Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Yeah I read on rte that the healthcare unions are begging the government to bring the mask back and working from home. They really believe the mask will cure everything and staying home will make things better. Lala land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,650 ✭✭✭Micky 32

It won’t stop there. If they succeed expect more demands in a week or 2. They don’t want the legislation expiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Lads, the government have come out (numerous times now) and very forcibly stated their position. Very hard to seen them reversing at the last hour. Keep the faith!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Fourth day in a row with Claire Byrne arguing for masks, this time with the Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

"Intolerable and unsafe " " can't cope "pleading with MM"

MM on the radio right now jeez the last day drama

It seems to be the journal and rte still going with it

Hospital unions want us back WFH and masked bless them. Who did they think they are to decide what's best ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Covid Claire in overdrive

When ya see the last minute crack today the media and the unions driving it

Christ if they gave in what next ?

First it was the masks they wanted back then they added the WFH at the last minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I think the gov are just sick of covid now, they know most of the voters don’t want restrictions back and they have bigger problems now with the war and rising cost of living. The only people really pushing for it and the health interest groups like cystic fibrosis Ireland and few healthcare worker unions which is understandable I suppose, they have to represent their members

Claire knows that her Covid gravy is going into lockdown at 12am. She knows she is doomed. 😆

With the money the HSE gets every year I'm surprised no one has asked that magical question yet, "explain how with all the money you get that our health service can break down so easily?"

Crazy stuff at the last minute ,an unelected unqualified rabble trying to railroad the country back into masks and WFH

They'd be back en masse looking for the same and more every winter flu season if we had buckled

A monumental day for Science , Freedom and Democratic Government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Claire Byrne is like a goalkeeper running up for a corner at the other end of the pitch in the 94th minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,931 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

If all you have is a 2km limit that means (for example) instead of infected Dubs coming to Limerick on Saturday for the big rugby game they'll go to the local pub instead... Covid still spreads in both counties regardless.

Cast your mind back to last January the pubs were closed and there was no attendance at sporting events so COVID was not able spread in those environments so somebody going from one county to another made no difference in that scenario either

Travel limits don't do a thing in either scenario

If the government did cave for the mask mandates would that mean they would have to extend the legislation from midnight? Or can masks be separated from the restrictions legislation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,321 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think that's just one of these social media things to look sort of kind and understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭Quags

I still cant understand the Claire Byrne position, surely she knows people who want to wear a mask indoors or to bed can do what they want. Why must they want everyone else to wear one. If you want protection for the virus go and buy the recommended mask so then you are safe and don't worry about anyone else catching covid

Martin now saying their requests are not justified. How many more times do they need to hear that it's not happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

I heard a bit of Claire Bryne this morning, fair play to the government for standing their ground and not caving into the media hysteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Shame it took 2 years and 50billion quid for them to finally grow a backbone.

The journal is just a cesspit of nonsense.

The hyperbole could escalate yet

The opposition guy is it Murphy could go on a mad rant or someone else

"Throwing the HSE under the bus or some nonsense "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Most media outlets are pushing the fear today. Also very revealing that unions feel they have some right to dictate restrictive measures on the entire population. Who do these guys think they are?

There was a video link on the RTE app MM being interviewed by her. You shoukd have seen the puss on her when MM wasn’t giving in.

Does anyone know if she still lives in the garden shed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,737 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Some of the replies are funny, don't think it went as he intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Claire has been amazing value for money.

I start laughing nowadays simply when I hear her voice, like I used to with Billy Connolly.

It's a strange one, he's usually quite populist in his thinking

Did they grow a backbone though? Isn't all of this recommended by NPHET? From the opening of hospitality to the removal of the mask mandate right down to the dissolution of the group... NPHET recommended it all so actually the Taoiseach is doing the same thing as always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Penfailed

How many times do people in this thread need to hear that it's not happening? The last few pages are full of people saying, "if they bow to pressure now then..."

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Levellers, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn, Fat Dog, Ash