Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Promotions Thread *Please read post 1* (*Mod Warning Post #3947)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭endainoz

We will see how they get on I guess. Young talent seems to be the target with the schools being open again. I take it you've disowned them as a company then? A shame the way things have gone but can understand it. Certain musicians who I used to idolize will never get a penny from me again so I can certainly relate.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Complete disagree. They did the half hearted PR post Speaking Out, then they run off a load of talents and rebook Davis and Devlin. Why should anybody support a company like that which contains people like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Devlin got a huge pop at the show last Saturday.

was really surprising!

They have,

bug they’re still on the verge off selling out scrapper, they’ve kept a decent following

as much as I wish they’d address the signing of Davis and Devlin

• Registered Users Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭endainoz

Does the other talent deserve to be ignored because of this though? I think most people's minds here are made up but I'll watch this show anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,187 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Honestly? and this is only my opinion.... but if there is a significant number of people who left OTT, I highly doubt the majority did so from the #MeToo developments. The reasoning for this is that wrestling is such a 'me me me' thing. Wrestling is a very selfish thing all too often. Of course i'm sure the vast majority would agree that everything that happened with the whole metoo thing was wrong. But their own self-interests would come first (continuing on to hopefully get to wwe one day etc, sure i'm getting booked here etc)

I know some may disagree with that but in a sport where you can often see "I'm gonna make myself look good, even at the expense of you" can one really have much faith in peoples ethics.

But am curious, with all this talk, how many leaving we talking about? Is it a lot? or we talking about lil' seanie and his cousin martin who never had a match lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

see Session Moth Martina had a AEW Dark match against Diamante the other day, good to see her land on her feet after signing for ROH and then covid happened so never really got to work the states

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭NITRO95

The fact you have to ask who left shows you actually havnt got a clue what you are talking about. The rest of your post is pure speculation and waffle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭rizzla

Just a small correction it was Ruby Soho. Really looking forward to watching it too, I would be so happy for her if she got signed there.

Are rude sound bites all you can do? Lol.

But it's ironic. You say I don't have a clue - there's a TON of irony with what you just said.

Rabble rabble rabble. That's all you are. Stop me if I am wrong, some bloke who thinks he knows so much about wrestling but never took even one bump, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I don't have a dog in this race, but comparing the lads who walked away after speaking out to Popeye and speedo leaving iww or someone leaving MSW Is at best naive and at worst willfully ignorant, the lads involved were at the top of the cards all over Europe, and spent any weekend they had free travelling to the UK to train under lads like Marty Jones and Robbie brookside, the more than hype lads would have smashed it in the USA as soon as the borders opened. the idea that this whole group just woke up one day and went "this is a bit **** innit" is fairly implausible.

Well with regards to my original post, I was just listing off several bullshiiitery things that goes on in wrestling. Many irish lads have quit over the last 20 years for various reasons. You of all people know many who have hynsie.

But you know what I just realised? ... who cares. Like what I mean is a few lads left a place because of their own reasons. Someone else will take their spot. More lads will start training. Some of them too will quit whenever due to their own reasons. Someone will take their spot etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

They left because of the scumbaggery.

People who were once loyal and supportive of OTT care, as a lot of fans have walked away from a scene they loved.

Fuck OTT, who would rather defend their scumbag mates and ignore their scumbag actions than set example for future wrestlers.

Irish wrestling scene is in the toilet.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Of course, a million lads have left for a million reasons, I packed it in twice and you had more returns than Tesco, but neither of us were at the level these lads were at.

And in the grand scheme of things, the wheels of Irish wrestling keeps turning and there'll be a new issue in 6 months, doesn't mean that the half dozen lads who should be leading a scene we once cared about walking away isn't a **** situation.

Truth be told Joe, there's always been an element of scumbaggery tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Then shouldnt it be corrected rather than ignored, esp when fans and top prospects are walking away?

• Registered Users Posts: 8 princeparsnips

Once covid hit I didn't really follow the Irish scene at all. I am curious who else has left the scene since? I saw Butch, Liam Royale and Nathan Martin mentioned here but what others are gone?

In an ideal world, yeah of course. It's just the way it is tho. I know that's not a great response but ... it's just wrestling for ya.

Phoenix show in Limerick last night,

Superb card from start to finish and some really nice story elements starting to kick in!

if you’re around Limerick or Cork keep an eye on their socials, some great stuff going on!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Seeing as it's an Irish wrestling thread let's hype up the best Irish wrestling company FFPW. Fabio more than held his own up against one of the best in the world right now Jon Gresham

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭jo187

Hi guys

Know there is stall tickets left for Saturday but if anyone has floor seats for ott for sale for this Saturday, give us a pm, cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

With that reception and shite match

can that be the end of Devlin in Irish wrestling please.

got the reaction that he warranted (ranging from loud anti chants to just no reaction at all)

OTT hopefully will learn, cause it distracted from what was otherwise a wonderful card

Just in from the show. A mixed bag but fun night.

Talk first about the last two matches. RVD vs Scotty Davis. RVD was super oveŕ. A lot of stalling at the start, RVD took one bump and then got on the microphone and said he wanted to make this an extreme rules match. A bit of brawling in the crowd, one use of steal chair, a couple of moves and Rob gets the win with the 5 star. Not really much of a match but people just wanted to see RVD and that they did. After this match people were leaving. Now it was getting on for 11 so maybe were getting the bus or they only came for RVD.

Without a doubt the main event suffered. Jorden came to a decent reaction but hardly the heros welcome you expect. Then Hawkins was out and no one really cared.

Start of the match people were leaving, going to toilet, getting drinks etc. By the end people were getting into it, but unfortunately there was a ref bump. Sammy D came out attacked Jordan and then Hawkins got the win by ref stoppage, as Jordan was "knocked out".

Jordan made a little speech at the end making it clear he loves OTT but this was a one and done deal. A pretty flat finish to the show.

The biggest highlight was the return of Angel Cruz! Great reaction, sadly he was in the 5 way for the GN title and didn't get much time to shine. Martina kept the title. It was nice seeing B Cool come to the side of the stage to see the reaction Angel got.

Scotty 2 hotty vs Sammy D was a stall fest. If Scotty took one bump during the match I be surprised. But the crowd loved him and he milked it well.

It was a odd crowd. Two guys behind me won't shut up through out the show. Just talking about Whatculture Wrestling and Jim Cornette and how he trained with the lads in Bray, I'm sure you did mate.

Behind them was a group who never been to a Wrestling show so thought it was hilarious to shout stuff as loud as they could for there own Amusement. They Recognised Adam Flex from Love Island fair play to them on that, one of them proceeds to shout "love Island" & "I got a text" about 50 times in a row to no reaction.

I been to most of the stadium shows pre Covid. First one back and a rougher crowed. Security were busy all night escorting people out and saw one lad with a bloody nose. It was overall a odd crowd. Decent reactions to entrances and finishes but the actually matches, people were on there phones, walking around etc. Now my sections were pretty bad for this, so maybe not like that for everyone there.

Not a total sell out, but pretty close to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

shame that davis and devlin is still getting work

Few days out from Scrapper, think i can leave a more in depth point review,

In general, I think its the weakest OTT show since covid, and also, the weakest show I've seen in Ireland in the same time (phoenix and FFP have both put on much better shows on a more consistent basis)

The entire structure of the card was way off, didnt have any real flow, and just seemed thrown together at times.

Opening 2 matches (4 was elimination and the OTT tag titles) were the 2 best of the night IMO, and even then, the first run through of the tag match at the 'Road to..' card was much higher quality.

Women's title got a nice pop and did what it needed to do crowd all happy.

Scoty2Hotty and RVD, pure nostalgia, did the worm and frog-splash but neither were actually good matches.

GN title, a lot of fun, but seemed hampered by time (show started about 20 late)

Then the main event.. crowd were completely dead, Devlin's intro completely killed 99% of the crowd, with Haskins not even getting booed. For every attempted Devlin chant there was a speaking out response. Ideally it showed OTT that he cant and shouldn't be booked again.

Wasn't a great card, regardless, but having that as main was utter non-sense. Would also agree with the above, was a bad crowd and the majority seemed completely uninterested in matches not featuring swerve/rvd/scotty(which i know is an issue with these 'supercards')

We had tickets booked before Devlin was announced, wont be rushing back to OTT, there's better options about

Solid 3/5* but no more than that

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,663 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I just saw a few bits on Instagram, Martina and Romero seemed to have a lot of fun together, at Hangover yesterday as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭showpony1

Great to see Scott Garland not take a single bump and get the biggest reactions of the night - hopefully at his seminars this week he can impart this knowledge on our Irish talents.

There were a few lads beside me chanting "Speaking out! Speaking out!" when Debbie Kietel won the title, disgusting stuff.

I be honest I don't know about the speaking out stuff and didn't hear any chants about it on the night.

I feel the main event fell flat as people were there for RvD and Jordan is a cold character.

Jordan left in many people eyes to go to the big bad WWE. He did noting to build this match. No video, appearance etc. Now that might be due to his WWE status. I felt the crowd warm to him after his speech. Something like this might had helped before hand.

Hawkins is also a cold character. He hasn't been in a feud or storyline that gotten amy interest and there has been no real build to this match.

Imo if you buy a ticket knowing the line up and go to the show and chant "speaking out" or something like that your an attention seeking idiot.

To protest you don't buy or refund your ticket. Bottom line some of your money is going to people you don't like and it encourages the company to bring them back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I think this may be the first stadium show I missed.

I’ve seen it happen a complete of times that the crowd are just banjacked by the time the main event comes around. I remember it for Devlin/ZSJ. Good build, good match but the crowd were totally spent. Silent AF.

I’d say Haskins might have as much to do with the main being a damp squib as Jordan. He does less than nothing for me. Totally “meh”.

I’m surprised it had such a big crowd. Not due to any OTT boycott but just cause it’s clear OTT understandably aren’t as white hot at the mo.

It gets serious traction here but I think it’s clear outside of the crowd on Twitter clutching their pearls people are so past the whole #speakingout thing and really couldn’t give a flying F about it.