Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Husband has occasional cocaine benders

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭foxsake

been at similar for over 20 years , wife isn't a fan of drugs. so pretty similar to the OP. maybe my difference is my openness when i met my wife.

I've never cheated on my wife and neither have my friends on similar benders. No idea where you got this.

I've been around cheaters and I know this , cheaters will cheat. party time or not is irrelevant.

Most lads on a bender (unless single and looking for women) want to get wasted and talk utter scutter. some tunes or watch the late night fight .

But you are right on one thing - he is unlikely to change or want to. If he does it'll be cos he was nagged into it. hardly the compromise or whatever a good marriage is supposed to be.

If he is messing up in other parts of his life cos of it - missed bills ,work issues or bad father/spouse - sure then it's problematic.

but if it remains an occasional treat to himself . leave him be,

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭anndub

Some absolutely crazy responses in here. I think the morality police in here would collapse if they knew how many people in their inner circle dabbled in Coke. It's endemic in Ireland and a "normal" part of a night out for many more than would ever admit it.

On a personal note I do think it's a pretty awful drug and can see exactly where you're coming from. I'm not sure what your describing is good reason to break up a marriage. You do describe having big problems with communicating around the issue of his binges though and it would greatly benefit your marriage up avail of marriage counseling where you have a "referee" to facilitate the discussion.

I think marriage counseling is under utilised with people often thinking it's only for those in the brink of separation. Couples get stuck on issues like this all the time despite what some of the previous responses would suggest!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Mod Note

Posters are reminded that this is Relationship Issues and when replying you should offer advice to the OP. It's up to them, not you, to decide what advice is applicable to them.

If you have no advice to offer the OP move on to another thread.

If you cannot post without personally insulting another poster, do not post.

If you're in any doubt about what Personal Issues/Relationship Issues is for, please read the Charter.

HS

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Very sensible post.

I think the OP was just looking for someone to tell her she was right and true to form that happened. Now kids are potentially going to be left without a father and some internet warriors can have a glow in their hearts that another father will suffer and kids will be more likely to have bad outcomes in life.

Marriage guidance is an obvious response but this forum makes me sad most of the time with the skewed 1 dimensional "advice" given.

Sorry you're going to lose your Dad kids 😢

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭JoChervil

OP, your husband is an addict and you are co-depenedent. The amount of denial in this thread is staggering.

Alcohol and drugs abuse is not only causing harm to an abuser. It causes huge emotional distress to the whole family. OP, do you really want to raise your children to be Adult Children of Alcoholics (or any other Addicts)? World is tough enough without it.

You have to choose, whose well being is more important to you: yours and your kids or your husband's. But it is only a short term choice because in a longer run choice against your husband will be for his own good as well.

You said he won't change. The question is, if you can change. You said you set up already few ultimatum, which in fact weren't the ones because you didn't follow through. So the question is, if you can keep your word. Otherwise, he will ignore it.

Now only you know how serious it is and how strong boundaries you have to put in place. But you have to say stop to it and introduce consequences. Without them you are right, he won't change.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Once a month is a bit much. Once a year leave him at it

My attitude to him would be you have young children, you have a responsibility to be around for them.

The time for partying hard with your friends on the weekend was before you created a family.

Once the babies come along, its time to put away risk taking behaviour - and every time he snorts a line he is taking a risk with his life.

I wouldn't put up with it. It would be a dealbreaker for me. I'd tell him to stop, or its over.

Keep an eye on your bank balance, as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,358 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

are these his friends from college/going way back?

if he's not shagging hookers, and this a few mates getting together every so often for old times sake i dont see a huge issue cos it's gonna happen.

i would chat to to him, not about the frequency, but the severity of these binges. sort of 'go and do it, but you better be up in the morning for cricket practice'.

everyone still needs a life

I'd be stressed out every time he went on a night out that I'd get a call at 4am to say he was in A&E - or worse. You're a nurse. I'm sure you've seen it. I wouldn't sleep a wink.

And to be honest, if he knows how you feel, and he still walks out the door knowing the worry he is putting you under, he's being a dick.

I couldn't imagine putting my partner through that every 2 months or so.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭houseyhouse

My heart goes out to you OP. It’s a difficult position to be in. A few posters have commended him for being honest but it seems to me the problem is actually that he wasn’t honest for so many years and that you never had the opportunity to choose whether you were ok with his drug use or not. Now you find yourself married to a man who’s drug use is unacceptable to you, even though it’s occasional.

People have different understandings of what addiction is but a common definition is continuing the behaviour even when it is causing problems in other areas of your life, e.g. family, work, health etc. Consequences of your husband’s binges include not coming home to care for his children as agreed, being asked to leave his home by his wife, missing screenings for a serious health condition, and regularly not participating fully in family life for extended periods after a binge. Now maybe he doesn’t see these things as problems, but I can understand why they’re problems for you.

If you’re lying for him and covering for him after a binge, then you’re enabling him. Don’t do it any more. I’m not judging. I’m married to a person who had a drinking problem so I completely understand how you got there. You say your marriage is otherwise good but in my experience, if he is repeatedly putting his binges ahead of obligations like caring for his kids while you’re at work, you will grow to resent him, especially when you’re doing it all in secret.

I 100% recommend couples counselling. It saved my marriage. I had all but given up on the relationship when we started but I didn’t want to look back and think I should have tried harder. If you really listen to each other, it will allow him to understand why you’re unhappy about his binges and it will allow you to understand why they’re important to him. It will give you both a chance to compromise. And if you can’t compromise after that, you’ll know you gave it your best shot.

And please, OP, don’t listen to people saying you’re the one breaking up the family.

The OP has an issue to sort and I wish her the best with it.

What I took from this thread is she is a health care professional with experience of dealing with Cocaine on a medical basis. This experience is a factor in her decision and I wish the best of luck with it.

What I can't get over is the amount of people on here defending cocaine. Its ridiculous.

Primary school stuff everyone does it now etc it must be OK. My mate johnny does it years etc

Personally I think class A drugs no matter how cool people think they are ruin lives, marriages, families and communities.

Nothing sadder than watching a 40 old year old man think he is in Motley crew of a Saturday night in a local pub of a one horse night putting 80 quid worth of shite up his nose and talking out his arse at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭P2C

Go and speak to an addiction councillor in the HSE and ask them do they think your husband is addicted to coke and or alcohol. If your husband is taking coke once every couple of months I would doubt he is addicted. The reality is coke and other drugs are part of a lot of peoples nights out. I have lots of friends who are habitual drug users but are far from addicted and are taking drugs for the last 30 years. They live professional lives and some have families. I have some friends who’s wives know the score and others who have never told them they dabble. I would also go onto ask about alcohol website and there is a very good tool about alcohol dependency.

It's a balls of a situation for you Cobain.

It's very easy for people here to say leave him as there's no consequence for them and a lot of the time life isn't that simple.

You could have a husband who's sober as a judge all the time but a complete w anker. What I'm saying is, people shouldn't be so quick to just write him off as a person just because he takes cocaine occasionally. Like you already said he's a great Dad and does his fair share. You also said he has trauma from his past, which can often lead to substance abuse.

Having said all that, it does sound like he needs to address it as he's not getting any younger and as you get older your body can't take the same abuse it once did and probably why he's such a write off after.

If it's affecting him in a bad way with like a week long recovery and having two kids there it doesn't seem sustainable and if he can't stop by himself considering the problems it's causing maybe he needs to seek help.

Honest conversation is always the right way and it sounds like ye have that. I wouldn't judge someone by what they put up their nose. It sounds like he's a good man in a lot of other ways but realistically he needs to start looking after himself better. He needs to come to that conclusion and resolve to change his ways himself. It can't be forced. It has to come from him.

I wish you the best of luck. It can't be easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Drugs are bad news - A murky world most people want no part in .

Some here seem happy to excuse drug usage but most people prefer not to have to deal with the scum selling cocaine in this country !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

OP many people on here probably don't understand how common cocaine use is, cocaine is everywhere and is widely used by people from all walks of life the vast majority of which don't get addicted. I honestly don't see it as too much of a problem my advice would be to try and get him to slowly cut down to maybe once or twice a year, I wouldn't over react too much, apart from the immediate comedown you get immediately after stopping a binge nothing will effect him afterwards.

I don't use it personally but I work for an IT company and I'd say a good half the lads in the office use it regularly when they go out on the weekends, I know a lad who brings it into work with him sometimes but he's an exception, a good few people in the office wouldn't have a clue anyone ever used it at all. Cocaine can be and is mostly used responsibly when used by a responsible person. Try not to over react too much.

Although I'll admit if it was a family member of mine I'd have a very different opinion as I've always been strongly against drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭Augme

I'd fond the fact he drinks minimum 2-3 drinks per night and more at the weekend as a much bigger deal than his cocaine use every few months. Your husband is an addict, to drink though. He's an alcoholic. Amazing though, this being Ireland that it's perfectly normal and acceptable to overlook that and view it as "normal" but a bit of cocaine very few months makes him worse than Hitler nearly.

I really think you need to get your priorities correct here OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,801 ✭✭✭sporina

OP how is your relationship with your hubby otherwise? do ye do fun things together? as a family? does he do stuff with the kids? bring them to sports/lessons - what ever?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I think he's way over the top in his behaviour as a late thirties married man with kids.

Sure we all need a blow out every now and again but drinking 20 to 30 pints every week then having a complete bender with cocaine thrown in every six to eight weeks is not / should not be normal for someone in his position. Ask yourself if he'd be happy if you did the the same thing. As a matter of fact ask him if he'd be happy to see you act as he does !! I'd also be very surprised as well if his cocaine use is as occasional as once every two months. To me that's a bit like telling the doctor that you 'only' smoke 10 a day or less.

Obviously the decision is yours but IMO you need to call stop right now as it's obviously affecting your life and that of your kids. I wouldn't go straight for the 'kick him out' phase but would insist on him attending marriage counselling with you so that he can see how much of an effect his behaviour is having. If he refuses or makes excuses then it's pretty obvious where his priorities lie and it's all going to come crashing down regardless. Only he can make the changes but he needs to know the consequences of not making the changes laid out bare in front of him. Stay strong and forget about being embarrassed. If push comes to shove people will rally around and are a lot more understanding than you think.

Hopefully he comes to his senses and sees what he stands to lose and you manage to put all this behind you. I hate to see any relationship break down but when your mental health is threatened and you're living on your nerves sometimes there is no option. Best of luck to both of you and your family..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭irelandrover

OP, what exactly is the issue?

Your husband has been doing this for 15 years and while you didn't like it you accepted it as you thought it was just drink. Now you find out its cocaine you seem to have an issue with it.

I'm not saying its your issue but you need to figure out exactly what you have a problem with. When you know what the issue is then you can have the discussion with your husband. If its the cocaine that is the problem then tell him he can still have nights out but the cocaine isn't acceptable. If its the nights out are the issue then you need to sit down and say that. Maybe come to an agreement that they need to stop for a few years until your children are older.

To all the people who say worry about the mortgage/savings. If he has been doing this for 15 years and the wife hasn't even noticed then it is not a financial issue. Saying it is is just clouding the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭notAMember

It doesn't actually matter how common it is, whether he is an addict or not. We all know it's everywhere. So what? It's just his excuse.

The guy is leaving his wife in the lurch, humiliating both her and their children. She has to drop the children off with relatives when he doesn't come home from benders, so she can go out to work. Even imagining that kind of morning, I can picture myself getting embarrassed and ashamed. I don't know OP, if you tell those relatives what is actually happening, or if you are covering up for him too.

What sort of person treats their family like that?

Reading the responses on this thread defending that crappy behaviour is depressing.

Her husband is more than entitled to go out on a bender every couple of months if he wants to. He's not leaving his wife in the lurch assuming he lets her know that he's going out.

He should probably knock the cocaine on the head on these nights out but he's more than entitled to go out on the drink every couple of months to let his hair down every once in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭backwards_man

OP if he is out till 5 or 6 in the morning, coke and alcohol are not the only worries. I would be worried where he is and who he is with. Considering that it has not been possible to be out in pubs or nightclubs for most of the past 2 years till past 11pm where does he go? Hooking up would be the first thing that springs to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,651 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Also consider his possible long term health issues associated partic with the drink and how that might affect you and the children.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭houseyhouse

Yes he has a right to socialise. Nobody is disputing that. But he was supposed to be minding the kids the next day while she was at work and he didn’t get home on time or wasn’t in a fit state. If my partner did that more than once, I’d be raging. If it was the mother who was on a bender when she should have been minding her young kids while the father was at work, would you think that was fine?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just re-reading the OP and seeing something I might have overlooked;

We have two kids and he is a wonderful dad and husband when sober 

Implying that when he's not sober, he's difficult. Not necessarily abusive, it can be any situation where they cause trouble or otherwise make you uncomfortable when they're around.

I have a couple of drinks in front of my kids, the odd time. Like if we're out for dinner with relatives or something. Naturally I don't get stocious when I'm in charge of them, but there have been occasions (e.g. weddings) where I'm well on but have to interact with my or other children briefly.

I would hope my wife would describe me as a "wonderful" Dad, but I'm very certain that she would never feel the need to qualify it with "when he's sober".

Maybe reading too much into it. But the fact that OP felt the need to say it suggests that she doesn't like the person he is when he's drinking. Which suggests that it's a problem not only for her, but for him too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭recyclops

Going on a bit of bender with alcohol every once in a while is fine but all you need to do is plan ahead and be available for friends when your family need you least.

Doing it knowing your minding the kids the next day then not really being in a fit state when present or some times not even being present is just being a dickhead, immature and selfish.

That being said the jumping to conclusions of cheating, massive debt etc is wayyyy over the top, I have often been out and ended up back in my friends house to watch sport etc that wasnt planned and got home in the wee hours 6/7 o clock ( thankfully its just me and my wife) but its a rare occurance but to insinuate someone is cheating without knowing anything about them is just off the wall.

That post is pretty much meaningless as he only does it once every couple of months when he goes out with his friends, presumably he just comes home and goes straight to bed apart from the one occasion he was meant to be minding the kids next day where presumably he would have been tired and cranky rather than fun, so it's not like him being different when he's not sober has much of an effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Like I say, I could be reading too much into it, but she does mention that he's drinking seven days a week. So maybe it's not just a couple of times a year, maybe that's just when it's at its most obvious.

I didn't realize he drinks everyday.

Well then OP if he drinks everyday he's clearly an alcoholic and I'd be far more concerned about that than a bit of cocaine use on a night out every couple of months.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭notAMember

Maybe you aren't reading the thread, and the continued input from the OP. I'll sum it up.

I mean being bundled up in the mornings and brought to relatives houses when daddy hasn't shown up from his current session and mammy is going out to work. That's a crappy situation. It is stressful, humiliating, disruptive, and frankly a crappy example of a father. When that is the impact "socialising" has on a family, it's WAY too much. He's not entitled to do that, and that's is exactly what is being described here.