Coveney claims to have previously been hacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,512 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I've praised Coveney for how he handled Brexit.

That doesn't cover for him for lying. Same as Hogan...slink yer hook lad.

Our role in Brexit is more or less complete, if the UK reneges it will be the EU dealing with it at Commission level.

Anyone, properly briefed, in the Cabinet would be able to do the job that needs to be done now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Because he gets under their skin. Why? Because he's more in tune with his brief than any of them.

Give me a name of who replaces him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,972 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

The article is from February 2017 is what I said and asked where did it state they were using Whatsapp on a provided work phone? No idea why you decided to bring a brilliant charity into the threads but maybe it sounded funny in your head when you posted.

It's not complete. That's the problem. As you are about to find out in 4 weeks time.

Give me a name as to who you would replace Coveney with.

He deosnt get under their skin,they'll emtertain and talk to him all day,but still go home and do same as they being doing since time began

The british wont be changing because of coveney,to say they will is a form of optimism well into spectre of delusion,

Why should we let brexit as an excuse to erode standreds in public office here,when realistically it will still be being negociated in 5 years time as politically it suits all sides to let it drag on.....and what do you feel will be the long term impact of this continued erosion of standreds here??

Why would you do the British governments bidding in getting rid of him?

Simple question. Why are you doing their bidding? This is what they want.

It is from an Irish negotiating position. Anything that happens now will be dealt with at Commission level and has been for quite some time.

Helen McEntee would be up to speed and able to communicate our position, almost anyone in Cabinet could. So if she doesn't pass your muster...save some time and go through the list yourself.

Still can't find anyone? Then I'll agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If pathetic attempts at false equivalence is all you've got i dont know why you're bothering trying to defend this. For clarity nobody I know personally is the actual Minister for Defence and Foreign Affairs with actual responsibility for national security.

If Coveney compromised Irelands national security by not reporting a hack on his phone to the Special Branch then he is not competent to serve as Minister for Defence or Foreign Affairs.

Mate,im not doing the british governments bidding??

If you need to use hysterics and emotional bluster to justify your position,perhaps its a position of little to no merit??

God love ya,thinking next months brexit negociations will be last,its suiting all sides to let it drag on,and it will still be being negociated as the next general election comes about

Do you not see by Coveney resigning it gives the Brits what they want?

He has decided our policy. He humiliates them on tv in Britain. Day and night he does the hard work.

And because we are Irish and a text message may have gone wrong we get rid of that....for what? What is the upside?

You mention McEntee - this is the minister for Justice while our capital city is over run with scumbags who do what they like when they like?

This is the person to take on the portfolio?

'Gives the Brits what they want'? 😁😁

Kermit the British are snookered every which way, Coveney is the least of their concerns. And perhaps if he was competent he might of thought things through before getting himself in this position.

I'm telling you they want him gone and you are doing their bidding.

You are doing what they want.

I guarantee I am not wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

What would Coveney have to do to get the FFG supporters on here saying he has to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

You’re right, it’s not that big a deal, cronyism and some stupid lies but Coveney is the best Politician to deal with the Brits and I don’t like FG one bit btw, but I recognise a good politician when I see one. We would be shooting ourselves to get rid of him at a time like this.

If he was so good,sure he'd have brexit negociated and done by 10 o clock tea,according to some here🤣

But realistically,it will drag on and on,allowing boris johnson to win next election off protracted negociations and some preceievd "wins" and meanwhile all progress/work within eu grounds to a halt,styming internal discontent within the eu and stalling growth of euroskeptic parties across the continent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,958 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It wouldn't matter if he was the second coming of Michael Collins, if he breached protocol as the Minister for Defence and is quite plainly lying to our faces, then he needs to go. Simple as. Not firing him (or even letting him step down) is yet another spit in the face of the Irish people from their Government. I also believe that all official correspondence (which is what this is) should be done via official channels, email, etc. Not text messages or WhatsApp (a very "secure" platform...) or anything like it. There should be no off the table hush hush conversations.

As for who to replace him? Doesn't matter, none of them actually care about us anyway so let the next gobshyte on to pretend to care. Christ, as a Garda, if I was having work related conversations via WhatsApp I'd be rightly pulled up on it because, well, AGS have a history of idiots using WhatsApp, and it's rightly a breach of GDPR (work related sensitive information via an unsecured messaging platform which is owned by one of the largest companies in the world with a history of selling confidential information unbeknownst to the owners).

A Minister for Defence with no cop on to Cyber Security... Nearly only in Ireland...

WhatsApp is probably the most secure messaging service out there…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Are you honestly suggesting to me, that a WhatsApp group set up by Leo, when as a minister of a FG government, set up said WhatsApp group, which (from the article) had such members from FG (who "quit the group") were using non governmental phones halong bay? Please tell me you're not asking me to believe so....

A raft of TDs and senators quit the group after the leaks, including: Simon Harris, Alan Farrell, Maria Bailey, Josepha Madigan and senator Gabrielle McFadden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Except its owned by Facebook and recent changes it has implemented has seen more users move to Signal and Telegram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,815 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Why would the Brits want Coveney gone if they have his phone hacked and he is conducting government business by text? Thats a pretty nice flow of information for them. If it is the case then Coveney and his blase attitute to his phone being hacked is an intelligence asset for the British.

He does care. As would be patently obvious if you had seen any of his appearances on British tv. He cares deeply. And he says he wants a united ireland in his lifetime.

This should tick all the boxes for Shinners but of course they want to play politics and damage Ireland in the process.

I stand by what I said - he is the most capable politician in the Dáil who has defended Irish interests against the tories.

We would be so stupid to do what what the Brits want.

If there was wrongdoing fair enough then there should be sanction but having him resign? I think we get more damaged than he does to be perfectly honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,972 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

I'm asking you to stop making up things you can't prove and stop using charities for what you think are witty digs that's all.

Your pointless link from over 4 years ago was no reason to get involved and replying.

If you have an article stating government ministers used work devices for whatsapp throw it up if not its more fiction from yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,958 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I don't want him to resign, I want him fired for negligence. He's the minister for defence ffs, and he thinks regularly deleting text messages is a good way to prevent hacking?! Mup ourra dat. He's deleting messages because he doesn't want people seeing what he's saying in them. He's a snake, and while he may have done some good for the country (I genuinely don't know, I hate politics and politicians) then he's an even bigger fidiot for ruining what he was doing good. And who's to say the next person won't do a better job? I'd prefer someone new than someone caught lying, which this fool was, or at the very least he showed he's not suitable to be Minister for Defence.

You are quite right, it has changed its terms of use, thanks for reminding me and Signal seems to be the most secure out there now and open source too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Ladies and gentlemen, (considering I did "throw up a link proving TDs and Ministers partake in WhatsApp messenger group's) I rest my case, and ass....night night halong.... Talk in the morning when you'll still be hung out. 😉

If the British have Coveney's phone hacked they probably have Martin's hacked too. And they'll hack phones until kingdom come unless we get to the bottom of this.

You are make a lovely plaintive case for Coveney but ultimately it is a self defeating one for Ireland.

Nobody is bigger than the state. Phil Hogan thought he was too.

And mentioning Phil, I would imagine the EU would take a dim view if we allowed the British to hack phones and did nothing.

We need answers and if that destroys Coveney or Varadkar or whoever, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I don't find any of the excuses credible here, phone space, being hacked don't stand up to scrutiny. It's not even a teenage level of excuse.

Surely the obvious answer as to why the messages were deleted is the most likely?

Anyway, thankfully for us, messages have both a sender and recipient. I'm sure KZ will be along now to clarify matters. Unless of course she was "hacked" too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Where did he say his 'government' phone was hacked and where did he was that he was hacked when he was a minister, and where did he say what the nature of the hack was?

People need to relax and stop reading into things that were not said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

So, now we are talking about the British hacking Coveney's phone and sure they have hacked Martin's phone too....

Speculation, speculation, speculation.....