Off Topic Thread 5.0

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Does anyone use a 5G connection either casually or as their main internet source?

What kind of speeds can you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

It has started appearing a bit on my phone, and you wouldn't notice any speed differences over 4G. Well I didn't anyway, but I wouldn't have been up to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Do you mean using it for tethering? Instead of getting broadband.

A7D2C1E5-C4AA-40C8-AA6B-2D72A96E66D1.jpeg

That’s what I get on 5g sitting at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

Your second paragraph doesn't really make sense. The original 1973 Roe decision took the power to decide out of the hands of the people. You can't be in favour of the Court being the ones making the decision back then but not now. Well, maybe if you're a hypocrite or biased you can.

The US isn't a pure democracy. It's a Republic. The founding fathers instituted the Supreme Court as a check on the excesses of majoritarian rule. They had concerns the majority would enact laws that would infringe the rights of a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭b.gud

Yeah I finally caught up with it last night, really not as shocking as I was expecting, still a good episode though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

The whole point of rights is that the power to decide is out of the hands of the people.

You can't decide to ban a religion in the United States - it is protected under article 1 of the BoR

You can't decide to ban guns in the United States - it is protected under article 2 of the BoR

You can't decide to put your soldiers in someone's house during peace time without the consent of the owner - it is protected under article 3 of the BoR

Now to be fair, maybe Supreme Courts shouldn't be able to create unenumerated rights. The Irish SC can and has, and that's what SCOTUS did in 1973. But if an SC is restricted to what is called "literal interpretation" over "broad" or "historical" interpretation, you make constitutions awfully unwieldy. And because changing the US constitution is virtually impossible you'd paralyze the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Patsy167

Am I the only one that thinks Alan Quinlan is stealing a career as a pundit? He doesn't seem to have much passion for it and never provides any real insight. He just fills up time and waffles on. No way would he be in there if he wasn't an ex-player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭kuang1

Hard to disagree with that.

Part of me kind of thinks "fair play to him if he can get away with it".

And the other part of me thinks he's bland, uninsightful, and even depressing at times and I will actively change channel to avoid listening to him.

Every time Leinster hammer Munster I listen to Quinlan's post match reaction and touch myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Quinlan is poor. But I think most of the pundits are poor.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm not sure they have any incentive to be better because they are given gigs by virtue of who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭OldRio

Listening to Warburton during the six nations was like a breath of fresh air. Insightful clever and didn't hold back.

I'm struggling to remember a decent Irish pundit who was an ex player. Bod can be good, but not as a commentator.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

RoG is grand and Murray Kinsella is technically an ex player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Trimble and Cave are both good. Jackman is awful! Lenihan not much better and B.O.D is meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

Warburton clever? He doesn't come across as that to me. He doesn't even understand the forward pass rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,933 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Trimble, ROG, Horgan off the top of my head. BOD is fine, nothing spectacular, but I think he rubs some people the wrong way due to who he is.

Warburton has the occasional good take, but overall I find him very poor, and dull besides. Especially around the topic of high tackles and red cards, he's got some moronic takes there, can't imaginge why. He's better than Guscott, Wilkinson, Davies, etc. but that's not a high bar to clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I can't warm to Horgan for some reason, but think Trimble is excellent. ROG is an obvious one and Jerry Flannery as well, could listen to him talk about rugby all day.

I actively avoid anything Quinlan is on…

Face facts, we get the pundits that work for TV and radio. The casual fans, with a passing interest in the game. Why do we always have one pundit from each province for URC games. Not for insight, that’s for fans to connect with. Most casual fans don’t know the pundits are talking out of their ass. Sure even on here you will get people saying Franno is insightful and knowledgeable of the game. Lowest common denominator basically.

Quinlan is clearly there for his looks

I haven't seen Paul Reiser in anything in f*ckin' years. To see him pop up in The Boys S3, genuinely bizarre but loved it.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,511 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I am not, this is correct.

Is there anyway to block posters who have their accounts set to private?

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,511 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Stop the world I'm getting off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Go to your own profile and manually add them to your ignore list.

You’re a genius, thank you. That’s just made certain threads more tolerable.

There have been pages on the Leinster / Ireland threads where well over half the posts have been greyed out.

I really wish people would stop engaging with obvious gobshites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭kuang1

Wow. That's a whole new level of bonkers I didn't even know existed!

Thanks for that pj.

A guy training in my gym smells like a 2 week old dead body in a hot country.

he’s training with 2 other guys. If one of your mates stank like an open sewer, would you not tell them?