Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Well a different era but the same antics could be seen in the 1996 all Ireland final replay and they got away scot free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

The "if it happened on the street" is an unfair measure in lots of ways though isn't it? If Dáithí Burke shouldered someone on the street like he did Séamus Harnedy he'd have a case to answer yet nobody questioned why the Gardaí didn't intervene. Likewise the average rugby player. Katie Taylor would probably spend her life in a high security prison if sporting activity was held to the same standard as "on the street". The problem with arguing that it should be is that you have to accept that it applies to all aspects of the physical confrontation that is considered a natural part of sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

What a load of sh1te. It was a msitimed shoulder, no intent in it. Its a physical game. If you dont like the odd hit like that goa nd watch soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

How were those gouging incidents in rugby treated by that game's authorities? I imagine the perpetrators were swiftly and severely dealt with. There were no "Ah now he only grabbed his face, he didn't DELIBERATELY stick his fingers in anyone's eyes. So leave him alone"

There was an incident a few years ago when Alan Quinlan, a Munster and Ireland stalwart, brushed his hand against an opponent's face, it was picked up on camera and he was immediately suspended for "making contact in the eye area". He was bumped off the Lions tour for which he had just been selected as a result. He never actually made a Lions tour. There was no quibble either. You CAN'T DO that sort of thing.

The GAA's natural indignation at ANY comment being made about thuggery by its members is counter productive. The Association should be big enough and bold enough to insist on certain standards of behaviour by players and pitch-side support staff and to be unambiguous about how they react to infringements.

That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Why are you avoiding addressing comers obvious involvement? Call a spade a spade, he was the most involved player in the entire thing. Getting a gouge to the eye is bad form but it neither excuses or justifies his own actions. If you cant see that then the only fool here is you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I blame the Dubs, split them into 4 ASAP to save the game😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭MattressRick

I don't think this could be in the same ballpark as mayo Meath in 96. There were kicks, legs, punches everything flying around during that. On Sunday it was pushing and handbags aside from the eye gouge, the follow up punch to Kelly, and an Armagh sub grabbed jack Glynn around the neck from behind and did a choke hold MMA style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Treble double

I agree with you that the Gaa should deal with it as harshly as possible. That's not the point.

The point is the Taoiseach, Government ministers and clowns like Pat Kenny should keep their beaks out of it because they never opened their beaks when it happened in rugby. Double standards and that's why I would sympathise with what Dara O Se was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,523 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think most half educated people can distinguish the differences between on the street behavior and on the field of play behavior

But some antics we see on the field of play are nothing at all to do with being part of the game, and it is here where serious sanctions need to be brought it. We either want to set a good example and protect people or we don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,613 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

If it was a streaker they would be taken away by the Gardai.

What are the Gardai there for if not to intervene when a member of the public comes onto the pitich with malicious intent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Ara, peacekeepers. There are very few actual peacekeepers in any skirmish ive seen. Plenty guys acting it and then giving the opposition fella a big push or shoulder. Funny they never push their own team mate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The changing room aspect is important. We have all seen melee incidents where players literally sprinted 30m to get involved, in this case players were already coming together in order to go into the tunnel. It isn't clear how it started, but perhaps there is a case for sanction of the players involved there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

No problem at all with physical play within the laws. How do you differentiate though between a 'mistimed shoulder' and a deliberate act to put someone out of the game? They can be made to appear the same and it's not yet possible to read the tackling players mind.

And does the GAA stop or does it even want to stop the regular 'off the ball' shenanigans? Maybe that's just part of the game too, foul as much as you can get away with etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well the remarks were aimed at O'Rourke and his team and he was retired by then.

That 1996 Meath team had about 5 or 6 teenagers. Lads literally just out of minor the previous year. I think Mayo thought they could bully them and got a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭celt262

Do you not think there is a difference ? No matter what way it is painted Kelly was at the game as a supporter the same as you and me have been many times and he chose to enter the field of play to carry out a assault. Should we give free reign to supporters to carry out such acts in future and then say they are great role models?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭Suckler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭jacool

Fair point, but I don't think Kelly came out of the stands, like a streaker would.

Having said that, he certainly showed some naked aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭mikethecop

I seen this lad didn't like it up off the ground , his club backing him and playing the victim just as some other posters here predicted

defending the undefendable just makes you look like a scumbag like kelly lads

as for the sad sacks blaming it on the troubles or the british or what ever that's really really pathetic , scum bags will be scumbags weather you people try to excuse them or not , if the gaa tolerate this sort of trash on its national stage then its time to start cutting funding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭BarneyJ

Don't be dismissive of yourself and your height Baywatch. Some of the world's best men are small in stature. Napoleon, Michael D. Higgins, Nicolas Sarkozy, Paul Daniels, and Yoda to name just a handful. Judge them by their size, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭threeball

He did nothing bar defend himself. If I ran up and shouldered you into the back in a club match I'm sure you'd just smile at me and carry on into the dressing room. Like hell you would, you'd square up like 99.9% of players would. Comer didn't throw a punch, headlock someone or stick his fingers in someones eyes. He grabbed a person who blindsided him by the jersey. If that's worthy of a ban then then half the Armagh team should be banned for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭tanko

When Philly McMahon gouged Kieran Donagheys eye did Jim Gavin throw him off the panel for a year or put out a statement condemning it, did he fook. I see lads calling for lifetime bans, how long did McMahon get banned for. Was Paul Galvin banned for life for gouging an opponents eye?

John Small put a Mayo player in hospital, broke his jaw and knocked out some of his teeth but sure that was just a mistimed shoulder after lining him up from five yards away, it wasn’t even a free iirc. The hypocrisy in most of the reaction to what happened on Sunday is pathetic but not surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,613 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

This clip shows Comer running after an Armagh player to challenge him then push him and throw his shoulder into another player. He is no innocent in this, he was also giving plenty of lip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,794 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is no hypocrisy. We are talking about a specific incident at a match we’ve just seen…. none of us are comparing anything. Apart from you.

Actually you however are simply indulging in whatabouttery and coming back to a player and incident who neither he or his team were involved in this incident or match…the one that is being discussed. Laughable but unsurprisingly it comes back to moaning about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I would ban Armagh from next year’s championship if I was president of the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

This is the downside of a discussion forum such as this, I replied to someone else and now you reply to me changing the context completely. The issue initially raised was why the Gardaí did not get involved.

Nobody said there should not be "serious sanctions". The question was why the Gardaí and the legal system was not the adjudicating authority. I did my best to answer that and that alone. I have no idea what your "half educated people" jibe was about.

It wasn't a jibe, and was not directed at you personally. I read your post and saw something in it that I wanted to discuss, that's all. I think you read my post and assumed it was me having a go at you. It wasn't!

And I’d ban Oisin Mcconville from the RTÉ panel too.

And I would put a lifetime covid lockdown 5km ban on TK, he shouldn’t be allowed outside Armagh again. Let him gouge eyes of his own people up there.

Colm O'Rourke nailed it for me on RTE GAA podcast. Spot on.