Sex-starved marriage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭SunnySundays

This isn't a case of a drop in libido, she never had a much of a sex drive and only really participated because she wanted children. There is zero chance of it changing, especially given you've already discussed it.

I have female friends who lost their sex drive after having children or as a result of menopause and all but one sought help because they loved their husband,wanted to keep their marriage and also thought they were too young to shut the door on their sex life permanently. She isn't like them. She doesn't want sex full stop & doesn't seem bothered by the fact she is risking her marriage.

With regard to a FWB, I was single until recently and on dating websites. It's full of stories like this. Some might be true, others are probably lies but like most women, I don't want to get involved with someone else's husband in any capacity, whether his marriage is dead or not. No issue with anyone who is divorced & has left the family home, but I ain't dealing with the complications of having a relationship/affair/fwb/ons with a married man. Mostzingle women see it as just too much hassle.

Your only real possibility is a small percentage of women who gave no issue sleeping with someone else's husband or a married woman in a similar situation to yours & the odds are stacked against you there too given less women than men are in your situation. Most women are having the exact amount of sex they want to have whether it's none or loads.

Marraige counselling is also unlikely to help. It can help resolve issues but it cannot manufacture a sex drive where there is none and where there is no desire to change that on her behalf. Even if she did decide to have more sex to save her marraige, it would be most likely a temporary measure and not for her enjoyment etc.

Sorry to be so brutally honest but it really is a case of do you want a sexless marriage or a divorce more? Neither are nice options. If I were you, I would be looking at the financial/lifestyle implications of a divorce etc. and trying to figure out what is best for you long term.

For what it's worth, I think it's a horrible position for any man to find themselves in. Divorce typically costs men more in terms of both money and access to children. You have my sympathies but you need to decide what you need. It's not just sex, constant rejection can impact happiness, self esteem, mental health etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Yeah there are some - but I was on Ashley M for a few years and I was normal and plenty of other normal people there too. You get fakes and scams on tinder also. But agree it was easier for me as a female...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

This is another big catholic church generated problem in Ireland.

People get married with little or no sex experience or are hiding or are ashamed of their real preferences.

Or sex, contraception, divorce is a sin, ... Trust in faith, it'll be grand on the night, yada, yada, yada ...

Catholic pre marriage courses don't discuss the "what if we're not compatible sexually" problem. It's not part of its universe.

Then ... wham ... people get married are not compatible sexually or are ashamed of their sexuality or just don't know how to express themselves.

And, even forget ALL of the above, people still get married for no obvious reason apart from pressure from society / advertising / a grand day out.

It's a cultural minefield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

The most common one I believe is when you get caught chatting to someone, and then they reverse image search your pictures to hopefully uncover your facebook or instagram, from that they identify your wife or other family, and then threaten to dob you in to the wife for being on AM and cheating unless you pay them money.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I’m wondering at what point she revealed her asexuality? If it were after marriage and children, I’d be feeling pretty duped. Whatever sexuality a person is is fine with me, but I wouldn’t be fine with a person pretending to be heterosexual to achieve a goal (marriage and kids, perhaps) and then later declaring their true sexuality and expecting me to just live with it.

I suppose it depends, OP - did she ever say she was asexual prior to marriage and you weren’t listening, did you not ever have a conversation about it, or did she deliberately mislead you?

but once upon a time she told the op she loved him, and made babies with him, now she says she’s asexual. Maybe she is asexual, maybe she is lying to the OP as she no longer loves him but isn’t mature enough to admit the marriage is over.

Do you think asexual people can't feel love for someone? That they don't want to be parents?

Anyway I'll stop here before I lose my temper and say something that will get me banned. Suffice to say your posts show nothing but your own ignorance.

OP, if you do decide to end your marriage, my advice would be to try family mediation as a means of negotiating a separation agreement before going through solicitors. Whatever you negotiate can then be made an order of the Court. You said in your original post that you were a very good and supportive couple who got things done, and if your wife is willing to opening up your marriage, she most likely realises that if that doesn't work for you, then separation will most likely be the next step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Agree that OP needs to sit down again with his wife and explain his feelings.

She may or may not like having sex but assuming no physical reason, an expectation of sex is a reasonable part of their relationship. It doesn't have to be stars in the eyes, sex can be simply functional. May be a bit boring but see if you can agree a schedule that suits both of you, a particular day/ time that suits. And stick to that, unless one or other ill etc. That way both parties know.

If she can't agree with that, well see what other suggestions she may have. And what your bottom lines are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

No. Sex is not something to be negotiated over and there are no circumstances where it can be a reasonable expectation, at least not since the 1980s. It must be, and only be, with the full voluntary consent of both people. When one persistently tries to negotiate and badger the other into giving sex then that is not voluntary consent. That is coercion. And when it is a man doing the negotiating and badgering the woman may feel obliged or in fear and may relent out of fear of consequences. That sort of behaviour has no place in marriage. It is toxic.

Since sex requires full voluntary and informed consent of both people, then there can never be an expectation or entitlement to it. If both partners agree to it, then fine. But if one partner does not want it or doesn't consent to it, well then it is just tough luck for the other one and they will have to accept it or leave because forcing the issue is coercsion, nomatter how much people here want to delude themselves to the contrary.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

Doesn’t that just mean it’s one of the reasons a judge will grant separation - not that anyone will benefit financially!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Presumably so, but I'm simply highlighting the 'open marriage' situation could leave one open to a judicial action. Not to suggest such a charge couldn't be or wouldn't be shot down by the judge. But interestingly , adultery is the first grounds listed for granting one (although that could just be as a result of alphabetically listing the criteria).

edit: went back and looked, its not list alphabetically, but...

"When a couple cannot agree the terms by which they will live separately, either person can apply to the courts for a 'decree of judicial separation'. The decree confirms that the couple no longer have to live together as a married couple. The court may also make orders in relation to custody and access to children, the payment of maintenance and lump sums, the transfer of property, the extinguishment of succession rights, etc."

I've no sympathy for anyone who gets hit with this for playing away. But someone who thinks they've an "arrangement" could find themselves in for a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭vegandinner

How old are the children? Separating will be very expensive, you may be made homeless and have to continue to pay the mortgage and child support. If she is open to you getting a bit on the side it might be the only option until the kids are grown up and you can sell the house.

That's if she knew herself!

15 years ago I didn't know any orientations other than straight, gay and bi, existed - I'd certainly never heard of asexuality or pansexuality.

Does she work OP? If not then yep, it’s going to be very tough for your financially. But if you have decent earnings you will be alright. And the chance for happiness with somebody else or happiness alone will be worth it. And if you think it’s not, then hold your horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭JoChervil

I would try counselling first. How could you have good sex, if you don't talk, don't open yourself emotionally for each other first? It is other way around, you have great sex, if other parts of relationship work. If something doesn't work and is not addressed in time, resentment can build up and people don't want to be intimate anymore.

You never said why she doesn't want sex. Is it her belief system, is she afraid to have more kids, was this postnatal depression too traumatic to her, was she hurt in any way in her past etc. She might not even know herself. Hence counselling could help. If she treats it like an illness, so go to a doctor (therapist) and treat it. The most sexual organ in our body is our brain.

You might assume things about her wrongly (even her asexuality). For example you say, that she value her friends more than you because she cleans the house for the whole day before their visit, while she didn't give you a card. You are comparing apples with oranges. She might be cleaning so much because she might feel insecure with them. It has nothing to do with you. With her whole day afford, she might be adding a value to herself. And we know nothing about you, how she was treated by you. Could you consider, if you might have contributed in her law self esteem?

There are many questions to answer, so therapy would help. If things developed gradually, so it is very likely, that something unresolved had built up. So it would be worth investigating. And if you both eventually come to a conclusion that it won't work, so at least you will split with a clean conscience.

May be worth exploring if she finds sex distressing. Eg prior childhood sexual abuse. May be best if she goes to a counscellor with no input from yourself.

Lastly, does she have a secret sex life? You may be shocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭C3PO

Absolute nonsense! Genuinely separated guys with children have every chance of starting a new relationship! Most people who are dating in middle age have “baggage” of some sort - and I don’t mean that as a derogatory term.

But I’d be very wary of the “open” relationship option OP - hard to see that ending well!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Absolutely, but either way, the onus is on her to sort it out, if asexuality is the underlying issue. Either she knew and deceived OP or only latterly realised and hasn’t had an open, honest discussion with him.

If I realised tomorrow that I was gay, I couldn’t and shouldn’t expect my husband to just accept that I shall no longer be having sex with him but remaining married. Same goes for asexuality in my view. She needs to set him free (or give him the choice at least, based on frank , open dialogue). Maybe an open marriage could work, but what’s not going to work is her refusing to discuss or work to resolve the issue while he ponders cheating as a way to get his needs met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭amacca

The longer I live the more afraid I am to be in any kind of relationship.

I'll tell you truthfully OP, I don't know what you should do but I hope it works out for you and I think deep down you know best yourself what to do....there may be no right answer for this imo (without knowing a lot of extra details/factors, the unknowable unknowns)

Absolutely agree.

The OP has said they have had many discussions about it already, and I do think she is trying, by offering to have an open marriage. If they agreed to that in advance, I would not see him sleeping with someone else as cheating.

I am sure she also realises that if that doesn't work out for him, the next step will most likely be a separation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Well she can't be forced to do that any more than she can be forced to seek medical help. Seems OP has made repeated efforts to get her to engage and she's said most of what she's likely to say on the subject. Looks like the ball is in his court re how he deals with this grim situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭coolperson05

I would just echo my best wishes for the OP. It is a very tricky situation. To add my two cents, I personally think sex is a very important part of a relationship/marriage, and I couldn't continue for 15 years with 2/3 times a year. As someone in a relationship, I'm certainly not every day but I do look forward to regularly depending on weekly work schedules. Whether it be steamy hot sex or quick, maintenance sex. But both parties seem very reasonable, and her offer of an open relationship is admirable. It doesn't sound like either of you are being very unreasonable, currently. I know some friends who have open relationships and it works well once communication is very open. It's not for everyone, but it certainly is for some. I don't see it as offensive as many here. But it would personally only be an option for me if every other part of the relationship was perfect, aside from sex. Again I wish you well - and the old adage 'life is for living' springs to mind. Separation would be incredibly difficult for all involved, but sometimes short term pain for long term gain is necessary. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭deirdremf

Your link also contains a bit about lack of a normal marital relationship for at least one year.

I think this covers the OP's situation pretty much, as normal marriage by its nature usually involves sexual relations; so if he is not getting any, he would have grounds for a separation. If this has been going on long enough, he may well even have grounds for a divorce.

Of course this BTW is not say that anyone has the right to sex by virtue of being married - because of course each incidence requires agreement on both sides. But as I understand it, the lack provides grounds for separation or even divorce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,870 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

OP it sounds more like a housemate set up than husband and wife.

I'll be brutally honest, it reads to me like she just stopped fancying you or fell out of love with you.

Aside from no sex, you both don't even have a companionship.

Seriously what are either of you getting out of it?

If she really did still love you but had an issue with mot being able to have sex, for whatever reason, would she actually suggest the love of her life goes out and has sex elsewhere without exploring every other possible avenue to avoid that first?

I think she just lost the spark for you and is too cosy and secure with the family living situation to call time on the marriage, having her cake etc.

But equally you are trying to have your cake too if you do find a sexual partner outside your home but go home every night to live and pretend with your wife.

I can't see any single unattached woman signing up for that in a hurry.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

I'd drop her like a hot spud OP, why you'd want to stay with someone who doesn't want sex with you beggars belief let alone someone who's stuck in the missionary position, she sounds like she was born 40 years too late, you'd be better off if she just told you no and not be placating you with bad sex, do yourself a favour and separate but no way would I leave the house until I'd all my ducks in a row, if at all, unless you're fully set up I wouldn't leave the house but I'd tell her the marriage is over and start living your life from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 p19dew

Just a few years ago before lockdown we came to the realisation she's asexual. It was something like Asexuality Week so websites and newspapers had articles about it. She ticked all the boxes.

All her college friends were having sex so she gave it a try when we started dating.

You must have been pretty young when you got together- explains the naivety.

Seems to be the case with most divorced men I meet on dating sites - it’s pretty much always the case that there was feck all or no sex. They put up with it for a while because of children and financial reasons until they can’t take it anymore.

Do you have much opportunity to meet people on nights out if tinder or ashley Maddison doesn’t work for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭foxsake

that just means you can get a separation. I know what you are saying but she (or he) can end the marriage for whatever reason they like

you can get a divorce for any reason you like and it's "no fault". no party is gonna lose out any more than they normally would,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

I think it’s not fair on the op to say he should have known better. If he wasn’t happy at the time he should have spoken up but equally if she wasn’t interested in sex or is asexual then she should have been honest and explained that to him before they got married. There are two of them it.

Also saying she has body autonomy only goes so far, she entered into a relationship with somebody where intimacy is normal and natural, even expected.

OP I think you are between a rock and hard place. Kids are involved too. Is an open marriage her way of shutting you up? It may well be OK up to the point that you meet somebody. Then there is what if others find out or kids find out or you fall for this other woman. You will be the bad guy. And let’s face it – its second best to a proper relationship with your wife.

It's more complicated because there are kids involved and there is housing  crisis what would you do if you broke up . Does she want to fix this or risk letting you go all together.  Is counselling an option? However if she is genuinely asexual, I think the wringing is on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Kids are involved too. Is an open marriage her way of shutting you up? It may well be OK up to the point that you meet somebody. Then there is what if others find out or kids find out or you fall for this other woman. 

Yeah it's alright saying he should look for sexual satisfaction outside the marriage but will it be feasible to do that in a way that does not impinge on his family life if he is going to remain living in the family home?

Plus if he has no history of 'playing away' and had been committed to marital fidelity, I'm dubious how much satisfaction that carry on will really bring him...