Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pushback against Leftism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭buried

Sorry, see Freddie used to bake crack cocaine, which kind of is, y'know, a form of thermodynamic engineering.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭buried

Seeing how them lads that were down in Westport can't even demonstrate an ounce of what their actual artistic remit is supposed to be, I doubt thermodynamics for them is going to come into the equation. Unless for them "thermodynamics" might mean generating a $hit-ton of noise and energy to keep their talentless twit-tok personas going in the likes of The Irish Times and elsewhere, then maybe, they seem to excel at that.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Mob what him and his 3 mates ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,703 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The best part of this post is that you quote things like a desire to express femininity, artistic expression and/or erotic enjoyment before going on to arbitrarily single out erotic enjoyment.

ALL transvestites do it for erotic enjoyment, they wouldn't be transvestites if they didn't. That quote is from TENI, an NGO, and as I said they (the Left) are involved in re-branding what a transvestite is, to make it more socially presentable. But even they couldn't omit in their definition that it is in it's nature done for erotic enjoyment (which is really a watered down way of putting it) and tagged it on at the end as if that's somehow rare. 

The way one chooses to dress is a mixture of their own expression, the occasion and very often to appear attractive in the way one subjectively feels comfortable. Wearing an outfit that you think makes you look sexually attractive to whoever it is you want to appear attractive to, does not mean your only motivations in that outfit are erotic.

Look, you clearly haven't the first clue what your talking about. This has nothing to do with simply what people wear for expression purposes. This is about people who have an alter ego and dress (and act) accordingly when they're in alter ego mode. When I put my tank top on on a night out I may very well be expressing my masculinity but I'm not engaging in some exaggerated alter ego masculine fantasy role play for the erotic enjoyment of it. 

The thing about drag queens transvestites is they can only get off on it when they have an audience. It would be pointless dressing us as a DQ at home alone. It's easy to see then how they came to be 'performers'. They are not on stage to entertain the audience, they are on stage to entertain themselves.

In any case, I used terms like “gay” and “homosexuality” as broad examples — but yes, you can absolutely also throw the fear of other forms of sexuality or identity in there as well.

What I understood you said was that objections to DQSH arise because DQ's are homosexual and that's at the root of the objections. I have heard this accusation many times. I'm homosexual so why would I be objecting to homosexuality, (cue Anna with homosexuals can be homophobic). Transvestism is not an identity akin to homosexuality, is is more in the realm of a sexual paraphilia like a fetish.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/conditions/paraphilias

The chapter on paraphilic disorders includes eight conditions: exhibitionistic disorder, fetishistic disor- der, frotteuristic disorder, sexual masochism disorder, sexual sadism disorder, transvestic disorder, and voyeuristic disorder.

I've highlighted 2 things there of relevance. Obviously all those things are not in the same league but you get the point. 

"...but yes, you can absolutely also throw the fear of other forms of sexuality or identity in there as well." 

So here you seem to agree with the NGO's that there's some unjustifiably fear of Drag Queen transvestites that needs to be addressed in society thus DQSH is necessary. There is no societal problem in relation to attitudes to transvestism. That is a complete invention by the progressive left to give them a reason to keep doing what they do, with State funding no less. Honestly, what next?

Put it like this — if all of what I say above is pure bull, then why not just come right out and say that Panti Bliss was deriving erotic enjoyment from being dressed that way for that occasion? Is it a lack of conviction in your ideas or a tactic acceptance that drag is a bit more complex and nuanced than a purely erotic thing.

You are putting this question to me because of your lack of knowledge, your naivety, and your lack of understanding of what I said in my last post.

You do not understated the difference between a real drag queen and a drag queen performer like Panti Bliss. Rory is not a drag queen transvestite, his is just an act. I know nothing about the other Drag Queens that were there. And anyway it's completely beside the point whether they are real drag queen transvestite or not. The point is why are they doing the DQSH in the first place and I've told you why earlier, they've said it themselves, and you seem to have let it slip that you agree with them.

My point is that progressive leftist's are scraping the bottom of the barrel to advance their agenda, and DQSH is a prime example of that.

The point was that he supposedly isnt a fascist despite constantly harassing and making death threats against politicians and other people he disagrees with. Nah. He absolutely is.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Sounds like a loon needs a trip to a rubber room for everyone's sake.

But he's going around screaming at drag queens in Mayo. If this is supposed to be a pushback against leftism then honestly leftism has little to worry about.

Terry Pratchet

I don't think there is any evidence that drag artists are attracted to situations with children

I see no support for this position.

If him and his 3 mates or whatever are threatening to kill people The Garda can do him under current legislation. If they have not been done either no credible threat or the Garda are ignoring everyone phoning them in relation to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

Do I really have to point out the obvious? - that is a report on one person, not drag artists as a whole. What do you possibly think posting that proves?

No one is being vetted. It's the whole wolf in sheep's clothing. Kina like male feminists That I would not trust with a barge pole. I would assume anyone dealing with children needs to be vetted by the police minimum. My partner deals with old people they need to be Garda vetted.

That's has nothing to do with what I posted, you're just spouting pure drivel.

it's late but I will pick this one up. As you say drivil your against Vetting. Anyone in the Entertainment industry dealing with Children should be vetted minimum. Or are you against that ?

Again, what has that to do with what I posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

You tell me I am naive and have no clue what I am talking about and yet you go to great lengths in your post to actually reinforce the very bloody point I was making. We have now come full circle to you saying that transvestites do this for erotic gratification....but you also tell us that Rory is not a drag queen transvestite. In other words, you are drawing distinctions between what may motivate certain people to dress in such a way -- and my point is that this can differ from person to person and from time to time. You yourself literally spelled out that it goes -- for some it's expression, feeling liberated or confortable by adopting femininity, for others it's a bit of craic. And yes, it might make a person feel sexy and that might play into their erotic side, but it's not some ceaseless and overriding facet to it.

So I'll say it again, are you going to tell us Panti Bliss went to the book shop dressed in drag to just feel erotic and fill childrens minds with sexually provocative, or do you think it's some other motivation about expression, fun, tolerance or any of those other things ?

As bad as making fake death threats are, it still doesn't de facto make him a "fascist". I'd never heard of the chap until the links you've posted. He seems like one of those lonely, sad, unemployed attention-seekers who spends too much time on their basement computer watching David Icke and Alex Jones. I wouldn't defend him; he comes across as a GOP version of Piers Corbyn, another sad loser.

Violence doesn't mean fascism, and fascism doesn't mean violence though. You can be a violent irrational loon but still not actually be a fascist.

At the very least, fascism refers to the establishment of a nationalist dictatorship. Has this chap declared his support for this? Maybe he has, I've no idea. But the word fascist gets thrown around way too much these days. Fascism is about openly supporting Ireland becoming a nationalist, racist dictatorship with mass mobilisation, suppression of journalists etc.

I mean, even HE is guilty of the same crime! In one of the links above, he makes a total fool of himself by referring to the Gardai as "Nazis".

It seems this overuse of fascism and Nazis as terms of abuse happens on both sides!

@eskimohunt he's associated with the national party.... A right wing extremist organisation. The leader of said group has given speeches to fascist groups...

You approached this as if the protestors were good natured and unfairly called fascists. The guy linked to has pretty clear links with right wing extremist groups. The fascist label is fair.

Whats a fake death threat? A death threat is a death threat.

Fascism is about openly supporting Ireland becoming a nationalist, racist dictatorship with mass mobilisation, suppression of journalists etc.

Yeah. I'd say he fits into all of that

Here he wants to set up his own public court case

Here he describes himself as a patriot against islamification and mass migration

Here we have him claiming RTE is the virus

Here you have him spreading racist conspiracy theories

Terry Pratchet

As I say, I've no knowledge of the chap beyond the links posted earlier. He may very well have sympathies to far-right groups. What's he got to do with me? To associate the rest of us on this thread with that unemployed loser as if all criticism of Leftism must in some way be associated with fascism is a step too far.

Everyone, regardless of political persuasion, thinks he's an idiot (he got 300 votes in the 2020 election, which pretty much establishes this).

But my earlier point stands; the overuse of the term "fascist" and "Nazis" by certain people of the Left is undeniable.

@Annasopra as I say, he's a loon. That said, being in favour of controlled immigration is not "fascistic".

I'm not defending the chap, but you're making sweeping claims, throwing up links to some conservative ideas, and making it out that he's in some way representative of conservatism or right-wing political thought. Let me be clear: he's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

And kids watched sports with cigarette advertising everywhere. Does it make it ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Man in costume going around telling women what to think and shaming them and telling them they're fascist/evil if they don't....where have we seen that before...

People in this country spent so long trying to get religion out of our personal lives and now they're welcoming another type of religion instead. History doesn't repeat itself, but it rhymes!

And just a few moments later, "fully fledged fascism" - all because deSantis want to establish viewpoint diversity in colleges and to ensure that no political indoctrination takes place.

Diversity of opinion and no political indoctrination? That's now "fully fledged fascism"? Weren't universities supposed to be hotbeds of debate and a very wide diversity of political, cultural, and social opinion?

It's actually embarrassing at this stage.

I'm surprised that Bette Midler hasn't been accused of being a fascist yet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,171 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Based on this thread, the pushback against leftism is a load of men wailing about a man reading a book to some children. They seem desperate to convince themselves more than anyone else.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

It’s always something sexual with children or with genitals.

Very weird behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's ridiculous because people like you have no idea what you're talking about, or you're playing dumb.

No.

It's ridiculous because it's just some bloke in silly makeup and a dress reading a story to a few kids and some people are shitting the bed over it.

They seem desperate to convince themselves more than anyone else.

Nope, that would be just you.

Based on this thread, the pushback against leftism is a load of men wailing about a man reading a book to some children. 

Based on this thread.. all 40 pages, comes down to a man reading a book to some children.

What we teach children is important.. and personally, I think teaching young children adult concepts is foolish, and premature. The book is intended to introduce the concepts relating to diversity, inclusion, etc. All of which are adult issues, haven't been accepted within the adult population. This is an effort to sidestep the acceptance of society, by targeting children. That's wrong.

However, I know this won't matter to you. You're hellbent on pushing all these issues regardless of the possible negative consequences, because you've chosen to believe that nothing negative could arise from such influence. Which is terribly naïve considering you're an adult, and supposedly know that unintended consequences happen all the time.