Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

F1 2022 thread - see post 1 for rules

Could be, could be he's a booster short. If it turns out it's a refusal then feck him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

He never made it into the paddock there, that's why they hosted the show on the yacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,007 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Complete with Max's first cart 2001, some helmets, overalls etc. and a 2016 RB12.

We're they for sale? How much for the RB12 lol

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Mercs porpoising again badly. Herbert talking about FIA intervening.

Di Resta replied saying they can stop it, but that means giving up lap time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Hijpo

If the FIA get involved it's ridiculous. It can be resolved, If they can't resolve it without it impacting performance, tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Looking at the head cam footage of Lando seems that the MacLaren isn't immune either

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,187 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Same with the Ferrari, lots of bouncing there too but it’s not slowing them down much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Hijpo

They don't seem to be banging on about safety concerns either and Sky only seem to mention Russel and Hamilton when they speak about "extra physio" sessions etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,811 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If rule changes are brought in to benefit Mercedes, it's time to turn off the TV.

I think Mercedes need fully active suspension to make this current car actually work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,386 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Mercedes again begging for off track assistance to help them. Píss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,975 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The bouncing looks dodge. If they do bring in a rule change, then it would need to be soemthing like a certain amount of bouncing is tolerated, anything beyond it needs the car to change. So it doesn't punish the cars that are designed better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,811 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'm surprised with how long its taking to get a handle on it for all teams.

You would think they would be able to control things to operate at close to optimum down force without going over limit and floor stalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭recyclebin

They already brought in the floor stays to help some teams out. Would not surprise me if they did something to help others out with the porpoising. The smaller teams need to stand firm on this and the budget cap. No more changes. It's the only thing that will bring Ferrari and Red Bull back to the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,451 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

There is an easy fix to porpoising, increasing the ride height. But it costs performance so teams don't want to do it.

If this a safety issue, forget about active suspension etc, just mandate that the teams use the available tools to reduce porpoising. If it costs performance, they need to find a solution within the existing rules. That's the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭quokula

Of all the “emerging markets” F1 visits as the FIA sells the sport to the highest bidder who wants to engage in a bit of sports washing, Baku is the one that always makes me think “oh that looks like a place worth visiting” so I guess the trick works sometimes.

The reason Malaysia stopped hosting was because they felt they reached the point of maximum exposure and the return on the investment dropped off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,153 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

That's certainly true. Some established races are more about the local economy than that. The Canada race makes money for the city, state and country through sales and income tax. So the city, state and national government all contribute to cover the fee. It's nice when you see a win-win like that and nobody is left paying for it.

The Singapore race was similar where the local businesses and government went halves and they both made money. Then the businesses said "feck it. The government can cover the whole cost and we'll reap the rewards". That was why they negotiation nearly broke down.

I wonder about how the other emerging markets like the US are funded. F1 genuinely wants to expand into those areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I'm starting to get worried that Red Bull will walk both championships now. You can never trust Ferrari to keep things exciting. They only way they could beat Mercedes in 2019 was with a dodgy engine, and now they can only keep up with Red Bull with a brittle one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Montreal next weekend. One of my favourites as it is an evening race and the Jordan team always did well there.

Ferrari is doing reasonably well and seems to have hit the ground running with a fast, albeit unreliable, car. I doubt they can really compete for long with the cost cap.

They're probably the worst value for money team on the grid. Even when they were at their peak with Schumacher, Brawn and Todt, they also spent outrageous money on testing and everything else. That was fine back then and fair dues, it worked. But the cost cap means they can't out-spend their rivals to develop.

Apart from a few peaks in their history, Ferrari have been a midfield team for most of their time in F1. They had the glory years in the mid 2000s mentioned above, and very early in their history when they bought the winning Alfa car, and a few years at the top with Lauda. But generally, they haven't been a winning team, or even a top team, despite having the resources.

@quokula Does today's race put to bed the idea that Red Bull has never favoured one driver over the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Lads/lassies bit help please

can anyone recommend good ear defender, myself and my son going to silverstone this year, our first Grand Prix

So toto apparently saying Lewis might not race in Canada

I wouldn't worry too much, at Imola I doubt 1% (including toddlers) had any ear protection. I'd be more worried about spending big on good stuff and them being too good tbh. Unless there's other needs a pair of regular earplugs put in properly would almost be overkill.

Yeah I'd agree.

@Charliebull A normal set of ear plugs or any cheap ear defenders would do you. Not being flippant about your child's hearing. It's not that loud.

It's a great atmosphere. You and the lad will love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭quokula

Both drivers were given equal opportunities as always. Perez was able to pull out a lead but burnt out his tyres and was over a second per lap slower than Verstappen who reeled him in and overtook him easily. The fact the team asked them not to get caught up fighting and risk a situation like Ricciardo in the process of the inevitability of the comfortably fastest guy getting past really doesn’t mean anything, though people will use it to justify their pre-existing biases.

If they wanted to favour Max they wouldn’t have given Perez first preference on strategy in Monaco when Max would have won the race if they’d prioritised him. If they wanted to favour Max they wouldn’t have allowed Perez to try and pull out a lead in Baku, though of course that backfired as he burnt out his tyres in the process. If they wanted to favour Max they wouldn’t have let Perez to push hard trying to catch him after the pitstop, setting the fastest lap in the process.

Of course ultimately Verstappen was just far too quick for Perez and beat him by over 20 seconds, and some people are seeing ghosts and making up excuses when the reality is quite simple, Sergio is just not as quick as his teammate over a race distance.

I didn't expect you to just admit the obvious fact that they favoured Max today. But I didn't expect you to go to these lengths to justify it. Fair play.

How do you justify the Barcelona incidents where they didn't allow Perez to overtake max when they were on different strategies and perez was on fresher tyres, but did allow max to overtake Perez later in the race?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 744 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Complete and utter crap from Toto. Lewis will be out, 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,386 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its from the same script that said Lewis wouldn't finish today. I wonder would he have dramatically retired if the the Ferrari's were ahead of him?