If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Indeed 😁 although oddly enough more welcoming after restoring an essentially derelict 200 year old gate lodge, the Offaly Rover was written in my humble abode, Ironically my gaff in Laois .

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You'd want to be careful. I know you've been gone 21 years, but you would be better off not publishing your location online. People have long memories.

One would presume that, coming from Dublin like that, you were likely either on the run, or in witness protection, after a life of criminality. Whichever one it was, it wouldn't great to be giving away your location. Your old buddies might be still looking for you 😋

Nothing as alarming as that I can assure you , My location not a secret at all and don't have any old or new Buddies involved in criminality, albeit I may have thread on quite a few toes in my previous career, so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,055 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Why would they have to pay for anything? Jesus I remember well back in the 90s/early 00s my poor parents scraping together the money in September for our bus tickets. I do remember not having it on time and the CIE inspector threatening to kick us off- Think the price went up considerably when you went to secondary school. Yet now we have e this cohort who have every “entitlement” thrown at them yet don’t have to pay a cent towards a bus (nor indeed the exchequer here). I am furious about the whole scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Can't believe the people of Kerry are accepting that. Pure and utter delusion from FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Imo a lot of people are keeping their powder dry on that one, not speaking out lest they be called "racist" or "far right" for daring to have the most innocent questions on the direction of our nation, or where is the money coming from? what sort of country will we leave for our grandchildren? , then again we go into the polling booths and what options have we ?? The 4 main parties seem to be as one and any mature discussion or debate is verboten by the new church, we know whats best for the country, don't be troubling yerselves little people, those matters are far too complicated for ye, now off to work my little drones, somebody's gotta pay for the great new utopia thats a comin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,250 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The family staying with us were offered a house in town here as no one else would take it so the family we are minding are moving out next week. In fairness we got on great and never been a issue but amazed the house that they are getting was turned down as its in a town of decent size with all you could want.

Thankfully its been good experience and if down line we would do it again although like family we have now we have meet them first and they would need understand where they be etc.

EVENFLOW

I think there’s going to be a huge backlash vote for Independent candidates- SF aren’t going to do as well as they think- to any logical thinking person they are the same as FF FG Greens- you couldn’t slip 6 pence between any of their Marxist big government agendas. SFs position is supportive of all government policies just with the proviso “you need to do more”. Very inspiring

So, you don’t know. Just making assumptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

How on earth did someone decide that once they arrived in Ireland as well as providing free accommodation and food we'll throw in 205 euro a week to each adult, free medical care, free education. Schools that were overcrowded and missing special needs assistants are now being told to take in more children with no English, how are they going to be taught without impacting on the education of the current Irish children. Doctors in Kerry with full patient lists being "persuaded" to take on another 50 Ukranians.

No doubt when the war is over we'll have more men arriving. Are we planning on using hotels indefinitely?. Roderick O Gorman will no doubt be anxious the Ukranians don't take the houses hes planning for the end of DP.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2022/0623/1306580-how-many-people-are-seeking-asylum-in-ireland/

In the first five months of this year, 4,896 people applied for international protection in Ireland, according to the Department of Justice. Applications had fallen during the Covid-19 pandemic, but the figures are now well up on pre-Covid years.

In all of 2019, there were a similar number of applications (4,781) while in 2018 the number of applicants was lower again, with 3,674 people applying for international protection here.

At the beginning of the 2000s, the number of those seeking international protection reached almost 12,000 a year. At the current rate of applications, this year could be a record year for refugee applications.

The international protection figures exclude more than 36,000 Ukrainian refugees that have arrived here and who are covered under a separate EU temporary protection directive.

Of the 4,896 applications to the international protection system, the largest number of applicants came from Somalia, with 762 applications. Some 755 applications were made by people from Georgia and there were 473 applicants from Zimbabwe.

As you are well aware , I don't make assumptions, Not only do I know the owner of the firm, I know two of his Drivers , the Drivers have confirmed what I and others suspect, the Owner very Coy on the matter , so as I've explained, the arrangement not being officially admitted but I can confirm locals who enquired if they could use the service , even pay, we're told bluntly, NO its a service being put on for "The Refugees only" the matter has now been put to local TD's

You might also wonder why the interest, whilst this nonsense was going on, a Flyer was sent around by the Local Do Gooder society who generally couldn't give a Toss about their own neighbours, begging for people who could, offer lifts to "Our new Friends " as the bus arrangement put on by a named department, was only Temporary. I thought the F*****G neck of these people who stand idly by whilst a sick neighbour might need a lift to a hospital appointment, don't you dare assume I make assumptions.

It went from "your racist" or "its only women and children for a few weeks" to "those people complaining must be part of a Russian conspiracy to undermine refugees".

No we (many posters on here and people I speak to) are not stupid, we know we are getting rode and we don't like it.

Unfortunately I don't see any silver lining in any of this.

I hear what you're saying but at long as we have that kind of mindset, of not debating, not asking questions for "fear" of upsetting someone, this isn't going to get better, its going to get a hell of a lot worse. We have as much right to question where the money is coming from, what are the plans are for these people needing GPs etc as Ukrainians have to ask about getting extra buses put on!! As I said earlier in the area I live in there are many nationalities, Eastern European, Indian and Asian but they are all hard working people contributing to the economy.

Why are afraid of being shut down? Call it like it is! We have built this country, the tax-payer is bankrolling all these payments to refugees! If asking questions about the feasibility of all of this coming into this Winter with the rising cost of living is racist then so be it, I am racist. As long as people sit at home giving out online, this thread will go on for years and nothing will have changed..... fast forward to a year from now and the same people will be giving out at even worse scenarios regarding refugees and asylum seekers. I am praying someone will organise a protest or at least have the b###s to ask straight questions to Helen McEntee, Darragh O Brien, Roderic O Gorman, Leo or MM!

What happens when virtue signallers “run” a country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Yonce

"Some €47.3m has been paid to private operators who have invoiced to the end of May for emergency hotel accommodation for those fleeing Ukraine, according to an overall figure from the Department of Children. That is for around a two-month period."

€47.3 for two months.....

This is absolutely insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

Heard on news talk yesterday, the upcoming budget for the Irish population is 6billion. And we have a separate 3billion for Ukrainians. Only 30 or 40k of them here

Ahh but you're a realist, and not part of the "Ahh sure, it'll be grand" brigade. Always look at the bright side of life.. yadda yadda yadda.

You understand that there is always a cost involved.

The problem with all of this, though, is that it'll have long-term consequences on the health of the Irish economy, and the range of services available to Irish people. The "It'll be grand" crowd will never truly acknowledge that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 AnaB

EF50FC42-3FB1-45C0-A8BB-9A7146AF540D.jpeg

That’s who we are!!!!

Min €100 per night plus all the trimmings- I’m surprised it’s not a lot more. It will be as the numbers rise of course. It’s a great country- so long as you’re not Irish and not working.

Just had a look at some of the begging posts on Facebook for the first time. People willing to drive from Kiev to Ireland and are asking for directors lol, its like the Klondike gold rush getting to Ireland.

Another who got a temporary protection order in Czechia is wondering can she squash that and apply for one in Ireland. We all know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭I Blame Sheeple

"Ours wars for profit will continually pump out refugees from all walks of life and now we have new reasons to make it your problem!"

Saw on 9 o clock RTE news last night, people in Kinnegad very maturely explaining why the 75 Ukranian refugees have no place there and was rather impressed as to how a couple of locals can more astutely explain the issues with it then our politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

This isn't true, the budget is 99 billion or so

and they are being openly encouraged to do so by Ukrainians who are already here. There are a few posters in particular who are based Ireland and are doing all the communicating in Russian/Ukrainian with these requests from people. "yeah come on over to Ireland, the Government will pay for everything" . Apart from one or two Irish people who are regular contributors most of the replies are from Ukrainians already based here encouraging more to come.

it must be hard if you are trying to organise a wedding in any of these rural areas full of refugees in hotels. You're options are much more limited now. Hard to believe the likes of The Derrynane Hotel will turn away the wedding and international tourist business in return for permanent refugees. There is no affiliated business like restaurants or bars which would normally make huge money so they must be getting paid a fortune by Government to make it worth while not holding weddings or US tourists anymore.

Even if it is 99 billion, 3 billion is an absolute disproportionate sum to Ukrainians and a slap in the face to the Irish, let alone other refugees and asylum seekers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I feel sorry for the restaurants and cafes and all touristy things who depend on a good 3-4 months of income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

It's 6.5bn in relief/spending. 2.2bn extra from last year.

So whatever about the 4.5bn, that's an extra 2.2bn they've pulled out their hole to help the Irish citizens.

But managed an extra 800 million more than the Irish figure to top it up to 3bn for Ukrainians. Which is guaranteed to run more and whatever has been spent so far and for the next 6 months.

Joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

As far as I know a proportion of that sum is from the EU . I can’t remember or find it how much .

It’s only natural that this would happen. Relative to average salaries and living standards in Ukraine they have struck gold by coming here. It’s an utter disaster for the Irish exchequer but as usual a self inflicted one.