Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukraine (Mod Note & Threadbanned Users in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

Unfortunately there's no quick or easy way of kicking Hungary out of the EU as long as Poland has their back. However since Poland is far less enamoured of Putin, to say the least, there may be cracks forming in that alliance of convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

Hungary is also in NATO iirc.

Erdogan is hardly any more 'democratic' than Orban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Nordner

Here is an interesting piece from Aaron Mate on Jimmy Dore show.

i know many of you will dismiss this as 'Russian Propaganda' and, I must admit, my one criticism of Jimmy Dore and Chris Hesges etc, has been their shows on RT.

No point criticising The West while letting Russia and China off the hook. That kind of position erodes credibility.

However, Aaron Mate is an honest broker. His Dad is the well known Canadian Psychiatric Doctor Gabor Mate, a man with more integrity than most.

Anyway, just throwing this out there lads.

The fact that Zelenskey admitted, on camera, that he was told, in private, by US and Co, that there was NO WAY Ukraine could ever join NATO, but that, publicly, the door would be left open, speaks volumes.

For whose benefit was the door left open publicly?

So, the Russians do what the Russians do...flatten cities, get drunk, terrorize and kill civilians and then get their asses handed to them on the outskirts of Kiev.

Meanwhile, the sanctions keep biting...Russian embassy in Dublin cannot even get an oil delivery ffs!

US have signed a deal to sell LNG to Europe to wean us off Russian Gas. How kind and altruistic of Uncle Sam!

At the end of the day, Russia will retain Crimea and the Self-Declared Republics in the east at the very least and perhaps even a land-bridge between these territories. Ukraine will have to remain neutral and will never be allowed join NATO.

All that could have happened months ago without all the death and destruction and risk of nuclear armageddon.

Correct me if I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mikewest

To Nordner: Yes you are wrong on almost all except Russia should be given Crimea as a sop but the water remains turned off.

Now would you mind taking.down that Russian propaganda clip like a good chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

It's a lunatic Youtube show

Aaron Mate is full-blown pro-Putin, pro-Assad type. Activist with a mic essential.

Any regulars on RT typically hate the West more than Putin himself, and have the usual cookie-cutter fringe world views.

Not wasting 20 mins on my life on that, but feel free to sum it up. My anti-crank sense are tingling and betting these Putinbots find some way to blame the West/Ukraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭amandstu

Let me call you naive.

You are suggesting that Putin would be happy to go along with that arrangement?

Wow,that was easy he would say .Let's take a short break and maybe there might be a little more real estate on the market in a while.

I remember a year or so ago ,one of Russia's politicians boasting out loud that they were going to march to Berlin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

The Russian military has slogans like "onwards to Berlin" written on their helicopters. On national TV, their primetime television shows they openly talk about invading European countries and using nuclear weapons. There are countless insane stories emerging from the place every day, for example, just recently, a Russian schoolteacher was fired because she mentioned, between classes, that she didn't support the war, a pupil recorded it and showed it to their parents who reported it to the school. Bone-chilling fanatical nationalism, real 1930's stuff, alive and well and invading a European country in 2022.

Would be nice if some of their downed helicopters were so inscribed.

Would make a fitting image.

I always felt that the first victims of Nazism were the German people.Seems history does repeat.(pun intended)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Their TV seems positively bonkers, infested with nationalistic, ranting nutcases : Fox TV on steroids.

It can only be a dysfunctional society, with this level of total nuttiness going on. Even somewhere like Belarus seems normal in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭liamtech

@Nordner i think the others who have responded to you have highlighted the 'issues' surrounding the two involved in this clip. I would add that Jimmy Dore is a very weird individual. He was once associated with TYT who are Chomsky Fanatics - and since leaving (and a subsequent sexual harassment allegation), the man has devolved into the equivalent of Alex Jones.

Naturally he is going to use any and all resources to blame NATO for the war in Iraq, but beyond that. He is a walking and talking Post Truth Poster boy.

@Nordner I would imagine you (like me), look on conspiracy theorists as usually being whackjobs. Alex Jones, Qanon, Pizzagate, Covid/5G, Antivax - et al - absolute garbage. And i would imagine you are infuriated when someone voices this nonsense to you, as 'a valid opinion'. I know someone who all through 2021, messaged me to 'warn against the vaccine' - he then tried to tell me that I was a fascist, for agreeing that Un-vaxed people should have to wear masks indoors. He even compared this to NAZI treatment of the Jews

I would imagine that when you encounter people who talk like this - you, like I, label them in your head (Persona Non Grata, 'touched', nutjob, avoid-like-plague, that kinda thing)

Now, as difficult as it is for you to accept this; When you come here, parroting the 'NATO CAUSED THE UKRAINE WAR' thesis - a lot of people probably view you like the above conspiracy theorists and paddlers. In a week where we are now seeing the horrors of Bucha - when we have read a Russian Official News piece which reads like a Wansee Protocol (calling for the liquidation of Ukrainian Intellectuals, civilians who resist, and the De-Ukrainian-ization of Ukraine) -

You have come back with a clip of Jimmy Dore, Interviewing a Pro Russian Troll - as evidence that NATO is to blame? This is no different than my 'pal' digging up an interview with a 'scientist' claiming that Vaccines cause autism - its garbage -

I said it to you before @Nordner you are allowing

• Past serious failures of USFP
    • The Iraq WMD Fiasco
    • And a general antipathy toward Western Capitalism (i sympathize as a leftie)

To Warp your Mind.

You WANT NATO TO BE AT FAULT HERE - I would go as far as to say YOU NEED THEM TO BE CULPABLE, because in your mind they always are. You want this to be the case which is highlighting these nonsensical talking points, by irrational bad faith tools like the above. You find a video and it doesnt matter WHO is in it - if it blames NATO - sorted. Nato are to blame - see! i told you! NATO are at least partially responsible for this

They FACTUALLY ARE NOT -

Im happy to keep talking - cause i dunno - seeing some of your posts reminds me of yours truely in my late teens early twenties - I was VITRIOLICALLY anti USFP - and i am still highly critical - But one must temper criticism with facts - This is Russia's Fault - 100% - no room for interpretation any other way

FYI - Nothing i have said here was meant offensively - I just feel like im practically pleading with you at this stage - Happy to continue the debate, i dont think you are a Bad Faith debater, or a Putin bot - in fact i would bet everything i have that you are not -

But you are wrong - and you need to realize this- You are on the wrong side of this debate -

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,518 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Aww bless the poor Russian embassy stafff. Maybe they can burn some code manuals to keep warm. Let's hope those sanctions bite harder.

They could be dead in a ditch in Ukraine like unarmed Ukranian citizens. If all Russia wanted was those limited war arms, why are they conducting such a brutal war against Ukranian citizens? This is an army there to occupy, not achieve limited regional goals.

You already have been corrected, multiple times on the thread. You don't respond to the corrections. You just repost the same line. Repeat and rinse with this, throwing in something from a garbage source video while you are at it.

You presume, without substantiation, that "what could have happened months ago" is the reality.

Russia didn't just demand Ukraine not join NATO, but demilitarise. It was also implied they could not join any bloc, including the EU.

Russia's invasion plans were to take Kyiv in a virtual coup d'etat, they thought the leadership would flee and they could install a puppet PM of their choice. Partition of Ukraine into regions was also mooted. Plundering off Ukranian resources no doubt lined up and Ukraine locked into a trade deal on terms favourable to Moscow.

This was in the original 'peace' aka surrender demands from Russia.

Ukraine are fighting now to preserve their sovereignty and to avoid becoming a Russian puppet state like Belarus.

Also to Ukranians, it seems to matter a lot about the extent of these 'self declared republics' - is it the large area claimed by Russia or the limited area they had pre this war? And the resources attached to those areas? And the large numbers of Ukranians who would have been impacted by a decision to hand over such territory to Russia in a negotoation in February 2022 without fighting? Ukranians who have already demonstrated they want to stay Ukranian citizens and not become occupied Russian subjects.

Belarus wasn't about to join NATO. Why are there Russian troops there now and what does that say for the future of Belarus, the freedom of its citizens?

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov on Wednesday said Russia is demanding Ukraine demilitarize and will write a specific list of what weapons the nation cannot possess...

The draft ceasefire document does not contain any discussion of three of Russia’s initial core demands — “denazification”, “demilitarisation” and legal protection for the Russian language in Ukraine — the people added.

https://www.ft.com/content/7f14efe8-2f4c-47a2-aa6b-9a755a39b626

Post edited by odyssey06 on

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭myfreespirit

Putin, Lavrov, Peskov, Shoigu need to dangle at the end of a rope, precisely like the Nazi warmongers did in late 1945/early 1946.

Alas, I don't expect them even to face a court of justice. The best that might be hoped for is that they die in jail while on trial like Slobodan Milosovic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Detritus70

The argument "If only Ukraine had given in to reasonable Russian demands" is a crock. Nothing else. Anyone who seriously makes that argument is full of it and a shill. I won't even remotely entertain a debate on that point.

Putin would have settled for nothing less than Ukraine disbanding it's military, dissolving the governemnt and installing some mindless Putin Puppet ala Belarus and become Russia in all but name. They would have signed up to poverty, an autocratic regime and grey, soviet-style misery for the foreseable future. To see this as anything else but being a Soviet Era satellite serf state is deliberate obfuscation of facts at this stage.

Well buddy, Ukraine is a sovereign country and they chose not to. I still support sending troops into Ukraine on an, ahem, "peace-keeping" mission. Vlad would never dare to escalate this further. He'd be given a shiny penny and a pat on the head as consolation price so that he can somehow sell this as a "win" and then, maybe, when he's gone and someone who isn't a stalinistic dictator has taken over, trade can resume. Under very strict conditions. Such as no war or genocide if it's not too much trouble, please and thank you.

Now I have enourmous respect for Wibbsie, I really mean that, but I disagree with his assessment that there is a susbtantial risk of conventional or nuclear escalation should we do so. Putin, as people have pointed out, is far from mad. He likes to play Crazy Ivan and rattle his sabre, but I doubt that he is willing to go full-bore Hitler, i.e. full escalation on all fronts with no regards for anything. He is not bound to an unwavering ideology and he likes to rule, and you can't rule radioactive dust.

Yes, Putin has a nuclear arsenal at his disposal. So do we, lest we forget. And Putin knows that. But I need to echo the sentiments of other posters, if we let him get away with this, it will embolden him. And he will keep pushing and pushing. And in the end I'm fairly certain he will go too far. We must preclude this by acting now. Don't forget, we are not attacking Russia. Russia has no business in the Ukraine. It is an independant country and we have every right to send troops, by request, to engage in, well, exercises. Then we can smirk at the Russians and say "don't know what you want, you said there is no war, so surely you can't object to us beeing here, now mind where you aim that artillery, before someone has an eye out". If they can do blue-eyed innocence and ignorance in the face of facts pointing to the opposite, so can we.

I am certain that a display of blissfull ignorance whilst disarmingly smiling at the Russians whilst some "free-lance" troops are on a "exploratory" mission in Ukraine is the right strategy. Is it entirely devoid of risk? No, of course not. But this is the equivalent of an apartment on fire. If we let it burn, soon the entire gaff will be ablaze. The risk of acting now is, IMO smaller thatn the risk of not acting at all. And don't forget, we are already helping Ukraine with equipment. We already crossed several lines. What has Putin done to us? Not a damn thing. He has shown himself to be a small, impotent man who likes to act hard, but isn't. When he was surrounded in that Russian Embassy in East Berlin in 1989* he bluffed his way out and that is all he has done since. He is a thug and he can maybe brawl, but in a proper fight he's a nothing.

There will be questions along the lines of "are you willing to bet all our futures on this?" and I say we MUST! Pull the rotten tooth before it takes others with it.

*edit, it was KGB Offices, not the embassy:

Post edited by Detritus70 on

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

amazing that Russia wants to occupy the area of Ukraine where huge reserves of oil and gas were discovered in the last 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭circadian

Not to mention their initial invasion and annexation began shortly after Shell were granted exploration rights in those areas and in the Black Sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I used watch The Young Turks way back - around 2016. I watched it for a few months and then it started annoying me so I stopped. Anyway Jimmy Dore was part of that crew back then and he seemed to be relatively normal - probably somewhat similar to where AOC is on the political spectrum. Pretty far to the left by American standards but nothing outrageous, I forgot entirely about him until I saw he was pushing Covid conspiracies on the Joe Rogan podcast a year or two ago.

I think people like himself and Russell Brand basically got high on their own supplies. It's the same pitfall that the entire hard-left has fallen into with the Russian Invasion. When your entire career has had the axiom that American foreign policy always takes the wrong position you can take the opposite position to that and almost always it will be a matter so complex that you will have plenty of cover. What happens though when US foreign policy is actually on the right side of something? As in, so obviously on the right side of something that only a lunatic would take the other side? What do you do then? Well they all seem to have double-downed and have thus exposed their entire world view as being simplistically clueless - as well as being morally vacuous.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The obsession with all wars being for "oil" is really quite bizarre. Not convinced that remotely came into Putin's thought process based on everything coming out of Russia. It is more existential than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

Excellent analysis from Tomi T Ahonenen, a Finnish historian. He tries to deduce what Putin's plan A and plan B were in Ukraine - few hours and few days respectively.

Plan A was used in 1968 invasion of Czechoslovakia - Russian plane loaded with GRU/KGB agents requested emergency landing due "engine failure" at the Prague Airport, agents quickly secured the airport, then Antonov airplane loaded with special forces landed there, special infiltrator forces quickly captured the radio and TV stations, then Prague was quickly captured and the rest of the invasion was a breeze.

(3) Tomi T Ahonen Is Conan The Historian on Twitter: "Battle of Kyiv Thread 1/ The Battle of Kyiv was decisive battle in Ukraine War that Russia launced invading on Feb 24, 2022. Russian assault on Kyiv was catastrophic military failure, overwhelming victory for Ukraine Battle ended 31 March with total retreat This is summary https://t.co/yIgdleGHpr" / Twitter

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,267 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Would not be too sure of that. I mean Putin and his cronies are just glorified crooks and will do anything and kill anyone to line their own pockets. There's nothing existential about how he and his cronies operate. It's cold, calculated, emotionless, sociopathic greed. Making it 'existential' is really just a way to get the population on their side by making it more about nationality or something more spiritual. The public will never support a land grab for oil and natural resources but if you make it something emotional, like protecting russia from the nuke toting West and 'nazi' Ukrainians next door then they will support you while denying reality. Turn it into a Crusade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Nordner

You say Dore and Cos world view is simplistic and clueless. Yet, you demand that everybody 'choose a side'.

Why do we have to choose a side? Is that not simplistic and clueless in and of itself?

Reminds me of George W before invasion of Iraq saying, 'You are either with us....or you're with the terrorists.'

It was an idiotic statement back then and any similar sentiments in relation to Ukraine are similarly idiotic now as well.

For the record, I do not like Putin. I do not condone what Russian troops are doing in Ukraine either.Why would I? I

Russian foreign policy is a mirror image of Western foreign policy but without the window dressing.

That is just my opinion, if none of you agree with me, fair enough. But do not attempt to slander me as a Putin apologist and demand that I take sides.

I believe all our leaders are a shower of corporate stooges, beholden to big business and financial institutions. Just look at the revolving doors between government and corporate boards.

If Western leaders were serious about standing up to Russia and other rogue states around the world, then sanctions should have been put on them all many years ago.

But, no, we turn a blind eye to their shenanigans so long as its beneficial to our elites. The City of London, Wall Street and even the IFSC have been laundering money for evil fuckers from Russia, The Middle Eastern Oil Monarchies, Mexican drug cartels and every other fucker with buckets of ill gotten gains for decades at this stage, so spare me the lecture all of ye.

Also ,they may have felt the West was had its eye on those resources and were disinclined to allow that.

We have been warned that with climate change many future wars will be fought over scarce resources (eg water)

We may have to factor these underlying rivalries into all such situations from now on (I mean more and more so)

Globalization hasn't gone away no matter how much our current pathetic Mussolini characters may wish to "make their backyard great again"

I didn't "demand" anything. You're more than welcome to blame the West for this and I, or anyone else is welcome to criticise your reasoning for that opinion. That's how a discussion forum works.

Re: George Bush - you've gotten that one completely backwards. It's Putin who is behaving more like Bush did in 2003. He's the one invading a country on the basis of a pack of lies and he's the one demanding that people are either with him or against him (e.g. his list of "unfriendly" nations).

The rest of your post is just a soup of whataboutery and false equivalency.

I'm still amazed that I'm even here. I implicitly told a poster to fu(k off because of their disinformation and lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,518 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think it is in the mix. Ukraine trades those resources to EU countries, those EU countries have no need of Russian resources. So Russia sees the prospects of loss of its revenue stream, while Ukraine prospers as a free nation - Russians see their Ukranian cousins in 'little Russia' race ahead of them in freedoms and opportunities. It is an existential threat to the type of Russia Putin has constructed.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,267 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

That's some next level whataboutery. You can scream what about the west, past wars, western aggression but it's got absolutely nothing to do with the current ukrainian crisis and is textbook putinbot deflection.

I really do believe that it's a case of which side are the USA allies with?

Israel, yes: therefore fair game for criticism

Russia, no: deflection and whataboutery instead. They will also do this for Cuba, Venezuela & Iran.

(and before someone accuses me of supporting Israel, I most definitely don't. What they've been doing to the Palestinians is abhorrent. Calling that out and then not calling out Russia is massively inconsistent in my opinion.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,949 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I honestly believe in their minds the US and NATO are always in the wrong, this is an immutable fact for them that they cannot move past so they end up effectively supporting what is now amounting to genocide in Ukraine. RBB, Murphy et al all fall into this category, I think Daly is probably on these lines too but I truly believe Wallace has just drank the kremlin cool aid.

Daly gave a speech this very day in the EU (I posted a clip in the dedicated thread to her) criticising the EU and NATO once again. She is most definitely in the same category if not worse than the PBP crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭Apiarist

The realistic footage, taken up close, would be too shocking to show on social media platforms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭liamtech

People before Profit are not a Party - they are a Cult of Activists, Populists, and Ideologues

These people consider themselves

• Socialists (Makes my blood boil)
    • In touch with ordinary working class people (gimme a break)
    • And Anti War

What they actually are:

• GLORIFIED ACTIVISTS, without even a molecule of intelligence - They blame NATO for a conflict that NATO IS AVOIDING LIKE THE PLAGUE FOR FEAR OF NUCLEAR WAR
    • POPULISTS - These people are cult-ish populists who will follow a perverse 'NATO BAD/ALL ELSE GOOD' policy - they will be UP IN ARMS the next time Israel and Palestine go at it - yet they refuse to applaud a man who is leading his people against a MILITARY INVASION IN THE 21st CENTURY
    • IDEOLOGUES - They are entrenched in their own warped version of socialism - which bares NO RESEMBLANCE TO REAL CREDIBLE LEFT WING POLITICS

Im expanding on my post from CA btw

Sincerely these people are not credible politicians. It should be clear to everyone now, that PbP will never accomplish anything in the Dail. Where once i could have seen them possibly linking arms with other left wing groups, i actually believe this would be a mistake. These TD's are activists, and outrage addicts. They search for ways to keep their ideological ducks in a row. Given a general animosity to NATO and Western Capitalism, today's behavior was a no brainer for them. Of course, they couldnt applaud Ukraine. Ukraine exists in a horrendous reality, where NATO membership would be a godsend. PbP do not exist in reality, because as ideologues, they must 'bend reality' to fit it into their Narrow view of Good V Evil. Long ago, they became entrenched in their views of international actors. And rather than view the nature of the new reality, their ego enforced political ideology keeps them locked in place.

As for the possibility of PbP linking arms in a left wing coalition. A Mistake, and a disastrous one, which would be fatal to the task of breaking the FFG Duopoly. No question they would bounce and withdraw support at the first fence. Coalition building requires stability, flexibility, and acceptance of reality. Today, they PROVED beyond doubt, they are unable accept any of these.

To my Fellow Lefties

Please - for the love of sanity

Do not vote for these people again. There are plenty of credible Left Wing alternatives incl Labor, the SocDems, and even SF. I get that you want an end to FFG duopoly - i do too - but DONT WASTE YOUR VOTES ON THESE PEOPLE - they are activists - they sound wonderful giving speeches - but they ACCOMPLISH NOTHING - and in a moment of historical importance, they chose to 'protest' as opposed to applaud -

Never forget - and punish them by refusing them a preference - I always gave them preferences but i will never again do so. I implore you all to follow suit. And if you are willing, challenge their supporters to justify today's disgrace. Change minds.

User: "image.png"

@Nordner Im gonna respond to you later but for now

Russian foreign policy is a mirror image of Western foreign policy but without the window dressing. from your post

Please explain - in detail if you can- And by the way this a rhetorical request - anything you say to attempt to prove the above statement will be a warped view of reality - There is no equivalence between Russia and the West - the fact you think there is, only proves what i have been saying to you for weeks. Your morally confused position is based on long term animosity toward the west

Anyway - chat in a bit maybe

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants