Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Airport Mayhem

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Why is the CEO of the DAA not hauled in front of the government to explain how they are going to fix this shambles.

He's on €400k plus- jokeshop with no accountability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

You should see the state of the baggage hall behind the scenes... the loading belts directly behind arrivals in T1 have been dismantled to be replaced with a new system to connect between T1 and T2 so people won't have to drive between them for transfer bags and such, but that is half done and is now going to be untouched due to the construction works being contracted else where for the year.

Meanwhile literally all bags are being loaded in a chutes area (primarily Ryanair), and the basement area (where belts 6-10 are, below) where Sky Handling and Swiss Swissport are loading for all their flights fighting for space basically. The belt down there is an absolute disaster frequently getting blocked due to so many bags, and MANY bags don't even get down there instead going to the Chutes area where it's left to OCS to bring down those bags. Due to this bags often miss their flights, creating a backlog of rush bags. DAA hasn't fixed the computer system that sorts out the bags all year, instead opting for OCS to cover the issue.

Why DAA hasn't moved some of the large Airlines to T2 to help alleviate the overcrowding is beyond me... absolutely inept organisation.

I seriously advise people to not leave it late for checking in, there's a high likelihood your bag would miss the flight!! Last bags sent to planes are typically half an hour before scheduled departure, they start closing the plane 15 minutes to, and it takes 5+ minutes for bags to show up on the belt to be loaded assuming it didn't go for additional screening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Tippman24

I came through Dublin Airport in early March returning from Paris. After landing in Dublin plane left waiting for 40 minutes before we got to a gate to disembark. Things seem to have got worse since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Maybe a stupid question, but if you are flying out of T1 can you still go through security in T2? The last two flights I got out of Dublin both said I was leaving from T2, checked in my bags, went through security but my gate was actually back in T1, so I'm wondering would it still work if your boarding pass didn't say T2 or would they turn you around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

Yes, I did this for my last two flights leaving out of T1.. last flight was on March 11th and the long queues were already there. Purchases Fast Track but even there they said the Fast Track queue was 45 mins. Stepped out of the queue and took the gamble to go through T2.. without any Fast Track.

Only one lane open there but remarkably quicker, gone trough security in about 15 mins.. also covid wise that feels much better than staying in a queue of coughers for 1+ hour. After passing security you can walk back to T1.. about 10 mins or so. Would recommend this but I saw some photos of yesterday's T2 queues, which didn't look too pleasant either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,172 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

What is considered peak hours at the airport? Flying at 11am on the 8th of April which is a Friday. The bus times mean I am going to be there at stupid o clock before my flight but it may play in my favour at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,687 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I think it's usually quietened down substantially by that time.

I can't say exact times, but the first couple of hours (say, 6-8) are generally mayhem, even in normal times.

With all this carry on, though, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,013 ✭✭✭✭L1011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭VG31

Friday is one of the busier days but the peak time for security is about 5 to 8 am so it shouldn't be too bad by then.

I last flew out of DUB on 16 March on an 11:20 flight. I arrived at about 8.45 and was through security (T1) in about 15 minutes. I remember there were long delays reported early that morning, although I don't think it was the same level as the delays in recent days.

Thank you!

It'll be prime time for teachers returning to the middle east coz of spring break too. I'm hoping it'll calm down some in the next week or so. 🤞🏼

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭k123456

I wonder has anything been done (hiring more staff etc) by DAA, there is a very busy period, Easter coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I expect its hard to get people as Dublin is a very expensive place to live... the cost of accommodation is likely a factor... This problem has being there for about 9 months...i have being avoiding Dublin Airport for last few years... i did travel through a few times last year and was not impressed... it all seems a bit casual... at the time i complained here that people were spending 3 hours at the more time at the airport than on the flight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,373 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Ramadan starts Saturday, so many don’t be in a rush back. Depends what country they are going too

UAE has stopped online learning now so even with Ramadan the teachers will need to be back.

Anyway, doesn't matter to me now as my Mam tested positive this morning so I am cancelling my trip. I was flying tonight 🤦‍♀️

An sure the weather isn’t great here at the moment , I’m flying back to Dublin from Abu Dhabi on Friday.

Hope you enjoy being in Abu Dhabi. It's my home now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Just saw a news article that Fast Track are refunding everyone who used them over the past weekend, which I did on Friday afternoon.

I don’t see any information on how to go about getting the refund though? And as I booked mine as an add on through Ryanair I hope it doesn’t complicate things further as I don’t have a “receipt” so to speak.

I just read an article in which the CEO said he doesn't know whats going on... i have been aware of the problem for about 9 months. He also suggested responsible job with Gardai vetting for a little more than the minimum wage... only guaranteed 20 hrs a week... what planet is he on... I heard of a guy last week offered a factory job (on the floor) rate €29 an hour...it is shift work... They need to get their act together and soon... sounds abit like P&O...

Talking to a guy earlier... went through security Malaga this morn 10 mins...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Messi19

Just had an email from Ryanair recommending arriving 4 hours before my flight tomorrow morning 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What’s the minimum connecting from longhaul flts in Schipol.

A one hour delay shouldn’t have resulted in a missed connection?

You were traveling between two non Schengen countries.

Were you connecting to a KLM flight or another airline

Had you a through ticket or two separate tickets.

was your baggage if any tagged thru to Dub.

Just wondering…….. all questions relevant.☺️

When we landed the connecting Aer Lingus flight was closing. They explained there was not to e enough to get the luggage transferred from KLM from Lima to the Aer Lingus aircraft. By the time the already delayed KLM taxied in to a gate more time had been spent. It was all booked with KLM by Travel Department. The latter company vowed that the margin was indeed unacceptably tight so that any sort of delay could easily mean a missed connection.

The elderly people going to Cork were on a slightly later flight. Others who insisted on returning to Ireland urgently (work commitments etc) were accommodated on a flight via London as far as I can recall. 4 of us were entirely agreeable to be put up in the airport hotel which was very satisfactory, and we had a bit of a party going. It all worked out very smoothly, arrangements were made quickly and efficiently, no hanging around wondering what will happen next. We were also given a voucher for the airport shops by way of a sweetener.

I’ve heard occasional bad reports of Schipol, but I have never had a bother. My Dad, who in his day travelled to Netherlands on business, always found it very efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Excellent….. surprised they would book you on a one hour connection though, I would have thought that at least two hours would be a safer connection given the immigration profile of your trip.

Anyway hope you cleared out the mini bar in the hotel !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 JP2000

Out of interest…when people miss flights due to the mayhem going on currently, is it up to the person delayed to pay for another flight or is this being sorted out for them by the airline?

(Although I am aware it’s not the fault of the airline either)

What’s wrong with Garda vetting ? Loads of volunteer coaches get it done

Self fullfillling prophecy, everyone arriving early at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭Feisar

Can you not see that the amount of time people spend faffing about to get through security is part of the problem. The whole liquids thing is in ages now and you still have people messing with bags, trying to bring more, not having them out etc. It's really really basic stuff. As I approach the head of the que everything is in my jacket pockets, jacket zip down, liquids and laptop out. And don't start me on the idiots that stand when they get though looking at a clogged conveyor belt and don't move the empty trays. Yes I get it, it's not your tray, some ignorant cúnt left it there but yer gear is not going to come till that conveyor is cleared. So lets stand like gormless idiots or fecking move them out of the way. Having to get up at four is bad enough but having to permeate through the porridge of idiocy/ignorance that is security kills me.

First they came for the socialists...

I would expect anyone who needs to get Gardai vetting for their job would be paid a livable wage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭whippet

no doubt it can slow things down - but this has nothing to do with the current problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

If I’m flying out at 6:30 on Wednesday, if I get to the airport by lunchtime on Monday will that be enough time or should I have Sunday dinner in the queue also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

I've travelled enough through the airport to see this happening again and again. It does add to it though and Feisar is entirely correct. I've stood in those queues numerous times watchin gormless idiots do exactly as Feisar describes. In the end I just accepted that a percentage of the population were/are just thick as shite. Always gave myself plenty of time though, to accommodate.