Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Hurling League 2022 Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,499 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

A bit of a wake up call and a reason to blloc them will do them good further down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,885 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

As they say you learn more from your defeats than you do from the wins. Dampens down expectations a little too although it probably won't.

It's a weird one. In one sense we are still on for 3 in a row but also do Limerick fans ever have expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

In short, definitely not.!! well at least the older generation anyway. We have seen all too often how things can rapidly unravel. As a lifelong supporter like many many others, to witness Limerick win an A.I. was always the dream. To watch this current crop win 3 in 4 years is simply unbelievable. Certainly makes up for all the heartache over those barren decades when we were virtually at the line on so many occasions but failed to get over it. Anything we achieve from now on is, for me, a bonus. Albeit a deserved bonus for this exceptional bunch and management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Ah come on now. "Steps isn't worth arguing about"..Shur that's nonsensical. While I agree that the steps rule is regularly broken yesterdays 10 step shimmy was quiet funny in its ridiculousness. Does the ref assessor of a Monday morning sit down and explain the rule again to the ref. What are the sanctions that a ref suffers after a blunder like this. ? Overall he had a good game. He gave a yellow to Wexford for a slight late shoulder which I thought was silly but the same player avoided a second yellow for a helmet pull...

No issue with the result. Wexford surprised me with their hunger and Paudie Foley was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Dwyer was being fouled the whole way through so I presume the referee was giving him the benefit of the doubt, of course that raises the question was he fouled before he went over his first allocation of steps? On looking back at it I think he was and then fouled again when brought down while shooting for goal.

You could make an argument both ways but it's certainly not the worst decision I've seen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Red card for Limericks Hegarty - fully deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,054 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Robson99

Exactly. Hopefully Refs are copping onto his antics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

It was filthy.

There is a nasty side to this Limerick team that up to now hasn't been dealt with enough by referees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭Ompala

Long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭nklc

Great to see Horgan not sending off a pair as usually happens, picked out the one that struck high with the Hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

So Duignan is against two points for a sideline cut because you are unmarked taking it and wouldn't like to see an AI final decided by one.

But you are also unmarked from a free, penalty or '65 so presumably a lad scoring one deep in injury-time is taboo too? Frees and 65s have become almost guaranteed scores at county level these days (and penalties are easier now its one-on-one) while sideline cuts remain an art form.

Stupid logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Limerick are streets ahead physically.

Hayes batted 2 Galway lads to the ground with a shoulder and never broke stride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭blackcard

I don't think 2 points should be awarded for a sideline. Are 3 scores from a sideline the equivalent of 2 goals? If a player scores off his right and then his left, should the player get a bonus. Should a player be awarded a point for a contested catch? There are a whole lot of skills in the game, I don't think there should be anything extra for a sideline

• Site Banned Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Denny61

Limerick are a two trick pony .been found out ..their tippety tappety hurling is laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Hope "The Target" Canning retires sometime soon, he gets more head wrecking every time he is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,346 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Talk of the Limerick Empire are proving to be premature.

A very well coached and drilled team but they haven't a team of superstars.

Having said that I also don't see us as second favourites for the AI. More one of 6/7 teams.

If I was a manager I'd target Hegarty every game as he's easy to rile up.

2nd game of the league. Thought it was a good game and both teams played well. Hegarty deserved his red. I note some posters on here delighted. It's a tad premature. Hes a fantastic player and gets plenty of punishment himself. He ll be fine. Galway have it all to prove but are going on the right direction. Over all both managers must be pleased enough.

Anyone that bets against Limerick in the Championship are still wishful thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,054 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

This bull about limericks reserves being the second best team in Ireland has been debunked, they won't have it as easy this year having to play more matches, last time that happened they shat the bed against the cats.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭mart 23

Very sporting remark regards Hegarty. Maybe that is exactly whats happening to him .

Limerick are undercooked. They were on a team holiday in January. They have trained very little collectively. Fitness levels are still an issue. They have had little hurling over the winter months. Other teams have been training away since November. AIs aren't won in February. Limerick will be a different team when the ground is hard and the ball plays faster during the Summer. I bet John Kielys isn't worried about 2 league losses on the trot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,708 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Galway were impressive but as said Limerick may not be at full fitness yet and are effectively out of the running to get a semi final place now

Hard to make full judgment til tomorrow night really but Galway could win this league but then again it's hard to know as teams may be keeping the powder dry with the early championship start

You're rude Mantis and that's not nice. That Kilkenny game in 2019 was barely won ..Limerick didnt start until the 20min.. They then spanked ireland for the last 2 years as retribution. No need to be nasty.

Limerick lost the first two games last year aswell. They ll be grand . Kiely was looking for a performance and he got it. Galway made the extra man count. It wouldnt be unusual for Galway to do well in the league. For as long as Iv been watching hurling Galway have been a good league team. Its the Championship where they sometimes underperform. Like I said it was a good game.

I wouldn't think he's delighted either. Limerick do need some new players to come in and challenge.

I don't follow the Fitzgibbon closely but Galway must be missing a lot of players to that too?

He won't be happy because Kielys a winner and winnings a good habit but he won't be too disheartened either. If Limerick peak in June and July that's all that matters. Lynch is a big loss and although young Cathal O'Neill played well Lynches influence on Limericks running short passing game is huge.

What happened. I was the other end of the stadium and didn't see ?