Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Look this is a discussion forum.

If you post something you should prepared for people to respond?

If you can't handle that you can post protected tweets on twitter with responses off.

I don't know what Gabbard's gig is or what she is used for (could be to track and trace internal dissent; could be genuine, I have no clue) but she is far from a fringe figure:

Tulsi Gabbard is a four-term member of the House of Representatives from Hawaii and a veteran. First elected in 2012, she serves on the Foreign Affairs and Armed Services Committees. She positions herself as an environmentalist and a critic of “regime change wars.”

A major in the Hawaii National Guard, she deployed to Iraq from 2004 to 2005. Born in American Samoa and raised in Hawaii, she is a graduate of Hawaii Pacific University.

That's where the severe sanctions do their job

Putin post knife to Ukrainian throat deal. 'Okay, now the western sanctions can be lifted'.

The West, 'nah, we're grand, thanks.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭wandererz

My current thoughts.

Send a strike team into Switzerland and take out the little Putins and Putina's.

Let there be no legacy.

Of course Zelensky has just invaded a neighbouring country for no reason.

But but but Ukraine isn’t perfect so it’s actually worse than Russia.

Can you tell me how it feels to be a gullible patsy for blatant propaganda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yeah, I actually did know she was a Dem primary candidate in 2020, I just didn't express my surprise at her somewhat odd position clearly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

I would love her to tell that to the dead children in Ukraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

So you’ve got a conspiracy theory about Putin planning with the rest of the world both Covid and attacking Ukraine. Conspiracy theory forum is that away ——>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,759 ✭✭✭weisses

Discuss it .....

Why do you disagree with the shutting down of TV stations which are operating as propaganda Machines for a regime you are basically in war with for the past Eight years

Why do you disagree house arrest being put on a person who:

"is accused of transferring oil and gas production licenses from one of the fields in Crimea to Russian authorities. Russia annexed the Black Sea peninsula in 2014, weeks after Ukraine's former Moscow-friendly president was ousted by protesters.

Medvedchuk is also charged with allegedly disclosing secret data on the deployment of Ukrainian military units last year.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That video was posted on the 10th of February. The whole “there’s no Russian plot to topple the Ukrainian government” really hasn’t aged well over the past three weeks, has it?

Good response!

Where is @Yurt2 when you need him. He was also great at dealing with the trolls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,509 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

An analyst on Russian affairs on the RTE's This Week at lunchtime was saying that any 'negotiations' with the Russians at the moment are just a sham on their side and a cynical PR move. They are pathological liars and couldn't be trusted for even a second. Anything they supposedly sign up to wouldn't be worth the paper it was written on.

So, send a death squad to Switzerland to murder Putin's children and grandchildren?

Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭juno10353

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭briany

I find it telling that she expresses opinions about a really tragic humanitarian situation while smirking smugly. That's the narcissism of the contrarian truth-seeker, right there.

It is more important to score political points than to take a moment to acknowledge the untold human tragedy that is associated with these points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I'll take the 'accusations' in the video delivered by Gabbard in order.

1. Ukraine banned 3 TV stations: Damn right they did, the stations are owned by an oligarch who uses mines etc in the Donbas to finance the puppet republics. He's sanctioned for being under the direction of the FSB and is one of the collaborators being groomed to be put in charge of the country once the Ukrainian system is purged violently. He's thought to be on the run in Belarus under FSB protection. F*ck him and his Kremlin propaganda outlets.
    2. Opposition leader "imprisoned": Viktor Medvedchuk is under house arrest ahead of prosecution for treasonous activities. He'll have his day in court, but he's almost certainly guilty of the charges. Putin is godfather to one of his daughters. Also accused of financing the Eastern puppet republics via his oligarch business interests. Also likely poised to be installed puppet head of Ukraine if Kyiv falls. F*ck him.

Gabbard is a dolt and her "mAinSTReam MEdiA" schtick is designed to appeal to low-IQ Trumpite GOP soccer moms who don't have a breeze about the world and the mendacity of the Putinist system - but will trust Gabbard because she has nice hair and is a 'boss girl.'

Swallow this nonsense at your peril. Ukraine is a democracy - an imperfect one- but persisting under the kosh of hybrid warfare for over a decade in the face of a fascist irredentist neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,029 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,029 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭wandererz

Yep.

Tactical chemical or biological strike will take out the protection detail as well.

Given the high ranking positions she had held in the US gvoernment and MIC, she is just as likely to be smirking ("duper's delight," as some call it) because she's a honey trap (of sorts) designed to attract certain types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Someone did get emotional earlier when I suggested they were being at least partially manipulated by mainstream media.

As for where I get my info (and have thus correctly called a lot of things over the past two years), that would be often from the globalists themselves. IE the people who (now openly) own your politicians. World Economic Forum is a great place to start. You'll pick a lot up listening to their conferences, interviews, reading through various connected documentation, patents etc.

You're being showed a consistent message and the same emotional propaganda from mainstream media because that's what they want you to see.

I suppose the simple question always is: who controls the puppets you're all distracted by on the public stage? What's their agenda? Whilst mainstream media bombards you with something on the left, what are the people who actually dictate global policy doing over on the right? You're distracted by checkers whilst the guys above are playing chess. Over and over.

Anyway, hopefully this Ukraine situation is resolved soon. Have a good day, my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I actually agree.

They are completely untrustworthy.

What's notable about this is the Ukrainians saying this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't agree with doing harm to them physically, but those relatives of top Russian officials who are living in the West should have their assets stripped and either placed under house arrest or sent back to Russia. Make Putin and his circle feel every bit of pain they can if NATO won't directly confront Russian forces in Ukraine.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

When she opens with the usual "you won't see this in the mainstream media" you can be sure what follows are going to be half truths or complete and utter bollocks. And I wasn't far wrong. The outgoing president was a corrupt prick in the pocket of Putin. The anti oligarch laws that Zelenskyy brought in were a tad inconvenient for him. And he wasn't thrown in gaol, indeed was still going to parliament. Indeed Zelenskyy had wanted to bring in tougher laws around that(though he did get stuff like the president was no longer immune to prosecution. Crazy notion), but not all of them got through the Ukrainian parliament. One of those crazy things you hear about in democracies. The Ukrainian media themselves were dubious about some of his media reforms and reported it openly. Also something you tend to find in democracies. Now compare and contrast with the facist prick in the Kremlin. Have any of his proposals been rejected by the Dumas? That would be a no. How safe are Russian media outlets that go against the party line? Not very. And now you can end up in a Russian prison for fifteen years if you don't stick to the script.

Is Ukraine a bastion of all that is good in the world? Hell, no it isn't. It's still economically screwed, riddled with corruption and cronyism with a civil war in the East where neither side comes out clean of blood on their hands, but compared to Russia it's a disneyland of freedom and democracy.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

when I was in college many moons ago, we had to do this self-directed learning in a group. A tutor would assess us as we fed-back the information to the group. Of course, there were several convincing gobshites who always claimed that they cited from the latest research. But if you looked at their notes, they had all the telltale blue keywords which were underlined.

It is not enough to state that you used the bibliographic databases. You actually have to cite the primary source itself. Unless, you are like the people who used to talk up their sources but in fact used to cite (badly) sources from Wikipaedia. And most of the time, they got the totally wrong end of the stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Zelensky shutting down "spewing stations" (for 5 years) by revoking their licences is HARDLY THE SAME as using the kinetic energy of high velocity metal fragments, generated and thrown by high explosives, to collide with innocent peoples' flesh, skin, bone, muscle, ligaments, sinews, sensory organs, vital organs, etc.

Some people are stupid beyond belief - "a table has four legs, a dog has four legs, therefore a dog is a table"

Comprehend - Discern - Reflect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,179 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I checked her first claim and it reeks. He shut down three Pro-Russian 'stations' that no sane person would regard as 'stations' - they were 3 youtube channels that aired on a tuesday evening. The three were all owned by thr same Pro-Russian politician and they were promulgating the propaganda of the eastern seperatists. Can't be bothered wasting time on the rest of what she's spinning given item one checks out as being a sound and justified move on Zelenskyy's part. More putin than Putin - horse shít.