If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

And I apologise for the claptrap comment too 😁😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

That wasn't me you were replying to when you said that😁

A well apologies all round, I can get cranky at times 😂😂

Right there's 6 kids, thought you talking about all adults. That's even harder, my goodness it's not easy raising that many kids nowadays. The food bill alone would be huge, then school suppliers, clothes, shoes etc you seem to be begrudging them.

I'm not begrudging anyone, just correcting your snide comment and calculations and what they are getting is generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Still no refugee cap, still unlimited free benefits, still being overloaded on every media outlet about Ukrianinans. Well I am sick to death of it. Enough is enough. Will some opposition TD atleast have the balls to go against this Shambles.

We are really looking like the free state now.

You don't know this family from Adam or what they have been through, coming from a horrendous war zone, yet you have the audacity to come online to tell all and sundry what 'your friend' told you down in the pub what they were getting. It's disgusting and really none of ye business.

Unlike some, I don't jump head first in and make assumptions, I asked ligitimate questions of the OP, questioned benifits she thought they were getting, accepted her story in good faith and as is my want, commented.

If someone is critical for the sake of being critical, I'll also respond, if I'm wrong, I'll admit I'm wrong. I get your new to Boards, finding your way around, perhaps you've yet to grasp its concept, but I'll say this, I don't need to be lectured or moderated by you.

Now can we move on, this is becoming tiresome.

I'm back again and apologies for delay in clarifying things. I'm in Kerry this week and can't manage Boards well from my phone. Tonight I have the use of a laptop.

So I was wrong in assuming this family of 6 and 2 parents would get fuel allowance automatically and apologies for that. But that is all I am wrong about. To reply to Shauna677 this is not what somebody down in the pub told a friend of a friend. I met the host today and I also met the Ukranian family. Two parents, 6 children. If you like I can even supply their names! They have got their house today and I was there to see a bus coming to collect them and bring them to the house as the host (my kind friend) could not fit 8 people and himself in his car. They are getting social welfare of €600 a week and Child Benefit of €1000 a month. They will not be paying rent.

This family are Russian speaking and are from the Ukraine/Russian border and as a result have not integrated with other Ukranians here. They have no English at all even after a month. They were in France before Ireland and left Ukraine almost as soon as war broke out. That's all I know. It is not heresay, it is fact. I have met the host and the family. The host is a 64 year old widower who had no children of his own and operated from a place of kindness. He is absolutely shattered after having the family stay with him for a month and his house is in need of deep cleaning and repairs to breakages. But he is delighted to have his place back to himself.

[Mod - some items containing potential identifiers have been snipped]

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

Sorry Dempo1 I was wrong on that and have no problem with you pulling me up on it. They won't get FA I assume until they are on JSA for 15 months or whatever the criteria is Thanks.

O, I wasn't intending to be critical was more curious as it would have surprised me if they had been awarded FA but with all the reports etc it wouldn't have really surprised me but I think regardless discretion for FA will have to be considered for many more people next winter regardless of who they are or how long someone is on a payment with the cost of living crisis.

No apology necessary and at a minimum your friend needs to check out that payment for hosts which is being back dated from date refugees moved in. It's not legislated for yet but soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,561 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Vardakar said he finally took in a refugee in May via the Red Cross

Hasn't this refugee been through enough already 😳🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,494 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

That’s great…. And what security resources are put in place to ensure in a time of great risk and uncertainty for us… that the Tainiste has appropriate security provision in his home ? With someone just off a plane, unknown to him, to everyone and all of a sudden hanging out in his spare room and getting their leg over the chaise longue ?! More Gardai, or what ?

Baffles me how this guy got elected, the people of Dublin West… hang your heads for you shall not be remembered fondly for this.

He does have his Ministeral car, Garda Drivers for a quick get away or perhaps his Aide De Camp could possibly be put in a hut outside his house as an extra security measure 🤔 😏

I doubt he'll be home much with all his Virtue signalling to be seen to on the world stage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,561 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Technically, it is Matt's house in Dublin 6 as Leo emphasised in the paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

The word is out. Ireland is a soft target.

Government committing to giving houses to all and sundry who arrive here.

Government granting an amnesty to illegals.

There is zero political opposition either. All parties sing off the same sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Bloody politicians not taking in refugees, Bloody politicians taking in refugees.

The perpetual contrarianism knows no bounds.

I know its disgraceful, Took Leo long enough but of course given his early pronouncements and Keen sense of self awareness of his image and expertise in Virtue signalling, he could hardly avoid not being so gracious if for any other reason saving face.

My heart goes out to this refugee, imagine being so exposed to such epic amounts of smugness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,732 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There's "perpetual contrarianism" alright, but not from the corner you're making out.

Step back from the keyboard warrioring for a minute and look around you. Read some of the news coverage on inflation, the housing crisis, the problems in accessing health care, or even the conditions these "refugees" are living in.

Now, consider how adding still more people will affect those problems. Do you think that it'll help, or make them even worse?

What benefits are there of doing so? It's clearly not good for those people already here who are struggling to access those services and pay their bills. It's definitely not good for new arrivals who are sleeping on the floor and are even more exposed to these problems (although at least they have a roof over their head and food in their belly as I said before).

The issue here is that the Government is going far out of its way to look after these people which in theory is laudable, but not when it comes at the expense of the natives and existing migrants in the country. No one has an issue with helping where we can, but that's the key point - there are limits to what we can do. We do not have infinite resources available.

I suspect you are fully aware of all of this of course, but are too dug in and invested in your contrarian position to "give in" (as you no doubt see it) at this stage, but I think we can all see it for what it is.

Took Leo long enough 

Took the Red Cross long enough you mean, correct?

Given what we know the lady he is hosting was one of the more expediated ones.

Politician says he will do something and then does it. Internet malcontents still furious.

Read some of the news coverage on inflation, the housing crisis, the problems in accessing health care,

Inflation is being super charged by war in Europe.

We have a different housing crisis every decade, not long ago we were bulldozing houses.

Health care has been not fit for purpose probably as long as I've been in existence.

Absolute fúck all to do with taking in Ukrainians, like I said previously at the rate they are taking up employment fleeing an actual war, maybe just maybe their commendable endeavour will rub off on the do fúck all but complain crowd and maybe we might start seeing some change to the things you listed.

What isn't going to change anything though is perpetual moaning on the internet. But but but what about me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Gamergurll

Seems like a strange question, no one has any idea who they are inviting into their homes the hosts are the only ones being vetted? At any rate I'm sure he has a lot more security that that man mentioned in the post a few pages back being made to feel like a weirdo in his own home for using the bathroom. And I'm sure if Varadkar did have any issues I doubt the advice given would be 'don't waste garda time'. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

In all fairness I imagine the delay was from the Red Cross . They are placing people at snails pace . I know of three people pledged homes in early March and still no contact bar a few e mails

I don't doubt it, just in a cheeky mood this morning) 😉

Imagine having pledged a beautiful own door granny flat and decked it out with new duvets etc and not a word from the Red Cross . The big issue now is people pledged for six months back in March and three of those months are now wasted . I blame the Government , flinging this problem at NGOs who were ill equipped and not at all up to the task

It really is one of the most troubling aspects of this crisis, whilst I have views on numbers and the entire approach some will disgree with, I've commended those who've offered accommodation, in fact some extraordinary levels of compassion, kindness and deceny shown.

I said from the start the Red cross"s involvement in this was bewildering but I'll grant they hadn't a clue about the complexities involved and indeed shortage of accomedation available, I'd wager they are privately embarrassed by it all.

This does not excuse the their incompetence, lack of follow up on pledges and I truely believe many who initially pledged have walked away having had enough, realistically though it was only ever supposed to short term solution, I'm afraid this is not a short term problem and government finally waking up to that fact, the problem now is they've Dug a hole, jumped into it and can't find away out, it wouldn't be so bad if people could see some leadership or sensible solutions, instead all were hearing is absurdity after absurdity with other crisis getting worse, literally by the day.

It's all very depressing stuff.

I have to agree with you about numbers . There is no plan , no forward plans in place . I dread the day we have to tell our Ukrainian family that the six months is up and we need to put the house on the market . Already I am worried and anxious over it .

The lack of controls and checks and the opportunities for fraud is a huge issue now and the genuine refugees will suffer because of it .

Fair play but sorry your considering putting house on the Market, I understood the 6 months was only a guide, I'd presume that can and will be extended, unless of course the 6 months was your decision for personal reasons. But nonetheless very decent of you.

And I also agree ultimately its lack of foresight that will result in refugee's ultimately suffer in the end.