If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Would you be happy for your children to receive covid-19 vaccine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭growleaves

Wibbs,

In the early 1980s the NHS did not extend new life-saving treatments to people in their 60s and 70s because they were elderly and so already near to death.

Since then we've seen a huge expansion of life-extension treatments and therapies AND the birth of a euthanasia/right-to-die movement to cope with the resulting suffering from keeping people alive after their quality of life has disintegrated.

I'm not trying to argue the rightness or wrongness of this but just putting things into perspective. The deaths of the very-old and very-sick would not have qualified as a global crisis even during the early lifetimes of many of us here.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

😁 True dat, but at the same time it was very much the case that measles was not seen as nearly the panic and sh1t your pants scourge it is today. Polio before the vaccine was a serious concern for parents, whooping cough was another. Measles and mumps not even close and chicken pox was a we need to panic buy camamlie lotion by the bucket load disease(I still remember the itch, jaysus the itch). And those latter three diseases were seen as inevitable childhood rite of passage bugs that went through primary classrooms like poo through a goose. Pretty much every single 70's(and earlier) kid would have had the same experience.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty much and I don't think anyone, save for the seriously hard of thinking to the point of dribbling on themselves is suggesting not vaccinating the vulnerable of any age. I think, I hope that's a given.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/56100076.amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Is there a website that tells you what drop in vaccination centres are open, in this instance it is for my 12yr old and we are based in the south of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

In the the post cited the child already had a prior infection, so Covid isn't being 'given a pass'. The choice isn't between vaccine derived immunity and natural infection, it's between accepting existing immunity, or choosing to vaccinate and accepting an additional risk that goes hand in hand with that.

Also re myocarditis - the estimates for infection causing myo/pericarditis are probably grossly over estimated. Denominators are important. Many of the studies only looked at cases of covid presenting to healthcare settings, when we know that many infections, especially among children, are asymptomatic. While the balance may be tipped towards vaccination for immune naive children, for those with prior infection, especially teenage boys and younger men, the numbers are not convincing. Remember NIAC have not recommended vaccination for children, apart from those with underlying conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

"Also re myocarditis - the estimates for infection causing myo/pericarditis are probably grossly over estimated."

Are they? Says who? Based on what evidence? "Probably..." 🙄

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Young lady not too far from me is in bed for the last two weeks with COVID. She is about 14 or 15. Fairly healthy normal run of the mill teenager.

So ya harmless

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭McGarnigle2020

That Orla Hegarty loon spent all day yesterday posting no fewer than 18 photos of groups of children in foreign, clearly better than us countries wearing their masks. Mostly continental Europe.

She doesn't seem to realise that from what I can see France, Holland, Austria etc seem to be catching up/ overtaking our rate (it was big news when we had the highest rates in Europe, seems to be a non starter that we seem to be plateauing while the EU catches up and exceeds us)

Here's a question re this school masking thing.

What happens if a six year old refuses to wear one because his/ her dad refuses to engage in pseudoscience and fear porn?

What happens if six year old Jack or Ellie tells teacher "my daddy said that masks don't work and I don't need to wear one because usually only old people get very sick, and my granny and grandad had their booster shots so they won't get sick if I catch it".

I used to see quite a few very young kids wearing them, tbh that was harmless, I know from mates that at the start a lot of kids wanted to wear one in the shops as kids always want to ape what all the grown ups are doing.

But what happens if the child parrots the above statement with the same vigour as they have been trained to scream and run if a man in a playground comes up and asks them if they want to come see some dogs. Because that is what it is, self protection advice when engaging with unscrupulous adults.

Could the child be suspended?

Sent to a specialist unit for unteachable miscreants?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'd say eye-rolling on the part of teachers would be the more likely outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,964 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

McGarnigle2020: What happens if a six year old refuses to wear one because his/ her dad refuses to engage in pseudoscience and fear porn?

Well I would probably ring the mother to ask her wtf is going on there.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

First off most kids will do what there peers do. Just like at present if a parent gives there child a mask and tell them to wear it in the classroom they leave it in a bag.

In this case the child will get a mask from somewhere and wear it and hide the fact from there parents.

I feed sorry for any child that has an idiot of a parent like that. Just like I feel sorry for the other child as well with a parent that want them to do the adnormal.

When you are in the army you wear the boots

Slava Ukrainii

You feel sorry for a child whos parent engages in science? Who reads data, statistics, reports, studies, rather than taking the advice of some Yes Man from NPHET who tells the public I have read the science on your behalf because you're too thick to understand it, and here's what it said?

There are a lot of pathetic people out there.

2 in every million UK under 18's died from, or with, Covid. UK under 18 deaths are somewhere over 4000 per year. 2 in 2200 deaths had something involving Covid. Chicken Pox kills 1 per 100,000 sufferers per year in comparison. Meningitis has been a far more common threat to children throughout even our medically advanced era yet social distancing and masking was never entertained.

Figures from Karl Deeter and John McGuirk on Kieran Cuddihy's show on Newstalk yesterday around 4:30. A refreshing breath of sanity in our media.

Lemme guess, John McGuirk is an unreliable source because he goes to Mass or something.

My hypothetical chil refused to wear one because her dad told her masks don't work, Covid rarely to never seriously affects children, and community spread is moot if older relatives are triple jabbed.

You seem to infer Jack/ Ellie's point contains hyperbole and woo, but you don't point out where, exactly.

Teenage girl is left bed bound for a fortnight, in her own home, in the middle of winter, with a virus.

An unprecedented episode LOL. I wish this girl well, but there's as much chance of me riding Margot Robbie as there is of this young lady suffering any sort of lasting impact from her brush with Covid by, and I'm casting the net wide here, mid January. In all likelihood she will be 100% well before Christmas.

I still recall the country going into lockdown in 1997 when I spent 10 days in Temple Street with a chronic flu that led to the feeling in my legs all but disappearing for quite a few days.

It's actually quite hilarious when Branch Covidians use examples of relatively minor things that have happened to healthy humans since the dawn of time as proof that Covid is something new and unpredictable.

If my posts are too much for you, here is the TLDR version.

I believe in science, statistics and studies. That is why I know the true threat of Covid, Long Covid, Covid in Children, the death rate from Covid in children compared to more common causes such as chicken pox, murder, car accidents, meningitis. I make no apology for the fact I am a- intelligent and b- can approach things without hyperbole and with rationale. I treat Branch Covidian hyperbole with the same skeptical eye I treat people who tell me the Dail bar was open all of last year and that Mehole's nephew was killed by a drunk driver and that's why he's after pubs. It's nonsense (it's the holy Joe's in NPHET after pub, not Mehole himself)

In 2021, my belief in science, statistics and studies seems to upset a lot of scientists, scientist groupies, statisticians like the creepy Pete Lunn and his bizarre survey results that read like North Korean opinion polls, and people like Orla Hegarty who seem to think they themselves are scientists (Orla is an architect who is given media talking head spots to talk about Covid. Which in the industry I work in makes about as much sense as calling a bricklayer out to fix your boiler)

Ya and you tell the electrician how to wire your house and the plumber how to fix your boiler. I know the type.

Slava Ukrainii

You seem to think that a teenage girl being bedbound with a viral infection for two weeks in the middle of winter is something that justifies a national emergency.

I can't imagine living in your world.

It would be highly unusual for any normally healthy teenager to be bed bound for two weeks. Of course you taught it was LOL but she is not out of it yet. I am sure most parents would share you view. If a normally healthy teenage is still in bed after a week most parents would be concerned. You are hilarious.

But then again according to yourself you are super intelligent. You are capable of second guessing 90% of doctors and medical professionals in the world. So like I said you obviously tell your plumber and electrician what to do

Ya I met a lot of super lads like you but super intelligent was a bit wide of the mark super something else is normally what they were

Slava Ukrainii

It is not unusual for a heathy teenager to be floored with a virus and take to bed for a week or two. Happens to most people a few times in their life down the years. FFS if I'm reading correctly she hasn't even been admitted to a hospital.

People's ability to think rationally has completely gone out the window.

She has a winter bug. We used to take that as an inconvenient fact of life prior to 2020, now we treat it as something that never happened before.

A few weeks ago Matt Cooper was off the radio with Covid, he came back and spent 15 minutes banging on about his brush with death, the lingering after effects, the fear, his beliefs having been shaken that despite taking precautions and being double jabbed, he caught the virus.

The man was off work for three, yes three, days. Went missing on a Wednesday, was back on Monday, a bit hoarse but no more, capable of doing a 3 hour show and the pre work before airing.

I've had dodgier kebabs than Matt's Covid hell.

I also had Covid- the worst part was wondering if the lunatics were right, maybe I would lose my taste and smell for 6 plus months.

Lasted less than 10 days. Strangest most benign virus I ever caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭appledrop

Children in ICU at present has nothing to do with Covid its RSV virus causing it.

As for the teenager in bed for two weeks eh that was me with chicken pox as a teenager and my friend was in bed for 6 weeks with glandular fever, now there is a really horrible illness, took her about 6mths to recover.

We are fully vaccinated as adults but at the rate its going I won't be getting my child vaccinated.

He has all his childhood vaccines because guess what they work!

At the moment it's looking like Covid vaccine doesn't stop you getting it, doesn't make it less transmissible, it just hopefully reduces how sick you get. But even that is being called into question with fully vaccinated now dying especially if you have any underlying conditions.

Why would I give my child a vaccine that there is no benefit from and we have no real idea if there will be any major side effects in children as not enough have recieved it yet. It's actually baffling.

It's like the push last year to give all children flu vaccine even though flu didn't actually exist in the end last year. Totally pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

www.hse.ie

There’s a walk in clinic in Cork City Hall this weekend 9am-4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,510 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

@appledrop wrote

At the moment it's looking like Covid vaccine doesn't stop you getting it, doesn't make it less transmissible, it just hopefully reduces how sick you get. But even that is being called into question with fully vaccinated now dying especially if you have any underlying conditions.

Whilst it doesn't always stop you getting it, it does reduce the probability of that. This effectively reduces rate of transmission even if in some environments you may still pass it on if infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,923 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

A few weeks ago Matt Cooper was off the radio with Covid, he came back and spent 15 minutes banging on about his brush with death, the lingering after effects, the fear, his beliefs having been shaken that despite taking precautions and being double jabbed, he caught the virus.

The man was off work for three, yes three, days. Went missing on a Wednesday, was back on Monday, a bit hoarse but no more, capable of doing a 3 hour show and the pre work before airing.

I've had dodgier kebabs than Matt's Covid hell.

There is no doubt that covid 19 is an infectious and potentially very serious and deadly illness in the older, the immunosuppressed and those with chronic conditions, particularly of a cardiovascular nature and of course the terribly tragically unlucky who are none of the above and it has killed five and half thousand people in this country. It has also strained our already underfunded health service(sorry not underfunded, woefully bloated in the wrong areas health service, because of successive morons in government and the civil service). All that's a given. There are also a helluval lot of those out there who are extremely badly affected by this mentally and emotionally and that's in play too.

However, on top of those you have the unalloyed neurotic drama queens and attention whores who paint this as armageddon and a personal one and only love to talk their tales of near death woes to other oul crones around their coffee morning and white wine whatsapp groups. I'm surprised they don't hold pox parties so they can catch it and have something to witter on about. Matt Cooper is one such. I'm not one bit surprised either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

If they decide to force kids to mask in school you can buy cotton gauze masks that are compliant and breathable.

Don't forget to inform your children that any adult, whether they're a random person, a relative, a teacher or a school principal, telling them to keep anything from their parents for any reason, is a bad person who means them harm and they're to tell you about it immediately. There have been quite enough "our little secret"s in this country's history.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭choronzonix

When I was 14 I caught flu, the first and only time i've had it. It was an absolutely awful week and a half or so - I was bed ridden, couldn't eat, feverish, the whole lot. It would have been 1996 - can't remember if there was a lockdown or mask mandates that arose from it at the time, but I don't think so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

one of those extreme leftists who get off on seeing such state control , if it wasnt masks , it would be something else

a freak

I was bed bound for a week back in 2001 aged twenty three , got a very bad flu , was hallucinating and everything , never got close to a dose like it since , it happens

my Mrs had covid last week , both myself and the two kids ( five and three ) didnt keep away from her anymore than usual , she was tired but nothing more , kids and I both had to be tested twice , negative each time