Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pushback against Leftism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,884 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

This entire conversation is bloody ridiculous.

All that's happened here is that a guy dressed up as one of the ugly sisters from Cinderella is reading a story (probably Cinderella) to a bunch of school children. It's a little bizarre looking, but that's where it ends.

Some people are going on as if in the next moment he's stripping off and baring his arse to the kids.

FFS. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

Would you take a child to a female strip club? What's the big deal if sex and the connotations of sex are absolutely everywhere in Western culture ?

Of course its inappropriate to present a child to a sexually provocative female , just as it is with a man. So your argument that people only take issue because the sexual provocateurs are gay/men is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Of course I wouldn’t take a child to a strip club. There is nothing in my post that would ever suggest that. You’re misunderstanding the point — the connotations of sex being everywhere don’t just make everything permissible, it just makes the biases more obvious in a world where it isn’t just exclusively all heterosexual-focused anymore. In this instance, in the entire ocean of sexually suggestive stuff peddled to young people in society every second of every day (most of it still heterosexual-focused) — we end up where a guy dressed as a woman reading a book to kids is decried as sexualising children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Exactly. The moral panic over it is ridiculous and the harassment of attendees and the bookshop disturbing. Panti was right to tell the screaming protester to go **** himself.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

No, you're missing the wood from the trees because there's a pretty big difference between the connotations of sex on the TV to a real life hyper sexualized environment that's not appropriate for children. Its also not appropriate for adults , male or female, to act sexually exploitive in front of children.

Xtina can dance away on tv but its a different story if she was to twerk in the face of somebody's child. That is the distinction to refuse to acknowledge because you are hellbent on attributing genuine concerns to bigotry. We've seen that argument many times before.

This is really ridiculous. It was a book reading not a twerking performance. There's nobody twerking. No hyper sexualised environment with sexual exploitation. Its a book reading. Thats it.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Sorry, but what are you on about here? Twerking in a child’s face? A hyper sexualised environment?

Where are you pulling this from? We are talking about a man dressed as a woman reading a book to children — so unless you have the footage where he dropped the kecks I’m not sure why you’re mentioning these things and then acting as if I’m defending them.

You’re saying that it’s not appropriate for adults to act in a “sexually exploitive” way in front of children. I don’t see who is arguing with you on that one.

So far, I haven't heard about anything improper happening at all so nothing hypersexualised to speak of. In terms of how they were dressed etc, it was incredibly non sexual and wouldn't be out of place at a panto.

So really it seems like the blow in protesters were likely the most inappropriate by obsessing over sex to the degree they do.

I'm not talking talking about the book reading. I already said I have no problem with that. Don't misquote me

Apologies in that case. My impression was you were talking about the Westport book reading and @[Deleted User] and @ArthurDayne must have got that impresion too. I still think all the protesting about the Westport book reading are ridiculous.

Terry Pratchet

Is this the so called pushback against leftism? Screaming at a drag queen?

Terry Pratchet

Well, Panti was referring to the protestors outside the event as "fascists".

Now as much as I think the people protesting Panti's event were total fools, they weren't "fascists".

Many on the vocal Left has a very irritating habit of calling anyone who disagrees with them "fascists". In fact, the term is now so overused and abused, it's completely detached from its original meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭buried

Why are some drag queens doing this "story time" thing anyways? What's the point to it?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Moreover, we are never told what "stories" are being told; what the nature of the story happens to be. I think there's a good reason for that.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

You're a very disturbed individual if you're drawing that conclusion.

Desperate for adult or sexualised content to be exposed to children so you can say 'I told you so'. Genuinely very weird behaviour and your name should be handed into the Gardai.

Yeah, there probably is a good reason, the reason being that they are books in a children’s book store that are readily available and I’m sure you can pop into the store and see for yourself. Or possibly just zoom in on the picture.

But yes, from now on the books which are read in book-reading sessions should be published online for national scrutiny and the security of all citizens. . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

It was part of Mayo Pride celebrations apparently, and the book shop owner says it was a reading of Peppa Pig (?).

Gardai were present I believe and there was no untoward twerking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,703 ✭✭✭AllForIt

It's ridiculous because people like you have no idea what you're talking about, or you're playing dumb.

Drag Queen Story Hour (DQSH), Drag Queen Storytime, and Drag Story Time are children's events first started in 2015 by author and activist Michelle Tea in San Francisco with the goals to "inspire a love of reading*, while teaching deeper lessons on diversity, self-love and an appreciation of others.

The program strives to “instill the imagination and play of gender fluidity of childhood and gives kids glamorous, positive, and unabashedly queer role models".[7]

What is a Drag Queen? A Drag Queen is basically a transvestite (a term the Left seek to irradiate and rebrand). The fact they are usually homosexual is irrelevant thus @ArthurDayne's points about the objections being about the gays is nonsense, as 'a man just dressing as a woman whats you're problem' is also nonsense.

I'm getting to that point now.

When the intention as stated above is to 'promote diversity' exactly what diversity? Homosexuality? No. A man simply dressing up as a woman, like Dame Edna Everage? No. A person performing on stage dressed as a woman? No.

It is about promoting people who dress up as women for more than just dressing up for the 'craic' as Rory put it. Isn't it? Surely y'all have some cop on and know this, and you also know that homosexuals don't usually dress up as women in their spare time. It's masculinity we're interested in, not femininity.

https://teni.ie/resources/transvestite-and-crossdressing/#:~:text=A%20transvestite%20is%20a%20person,to%20live%20“dual%20role”.

Transvestites ‘dress’ for numerous reasons. Some feel the strong need to express femininity while others might crossdress for artistic expression or erotic enjoyment.

So the question is, do we need to tentatively via book readings educate kids that some men have a 'predilection' to dress up as women for 'erotic enjoyment'? Well?

Clearly the uber Left are running out of minorities to champion as gay become passee. Now they are 'platforming' drag queen transvestites, bringing them out of the shadows into the mainstream, because you know there's such a stigma being a DQ so what we need to do is change social attitudes about them and cast them in Eastenders. https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/eastenders-drag-queen-bbc-b2113901.html so we can all live in a better world.

So the fact there was no Beyonce like bum shaking in Westport is completely irrelevant to the objection of Left Wing NGO's 'platforming' Drag Queen transvestites especially to young children. Get it now?

And btw, Rory knows full well there's been objections to these story hours, and imo he's only too delighted there was a protest to give him an opportunity to call out the far right fascists in the far West and he also knows that most people don't have a clue what a Drag Queen really is, as is evident here going by the last few contributions.

Clearly not exactly the most nefarious of stories since both a Garda and the parents were present. The insinuations that you tend to make continue to go more off the wall...

But why like? What's the reasoning for it? What is the reasoning for drag queens to be reading books to infants and children?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

A quick google says: "Drag Story Time are children's events first started in 2015 by author and activist Michelle Tea in San Francisco with the goals to inspire a love of reading, while teaching deeper lessons on diversity, self-love and an appreciation of others."

And what has any of that got to do with drag queens, I mean, when did drag queens suddenly become some sort of arbiters towards reading? Last I looked drag queens were flamboyant adult comedic characters, not english teachers. I may as well be asking Freddie Gibbs to teach my child about thermodynamic engineering.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

The best part of this post is that you quote things like a desire to express femininity, artistic expression and/or erotic enjoyment before going on to arbitrarily single out erotic enjoyment. The way one chooses to dress is a mixture of their own expression, the occasion and very often to appear attractive in the way one subjectively feels comfortable. Wearing an outfit that you think makes you look sexually attractive to whoever it is you want to appear attractive to, does not mean your only motivations in that outfit are erotic. In any case, I used terms like “gay” and “homosexuality” as broad examples — but yes, you can absolutely also throw the fear of other forms of sexuality or identity in there as well.

Put it like this — if all of what I say above is pure bull, then why not just come right out and say that Panti Bliss was deriving erotic enjoyment from being dressed that way for that occasion? Is it a lack of conviction in your ideas or a tactic acceptance that drag is a bit more complex and nuanced than a purely erotic thing.

It doesn’t sound like they’re supposed to be a replacement for actual English Literature classes mate, so I’d probably calm down on concerns about the qualifications of Panti Bliss to teach English.....

Sounds to me like some of them actually think that they are if they feel they are in some sort of position to "inspire a love of reading" to children. That's not their gig.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

I'm not too familiar with Gibbs, but why would you have an issue with him reading some books on engineering to your kid for a hour of a random Saturday?

Right....so inspiring children to read books is something that has to be “your gig” before you can do it.

Perhaps the only safe way forward is to enact legislation to prohibit the promotion of reading by non-authorised promoters.

He's a rap artist from Gary in Indiana and former cocaine dealer, that's what his whole shtick is about. Like drag queens, he is a flamboyant performance artist that uses his previous persona to create comedic and also artistic shock effects to a Adult audience. An adult audience. I enjoy him immensely, just like I enjoy certain talented drag queens that utilise the exact same sort of showcase performance towards an adult audience, but I will never ever allow any of Gibb's tracks to be heard by my 3 year old, because his work, his performance is not the realm of children, let alone infant ones. It is for adults.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Perhaps certain drag artists that have no actual talent should just give up their shtick, rather than try to convince themselves and others they are failed arbiters of anything else.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Apologies, i thought in this scenario he was reading about Thermodynamics, not performing tunes about cocaine to 3 year olds in a bookshop.

It's difficult to keep up with you :)