Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fuel Price Protest Dublin 24th November

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

You are both missing the point. Dieselgate has nothing whatsoever to do with it. I was highlighting that it has been known since 1997 that diesel emissions contain an extremely potent carcinogen. I wasn't mainly referring to Nox. Anyway, the fudged Nox emissions from diesels were still higher than for petrol at the time; that they were actually even worse than what was thought is near irrelevant, as even the faked numbers were worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,139 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words.

The manufacturers have nothing to do with Irish fuel excise policy. The Greens, EPA and government messed up badly and are not to be trusted in their pronouncements or policies. Just level the playing field and let consumers choose what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Consumers don't ever have choice only the illusion of choice. If the petrol engine car is the cheapest to produce then that is all that will be produced - where is the choice there?

Just level the playing field is a simplistic nonsense argument against regulation. Libertarian bollocks really. Allow hormone beef and let consumers choose you say - very soon the market gets flooded with hormone beef so there is no real world choice for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,567 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I note that AGS issued a statement saying they were "disappointed" at the lack of engagement by the protest organisers.

If there is a Round 2 in December maybe the book will come out.

that is what the government are trying to do.

level the playing field so that people can move over to more efficiently powered vehicles.

changes are coming whether we want them or not and the old ways you want to keep are going as they are unviable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Can anyone link me to the stories about when the hauliers dropped their prices when the global fuel costs were lower than their supposed multi year contracts?

For some reason I cant seem to find them...

That's like saying sure there is no point in living as you are going to die anyway!

2* will have a much bigger impact on the world, including Ireland than 1.5* would.

They are trying to limit it as its no longer possible to stop it, mostly because certain people refuse to acknowledge it and the real world changes that need to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,268 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

If they want change then they have to get the voting public on their side because that’s the only way to put pressure on the government. They only care about votes. These moronic protests just piss everyone off and turn the hauliers into the bad guys and so it’s very very easy for the government to simply ignore this or join in denouncing them. It’s brain dead behaviour that won’t achieve anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

That's not the same thing.

What do you mean 2 will have a bigger impact on the world than 1.5 would?

If I have a block of ice and the room is at 2 degrees the ice might take 2 hours to melt. If the room is at 1.5 degrees it might take 2.5 hours to melt. The end result is the same, just takes longer.

Erm, I don't even know where to start with this one to be honest.

The polar icecaps arent blocks of ice sitting on a table.

Hopefully there is some reading in your future, ideally before posting again...

/edit

Here is a free starter for you.

https://www.amnh.org/explore/ology/earth/ask-a-scientist-about-our-environment/will-the-world-ever-be-all-under-water

1.5°, 2°? Try 6°, which is about the increase to get to the normal annual average temperature for the planet. Of course the ice caps disappear completely, but that too is the norm. Life on earth thrives at that temperature and higher levels of CO2, that's why we have oil and coal deposits. Extinction is not on the cards.

"life" is a bit generic, care to elaborate no what life you mean?

A planet of plankton for example is life thriving but not great for the rest of us.

And thats before you even talk about the other effects...such as no more Gulf Stream, massively reduced fresh water supplies, earth rotation slows down, oh and a lot less land available...where do these people live?

Earth spanning forrests; so much abundant food you have mega fauna to eat it. Photosynthesis increases with temperature, and the optimum just happens to be around 23°C, so plants thrive if there is enough CO2, and that was clearly the case, and there used to be far more in the atmosphere than the current exceedingly low levels.

If the gulf stream stops, it gets colder, not hotter, which is what I think is about to happen. CO2 levels and temperature both rise suddenly just before a glaciation even kicks off. Funny, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

A major haulier I know lowers the rate they pay to subcontractors when the fuel price goes down so the subcontractor never sees the benefit of it, they also higher the rate paid with rising fuel costs but not as much as the cut! Long story short; the big hauliers always make money, it’s the smaller crowds and owner drivers that suffer the most and that’s who was in the protest

So in summary, plantlife and mega fauna...sounds great. So from the planets point of view its awesome, how about us humans?

Oh and bonus question, how long before the earth spanning forests arrive and the mega-fauna evolve? What happens in the interim?

Where do all the people live and get their food & water from?

Yeah, because those business are run properly. If business fixes their rates while their costs are not fixed, well then thats not a very clever business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

The major hauliers set the rates they pay the subcontractor and if they don’t like it then they just get someone else, the usual race to the bottom. Plenty of online sellers offer free delivery to the customer as they know they can get it delivered for peanuts.

Unfortunately for them the smaller independents are more often price takers.

They have vehicles on finance, bills to pay not to mention mortgages and families to take care of like everyone else.

They end up working on the basis that any work is better than no work even if it's not viable.

It's a tough business and this diesel price inflation is just the latest blow to a sector we all depend on.

This nonsense is planned again for this coming bMonday - 24hr blockade this time.

My daughter has a medical appointment on the city so I guess it's add hours to the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I see that, yet again, their demands include VAT reductions for fuel.

Are they trying to tell us that none of them are VAT-registered, or do they think that the general public is too stupid to realise that businesses can reclaim their VAT?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 al_nix

They are claiming to speak for the people but agricultural vehicles who they called on to participate pay an even more reduced tax on "green diesel". They also asked private cars to take part but in a reduced capacity and I doubt there will be many people doing this.

These protests are not asking the government to stop taxing fuel so much they asking the gouvernment to shelter them from the market price of oil and delay or thwart climate response and incentives to move to less carbon-intensive or carbon-neutral systems.

These incentives are aimed at businesses that can change e.g. large businesses that can afford to upgrade fleets. Or trucking contractors who may be tempted to buy a cheaper less efficient truck when a better option is available to them in the belief the oil price will not go up too much or they can bully the government for help. Even these "little guys" (in the €250,000+ trucks) without the oil price hike would have been better placed and could possibly have taken the time to sort out their fleet.

I do not deny that there are some cases where contracts push the liability for changing fuel prices on to subcontractors and limit the fees the operators can collect or that some businesses can not afford to upgrade their fleet and have been squeezed by bigger firms subcontracting to them. These businesses in some cases are essential as the larger firms do not have the capacity to provide the service without the subcontractors and the service is essential e.g. school busses. In cases where state-owned entities behave like this, we need to change policy. In cases where private firms who can afford to change act like this, they need to be allowed to come close to not delivering on their contracts so they will set up a sustainable sub-contracting model or hire more drivers. In cases where private firms with essential government contracts act like this, they need to be reviewed if the state is paying a price at which the service can be delivered even at breakeven or a loss the suppliers business can sustain without harm the contract should be honored at the supplier's expense. In cases where suppliers have bid prices that can't be delivered without requiring unstainable risks from the supply chain, the contract needs to be renegotiated. This will be painful but it is long overdue.

The tax on fuel has not changed much the announcement the carbon tax will go up just coincides (helpfully for the protestors) with a historic high in fuel prices due to OPEC trying to recoup pandemic losses by restricting supply.

Post edited by al_nix on

The price of gasoil is now approx. 10% lower than it was when it peaked approx. 6 weeks ago.

https://www.theice.com/products/34361119/Low-Sulphur-Gasoil-Futures/data?marketId=5059603&span=1

There's usually anything from 6-8 week lag (ICE pricing is based on contracts for delivery following month, and there's a supply lag in prices feeding through to pump prices also). We should start seeing average pump prices dropping approx. 10cent between now and early Jan

EDIT - forward pricing also indicates that the market expects prices to be relatively stable / down slightly over the next 12 months also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Have to go to Newry in the morning before 10, what’s the chance of getting caught up in the protest? Going from south Dublin via m50

The plan is listed on the Facebook page, looks very comprehensive.

Search - Irish Truckers Haulage Association Against Fuel Prices.

A bad day to be travelling in the Dublin area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I did a search for "Trucker Protest" and found a link to this thread https://www.boards.ie/discussion/303616/truckers-protest-underway/p1 from 16 years ago!!!! And on the same issue. Diesel prices.

And it's not the only thread. Seems like these quys are never happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,537 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Train station carpark significantly busier today - seems there'll be less people on the roads to be inconvenienced by this

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Less truckers too.

Counted 7 that have come past the office on the quays so far with a Garda escort. Garda estimates of in total around 40-50 trucks.

Much smaller than last time.

Took a walk around Dublin Port in the last hour. Looks like less than 20 trucks are causing all of the disruption down around there.

Don’t know if there’s any protests elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭Patser

I still can't get my head around, how it's acceptable for an anonymous Facebook page and 50 odd people with trucks to block up areas of Dublin, with demands that they won't leave until their demands are met.

No spokesmen, no negotiation, just give us what we want or we'll come back again and again

Bit of a damp squib this time. Looks like most of them are all bark and no bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Economics101

Looking at RTE just now, who'd have thunk that Eamon Ryan was the truckers' friend? Says he will look into their grievances, and not a word of condemnation for what is a huge cost to thousands of ordinary people and businesses trying to make a living.

Our politicians are terrible cowards when faced with militant disruption. A few years ago there was a large reduction in the annual road tax paid by HGVs, largely negotiated by one Verona Murphy, now an independent TD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

To be fair that was an entirely sensible reduction the previous tax rates for HGV's were insane up to 5 grand a year in some cases.

insane? not a chance.

it was actually quite cheap given the infrastructure requirements to support them and the heavy maintenence that infrastructure requires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

We'd have a bigger cost to the whole country if hauliers go out of business. What other options do you have for our economy to function without HGV's?

If firms which have got contracts on race-to-the-bottom bids go bust, those firms that rely on them will have to pay more appropriate sums for haulage.

The trucks and drivers won't evaporate.

The drivers are the ones who suffer when firms go bust, they loose wages. Getting another job won't recover the lost money and with their wages they don't have much savings to fall back on. Do you think that the drivers are working for crap money and terrible conditions because they love the stress of not killing ignorant road users every day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Economics101

It's completely absurd to think that we might be without HGVs. There may be some who will suffer losses, but if everyone who suffered losses in the private sector were to blockade things, then the economy as a whole would collapse. In any event we will have to be weaned off our dependence on diesel fuelled HGVs in the longer term, and part of that will be done through higher fossil fuel prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

That's all well and good in theory in reality very few if any actually paid the 5k many registered up north loads more registered as "recovery" vehicles and loads more did the old 3 months tax 3 months off the road trick along with dodgy weight dockets to lower the price.

State will pay the redundancy in case of insolvency

Do you think it's better that we keep race to the bottom slave drivers in business?

Yes we need to get off diesel in the long term. But in the short term there is no viable alternative for diesel HGVs so using the big stick when there is no other option is stupid.

We all drove the race to the bottom for truck driver pay. When your customer keeps demanding cheaper prices and most of your costs are fixed you can only cut the non fixed costs, which is wages.

Do I think it is right that truck drivers have sh1t pay and conditions, no. But increasing the price of running a haulage company isn't going to improve their pay or conditions it's going to make them worse because now companies will start cutting other costs which could see drivers out on defective vehicles.

If the companies go bust 2 weeks statutory redundancy isn't going to help the drivers, they get paid feck all so their redundancy will be feck all.

Any form of fuel rebate or duty cut won't help those drivers in any way. Better to have the plaster ripped off, let the slave drivers hit the wall, and tender with appropriate prices for the future.

So what's the country supposed to do for food and medicine while the haulage industry is rebuilt by people with no idea of how to run a haulage company?

You want the haulage industry to collapse and you think that everything will be OK. Did you miss what happened at the start of Covid? The UK had a fuel crisis on the rumour of issues with fuel supply, which took a hell of a long time to resolve for a country with supposedly plenty of fuel!

Can you imagine what will happen if there is a rumour of no HGVs. Shops don't hold stock and the supply chain is already broken. Our CO2 emissions would increase massively as the country descends into chaos.

You're claiming that people who have run their business in to the ground so much that a slight increase in fuel prices over the more recent long-term averages threatens their very existence actually know how to run their business?

They clearly don't.

And they won't all go bust at once (or at all - not every haulage firm is as badly run); and there are plenty of jobs for HGV drivers so there would be no all-out chaos.

It is not the place of the state to prop up failing businesses; albeit we seem to do it with ridiculous frequency (ICI, Quinn, banks, etc)

There’s a reason these two protests didn’t have any support from the IRHA, and why there was less than 30 trucks involved in the latest one.

Hint - it’s because the industry isn’t on the verge of collapse. One of the companies I saw there is one that we have blacklisted due to safety concerns (obvs. won’t name them here) and I’d wager a guess that the reason they were free to spend all day parked up is that they’d have been parked up elsewhere with no work otherwise

These protests are from a very small group, and their actions on Monday had the biggest impact on hauliers who were actually working.