Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Love Punting , Providing Selections & Chatting Gibberish ; & I Intend To Do So On Hyah

Detective wins , so much for that 😴

3.20 Redcar Legend Of Xanadu will chance a 2-place lay @ 1.41.. Not so sure about the ~6f trip for him,, has solid form over 5f, and the opposition are new to t'game, or not up to much,, ah well, we teks oour chances 😂

have backed Imenso there for 3 and 4 places @ ~ 6/5 & ~ 2/1

g'luck

more rubbish! jolly hacks up at Redcar

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Menalippe looked awkward and filled the last spot on the score sheet 🤣 But Panama stepped in to save the day. Two down, one more to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Konny Rool

@liamtech have backed Lord P 15/2 e/w for that Leicester race - am happy enough with that - am more hopeful than confident 🙇

@ j@utis I looked at your mention there and I can neither rule Triggered in our out - that's the best I can do 🤣 Well done on Panama!

Gone for ARYAAH 9/2 in the next at Leicester; favourite looks short there

No luck in this one, went out like at bulb lol.

more for tomorrow

Tuesday 17th May

Looking at the Wolves 4.20 and it looks as if the ~ 2/1 fav Captain Kane has a poor draw in box no.11 to contend with here. Might be good enough anyway, but maybe vulnerable for a win, and possibly a place too. Won at Southwell three runs back over a similar trip (1f less) but that's a more fair track,, he managed to get the lead early on from a poor draw and held on there.. His last two runs have been at the course over the extended 9 furlongs, where he finished 2nd and first - not so sure about the 12 furlongs here.

don't really have an opinion on what wins it,, Mark Johnston's Whitcliffe ~ 11/4 might try make all from t'five box, and is a reasonable price to win. I'm not really liking Mutara 5/1 ~ or Mister Falsetto ~ 8/1, at least not as far as winning goes. Vaxholm ~ 9/1 might be worth an ew bet; being drawn in box 10 may force him to be held up,, his win at 10 at Lingers three runs back reads pretty well here imo.. Mutara came third lto over ~ 11fs at Windsor, but don't think much of that particular piece of form - place-lay p'raps..

Purple Reign can't be ruled out with Hollie and the cheekpieces, but i can't see it,,, The 15 race maiden Birkie Girl ~ 25/1 may flatter to deceive from her decent draw in four (may try make all if she's allowed) but I've decided to turn around from that precipice = no coin from me,, does go well enough at the course tbf, but I think she has place claims at an absolute best,,, wouldn't be putting anyone off her, as she's a decent price if yis can make case for her..

A poor day today - will hope for better on t'moro ! 🤣

😊

If I've learnt nowt from the movies; amongst other things ''dying aint much of a living'' [am sure the hairdressers etc get a good laugh outta that one any time their bloke is watching The Outlaw Josey Wales] is usually pretty apt, but as far as one what's germane to proceedings, this one fits t'bill: "after all, tomorrow's another day" 😊

Anyroad, no joy today; so dusting me blinds, or crying into me coffee are two things what aint exactly hovering at north of high single figures atm,,

but to keep on track, hehe on "track" , I've decided to try solve another one,, yay 😃 !!

Tuesday 17th May

2.00 Brighton

Don't know why Thunder Lily ~ 5/1 is up towards top o' bettin - looks like a place-lay prospect to yours truly,, I think the ~ 7f trip will be too sharp for Seamus Durack's 4yr old filly,,

The out of form De Vegas Kid ~ 7/2 can't be ruled out; he's down in the ratings and down into a class 6 for the first time for a long long time,, has win only claims, one would surmise..

Split Elevens ~ 9/4 aint one for massive faith going here on the turf at the trip, i'd imagine,, has some very good recent AW form, but looks vulnerable to me.. looks a place lay job to me; that's based on his (albeit few) previous efforts over 6 and 7 furlongs, on grass,, is trained by Butler too, so who knows

Bounty Pursuit ~ 10/3 could well hack up if he replicates his lto CD winning run over pretty much the exact same conditions (same class/ground) ,,, worth a win bet mebbe,, is a ten yr old and his run last time came out of the blue as regards previous form,, couldn't have absolute faith that he'll follow that run up.

Alba Del Sole ~ 50/1 is a speculative one,, a former CD winner from last Oct (poor enough time/race) ,, looks like it's only the jockey Taylor Fisher's third ever ride,, ew for pennies

Breckland ~ 11/1 looks a place lay if he shortens on his 2nd run for his latest, and third trainer, Mrs A Dunn.. Apart from a win over 7 on the Standard/Slow going at Kempton, he looks to have little form to make him be involved here.

Rainbow Sign ~ 5/1 looks another to avoid,, place-lay for me,, no real turf form,, likely to find the pace on the good turf ground too hot here to lie up with - a tactic which saw him win lto at Lingfield, but Brighton aint the Lingfield AW track. 😃

Apache Jewel ~ 50s likely won't be out with the washing, but is likely to be out the places by a couple or more lengths - doesn't look good enough, does this 17 race maiden; at least not over 7 furlongs on good ground.

Queen Sarabi ~ 11/1 is fairly priced.. she can at least possibly thwart one of me potential place-lays,,, can go well perhaps on 'good' , but overall doesn't appeal as any kind of bet.. If she shortened massive, and the going was better than good (good-good to firm in places atm) then she'd be a potential place-lay.

Will leave Sparkling Diamond ~ 80/1 out of it, though she might pop up at a massive price some day,,

g'luck :)

Tuesday 17th May

5.17 Huntingdon

A maiden hurdle here with nine going to post,, all bar one have had at least one go over the obstacles,,, Awesomedude is the ~ 13/8 jolly here for this, an almost 2m affair,, tried to make all last time and came 2nd..

I've had a look here, and no's 2,3,5,6 are likely, or possible, leaders.. this could put the short priced Pipe fav under pressure, and leave him vulnerable.. He's off since last June, so that's a positive for those who wish to oppose Awesomedude,, am liking him atm for a place-lay

Patient Dream ~ 5/2 has more experience than most, and is my idea of an ew bet here,, Scratch that e/w 😜 was 8/1 on the 'probable' , but is 2nd fav in the betting,, small win only at the prices 🤣

5.47 Huntingdon

Little appeal here in this 5 horse horse race,, Dylan's Sea Song ~ 4/1 is racing off the back of an absence,, price is poor enough, but the mare is back into a Class 5,, has an ew chance for small stakes, if the ground is no worse than 'good' (good is the forecast going) ,, only small bet here, but if there's any soft at all in description, then i'll leave the Usher mare off here..

Tuesday 17th May

6.10 Sligo Gradulations ~ 6/4 heads the market here,, has two good seconds from the last two runs of hers, with both those at Gowran Park,, they were on yielding and yielding to soft ground, and both races were over similar trips,, slightly better ground expected tomorrow, and the extra ~ furlong should help,, Some good stables represented here, and I would say Andy Oliver's filly is a vulnerable fav,, them last two races of hers were against solely her own sex,, Going by her sire Mukhadram, I'm guessing a race of this sort over 10fs aint entirely suitable, but should still be there or thereabouts, but at her current odds it's a place-lay recommendation from me.

Number 1 poster he say : "put your ducks in a row" , and, if you no have ducks, he say "all things, like thoughts/musings/ruminations must be put in row/order, so as best to be able to make good decision"

didn't really say any of that, but it's good advice nonetheless 🤣

thank you for indulgence

KING'S VIEW 15/2 ew 5.10 Sligo

FIZZICAL 5/1 win 5.55 Killarney fav Cigamia is short enough at 1/2. It's a trappy affair this. The favourite might lead here so will hope there's a decent pace on to make it a proper race.

Good Luck 🤣🤣

I expect going to change to soft in irish tracks with so much of rain on the way. My notebook suggests Stay Local in 7:25 Killarney, shortie though...

I like the look of Mutara in this one 😅 He and the Captain Kane have met before but Mutara is 8lb better off this time can come out on top. I'm liking Whitclife too, he finished a good 2nd lto away from the rest. HT ART tipped Mutara too, so I might just tag along...

No luck with Mutara in 4:20 Wolves, finished 4th, James Doyle leaves Wolves without a winner after Hugh Taylor ATR tipped - or jinxed - all his rides there today. Captain Kane won that race. I'm knackered after work, no more for me today, I leave that Killarney race be, I missed 4 winners and counting from my notebook today but I wouldn't have backed them anyway or would have I?

Sligo 5.10 Poet's Pride about evens in a match against Eglish here

Tomorrow Wednesday 18th May

Have a few picks for the one race,, am anticipating (hoping for 🤣 ) rain

1.00 Ayr

Dandy Maestro ~ 4/5 was very impressive lto when winning at Newbury on good,, also won time before that over a mile (or close enough to it) also, at Nott on gd to soft; those were his first two runs on turf.. a lot of rain about and going is good to soft atm ,, will hope it changes to soft, plus the horse has a fair weight to lump, so will hope he's anchored by one or both..

some e/w picks

JUST HISS 12/1 dropping down weights, but does need to recapture old form,, ran okay lto in Class 6,, was running in higher grades before that since - well 'almost' forever 😋 one class 5 out of the last several years, which was 3 runs back,, barring that a Class 4 was the lowest he's been tackling for a long while

PALLAS LORD 7/1 good pilot,, run over 7f two runs back on soft inspires confidence; all the better if it rains imo,,, ran okay lto in a Class 5,, has never won beyond that 7f trip mind,, shrewder types might go win only, but the price is fair, he's only 4 and has time on his side

ENGLES ROCK 16/1 First run on turf for a while for t'six yr old mare,, went okay over CD last October on soft, when finishing third,, Out of form, but her last three turf runs (over same/similar trips) give her a chance here at prices..

weather v changeable,, will settle on just the above for now

g'luck 🤣

Wednesday 18th May

6.30 Kempton

A novice stakes race, with almost half the 14 declared unraced,, two I like each w at fair prices:

SPELLS AT DAWN (11) 10/1 is poorly drawn, as is the other pick,, is having his third race,, a replication of his lto run, which was a massive improvement on his first run, would put him on t'premises here.. that said, his decent 4th over C&D was from a low draw in two,, fair price, and can't rule him out..

PROPHET'S DREAM (12) 11/2 The former showjumper with a title (they love their 'eventing' and that kinda rubbish, them what come up with 'honours lists' 😉) has his grey colt drawn third widest of all out of the 14 declared... Not too great of a concern, based on the case I'm putting forward 😋 He ran poor lto at Yarmouth on his comeback run (his second),, was close to the pace then tho,,

It was his first run at Chelmsford, over 7furlongs, last December, that can give him a squeak here,, he started slow, was out the back, and finished 4th that day,, a replication of that run - namely racing from the back, but minus the 'starting slow' bit - at albeit a different course, and with the (hopefully) overall improvement from having had two runs, does inspire in this degenerate some confidence..

Others to note: Beauen Arrows (4) 9/1 (likely inspired/named after Beau Greaves - the current female darts champion and a cut above the usual rubbish we see in that discipline - been struggling with the auld 'dartitis' I think, so will hope she gets over that) Anyroad, I don't think Beauen Arrows willst fare so well here on his third ever run, as i feel he'll not stay the seven,, has a good draw tho..

Tickets (5) 5/6 this jolly looks underpriced and i feel summit beats him,, is having his third run,, a decent second lto over track and trip on KR's birthday when he tried to mek all,, ran a bit keen, which prolly didn't help, but I feel something beats him anyway - will likely try make all later on today i'd imagine,,

It's likely one or both of the two most recent mentioned will set t'fractions in this - will hope this does for t'chances of Tickets, if he's 'duelling it out' with the similarly lowly drawn BA, who's likely more of a 6furlong horse.. I reckon other punters will notice this too, and can see Tickets going out to 13/8 overall fav at some stage, but shorten before the off.

😊

5.50 Southwell

Just the five going to post here as Paul Nicholls' horse is a non,, hard to see ALLAVINA 2/5 lose here, but does look more than a smidge underpriced,, Floating Rock has a chance at 7/4 with t'books on only his 2nd chase start,, Still, I'd rather lay the jolly @ ~ 1.45 (about 9/4 as far as 'odds of reward' go) , than back the 2nd fav at marginally north of 5/2 on t'exchanges - only a hopeful one here, but as long as Allavina don't win, I don't care who does.

Allavina's on her fifth chase run - first two were in grade 1s, and the next two in Class 3s (same as today),, Is stepping down in trip - may help, may not😊 Like the Kempton race, I'm hoping there'll be a duel on here up front; this time between Allavina and Floating Rock,, Either way, I think Allavina needs to take a lead, and I'm not seeing an out and out frontrunner here,,, could be a trappy affair, and, for that reason, I think the fav should be more a 4/6 shot to take the honours here.

Gd Luck :)

3.30 Warwick JOHN BETJEMAN 7/1 e/w is capable of giving a very good account here,, A few in this like to lead, including the selection, and will hope he races sensibly,, looks like it's gonna be frenetic here, so a lot of emphasis on jumping.. Normally I'd make some sort of remark re the horse's name, and i could cheat and look him up, but I know nowt about the horse's famous namesake, so i'll leave off on looking up any of his poems 😂

will hope all eight go to post for them three places 😎

educational this racing craic too - if someone were minded tae look up horsey names

4.40 Warwick

Best I can tell, it looks like 2m races - hurdle races anyhow here, are won from those racing close to pace,, this puts a bit of doubt over the chance of Skelton's fav Percy's Word 10/11, and I'd rather oppose him for this Class3,, he can lead but lto he won from being held up at Worcester,, the top one, Beyond The Clouds 11/2, has sound claims on form, but has a big weight to carry...

The one I like is the mare MISS HERITAGE 10/3, who goes well in Class 3s, is a CD winner on heavy and also acts on good. Will chance a lay on jolly as well here - two horses are capable of beating him i feel, and as well as that, I feel he has a few mistakes in him at Class 3 level, as likely they'll not be 'angin 'abaht 'ere - can be laid at just about evs, and dat'll do me!

4.17 Yarmouth

The top three above him in the betting (No's 1,3,5) can all go well over 7f on good going,, Verreaux Eagle is the 15/8 fav, and can go close without winning.. Will take a chance (a chance that the rain will stay away) and hope the going remains good to firm - good in places, as I feel my pick, David O'Meara's TAMASKA 6/1 (who looks a v good price as things stand) will not want it any worse than good, but has an excellent winning chance otherwise, at the prices.

If the going is the same when racing comes around, will consider Bethell's Tashkeer 10/3 for the win (3 places on machines) for a place lay; just the four runs he's had, and improved lto when finishing 2nd over the 7f trip at Ayr, when was a bit unlucky. Ayr prob a stiffer test than sunny Yarmouth, and Tashkeer may be caught for toe here, as there's plenty of these capable of doing the seven in a quick time, whereas the jury is out on Andrea Atzeni's mount. Will hang fire til I know more about going (will be one of the later races there, so likely will have a right good handle [unless - rain, or more rain] on conditions) , and hope his current price has remained static, or better still, shortened.

enuf for now

night all 😊

3:55 Ayr PP is paying 4 places, so let's get involved! 4 fancies so far shorter priced Kats Bob & Deputy - both soft ground specialist, and at longer odds Spartakos & Asmund. I have to pick one out of these, and I'll do that shortly but now I'm off to do my 3miler before the rain is back.

Looks like hard work tricky that 3.55 and will be hard to solve - best of luck finding a pick or two in it j@u :D ya've narrowed it down to four; a good start that 🙂🙂

get some fresh air meself - them thar vittles won't be teleporting 😋 dunno will i have any more involvements in punting 2day,,

besta luck everyone :)

I picked Kat's Bob 11/2 in 3:55 Ayr; handles soft ground, incl over the course/distance, CD winner, it looks like he holds the form - has two previous win in the row, same jockey and so on...

4:25 Ayr - Lallaby Bay 7/4, a sure shortie alright 😂

5:30 Kempton - Wendel's Lad, improved last time when winning over the distance in Southwell, there was some commotion and he was demoted to 2nd but that doesn't count, 8 runners 3 places pay.

Mucho admirarationo for going for a shorty there j@u 😲👌

but, there's a but here from urs truely:

"Ee luv - I aint so sure abaht your Lullaby Baby there at Ayr" - She'll no be carrying any leff coin anyro@d 😂 am basing that on logic here - something ye females (with an odd exception !) are somewhat [allegedly] lacking in at times 😃 All joking and #'ist' comments aside, t'thinking here is her soft ground form - don't think it's quite as good as what GUEST LIST 7/2 has shown in a previous race - namely her second over the 5 at Thirsk last August; long layoff to overcome tho - mebbe you'll have the last laugh there; 'less nd ya changes your mind 🤣

liking KATS BOB at 3.55 Ayr; looks rock solid e/w at favourable odds,,

Will check out Kemmers later - ta for your input!

'#In case i get hit with t'hammer, it's been fun 😆

Hard to like the drifting Fiorina (was supported earlier from ~9/4 into ~5/4) 7/4 fav in 5,30 K - First run in 'andicap, so lots to tek on trust there,, HAKU is a big priced outsider with a chance - based on connections (trained by John B) and his previous 4th in a maiden over C & D, i cannae rule him out,,

Think ur Wendell's Lad could be vulnerable to a closer - sorry for dampener :( was at Southwell lto he won, and different track etc,, so there's that!

Think Durack's horse is/will be better at Wolves prob'ly

Hard not 2 rule out the bottom two - the outsiders in this; Hannon's Geopoloitic a poss leader??

think i'll go win on TWO TEMPTING 5/2 here; his 2 seconds over CD decent form,, seemed to settle better than previously when coming 4th lto at Wdr - did go wide that day, so likely that cost him a possy or more,,

and ew on HAKU 25s

g'luck :D

Poor Kats Bob - looks like the draw didn't help him today 😓