer a solution for genuine tactical airlift. It is simply too small to deploy armoured vehicles alongside troops, which may be necessary to bolster peace enforcement missions in future.

While I wouldn't refuse a good condition C-295 for use in utility transport - and more particularly to perform air ambulance services within Europe and leave the new MPAs to their primary role - I think our best bet is to enter a shared tactical airlift agreement of the sort already seen in central and Eastern Europe.

For instance, the remaining neutrals within the EU, ourselves, Austria, Malta and Cyprus could easily put an A400M or two into joint service or tag on the existing or an improved Austrian C-130K fleet.

We currently use the Piranha IIIh. We could go to the Piranha V whch has Level 4 armour, and would greatly ease the training of drivers and technicians, already familiar with the core vehicle. We need more mobile armoured fire support. Something bigger than the current Cav Piranhas.

The LTAV situation could be more complex, as it is clear the current vehicle is a Garage queen. GDLS Does the Mowag Eagle V. Germans, Danes and Swiss already use the type.

Or we could go back to France for our armour. They like theirs big though (as opposed to the clown cars that were the Panhard.

Their APC is the VBCI VTT. Its HUGE.

Their equivalent to the LTAV would be the Scarabee. Its nice. Its what the AML would look like if it was designed today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

What is the scenario that requires an Irish airlifter to transport an Irish armoured vehicle?

If one is destroyed by the act of belligerent or otherwise written off by incident or accident in theatre. A loss of one or two APCs or AFVs in the Golan would render the deployed battalion unsafe and / or unable to perform tasks, even for a period.

In another scenario, if the ARW has to be deployed in response to circumstances, either abroad, or in a remote location domestically, the joint airlifting of personnel with a vehicle or vehicles may be needed, such as this ACMAT type, hardened mission support vehicle.

The C-295 cannot deploy so much as a Land Cruiser.

One of the benefits of no military equipment industry pe se is we are in theory untied to any manufacturer etc. This should mean we can buy the best out there for our needs be it APCs, specific helis, etc. We can see the problems some of our neighbours have when they have to 'shop local' ... Also has been stated before, don't be the launch customer ... go tried and tested every time ...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

There is absolutely no justification for an airlifter domestically.

Peacekeeping is peacekeeping. Buying an aircraft to move a Mowag to Lebanon is a case of the tail wagging the dog.

A deployment of the ARW a la Afghanistan is legitimate, but the chances of a unilateral deployment are slim to none and only the largest militaries are capable of this sort of thing.

I agree with you re contributing to the EATC. An extra 295 makes some sense in that it supports the primary DF role of MPA at lower of cost. If it gets us occasional access to an A400M, let's do that.

The downside is though we have little to offer in terms of offsets, when purchasing major equipment. As a result we pay much more than others for the same product.

20 years ago we almost bought the S92 (dodged a bullet there, we would have been only mil customer of the type). Part of the deal was local aviation tech would get extra work from the Sikorsky parent in the US (United Tech). But eurocopter got wind of it and started screaming that they could have offerred a much better deal if they knew offsets were involved. Then before it all ended up in the ECJ, govt cancelled the contract, and we bought more Mowags with the allotted budget.

So is there a timescale for these actions such as new commands, apcs, aircraft and the most important pay

There might be, but all we have so far is the immediate action plan, which covers from July to December. So once we catch up with that particular can kicked down the road, we may have a clearer picture.

Pretty damning article in todays examiner.

Cormac O'Keeffe: The struggle between ambition and reality in the defence of the nation (irishexaminer.com)

Is there an actual issue with the roles of the ERU and ARW and who should be doing what?

Also it mentioned better communcation between Garda and Army intellagence services and again who is doing what

Surley after 9/11 Intellegence agencies talk alot more particuarlly ones working for the same country

I know where you are coming from, but the issue with 'offsets' is the promise of an offset could become the deciding (political) factor in equipment choice, with a sub optimal decision taken on this basis. Given our history has been largely piecemeal investment, with the odd purchase of a few dozen pieces of hardware we on balance have probably got lucky. However, if you go down the road of considerations wider than the efficacy, reliability, tactical suitability etc be careful because the political weighting will be skewed toward the local jobs / investment piece first and maybe only if you are lucky it will be the best equipment option for the DF ... That is my humble opinion only.

I wouldn't imagine there is a particular issue that confuses between elite Garda and Army units - one is domestic civil policing, the other is green and black military taskings, including ATCP for terrorism or other threat to life and public safety, and the latter is VERY exceptional.

In terms of routine communications, intelligence and information sharing though, there has been a gap in terma of speed and quality identified for some time, and steps were taken to address this in recent years, though they did fly under the radar somewhat.

The National Security Committee has long existed, bringing together Senior Garda Brass, Defence Forces Chiefs, Sec Gens for Justice, Defence, Foreign Affairs and the Taoiseach, but now a new Centre within the Taoiseach's Office operates wholly on matters of threat identification and mitigation and analysis of information flow.

This PQ of last year describes it best:

The National Security Analysis Centre (NSAC) was established by the Government as part of the implementation of A Policing Service for the Future giving effect to recommendations in the Report of the Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland.

Its primary remit is to provide high-quality, strategic analysis to the Taoiseach and Government of the key threats to Ireland’s national security. The strategic analysis of threats is undertaken by personnel seconded from the various Departments and other State bodies with functions in the security area, and through liaison and close co-ordination with those partner Departments and agencies, including the National Cyber Security Centre. There is also ongoing liaison with EU and international counterparts and others.

The Director of the NSAC was appointed on establishment and a Deputy Director joined in 2020. The work of the Centre is supported also by administrative personnel from the Department of the Taoiseach with salaries and operational costs where needed, funded from the Departments’ Vote.

The Centre has been active over the last year in supporting aspects of the Government’s response to the public health emergency caused by Covid-19 and, recently, in support and co-ordination for the Ministerial group overseeing the response to the cyber-attack on the HSE.

As part of the working out of HLAP and to see the direction of travel which might be preferred it’s useful to keep an eye on agenda setting pieces.

This piece sees distance between Ireland and Nordic neighbours and promotes a closer relationship with the UK before NATO or the EU which is hardly mentioned.

The Royal United Services Institute is an old school Tory-World think tank.

After Brexit, the Brits badly need allies of another slant in Europe (Johnson Ukraine relationship). You should take anything published by RUSI, even penned by an Irish fella, in that context.

While a better working relationship with GB is desirable, Ireland's wagon is firmly hitched to the EU on all fronts. London's polemicists will just have to get used to that.

Nonetheless interesting that it is published and with an Irish author. Tensions between UK influence over policy and other possibilities are clear from it.