Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Maybe he liked to wear ladies things.... ooooh matron... :)

I don't think it was exactly that model, but it's as close as I could find. But I could nearly swear there were no markings on the bezel, or more likely they were worn off over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,043 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

That’s what I thought originally but it has romans on the bezel and they are pretty small , there is a ‘gents’ version which is tiny , my wife had one for a bit, very faint watch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Chaps I came into a bit of money this week unexpectedly, a thank you from work for keeping the show on the road during covid. Nothing major but a few grand nonetheless and as I've not expected it and it is to mark a hard slog, I've decided to blow it on a watch.

What to get? I have a seamaster 300m as is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Congrats.A watch is definitely the best thing to spend that type of money on.I would suggest a Tudor black bay , gmt is particularly nice or the BB58 for something smaller or if it’s a dressier watch you want theres the Tudor royal.Will hold its value better than most if you decide to move it on at a later stage.

I have been browsing Cartier Santos and Ballon Bleu mainly but also JLC polaris. I can hold off and stick the money into an unused credit union account in Ireland and be topping up until I can afford one of the above. Baby 1 is on the way and I recently bought my wife a constellation so spending a lump in addition is probably a little unwise.

I have my tool watch so to speak so maybe something with a leather strap for more formal wear. I wear business dress in work and the seamaster works with that but a dressier watch may be nice.

Post edited by James Bond Junior on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,043 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

the current version of the santos is very nice, may be worth trying both sizes, i had the large in blue and it wears pretty big, maybe a little too big.

JLC polaris was a little underwhelming (had this one for a while https://www.jaeger-lecoultre.com/gb-en/watches/polaris/polaris-mariner-date-stainless-steel-q9068180)

I tried the polaris and loved it but I like things slightly different and not what everyone else has. I think something cartier is a no brainer because of that. But I'll have to hold tough and squirrel away a bit more.

Post edited by James Bond Junior on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭hitemfrank

I've been drawn to the Cartier Santos over the last month or so. If only I had the available money for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,450 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

crazy suggestion but how about a Nomos dress watch and a lovely weekend away (with the spare change) before the little one arrives :P

What is the rate of VAT on watches? If I buy in Ireland I can claim VAT back as I am non resident.

Creamy goodness, this is a watch thread. Can you leave your common sense suggestions outside please. Man maths need only apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,640 ✭✭✭✭unkel

23%

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Unknownability

The search function on this website has really gone to hell so excuse the question which most likely has been asked previously.

Can anyone tell me if watchfinder.ie is based in Ireland?

Can you try on the watches?

Is there haggle room in the prices?

no, that's just a website. They have presence here and in the UK and their HQ in France though and any price agreed includes all shipping and taxes

no

yes

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Thanks @OmegaGene & @unkel may make an offer on a watch that seems very keenly priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Gavin1

Anyone heading to the Waterford tomorrow night for the lecture in the Museum of Time at 7.30?

Took the plunge and offered 10% less than asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Iguarantee

My current watch collection consists of an OceanX Sharkmaster 1000 which I bought circa 18 months ago.

I do like it, particularly as it’s heavy and feels solid on my wrist.

I had previously mentioned in this forum that one of the first high-end watches I saw as a kid was a Rolex Sea Dweller. It made quite an impression on me and thoughI really like the Sea Dweller but the price puts me off as it appears to be double the price of a submariner. The submariner doesn’t really float my boat.

A former colleague at work had an Omega (maybe a diver 600) which I was very impressed by.

I had a look on the Omega website and it shows the RRP for each watch. My question is, should I choose to get an Omega, where is the best place to buy it? Is there typically a markup on the RRP, if so, approximately how much is the markup?

I appreciate these are not cheap items to buy, but I’m likely only going to buy one of two of these in my lifetime so I’d prefer to pay as little as possible :)

Any advice you can offer is appreciated.

Ffs, they came back with a counter offer and before I could log in and buy it the watch was sold.

Wasn't the only one who thought it was a good price!

It actually appears in stock now on the °ie website and out of stock on °co°uk website.

I've sent them an email so hopefully will be clarified in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭micks_address

If you are buying Omega I'd highly recommend buying second hand. For most models once you buy you will see a dip in value of 20 percent in some cases. Look on Chrono24 and buy nearly new. For example a new seamaster 300 is about 5600 rrp. I bought as good as new one on Chrono24 for 3800.

You won't get much discount in shops. Worth going to weirs or lunns or your closest retailer to try on.

Best of luck with the shopping.

@Iguarantee - the Sharkmaster 1000 are terrific watches for the money. I had one too (the SMS1012 Rolex James Cameron hommage) and went on to buy the real thing

If you really want a Seadweller but are going for second best with the Omega, you are always going to still want the Seadweller. An error many of us in here have made. By all means work your way up, simply nobody goes from a €400 to a €14000 watch in one step. Just try and make sure you do not lose a lot of money on the way as that would only make the time longer before you are able to afford the watch you really want. Buying a new Omega will almost certainly mean you will lose a lot of money when you sell it.

Chrono24 prices should only be used as a guideline for the highest price to pay and also as a directory to find dealers. When I bought my seamaster it was €4300 new on bracelet on Chrono , I contacted the dealer through their instagram page and got it for €3960 .

Obviously you need to be comfortable that the dealer is legit as you’ve less security outside Chrono but once you do your homework is definitely cheaper to buy direct than Chrono getting their 6% of the sale.

As mick says the discounts from b&m stores seems to be gone now so just use them for trying on the watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Iguarantee

Thanks for the replies lads.

I actually wanted the James Cameron OceanX but it was sold out and I didn’t really want to wait as my existing watch had broken.

The Omega Ultra Deep is also one I’ve admired, in my eyes it’s nicer than the Sea Dweller, but “it’s not a Rolex”.

I have no practical use for a diving watch but I’m 6’3” and north of 100kg and historically the lighter watches just don’t feel right.

I had assumed I’d go for a new watch for the whole experience of buying it new, I take your point on the second hand value though. Perhaps I’d end up selling an Omega to get the Rolex I actually wanted.

What’s the going rate for a Sea Dweller these days?

If you want the James Cameron, do NOT settle for the 116660, the bracelet is simply too small / narrow, it will make the watch wobble more and it looks out of proportion. It's a few grand cheaper than the proper 126660 though, which will set you back about €18k now from a grey dealer if you have a little patience.

Like yourself I am tall and north of 100kg with bigger than average wrists too and the watch fits me perfectly, I wear it 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭njburke

Anyone in the parish have a Seiko 7548? It's an 80s quartz using the mechanics of a 6139, it makes it somewhat serviceable. I'm thinking I buying one in from Japan.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I had a diver one years ago. Gave it to a friend who was fecking off to Australia. Well he could swim, unlike me. 😁 He still has it running strong twenty plus years later. Damn thing was/is bulletproof.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

You know the rules!

POIDH 😀

Well wear, it is a great price with deep heritage.

But, pictures, obviously. 👍