Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,015 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

This is all about the current mindset of Putin. He's had TOTAL AND UTTER CONTROL of Russia for so long, and he's become paranoid and resentful at a multitude of sins that he alone believes the West have - and are - committing against Russia. The man is capable of anything - including nuclear weapons.

I also don't believe that there is any hope of any "inner circle" bringing him down. His grip is too tight, and he's very adept at brainwashing people as to the supposed "threats" to the Russian empire.

I've no doubt that in the background, Xi has been in touch with Putin and was also instrumental in these talks taking place. I hope something good comes out of these talks today, as a cornered tiger is when it's most dangerous. A deranged cornered tiger at that.

I think this article pretty much sums up the situation most accurately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Mike3549

We all know its not gonna happen quickly, ukraine will have to jump through the hoops, set the borders, referendums in crimea and donbass where they wanna go etc ukraine could join as a de facto divided nation like Cyprus. Turkey is not in eu because of invasion to Cyprus, they have to get it sorted first and then the talks will start.

All this ukraine in eu talk is just sending a message to mother russia.

I think you are confusing EU vs NATO membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Belarus becoming nuclear is a very dangerous path for Belarusians, they will end up on the junk heap like Ukraine once Vlad is done with them

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,077 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It would also appear to be incorrect. American intelligence (iirc) suggests that the plan was air superiority in 24hrs, take the capital in 48hrs and a new puppet government in 72hrs. None of those objectives have, as yet, been achieved.

Modern armies do not send equipment and men out to be destroyed, even old stuff.

This mission looks to have been either badly planned or there was a large gap between what the superiors thought what their capabilities were and what they actually were. I suspect its bit of both, along with unexpected resistance that has slowed the Russian advance.

While the Ukrainian resistance has to be acknowledged, it needs to be noted that the Russians are holding and advancing and their appears a real risk of the Ukrainian forces being encircled in the east. Wanting success for the underdog shouldn't make us become detached from this reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Heraclius

I think he has more than proved himself by staying in his capital when a superpower attacked his country.

Well, fair play for admitting it. The next step, IMO, to go beyond entry-level resistance, is to stop being suckered, accept that you are living in a world of narratives, fifth-hand information, and shadow pictures like everyone else. That drives an ethically-motivated search for truth, because under the propaganda there are still rights and wrongs that are worth discovering. Start that journey and get back to me. (It's a long and boring one, BTW, and there is no glory in it, just be warned.)

As for your q: I see it like this. Russia and the West have been vying for influence in Ukraine. The West was winning hearts and minds. The West would have kept that up, the Eu was doing its due diligence. Russia invaded the East using proxies, under the guise of liberation. That conflict festered, largely forgotten. Russia upped the ante with an 'official' invasion and have driven the EU to be more open and public about its intentions. But these grand political narratives don't really matter to me. What matters is the living conditions for people on the ground. You would be stretching credibility to its limit and undermining every metric, if you argue that Ukranians would have a better standard of living and more importantly, more liberty in Russia than they would in the EU.

From what Ursula VDL said to Euronews last night, I don't think you need to, it's a slam dunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,519 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Russia is isolated and the sanction have created a partially parallel economy. The ruble is practically krusty dollars, it doesn't matter outside of their country and most foreign transaction will now entirely be done in those foreign currencies. They can print what they like as the sanctions make the exchange rate irrelevant for actual people and foreign goods were already going to suffer from hyperinflation and scarcity. Russians with large cash reserves will suffer, but most of the extreme wealth is never just held in cash. A million euro yatch is still worth million euro regardless of the price in rubles, same for gas, oil, steel, neon, or any other large Russian export.

International trade isn't the same as getting a good deal off amazon when sterling falls.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

1. A bloody and prolonged, and ultimately unsuccessful occupation, as the situation in Russia slowly deteriorates as the economy starts to collapse and they can't fund a massive occupation force.
    2. A settlement recognising Russian control of the conflict areas of the east and Crimea with full Russian withdrawal

There is zero reason to think or expect Ukraine to agree to the ridiculous punitive outcome you have suggested. A long and bloody war seems regrettably more likely. But it is one that Russia can ill afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭zv2

If corruption is a reason for invasion watch out London, Putin is coming.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It's a throwback to the old days and very hard to root out. Their first decade of independence was under the shadow of Mafiya, in Ukraine's case more like black market street gangs. The tendency to backslide is still there at all levels of officialdom, largely because of poor salaries ,an average of just over $200 a month.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

On the corruption front he's correct about Ukraine. Wiki link there. Second only to Russia apparently, and Russia is a joke in this respect. So unless you think wikipeda and international corruption indexes are paid in roubles to spread FUD too?

Ukraine has been invaded by a prick with Peter the Great delusions who thinks it's the 1930's and Ukraine has won the hearts and minds war and for many good reasons, but there are also many good reasons to keep our powder dry with unamimous praise that doesn't reflect the realities of the same nation.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

This brought a chuckle

Screenshot_20220228-114243_Instagram.jpg

You would be stretching credibility to its limit and undermining every metric, if you argue that Ukranians would have a better standard of living and more importantly, more liberty in the EU than they would in Russia.

🤣 Yeah, land of liberty and economic greatness is our friend Russia. Unless that is a typo and you meant "wouldn't have a better....", then that is one of the most ridiculous things I have ever seen written. Russia has the GDP of Spain and is an oligarchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Heraclius

That's largely my opinion too. I'd be open to starting the membership process but granting immediate membership would be quite a poor idea. I would think also we could focus on the invasion by Russia now and corruption later.

That a mistype or are you arguing Ukrainians would be better off in Russian than the EU?

The election of Zelensky was partly fuelled by a rejection of the old oligarchical ways however and Ukraine is and was moving in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

If you wanted to kick countries out of the EU based on their politicians' appearance on the Panama papers, there wouldn't be a country left in the EU. Tax avoidance by elites is icky, but it's not illegal. It is a problem much bigger than any individual politician you care to name.

As a pretext to denying Ukraine accession to the EU particularly under these crisis conditions where a rapid response is essential, it should be firmly filed in the 'whatabout' column

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Leave him off. Poland have enough of their own issues but even the Ukraine make them look civilized. I wouldn't be fast tracking the Ukraine into Europe. We have had too many basket cases before like Greece for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Russians have been stockpiling gold the past decade too, and while theyve had significant foreign currency reserves frozen, they have been moving most of their foreign reserve away from dollar for a while. Euro though is a big blow, back in June they had planned to move their wealth funds from 30% dollar to close to 0%

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

This thread is going down various discussion routes now as the invasion becomes normalised. The updates/propaganda from what's happening on the ground are becoming less frequent. Do seperate threads need to be created?

Last I looked it appeared that the eastern Ukrainians were at risk of being encircled by a Russian landbridge. They might be at the point of having to fall back.

Is there any sign of the pledged aircraft in the skies above Ukraine yet?

Have Belarus officially got boots on the ground now with their paratroopers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Cyprus is a member.

Although I do agree that fast-tracking membership in this way is a bad precedent to set. Especially for countries with as much institutional baggage as Ukraine but who've been candidates for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

I think people will find Ukraine had 30 years of pro-Russian presidents and politicians that did all the damage corruption wise. The Orange revolution was not that long ago and sorting out the countries corruption cant be done overnight. Most pro-Russia countries are a basket case of corruption as that is the way Russia wants them as they can be labelled a failed state as soon as they break away. No Pro Russian country anywhere on earth is a free democratic and just economy as that is not something Russia can tolerate.

Dan.

You are inspiring me to send more. I thought my opinion of you coudn't get much lower, but hey, I make mistakes.

Speaking of corruption; Bertie, brown enevelopes, mobile phone licences, etc, etc - pot, kettle, black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Addmagnet