Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Nice Guys"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

A "nice guy" is a snivelling lapdog yapping at your heels to constantly remind you how he makes your life better. There's a nauseating neediness and an inability to be independent of the relationship. If you fall for the attention and get sick of it you'll be subjected to passive aggressive fùckery.

Now, these are a minority, but there's truth behind the trope. In fact, for every generalisation you'll hear about either gender there are real examples out there. The trick is not to apply that to everyone of that gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,952 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I'm not a "nice guy " imo. I would say I'm fairly sound though and haven’t taken advantage of women who were pissed etc. If I got a chance of the ride now I'd be far from a 'nice guy' 🥰😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,333 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Everyone has choices. So it's up to you to make the best choice for you.

If you want the fella who brings you flowers, then choose the fella who does that. If you want the fella who is more interesting because he goes to the same pub every week and gets pis$ed with his 5-a-side mates and tries to chat up any bit of skirt that comes into the place then do that.

If you choose the flower fella then don't be moaning later on that he never goes anywhere on his own or is boring. If you pick the pub fella then don't be moaning that he doesn't bring you flowers or won't give it a miss one week to go to your family event.

The friend zone is a genuine thing. You can't be friends with someone with a realistic expectation that it will suddenly blossom into a relationship later. You might have a chance when you meet someone at the start but once you leave it too long, your opportunity is gone. Have you yourself ever gone "ya know what, I know I've known Jimmy for 5 years but I've just realised I'd like to ride him". I'd doubt it, but if Patrick brought his mate Jimmy out on a night out with your group you might be interested in him!

The girl who says she's never friendzoned a fella is the girl who has rode all the lads she fancied already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I think you and I may have different experiences of this so. Any girl I know that has been accused of friend-zoning a guy, has never really considered the guy in question as someone they'd want to sleep with in the first place, even if they get on with them.

I think you've wildly missed the point of my post. I used those examples because they're just examples, not strict definitions of what nice people do. Someone who brings flowers might still go out and get pissed every weekend. That's not really relevant because my point was that it's not so much the actions themselves but the intent behind the action. A nice guy, and a "nice guy" can do the exact same thing but it's still blatantly obvious to most women which is which.

I personally have never thought about it like that. For me, they're either someone I'd like to sleep with, or someone I wouldn't. How long I've known someone doesn't come into play. I have had, however, guys complain that I've friendzoned them but they were never up for consideration for anything more than that. I've never had someone complain about being friendzoned (or known someone complain about being friendzoned) who didn't feel in some way entitled to sex in much the same way "nice guys" are, which is why I tend to group them together.

You hang around with weird people. So fellas who are your friends come up to you and complain that you won't ride them and clearly intimating that they expect sex? How long do you know these fellas before they broach the topic with you? 1 year? 5 years? What type of a weirdo complains about being "friendzoned" to the person who "friendzoned" them.

Why are you friends with weirdos in the first place?

I didn't say they complained to me? What a strange post...

Your quote:

I have had, however, guys complain that I've friendzoned them but they were never up for consideration for anything more than that.

So now they didn't complain to you. So either you are imagining it or else relying on second hand information? Wishful thinking perhaps?

Regardless, what kind of weirdos complain about a specific instance of "friendzoning"? The point still holds.

I'm sorry you misunderstood it but "I have had guys complain" is a perfectly reasonable sentence. Why on earth would it be wishful thinking when I just gave a post explaining why women avoid men like that? And if you are "friendzoned" so often that you're able to be vague about it, then I think therein lies a problem. Given your bizarre over reaction to this, I'm going to go ahead and assume you are a "nice guy".

You can assume what you like. You can even assume that I'm just upset because I know I would be forever rejected by yourself, a goddess incarnate. Whatever makes you happy. I don't give a sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

To, accusing someone of friendzoning them is not even a friend in the first place, which would rule out being in the friend zone.

Friendzoneing is not the same as rejecting.

There are three outcomes, assuming the girl is not interested:

• girl rejects, they don't see each other again.
    • Girl rejects, the stay as friends (this isn't friendzone, this is just being friends).
    • Girl rejects, guy hangs around hoping she'll change her mind at some point (in which case he's the one putting himself in that position, not her).

Girls don't put guys in the friendzone - guys wind up there on the results of their own actions (or inactions).

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Such a thing as objectively good looking guys who happen to have zero sex appeal.

I fall Into this category, I had the completely wrong haircut until I was forty and hadn't a clue how to sell myself in the dating game ,wasn't depressed about it, just clueless. Never once have I had a female flirt with me, met my fiancé online so that's sort of a different dynamic.

Point is ,it's a lot more nuanced than most claim ,I was at school with a guy who was short and not especially good looking, he pulled fine women left right and centre through his late teens and twenties ,guy oozed charisma of the kind you can't learn or teach

Don't mistake the above for a pity post , some of us just don't have that magnetism that women are attracted to, means we have to wait longer for a partner to prove our worth

Charisma is a weird one alright - hard to describe or define but you just know it when you are in the orbit of some people. Even if you do not like that person or what they do or represent you can still be totally drawn in.

I was once briefly in the orbit of Christopher Hitchens when he was alive. And I have been around Glen Hansard a few times. These are two people who - whatever else you might think of them - certainly ooze charisma and have an effect on people. When I think about that feeling of being around such people - they are always the two people who spring to mind. It feels like a different kind of energy exists in them.

I am a little more agnostic however on the ability to learn or teach it. I do not think that is something easily done but I certainly think it can be done. I think of it a bit like sport or art and as a continuum. With a given sport or type or art there are some minority of people who appear hopeless. No matter what you do they just can not get it. At the other end you have people who just ooze natural talent.

Most people most of the time however can - with work - reach a fair level of competence or even become moderately impressive. How much work that will take differs form person to person of course.

I think charisma is quite like that. I think most people can work on it and even do quite well. I have seen it happen to others. I have seen it happen to myself. I am entirely different from the plump near friendless - absolutely sexless - layabout nobody I was up to and including my college years. To say I had zero luck with women is an understatement :) And I was certainly heading down first the MGTOW route and in danger of falling down the angry INCEL route.

Quite often the key appears to be to find a lust for life or some aspect(s) of life. And to derive a level of joy from it that becomes infectious to others. This sometimes opens a door to this ineffable charisma and brings it out. But finding the key to that door can take work or even just dumb luck and not everyone finds it. And unfortunately it can feel like a lot of things about society and life positively stack against finding it and beat us down/away.

I know the things that worked for me. Things that might utterly fail for the next person. It's an individual journey and alas there is therefore no road map to success. Something a lot of self help gurus forget. They find what works for them and then they start writing books or doing talks - under the belief that everyone else could be like them if only they did the same thing(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,565 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

@Princess Consuela Bananahammock you left out one:

• girl rejects, they don't see each other again.
    • Girl rejects, the stay as friends (this isn't friendzone, this is just being friends).
    • Girl rejects, guy hangs around hoping she'll change her mind at some point (in which case he's the one putting himself in that position, not her).
    • Neither makes the final move or commitment to will/won't happen because it's mutually beneficial in some regards

I say this, because I was number 4. Women have a lot of power over men if they know the man is interested. I'm not holding it against her, I'm holding myself to blame also, but we were both benefitting from a couple-like experience, the good bits at least (meals out, nights out, holidays, etc) as friends. And I don't think it held me back with attracting other women, as I don't seem to be very good at that anyway.

My eyes were opened well after we parted ways due to life. She was using me to fill the gap of the nice guy (and the proper nice one, not this weird one people on here are creating, that guy sounds like a predator pretending to be nice) she was missing in-between her bad-boy relationships. I was using her to fill the gap of literally any female who had an interest in me. We got so close to something happening so many times, I can't say who was right or wrong. I was hoping it would lead somewhere, no idea if she was but her actions (looking back) were not those of someone who had no interest. I believe was I blessed with the stereotypical good looking male traits, it would have happened.

I've no hatred or ill will towards women, I've just realised who I am and what I like, and that the liklihood of finding a female who not only ticks my boxes, but whose boxes I also tick (durty), is extremely slim, so I'm just not bothering anymore. If it happens, it'll happen. I'm not going waste hope on it happening, it hurts too much when it doesn't. And that hurt isn't just rejection from a potential mate, it's a reminder of everything that's gone wrong, and I'd rather avoid that than have to deal with it again. As is my choice. Which is affecting literally no one else. But the friendzone definitely exists. Just seems some men are too alpha for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

That's a bit of a strange one. To be fair it doesn't sound like friendzone. It doesn't sound like she actually recjected you either - she just strung you along.

I think women have this idea about the Incel movement that the guys are misogynistic little trolls who hate women for being women. If you dig a little deeper a great majority of them love women and are just looking for someone to love. These are just guys who've been socially downtrodden and rejected.

Women have no idea how difficult it is to be a 5/10 male competing with 8/10 or 9/10 guys for women. In those situations women can be very cold and cruel to the lower status guys. I know because I've been there. This can unfortunately lead to a feeling of resentment towards women in general. Which is obviously wrong.

Of course being a man and complaining automatically invites ridicule and scorn from women. I'm sure a woman will read this post and instinctively want to mock the "poor man playing the victim". Which is exactly the type of coldness that creates resentment and the Incels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭sonic85

There's some great posts in this thread I fairness I'm finding it fascinating to read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,055 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Was speaking to a long term friend about this subject. It was a bit of an eye opener. Genuinely thought I had a very normal experience and the whole trying to be friends to get with someone was odd. He pointed out that I just never had any trouble talking to anybody and was always outgoing. Told me numerous stories of our past I forgot but they al basically boiled down to me seeing somebody I fancied in a bar/club and I just would walk straight over to be shot down or be successful. Didn't bother me if I was shot down as I just met them. It also clarified a lot of trouble I would get into when out.

Certain guys get very offended if you talk to their actual girlfriends which is fair enough but that was normally just a general backing off and acceptance I couldn't know and meant no offense. The ones that did always strike me as strange were the male friends who were really aggressive towards me. It seems these were guys doing the whole friend thing hoping to hook up at some point. My mate said that was why one particular guy was always picking fights with me because I had copped off with a few girls he was friends with. Glad he never found out about me and his sister.

College was a bit weird. Now I am not going to go on about Dubliner versus a Culchie but when I was in college the majority of people from the countryside were somewhat limited in their experiences. Was out with some guys from my class in a night club and they were wondering when the slow set was going to come on so they could ask a girl to dance. Guys talking about their social circle at home which often meant there were only maybe 20 people their own age so everybody sort of went around the group. To me that was shocking as within 3 km of my house there were 4 girls schools of over 600 students each. So the odds were in my favour growing up. Either way the restrictions of a small peer population meant a lot of people were not very sophisticated or experienced dealing with the opposite sex or whomever they were attracted to.

I ended up dealing with a lot of 1st year students from multiple colleges in Dublin. Lots of people who struggled to live away from home were really just unable to deal with the social changes. They may have been the best looking person in their area and had all the friends but they would arrive in Dublin and then be generally ignored and/or seen as arrogant. A lot of guys seem to think people will be impressed they were on the GAA team.

There were also the people who completely changed their appearance and interests. I remember this one girl who arrived in college big into Grunge. Little plump, short and wore baggy clothes. Within about 4 months she was big into house music and taking E. She started wearing tight fitting club gear that did her no favours along with tons of make-up. She was just a sheep that followed whomever was a about her. I felt really bad for her because the other girls were pretty good looking and she was the ugly tag along who would just agree with the group. We all have seen this dynamic and the matching male group.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1WuwAWHNqU

The difference here is that the incels blame the women. Other men who can't get a date accept that they might be foing something wrong and get help or ask for advice.

The thing about being a 5 out of 10 is that it's not terminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Being average looking is not " doing something wrong " but in terms of so called " incels "

Most probably need to adjust expectations, aim for more average looking women and they will improve their chances, incels seem to think they should get with stunners where as in reality only a relatively small minority of men manage to attract those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭manonboard

I think your post has good wisdom in it. Twice that I've at least known about after the fact, I've been put into this friendzone space where it wasn't quite friends, but it wasn't anything more. It took me quite a while to learn that I was essentially a placeholder for a nice boyfriend but without the actual intimacy. When i compare it now to my regular female friends, its very obvious. At the time, it was not. I labeled it a close friendship, and thought it might blossom into something more. It did not. Both of those dynamics completely fell apart when we were eventually confronted with that truth. I think its something that doesn't get discussed much at all, the role of women in the 'nice guy'/friendzone dynamics. I think there's quite a bit of responsibility on the woman's side that uses the male friend as a placeholder, gets the emotional closeness and intimacy, the support and various resource dependencies met.. but never has to commit to a relationship. From a needs point of view, they get everything they need, so i understand WHY they would be ok with that situation, but i don't think its very ethical. If i know a girl is into me, I dont let her get close to me to such an extent that i get benefits of a relationship without having to actually offer one. I would feel like im just using my friend and know i would discard meeting their needs if ever forced to confront that. I think a lot of that happens in the silence of never speaking about it which is quite it goes uncalled in many discussions such as this.

Now its obviously still plenty of responsibility on the guy to not get into those dynamics. People will use you if you dont understand what healthy transactions look like. Health boundaries only occur if you are taught them, or if you understand the processes of them. Unfortunately its not super common in dating that we do know what healthy honest ethical behavior looks like, and its less common our attraction dynamics are geared for it. It is quite fair to say that the guy was using the girl and pretending to be a friend in order to be more. Both using each other and both failing to address the elephant in the room.

I dont think i agree with your Alpha comment etc, as i think those terms are just too vague. They tend to have such absolutism about a person, a 'inherentness'. I tend to believe that they just describe peoples views of certain behaviors and almost all behaviors can be learned. Behaviours become very natural after practice, understanding and receiving the benefits of it.

Not sure what you mean by that first sentence, but the poster just said 5/10 - not 5/10 looking. But even 5/10 looks can be rectified with a bit of advice and time. And even then, a 5/10 looking guy with chraisma and good social skills will still do reasonably well on the dating scene.

Good looks is like a good CV - it'll get your foot in the door, but that's all.

The second group are also Incels. Incel means involuntary celibate. It encompasses any male who is struggling to date a woman. People might not identify as Incel but if they involuntarily celibate then that is what they are.

Well you were indeed being used. Because she was the one in control. It was your own choice though to stay in that situation and I assume you learned from it and wouldn't let it happen again. It is easy saying that now. She was entitled to do what she did in terms of stringing you along and taking advantage of you even though it wasn't a very nice thing to do. You may not have realised it at the time, but she might even have been putting in subtle barriers to control and prevent you from trying to change the dynamic to the one she knew you actually wanted.

The thing is that that girl could probably be now online diminishing you as a "nice guy" (in inverted commas) just to justify it to themselves that you weren't a decent fella and were instead some sort of sad pseudo-stalker sap.

You're assuming they are aiming for 9's and 10's which is simplistic. Most men know not to approach supermodels and face rejection and ridicule. They attempt to find women in their range and below. I think a lot of men get annoyed when they approach a woman who is at or below their level, and get rejected because the woman is looking for something better. Which is entirely their prerogative and biologically essential to securing the highest quality partner possible. I think online dating and social media have given women a false sense of what's possible. They reject a lot of potentially compatible men because there's an infinite supply of future candidates that they can hold out for. Which often ends up being bad for all parties except for the high quality men who can "pump and dump" at their leisure.

There was a male friend of mine who was just gorgeous. As a heterosexual male I am quite comfortable in saying how good looking he was. Tall, curly blond hair well built and highly intelligent. He was very well read and knew tons of interesting stuff. Girls threw themselves at him regularly everywhere. People would turn and look at him when he was going down the street. He wasn't vain and was actually very nice in his intent.

He unfortunately was very clingy. He would call in everyday to my home shortly after we became friends and I had to tell him not to call everyday or maybe arrange when to meet. He took massive offense and I didn't seem him for a bit but slowly he understood I had other friends and I hung out with different people when doing different things and it was not a slight on him.

Lots of stories about him but basically we would go out with friends and we used him as bate to get the most attractive women over. After talking to him a short time they were not interested in him and would be willing to look at some of us in the group. He did cop off lots but he would then start thinking he was in some long term relationship. He would do this about once a month. You would have to listen to his sob story about how mean they were to him. They actually were mean to him to get away from him because he could understand he was smothering them. Eventually did the same myself by completely ghosting him and not answering the door when he called

Ray Ray Ray. That fella wasn't interested in the ladies at all. He was hoping to bum you instead

I can assure you he did this to everyone who became his friend. One of my female friends saw him and went crazy about how good looking he was. I warned her he was nuts but told her he isn't bothered by looks so she had a good chance with him but I advised against it. Anyway after 2 weeks of seeing him (everyday) she was heading home from college on a Friday. She was woken up by him serving her breakfast in bed Saturday morning. She hadn't invited him down nor had he asked. Her mother thought it was a romantic gesture so let him do it. She completely freaked out, he got the train back to Dublin and he wrote her daily letters for a week to say sorry which he hand delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

You know the way you walk into a shop and the assistant sidles up to you immediately with a big smile on their face and asks you all about your day? You know they are only doing that because they want something from you. It's fake. They aren't being friendly to you in order to become your friend. It's transactional. And you both know it. You might even get the vibe that they hate customer service, hate having to approach stupid shoppers and endure the stupid product questions but they suck it up because they work on commission.

So that's the same type of vibe I would get from a man who approached me sometimes. And they were baffled because they say the nice things and offer to buy me a drink, are well presented and clean and do all the gentlemanly things they think makes a good impression. But it's all fake and feels fake. You can sense they dislike having to go through what they feel is the motions. They didn't seem to like women as a whole, had a poor opinion of us based on a small sample of their /their friends experiences, and expected the worst from us. But they want sex so at best they tolerate women in order to get laid but they don't like them. And that kind of seeps out of people no matter how hard they try to hide it. Humans have a good built in antenna for something that feels off or odd and the instinctual reaction is to remove yourself away from that feeling of unease.

So it's not about being nice per se. It really boils down to liking women as people. Actually not even that really because the "nice" guys also are pretty horrible about not only the women they don't fancy, but several categories of men as well. Often only concentrating their nice behaviour on a woman they want to have sex with. So really a genuinely nice guy has the capacity to like all sorts of people whether he wants to shag them or not. And he's open to liking people until they prove otherwise and generally, doesn't write off a whole swathe of a subset of people because one of them turned out to be a dick.

I'm in my late forties so my dating days were before social media or smart phones so possibly those have contributed to a more materialistic /superficial expectation from people looking for a partner. And that goes contradictory to the whole objective of meeting someone who's genuine, who likes you as a person, fancies you, and wants to spend time with you and who you might want to build a life with. But you can't meet someone real if you aren't real yourself. If you do fake gestures, do the tactical game playing, you'll attract the mate that recognises that particular mating dance and responds in kind surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Some normal lads, for whatever reason, aren’t “getting it”, it happens. But these guys wouldn’t be considered Incels.

Incels hate women, although a lot will deny that. They are angry misogynist, a lot of the time bigoted, lads who blame women for all that’s wrong in their sad, little, lives.

It’s like with the Neckbeards, not all lads who play computer games and have hair on their necks would be considered Neckbeards. As the old saying goes ‘it’s not the size of the fedora, it’s how you tip it’.

When a normal lad isn’t having much luck, with getting laid, they look at themselves and see if there’s anything they should be doing differently. An Incel will just get angry and lash out, online, at women and the other normal lads who are “successful” with them.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Do you always post like this, or has the idea of some random stranger you don't know having a unrequited crush on another random stranger you don't know triggered this?

One person faking a friendship to make me feel obliged to let them in my pants does not make me a goddess (far from it). It's a little concerning how personally you're taking it.