If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

Isn’t that what ye wanted? Deterrents to stop the flow? Do you think that their friends won’t find out that there’s no room on the floor in the Inn?

As for illegal immigrants, they have to go into direct provision centres. Hardly the land of milk and honey.

I see no reason why we should not do the same, and stop it now. The war has stalled, everyone from the warzone will have come at this stage. Anyone arriving now is only coming because they want to avail of the benefits etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Lol, you're choosing a covid year. The budget is just over 6 billion, you're not referring to budget, you're referring to total government expenditure, which was:

2017 77.2 Billion

2018 82 Billion

2019 77 Billion

2020 84.5 Billion but additional 18.8 billion for Covid totaling 103.3 Billion

Big difference between 2020 and other years.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,560 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Where's all these people who offered to take in refugees?

What happened all these generous people. They've gone quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,067 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Trying to get rid of them from their homes it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

In Internet slang, a troll is a person who posts inflammatory, insincere, digressive,[1]extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community (such as social media (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc.), a newsgroup, forum, chat room, online video game, or blog), with the intent of provoking readers into displaying emotional responses,[2] or manipulating others' perception. This is typically for the troll's amusement, or to achieve a specific result such as disrupting a rival's online activities or manipulating a political process. Even so, Internet trolling can also be defined as purposefully causing confusion or harm to other users online, for no reason at all.[3]

See this is what happens when people with social studies degrees are involved in any thing real- what about the planning, getting builders, the costs of materials for her “plan”? And why couldn’t this be done for the homeless Irish?

I just knew this issue was going to seriously hit the fan..The general consensus around here of giving free bed and board and everything else to a bunch of strangers, was always going to cause serious tension to the struggling tax payer in a cost of living crisis.

Then add in the absolute crooks who are pretending to be Ukrainian. You couldn't make it up!

The Country is Full! It has been for the last 10 years at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Indeed, the Hypocrisy, breath taking and becoming maddening 😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Its like having a group of emotive teenagers running the country, government by tweet, soundbite and meme, the black and white certainty of youth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Well said 😉 its as if government has Dug a hole and now afraid to admit it and more afraid to make a decision.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Apparently 18,000 bank accounts have been opened so far for Ukranian refugees. You'd wonder what checks were made on those opening the accounts when you think of the hoops an ordinary Irish citizen has to jump through to open one.

It’s been like that for a while under Varadkar- that’s how he “leads”. A shocking idiot

They had to have somewhere to put all that free cash!

There is no chance anyone gets these people out of their homes in 3 or 6 months. There’s nowhere for them to go.

Well, I’m around long enough in Ireland to know that if you offer something for nothing you will be shat on from a great height and left to your own devices.

“no guest should be admitted to your house without their departure date settled”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

This country is full, this country is full of **** and we are living under the new era of dictatorship. We have turned a corner folks and the Irish will be minority here within a generation or two. Lets see when the 40k bring their husbands, babushkas, & cousins over to the Treasure Island all will be claiming PTSD and wanting disability allowance. This on top of the secretive plantation of military aged islamic males across our once fine country. Ireland is the dumping ground for the undersirables coming into Europe now. The soft Island full of naive dummies and a weak government on its knees sucking the EU off. When challenged by the Swedes our jellyfish claims we need doctors,engineers & skilled people to come here, instead we get islamic terrorists and gopniks from across the seediest parts of Eastern Europe. People effectively living off the grid like the yolks who murdered this year already because the fact of the matter is they dont integrate into our society and once they are here they begin to dissapear into their own world. If anyone had a look at the facebook of murdering swine  Jozef Puška they may have seen he had next to ZERO Irish people on his friends list.

The treasure island is the softest touch in Europe to the point where even the Swedes are calling us out now and we all now the stories that came out over the last decade in Sweden (rapes, attacks, no-go zones). We have entered the phase of clandestine population replacement in the rural towns and villages because Dublin is now at breaking point. Groups of gopniks hanging around in their adidas smoking and laughing at us, sinister looking and acting males of military age being bussed into towns effectively destroying tightly knit communities.

Ireland as we knew it is dead. The new Multi-Kult is here so if you are lucky enough to have your own home, you better batten down the hatches. Don'tforget it was only 2 months ago that they were announcing "Every lever that is available to us will be pulled to provide additional accommodation," Mr O’Brien said. Yes, they would not have hesitated to take peoples homes from them. Also don't forget that less than a year ago the Jellyfish Martin was standing on a podium telling us to stay indoors and not meet our loved ones, then he jets off to the least vaccinated country in Europe on another junket effectively giving us the middle finger in the process. This is the new era of dictatorship and it is time people wake up to what this government is capable and willing to do to.

Rte spinning like hell unsure what way the wind is blowing,they haven't smelled the coffee yet in the rarified atmosphere around montrosia, surely, surely some politician will put their head above the parapet and call out this absolutely traitorous nonsense from those elected by the citizens

RTE drove this and the insanity of the past 2 decades re migration

The bottles of wine they’d opened at the time of the promises are all empty now. As a nation we can be great at spur of the moment promises that materialise into nothing more than words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

You couldn't make it up. I'm all for helping the Ukrainians but once we're full we're full. Other countries having to halt further refugee intake but no no, Ireland must be welcoming and open and BTW we've no where to put you but keep coming lads! You don't even need to be from Ukraine. Oh and no security checks whatsoever, criminals one and all Ireland is 100% welcoming to you. Also you can use us as a security check-less backdoor to the UK, no probs! Also because of the shortage we will just buy up every house and apartment on the open market, just so we're the best boys in europe. Sorry first time buyers, better luck next time! Can we get a clap from the virtue signalers!

Michael Martin absolutely spitting in the face of the Irish people.

I heard that all the refugees which would have gone to the UK are now coming here because the their proposed stay in hotel Rwanda.

Our government must have found the pot of gold at the end of finians rainbow 😱🥇

What's even more galling is that you can be sure absolutely no safeguards or rules(not that we enforce anyway) were put in place to stop the money being transferred out of the country.

Well there is- a lovely big country called Ukraine that is bigger than france with far less people in it- if it’s safe enough for the Taoiseach to visit it’s safe enough for its own citizens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭hunter2000

Dublin airport is turning into a mess, who is managing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,347 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I believe beds in Gormanston school are going to be ready over the next few days.

When the school starts back in September you will 1500 kids mixing with unvetted asylum seekers in the school????

The msm cheerleaders for this nonsense have a hell of a lot to answer for, just listen to this one on cb now who doesn't want any cap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,347 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Yep she is pushing for more and doesn’t like the language of vetting people coming in.

Bizaare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,161 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Reality has bitten for the govt of good intentions, the lifeboat is filling to capacity.

Is it not the duty of the public broadcaster to question such thinking which is to the detriment of the actual citizens, its maddening