Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin Airport Mayhem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I just read an article in which the CEO said he doesn't know whats going on... i have been aware of the problem for about 9 months. He also suggested responsible job with Gardai vetting for a little more than the minimum wage... only guaranteed 20 hrs a week... what planet is he on... I heard of a guy last week offered a factory job (on the floor) rate €29 an hour...it is shift work... They need to get their act together and soon... sounds abit like P&O...

Talking to a guy earlier... went through security Malaga this morn 10 mins...

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Messi19

Just had an email from Ryanair recommending arriving 4 hours before my flight tomorrow morning 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,731 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What’s the minimum connecting from longhaul flts in Schipol.

A one hour delay shouldn’t have resulted in a missed connection?

You were traveling between two non Schengen countries.

Were you connecting to a KLM flight or another airline

Had you a through ticket or two separate tickets.

was your baggage if any tagged thru to Dub.

Just wondering…….. all questions relevant.☺️

• When we landed the connecting Aer Lingus flight was closing. They explained there was not to e enough to get the luggage transferred from KLM from Lima to the Aer Lingus aircraft. By the time the already delayed KLM taxied in to a gate more time had been spent. It was all booked with KLM by Travel Department. The latter company vowed that the margin was indeed unacceptably tight so that any sort of delay could easily mean a missed connection.

The elderly people going to Cork were on a slightly later flight. Others who insisted on returning to Ireland urgently (work commitments etc) were accommodated on a flight via London as far as I can recall. 4 of us were entirely agreeable to be put up in the airport hotel which was very satisfactory, and we had a bit of a party going. It all worked out very smoothly, arrangements were made quickly and efficiently, no hanging around wondering what will happen next. We were also given a voucher for the airport shops by way of a sweetener.

I’ve heard occasional bad reports of Schipol, but I have never had a bother. My Dad, who in his day travelled to Netherlands on business, always found it very efficient.

Excellent….. surprised they would book you on a one hour connection though, I would have thought that at least two hours would be a safer connection given the immigration profile of your trip.

Anyway hope you cleared out the mini bar in the hotel !!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 JP2000

Out of interest…when people miss flights due to the mayhem going on currently, is it up to the person delayed to pay for another flight or is this being sorted out for them by the airline?

(Although I am aware it’s not the fault of the airline either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,654 ✭✭✭✭ted1

What’s wrong with Garda vetting ? Loads of volunteer coaches get it done

Self fullfillling prophecy, everyone arriving early at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

Can you not see that the amount of time people spend faffing about to get through security is part of the problem. The whole liquids thing is in ages now and you still have people messing with bags, trying to bring more, not having them out etc. It's really really basic stuff. As I approach the head of the que everything is in my jacket pockets, jacket zip down, liquids and laptop out. And don't start me on the idiots that stand when they get though looking at a clogged conveyor belt and don't move the empty trays. Yes I get it, it's not your tray, some ignorant cúnt left it there but yer gear is not going to come till that conveyor is cleared. So lets stand like gormless idiots or fecking move them out of the way. Having to get up at four is bad enough but having to permeate through the porridge of idiocy/ignorance that is security kills me.

First they came for the socialists...

I would expect anyone who needs to get Gardai vetting for their job would be paid a livable wage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭whippet

no doubt it can slow things down - but this has nothing to do with the current problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

If I’m flying out at 6:30 on Wednesday, if I get to the airport by lunchtime on Monday will that be enough time or should I have Sunday dinner in the queue also.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

I've travelled enough through the airport to see this happening again and again. It does add to it though and Feisar is entirely correct. I've stood in those queues numerous times watchin gormless idiots do exactly as Feisar describes. In the end I just accepted that a percentage of the population were/are just thick as shite. Always gave myself plenty of time though, to accommodate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭HBC08

This is a much better approach that getting so wound up you'll give yourself a stroke.

Having said all that I'm wouldn't like to be flying out of Dublin for the next few weeks/months and am glad my next couple of flights are out of knock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

Pet hate is when they put through us travelers too early and everyone is trapped on star well for 35 mins before boarding. This is pure cruelty , buggy are stationed on steps with coughing children and sweating passengers

The reason for that is to get everyone checked in for the flight thru the gate and accounted for.

That way Joe Kiefer and family on the high stool up in the bar scratching his hoop can be identified

and called by name to the gate without delaying everybody who got there on time.

Or their baggage can be removed and these gormless kernts can’t fuhherke up everyone else.

Presume that explains your problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,429 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There should be a 3rd option for the security check where it's fast and free but if anyone goes through with anything that shows up as an illegal item it's a €100 fine and a 1 week ban from using the airport.

So that includes leaving your watch on, coins in your pocket, a litre of Ballygowans finest in your backpack etc.

No you snot. These critters who work at the gate simply want their minuscule bit of work behind them, so they force us through into this cramped, awful section of the route so they can chat about latest Disney or joke about Porno or make distasteful jokes about passengers etc. They care not a jot that we are falling over each other sweating and impatient and angry with the whole trip still ahead of us

Also your tone is cramped m, vicious like a eel but harmless too since he delivers no shock

Aaah ok ,sorry bout that.

Didnt realise you were good with Whacker and his mates rambling down to the gate 15 minutes after departure time.

Apologies for for that.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

It's a while ago now, but I was behind a couple one fine morning, who had apparently never heard of the liquids thing - and it was in place for years at that stage. 🙄 They opened their bags at the security belt, and started dividing and sorting toiletries between them, at a leisurely pace, as though they were at home, and not in a busy airport, with a big queue of people behind them. Fortunately they were told to stand aside by staff.

Went through T2 recently on a Sunday morning, and while there was more delay than I have experienced there previously, I was through in less than an hour.

That’s fine my good man

can be hard to understand the tone of poster on this or what he says , no doubt you were also trapped in this situation

Tell me my friend, are you a prickster McGarry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭VG31

The problem is the security protocols at different airports are so inconsistent something like that could never work. Some airprots you have to take your watch off, others you don't. I sometimes bring a camera and depending on the airport I can either leave it in my bag, have to take it out of my bag or even remove it from the case as well.

People who hold up the queue aren't a recent thing. They've always been an issue, particularly during school holidays when you get the once a year holiday to the sun type of travellers. Annoying though they are there's not a lot you can do about it. It has nothing to do with the staff related delays at Dublin Airport.

i always scoff at the individuals who queue for 25 mins as I sit with snacks

Always bring liquids through won’t be micromanaged by these clowns

Its clear whats going on the heads of DAA are well paid an d expect security people to work for peanuts... The Government need to make this service a job where there are prospects of long term career...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I'm flying to Manchester at 6.30am this Saturday morning, realistically what time should I be in the airport, I have fast track bought if that makes a difference.

• That was a fair few years back. I loved the auld stopover, we had 3 other ladies with a good sense of humour, one of them a GP who made a phone call to her dog. Another lady was saying at the first dinner table how a supply of disposable h der wear would be so practical in the overnight kit we were given!

I wouldn’t. As it has no bearing on the work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

M

Id like to know if they are even provided with free parking when they do these out if hours shifts where there's zero public transport to and from the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Who can afford to run a car on those payments? The contractor takes no responsibility how you get or return from your place of work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

When they get their act together, there could/should be the option of a security screening area near the Ryanair gates, separate entrance. So, T!,T2, an TR.

But I forgot..... that won't happen because the shops, the shops. Who is the airport serving anyway, the pax or the shops. Get them in quickly, and keep things moving. But that's not what DAA and the shops want. They want delays and 4 hour prior arrivals, because what else would you be doing other than eating, drinking and buying shyte.

M

Yes I don't even know how they can afford rent.

The salary is so low it actually opens them up to being corrupted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I arrived at the airport 4 hours before a transatlantic flight a couple of months ago, as advised, with a shopping list in my back pocket - it was very early morning, and the only thing I managed to buy from my list was 2 bottles of gin.

None of the concessions I wanted to buy from were staffed, and what staff were on the floor were in a gang gossiping and I had to go up and break up their little party and ask for help - which they then couldn't give me.

If they're looking for spenders early in the morning, with lots of spare time, they're going the wrong way about it!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 cakedrive

I find it gas that posters are blaming other passengers for the delays when the inefficacy of security screening has been flagged by a few posters here for years.

Nobody is being blocked when reaching the head of the queue. There are 3 positions in parallel at each belt and if you're really lucky with the queue layout that day you might have 6 positions from both sides to pick from. One or two people needing extra help at the belt doesn't block a queue as there is still likely one moving.

It has frustrated me so much for years pre covid to see huge queues yet only 4 belts open. Everything about the rostering of work and organisation of security has been so badly managed for years yet posters here are quick to criticise someone taking too long at a position.

I've never seen a problem with having all the security belts operating all day, even at quieter times. The airport earns enough money to pay people to sit there and screen bags. So what if they've nothing to do for a few minutes between passengers. It doesn't have to be a frenzy the whole time.

I know, but to be fair to the shops there has been a huge disruption due to Covid and closedowns etc. and they are struggling to get back to "normal" service, just like the security issue.

I have a feeling that DAA will act quickly now (ha ha ha ha), and get things moving PDQ. I cannot believe the abysmal management didn't see that forward planning back when things were beginning to ease was paramount for all things airside. I'd say they were all "working" from home and didn't get the memo.

The issue of pay is a big thing. If you are expected to stop potential terrorism you need to be paid well for that. I suppose like everything else, the airport charges will rise a lot, but I wouldn't mind paying more in order A. the security staff had good conditions of employment, and B. the airport experience was a little better than it usually is at Dublin.

Very good point. It just takes one, and what are the security staff who oversee the staff on the queues paid I wonder?

I'm not sure who has overall charge of security anyway, is it DAA, some Department or other, the Airport police, etc. I dunno.

It seems it has as there's no staff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭NSAman

Seriously? That’s pure crazy!

nice to see DAA paying top wages to maintain the security of passengers.

flew out end of February and queues were not bad in T2. Second screening in TSA area was empty. Staff were efficient and courteous.

No I spent many years in college to ensure I don’t have to , but my comment was to the poster who thought Garda clearance should relate to pay

anyway just arrived back this morning. And they’ve announced a delay in our baggage coming through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

T1 currently 40 minutes, T2 is 15. Traveling next Friday so watching carefully.

I was supposed to be going on a flight through Dublin next week. I’ve cancelled it as I just couldn’t handle that level of queuing - I’ve a back issue at the moment and it would just be agony.

Luckily I don’t have any need to cancel accommodation.

Infrastructure is a joke. If Dublin airport is constantly clogged like this I think we are looking at potentially damaging Ireland as a destination for business never mind anything else. The government needs to be paying a lot more attention to what’s going on at what is the key gateway to the country.

Everything is connected as there is no staff... i said it here almost as year ago and people like said all was good if we paid for fasttrack... The CEO of daa is on a salary of €400+ and he expects security staff to work for a pittance...

Well its not ok now... i stopped traveling through Dublin because of the mess...

I worked in the airport many years ago. Taxis are provided by companies for staff out of hours.

Came back the other night and no electronic scanners open at passport control, ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,156 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭castor 1

T2 fast track 15 mins at 8am

long queue for hot food in Food Market.

Travelling through Dublin getting more stressful, will be considering Shannon and Cork as an alternative in future.