Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kin - RTE & AMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

IFTA awards last night. Results may displease some on here.

TV drama categories

Best drama: Kin

Director drama: Hannah Quinn – Vikings: Valhalla

Script drama: Peter McKenna – Kin

Lead actor drama: Sam Keeley – Kin

Lead actress drama: Clare Dunne – Kin

Supporting actor drama: Ciarán Hinds – Kin

Supporting actress drama: Maria Doyle-Kennedy – Kin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Niall_76

I always struggle with what constitutes a lead role for these awards. This doesn’t help cause I wouldn’t have said Sam Kelley was in a lead role.

I’d agree. To be honest there was a clear female lead but no obvious male lead, the screen time seemed to be split between several actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭quidel7

The IFTA’s are a joke of a competition. Never seen such a poor production a few years ago when it was on tv. It was an embarrassing effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Ciarán Hinds was a powerhouse for the show.

And yet the Irish public, the American public, Irish critics, international critics and now awards voters are in disagreement with you. How wrong they all are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Well deserved wins by Claire Dunne and Ciaran Hinds, their performances were fantastic.

Fair play to Sam Kelley too, he threw himself into the role certainly, but had comparatively less screen time than the others so I'm at a loss as to why he was in that category

Not to the general public nor the media. For those few moaning on this thread you’ve effectively been ignored by the viewers, critics and awards voters.

Worry not, Season two will doubtless give you plenty to whinge about.

Constructive criticism is good. Factually incorrect whingeing far less so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭markw7

Nothing factually incorrect, its a sh!t tv show by any metric. Whingebag whinges about whinging..... what was so good about it so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

There was plenty of constructive criticism if you read the thread.

You're clearly quite bitter if you're trawling the thread quoting posts from 6 months ago. I assume you're involved with the show somehow. Do us a favour and tell the lads writing and running it to do better. Good man 👍

Love how people are using a few IFTA awards as a gotcha moment.

The IFTAs have about 5 TV shows to choose from each year so Kin was bound to win something.

It's a joke of an awards ceremony that nobody cares about. It is what it is.

Posters here said it wouldn't be popular. FACT - biggest show of the year in Ireland.

It wouldn't do well internationally. FACT - it did.

The critics wouldn't approve. FACT - rave reviews in the Irish media.

International critics would hate it. FACT - 100% on Rotten Tomatoes.

It wouldn't get renewed. FACT - It was.

Actors were below par. FACT - It won 6 out of 7 of the IFTA awards, including all four of the acting ones.

By all metrics it's succeeded, and deservedly so. Worry not, only 10-12 months to go before you can whinge about it all over again.

Not 'something' but 6 out of the 7 of the TV awards. An overwhelming win I'd say.

And what posts from 6 months ago? Please enlighten me and give a date please. I've not looked beyond this page.

Doesn't matter how many, they're all IFTAs and are therefore worthless. Anyone with any sense knows that.

I'll leave you to it, enjoy fighting the good fight against anyone that dares criticize this modern TV masterpiece 👍👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

In fairness, the winners have to be Irish.

How did Maria Doyle Kennedy win an award for Kin? She had barely had any lines?

Re the IFTAs tell that to Ciaran Hinds, Jessie Buckley, Kenneth Branagh, Colm Báireid and all the others who were so delighted the other night. Recognition from your internationally-renowned peers is never not significant.

And I don't care who criticises Kin. For me it's 8/10 for the first season and will improve. I just don't like the whingeing and false info. And re fake stuff you din't tell me which six-month-old post you were referring to. Where is it?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You do seem passionate about it.

As someone who watched it and am not a TV critic, I did think the standard of both the script and the acting was poor. I didn't think it was on a par with other Irish gangster drama e.g. Love Hate. If this is the standard that deserves six out of seven of our IFTAs then it does not say much about the quality of Irish drama. But I know that Irish drama can be quite good, so where does that leave us? Crap award voting or was there such a dearth of quality drama produced here last year that Kiin was the best of a bad bunch?

I'm sure they looked delighted, they're actors after all 😁

Not really passionate, I've just no time for begrudgers whingeing. Constructive criticism yes, and the show deserved plenty.

An average year I think, Kin deemed to be better than Hidden Assets, Smother and Vikings:Valhalla which is fair. Kin is 8/10 for me and will improve. 2020 was a stronger year.

Love/Hate's first season was pretty average, and the same people were slagging it off throughout. In a decade they'll be slamming another crime series and saying it's no match for Kin. Negativity, every country has it but thankfully the noisy few here are very very unrepresentative of the audience for Kin as viewing figures, critics and awards show.

Nice to see you finally admiring the qualities of the cast of Kin.

And you again fail to show me the six month old post you referred to. Which one? This was your quote:

"You're clearly quite bitter if you're trawling the thread quoting posts from 6 months ago. I assume you're involved with the show somehow. Do us a favour and tell the lads writing and running it to do better. Good man 👍"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭markw7

Yep its definitely everyone else thats whinging, christ do ya have any self awareness? The show is muck and the iftas are a joke, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Not everyone is into watching paint dry. It's obviously your thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭J.P.1994

Seathrun66, you are wasting your time trying to argue or reason with people on here about this. But I suppose if you've spent the last few months slagging off a show about its acting and writing, and then it wins lots of awards for its acting and writing, the obvious thing to do is slag off the awards. If people want to hate Kin, let them off. Same people were probably slagging off Love/Hate when it first came out, now it's the best show ever made.

I agree with about it not being perfect, but for a first series I enjoyed it, and will watch again. What I thought was interesting when they announced it was coming back for another series, was all the stuff about how well it had done for AMC in the US, they said it was one of the biggest hits on their platform last year, and brought in loads of new subscribers. Not bad for an Irish show a that is "muck".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭quidel7

Well if you heard the sound quality in that particular ceremony you’d be questioning the production team. There were other very questionable music choices played when awards were being collected particularly for a documentary on the disappeared. Perhaps my opinion is tinted by one particular year’s production.

Definition of whingeing -'complain persistently and in a peevish or irritating way.'

Yep, the use of 'muck' and 'a joke' fits therein.

Maybe, but hey, the Irish public, American public, Irish critics, international critics and IFTA voters are in full agreement with me.

Love/Hate got thoroughly slagged off here by the usual crew.

Fast forward to 2032 when the same people will be slagging off the latest show and complaining that 'it's no Kin.' I await that moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Sam Keeley won best lead actor in a drama? Were there no other dramas on last year? He was terrible in that show.

I know he's in some big film/show in America now, and I wish him all the success, but he just wasn't great in Kin.

Really have to see An Cailín Ciúin now after it won so many awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Love Hate was mediocre in it's first season, but showed promise. None of that is evident in Kin. I'm glad you like it so much, but it really isn't that good.

"Not bad for an Irish show" is what most people would say, because the standard is poor here unfortunately.