To Mask or not to two - Mask Megathread cont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

I’ve given up with mine tbh. I barely wear it into shops now, no one ever says anything. Have to wear it for work still (education) but I’m ready to drop it there too. Really wish I had the choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Doesn't look like it.

Tony Holohan is due to update the Oireachtas health committee tomorrow, In his opening statement, Dr Holohan is expected to tell members that mask-wearing, will likely remain in place for some time.

Masks should continue to be worn in all settings where currently regulated for.

Masks will also continue to play a key role in reducing transmission of Covid-19. It is important that people wear the mask that is most appropriate to them and the circumstances they may be in, ensuring it is well fitted and worn correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,885 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Nice to know you don't care about others, and proud of the fact too. Nice. Nobody says anything because if, after 2 years you still don't get it, there's no point anymore.

I see most people are still wearing them in shops, but a definite increase in mickey out of the jocks situations. But it is slowly creeping back to any-way traffic in the shopping centres. Was lovely for a while when people kept to their side. Also seems to be a slight increase in stopping and chatting and blocking the place up. But otherwise ok.

No idea what pubs, etc are like. Not bothered by those places as I won't be attending. This attitude of not caring, as shown above, will only delay the full lifting as it will most likely lead to further outbreaks. We're nearly there, and people are throwing in the towel because they want to. Thanks.

You never cease coming across as a beautiful ray of morning sunshine

I wouldn't need to if people weren't so proud of how edgy they were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

The last gasp of Holohan, I sure wish he’d wear a mask more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

I’m sure the lads in the pub will miss you 🤣

It might shock you to know, I couldn't care less about what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I don't know where you live but I have never seen anyone keeping to 'their side' for a year and a half. And nobody will care about 'outbreaks' because no one will know about them in the first place.

And frankly, you will need to pull your head out if you still believe that 'care/protect others bull. You'll get there, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

We'll see. 'Expected to', 'will tell'. Examiner implying they got a preview... I believe it when it happens. And if it does watch compliance crumble. People had enough and need those lads to get out of their faces. Literally in this case.

Making kids wear those damn things in their freezing classrooms was always an almost criminal thing to do.

And what did masks do in this anyway? Whatever construed rationale was there before omicron it just got annihilated. Or do you think with omicron infecting the entire country in 4 weeks without masks it would have happened in 3 weeks? And what difference would that have made anyway?

That article does not make any sense whatsoever and sounds like the Examiner pulled it out of their **** ...er... crystal ball.

In any case NPHET will be busy getting their ducks in a row for the incoming inquiries possibly tribunals. Its not over, no, but not the way the Examiner thinks it isn't.

Post edited by CalamariFritti on

Face coverings

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/covid19/public_health_measures_for_covid19.html

This is on citizens information. I thought it was the 31st March?

The following laws apply until 9 February 2022:

Well then maybe the people around you for those 18 months are like the common posters on here, not caring about others. Crescent SC in Limerick, 2 way system in operation for nearly 2 years, was lovely, is no more. Same with the Parkway. Actually, same in some shopping centre in Kildare a couple of months back. Unless... did you think I meant on public footpaths? Seeing as mask wearing isn't required in public now, but still is in shopping centres, I didn't think I'd need to clarify.

@CalamariFritti "And frankly, you will need to pull your head out if you still believe that 'care/protect others bull. You'll get there, be grand." Good man, continue to prove how much of a selfish legend you are. You do you. Fine citizen. Bualadh bos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Interesting that they led with this, the IT use the word upbeat. As we know from last month things can change very fast. This is just the standard hold the line for now approach. The case for keeping them from the end of the month is likely to be very much diminished, especially as we move towards 50% having been infected.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I don't expect that the Mask mandate would stay as is from next month - maybe not completely gone, but either in less settings (health care, transport) or as advisory.

The reality is that enforcing it in some settings it's difficult (if not impossible). I was at the cinema on Saturday and we're meant to wear a mask unless eating, but who's gonna check that in the dark?

Same for concerts: I'm going to the 3Arena tonight and got an email from Ticketmaster that masks are required unless eating or drinking. Now, I can understand when moving around and I will get snacks and something to drink before the gig, but once lights are out, I can't see how this can be monitored.

Upcoming gigs and events: David Byrne, VNV Nation, Lord Of The Lost, Dry Cleaning, The Shawshank Redemption, These Charming Men, Sasha Velour, Disorder Festival, The Cure, Garbage, Olafur Arnalds, Cabaret Voltaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,676 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We had probably close to 1 million or more cases over the past few weeks.

Hospitals are dropping, Icu is dropping and deaths are stable despite much higher numbers.

Two things we learned over Christmas with the number of cases, Omicron is a cold and masks do absolutely nothing to stop it.

The pandemic is over and people don't care anymore because we have nothing to fear and we have done enough the past few years.

If you want to wear a mask continue to do so, just stop being selfish and expecting others to wear a mask that does nothing to help make you feel safe.

I really feel sorry for anybody who still believes we are in a pandemic, God knows how long before they get back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

"Almost criminal" as oppose to keeping classroom windows closed and encouraging ALL the school going children to catch Covid-19. The former would have been criminal. The childrens Covid-19 tribunal should be the most interesting.

Another of these what did masks do anyway posts, adding to the useless and hopeless posts before.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Does Holohan not know that respiratory viruses become less likely to cause serious harm every time they mutate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

You should tell him about the second wave of the Spanish flu. That was more deadly than the first wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,046 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And the Delta variant of Covid was more severe than the original variant.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It's up to everyone to do their bit to denormalise mask wearing.

I have one in the back pocket but will rarely wear it. Other than the odd pearl-clutcher it's not raising any eyebrows.

Ye I think its about time to do that alright.

Why have it in your pocket? That's just ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,512 ✭✭✭✭User1998

I have one in my pocket sometimes incase a shop worker try’s to kick me out. Its never happened but would rather just wear one when requested rather than start an argument

Honestly folks if you’s are sick of masks just stop wearing them, no one even looks at you funny anymore

So rather than have hassle with the staff, you carry it to put it on in case they give out to you, but you won't save the hassle of that potentially happening by just wearing it anyway? You're another legend. Plenty of them on this thread. Ye know best!

And as I said earlier, no one says or does anything anymore because it's the definition of insanity trying to still get the message through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

We weathered having 20,000+ confirmed cases per day for weeks plus the tens of thousands more we didn't catch. Masks seem to be doing very little to curtail the spread of omicron. If a restriction exists it should exist for a meaningful reason. It's really difficult to see masks as having a meaningful impact or that removing the remaining restrictions on our lives will somehow result in the collapse of the health service. People are right to push for a return to real normality when restrictions are no longer necessary. I don't know why this message still isn't getting through to some and I'm starting to feel like I'm living the definition of insanity for trying. :-)

Do you think people wear masks all the time? At home? At house parties? Drinking in the pub? Eating in restaurants?

Of course when masks come off, there will be cases. But to blame masks on the high cases is just pure thick.

No point I'm telling ye, don't engage. They can't be educated. And a sure sign of that is when anyone shows any bit of consideration for others, their mental health is attacked, as if that's an ok reply. Akin to bullying tbh.