Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Fitz II

I would think a TT Sub is older wearing than a skydweller in steel or white metal no? Still the sub would suit you well. If the lack of micro adjustment puts you off get the Skydweller on jubilee...that bracelet just disappears and breaths so well. Also the links are so small you can find the perfect fit. Ok the jubilee is a dressy thing but its cannot be beaten for comfort...maybe the presidential but I dont have a lot of wear on that to give a considered opinion.

Hey everyone. What sort of duties would I be paying on a $1250 watch from Hodinkee delivered to Ireland? The confirmation email just has shipping as 0 and doesn't mention anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭hitemfrank

4.5% in duties and an extra 23% in VAT.

Ok thanks. Expensive lunch. Had an email alert set up for the turquoise Mido Decompression Timer and just went for it with about a minute's thought.

Visiting Ireland this summer so it will be nice to have that waiting at home. It generally goes for around $2k second-hand.

Oddly, my girlfriend's dad is big into Mido and has bought loads of them. Some brownie points perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Neilw

Anyone know what the model number of this GS is?

DD375520-95DA-470D-9D97-B3057C01DA1C.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Ryath

SBGA403 use Google Lens to search an image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,640 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Google lens is the dogs bollix

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,582 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I tried to buy a few of these 182 on c24 yesterday. All “sold”. We’ll take the **** adds down then. They didn’t try sell me anything else so no idea what’s the idea of it.

I see you can do 12 months interest free on Nomos direct aslong as you don’t mind them putting the “hold” over the funds on your CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Was over in Galway at the Leinster match recently and spotted these in the window of Hartmann’s. Took a pic for a mate who was thinking about buying one. No idea what models they have but nice looking watches in general.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,450 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Looks like one of each, then heavier on the Clubman range (which is their more sportier range). Although now that I mention that they don't seem to have the square Nomos.

Would be nice to have a Dublin AD to try on rather than having to head to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Wasn’t aware they were any ADs in Ireland. Really like the Club Sport 42. They’re a 12 month wait from the site.

Last time I was in Weir’s the sales guy noticed my tangente. Asked me loads of questions, as they were wondering about getting the brand in.

Hilarious playground stuff. Seems Thorpe and gang have fucked Tim off also. No interaction really on recent trip to Vegas. Tim is like a bad smell hanging around desperately for a 2 dollar superchats 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,042 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

this stuff highlights the spoofers you are dealing with, its no different than any other asset bubble, the lads coming into it and making a big splash are mostly spoofers and charlatans.

Onlyfans for watch geeks. I think it’s hilarious watching grown men superchatting so their stupid question ala “what do you think of this watch” gets answered by a nobody 😹

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

I ordered the Forstner 1450 bracelet from the US because there was a big online discount. I figured even if I got hit with import and VAT, it would still be as cheap as the UK source. I wasn't in a hurry either, so regular post was fine.

I was away for a few days and when I got home I had a VAT demand, one of the printed cards. I paid it on 15/04/2020. The tracking number was a US Postal service one, so using anpost.com told me nothing bar the extra costs had been paid.

The damn thing was not delived until yesterday, 13 days later! FFS!

Post edited by Lorddrakul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭micks_address

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,640 ✭✭✭✭unkel

No idea what any of that is about but that Tim fella seems like a right asshole.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭scwazrh

What’s the background for that ?Did nico not pays his bills?

A massive pack of ****. Who claim to be for “the community” but also are desperately clawing for pennies in the dirt ala Archie’s fridge, Tim’s superchats desperation and Paul selling jpegs, Oisins fawning over zero shite vest etc etc.

The community is pretty ugly at this point if they represent it.

It’s quiet unbelievable. Have seen 100s to 500s on a regular basis.

Jesus. That’s a 20k gift! And the man is walking wan k stain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Watch YouTube is a toxic sludge pit. Barely a brain cell between them. Men of descerning taste and manners they are not.

Only fans for watches is a perfect description. Men with money but no class using it to control narcisists with.youtube channels.

Some ball of shite really . I can’t stand Archie, makes me feel weird watching him and not good weird.He seems to have a huge following though.

At this stage I only watch barker & jack , teddy balldaserrrreee however you spell that and watch finder.Granted they are all selling but at least it’s about watches and not drama .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭funkyouup

I'd put Bark and **** in the same category as Archie, both Repugnant.

The monotone is annoying at times but there’s no bullsh*t or drama with him, not that I’ve seen yet anyway .What do you not like about him ?

Repugnant is a perfect description for Archie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭funkyouup

I just always found him up his own arse, I haven't watched him in nearly 2 years so maybe I'm being unfair. The drama with these other guys puts me off completely, I recall clicking "don't show me videos from this channel" on pretty much all the guys mentioned in the drama fest about that guy who was spreading his cheeks for rolex money.

Federico is the only luxury watch channel I actually enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,042 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

I stick to Tim mosso , no nonsense 😁

I watch Paul T short videos. Think he is sneaky wanker.

Anthony F I enjoyed. Also wanker. But entertaining

Fredrico I enjoy a lot short and snappy and honest about agenda but also seems happy to **** his own business by saying Rolex are over priced crap.

David K, another sneaky wanker

All the day in the life channels with hour long videos and lots of bling. **** off.

Jenni Elle. **** off also. Stealing a living on her face

Gringa- mildly entertaining and majorly annoying

Timeless. Same as gringa

2 hour live streamers-**** off

Grand Calibre-very boring so far

watchfinder, bark and jack, Swiss watch gang-enjoy relevant videos.

i subscribe to most just to see if sometHing of interest pops up. Less and less does.

yeah I’d be with you on all that and like yourself I subscribe to them all but don’t pay too much attention to them.

forgot about David K , he’s a real wannabe Paul Thorpe ,same “trust me I’m honest “ style of video.

Something slimy about him. He also boring as ****.

Great first hour here. Paul lays into Tim. Tim was in vegas drunk in a car with a lad waving around a glock live streaming that they were coming for Paul 😹😹😹