Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,184 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,101 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

They made ye sweat for that.

Great penalties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,164 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Comfortably the better team apart from 3 huge brain farts in goal. Great second half and gutsy extra time. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Fair play to Galway, amazing to keep their head to win on penalties after losing a 6 point lead.

Armagh, once more showing once more they should be playing UFC rather than GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Go through the rest later but what's the story with Sean Kelly? Will it stand? Can't be without him.

Oh ya woooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭C__MC

Ye nearly blew it but well done

Have a sneaky feeling ye will be in the final but will come up short

I think we could beat anyone left apart from Kerry. If kerry fall today or against Dublin I wouldn't count us out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,184 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

In fairness Walsh's attemped crossfield pass at the end has to bear some of the blame. Player of his calibre would probably make that pass 9 times out of 10 but you don't take even a tiny risk at that stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,101 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I've a funny feeling Dublin or Mayo would feed a lot of direct ball on top of that full back line and get a goal every time unless something changes dramatically

Well the goalie has to change for a start as you can see they have no confidence in his ability to help out in that situation. Punching a ball straight out the middle and allowing the ball to bounce in the box are cardinal sins. An u12 would know that.

Yes I agree. Terrible decision but I'd give him a pass given the treatment he received throughout that game. The body was gone and the mind followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Galway football is in a better place tonight than it has been for years.

We won we let them back in against the run of play but still saw it out to win.

Derry next in the simi final and it sounds a bit familiar if you're old enough.

Armagh, derry and meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Avon8

What a fcuking day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Has there ever been 8 minutes injury time before it was insane

Times a million. What sport is built for. Just had a quick look at the tunnel incident:

Sean Kelly doesn't seem involved at all. Is there other footage.

Can a sub (Galway) be suspended for swinging at a lad I'm guessing shouldn't be near a pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭rn

Congratulations to Galway tonight. I was concerned ye were poor defensively and not fit enough. But at least on this occasion, penalties returned the right winner. Best of luck v Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭cosatron

Great win. You got to love the spirit of this team, all 14 out field players and subs gave it there all. Molloy, Kelly, mcdaid, daly, teirney and finnerty were excellent all the way through. Will flatherty be back or is anyone is galway football capable of keeping goal. His just a bag nerves in goal

Delighted to get the win in the end. Should never have been in that position though especially against 14. I feel sorry for Gleeson. It's a lonely spot when things go that badly wrong but he needs to be taken out of the firing line now imo.

I think in general the kick outs went alright for him and for close to 70 minutes I'd have said he was fine. Theres an argument that we can't move to a 3rd goalkeeper at this stage but goal 2 in particular was awful at this level and he needs to be far more commanding on the third goal too.

The panic attacks when the game is in the melting pot are too frequent to hope that they won't happen again.

I presume Flaherty is done for the year or any chance he'll be back? If not is Keane any good as alternative? Is Bernard Power still there. Not ideal by any means but his kick outs are generally good, he has played big games previously and has the connection with the Corofin lads.

Either way it's the major issue that the management team need to confront before Derry.

Leaving that aside I thought after the first 20 galway delivered today for most of the game. As in the previous two games though we had been well on top and should have been cruising to victory. On the flip side the reaction to the 3rd Armagh goal was good. Great to see the bench making an impact.

It's a good weekend for Galway football. It's been a long struggle to get back to this point so let's hope this is the start of Galway being a respectable team again.

Given the expectations were at a low last winter its nice to have two teams in the last four. The hurling is going to be a struggle to even be competitive but Derry presents a definite opportunity to make the final for both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Great win for Galway.

A few observations

The Good.

- We no longer have a soft center , Armagh came with a plan today, to get stuck into us (legal & illegal) but we stood upto them and gave as good as we got. This type of win is character building.

- We now have more than 2 forwards (Walsh, Comer), McDaid had a stormer today. Finnerty & Conroy also contributed.

The Bad

- We have a goalkeeping problem. (Understatement of the year)

- Our fade out in games is very worrying, whether its physical or mental fatigue or something else.... PJ needs to get to bottom of this ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭supernova5

Galway for the double, its written in the stars, cannot see how it can be any other way...

For those of us that likes the stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Stewball

Without looking it up, if I recall correctly we beat Derry in the semi finals in 98 & 01.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,367 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭cosatron

Personally I don't see Derry being a harder game than today.

They scored 5 goals yesterday but played a team who wouldn't be a good bet to have even made the final of the Tailteann.

Also every shot they took went in, they weren't walked into the goal so they could have ended up with 1/2/3 as well.

On Gleeson, I wouldn't blame him too much about the kickouts. I do blame him for his slowness in getting the ball placed(again that is something the management clearly don't see an issue with so not fully his issue) if players aren't making runs the goalie can only do so much but he needed to deal with all of the goals better.

That aside, there shouldn't have been 8 mins.

So we should have won by 2/3/4 points. That's saying that a quarter of the half was wasted which was ridiculous.

Last time I saw that long added someone would have been stretchered off.

Outside of the red card there wasn't anything that warranted long stoppages.

I didn't see anything from Dublin or Kerry to say they're a step above. I think any of the 4 have a decent shot at winning it. Kinda like Galway/Clare and KK in the hurling. Not as whole pile between them.

What was the rationale for having both teams using the same dressing rooms instead of one on each side?... Personally if I was a a manager I'd make sure my team avoid entering together to avoid issues like today.. same in Rugby(I remember a Connacht yellow earlier this season and you could see the HT flashpoint coming), it's just something that happens too much.. you should just rally the squad together on the sideline for 30seconds to avoid getting dragged into these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Jizique

There were plenty of stoppages in H2, I was commenting on it with the Galway lad beside me; there was a spell where a Galway lad dropped everytime Armagh got a score, even the ref finally started ignoring them: Walsh was down for a long time as well when the game was stopped for him mid-action; I expected at least 6

I did expect 4-6 alright but 8 just seemed overkill.

It would be just common sense to take it away from the ref.

What use would it be for someone to go to ground if the clock stopped?.

People can talk about killing momentum but 99% of people go down to waste time.

In a tight game when the ref blows it up is the difference between winning, losing or drawing. Needs to be fair. Amazing how they won't vote it in when there's literally zero advantages to letting the clock run on regardless.

They gave the impression on the Sunday Game that Comer instigated the incident which is worrying as the GAA seem to take the lead from tv when dealing with incidents like this.

The truth is, the player he confronted had just shoulder charged him to the back as he was leaving the pitch and then Comer hit him a shoulder back. Then 3 Armagh lads piled in and then the Galway lads came to Comers aid.

I could see the gobshítes in HQ going after Comer though based on the footage they ran on the Sunday Game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I suppose in certain instances the ref wouldn't be able to "make a draw of it" ching-ching innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭vid36

More suspensions is a huge worry alright, who knows what they will do.