Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

I find it amusing when FF FG take pride in our high vaccination rate.

Our rate is the highest in Europe because our restrictions were the toughest. Because we were held to ransom more than anybody else, because we were told the vaccines were the way out.

As things stand it looks like it could be April, if even then, before indoor gigs and nightclubs and pubs that resemble actual pubs return.

I hope and pray this country is reaching boiling point, and I pray that the results will not be pretty for the idiots who have touted this nonsense.

Forget resignations, I want them jailed. For what? Corporate manslaughter, use of a mass medium to communicate a message likely to cause unnecessary distress, bound to be a few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Hopefully , hopefully our ticket out of this rest in the United Kingdom and the sense they have shown, they will embarass us into fully opening. with life normal there and crazy restrictions here. thank god for the Brits..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Taoiseach Tony is fairly banging out the tweets today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Depends on your definition of lockdown. I'm not going to rehash that argument though.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Ugly? People have been saying that in this thread since April or May last year...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

My little fella had a sniffle and a temperature the other day, last for the guts of a day and he’s grand now. No way was I going for a test. I’m freely admitting that. I’m fully vaccinated and no doom merchant is going to convince me I’m wrong.

As soon as people who are fine stop seeking out tests because someone they know has a sore throat or a cough then the sooner this government will relent on the remaining restrictions. 2k cases a day is meat and drink to them. Despite it meaning sweet f*ck all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Ah Pen, I thought you liked accuracy 😆

Joking aside, it's been a fecking slog whether it's one or four.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭political analyst

It was reported in today's Indo that some restrictions (e.g. masks) could be in place into next year because of the still-high numbers of new Covid cases. Although it won't be possible to achieve herd immunity to the Delta variant, wouldn't the vaccination of over 90% of the total population be enough to reduce the numbers of new cases? If it is, then why would masks still be necessary this December or next year?

Nobody is listening to him anymore though, we are all sick of the sight and sound of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

It was always going to be the case. Your usual passport, driving licence, nct cert all have expiry dates. It's nothing new. It's a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Relax brah

Was in a number of pubs on baggot street lastnight, none of which checked for vaccine passports

Good. I was over in donegal for the last week, had some great nights out. Said I forgot my phone, no probs. It's all a joke, lets just get on with it now. I'm done with the two more weeks bullshit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Here's a recent Nature article on it.

Mike Ryan too, of the WHO, has also questioned the need for them. My own preference would be to ramp up vaccinations in the rest of the world first.

The Dail approved the extension of the regulations and if you've been following any of the political positions on this, you'd know some would prefer he'd gone even further. These are SIs, not laws and you'll get no help appealing to any party apart from maybe FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Have to laugh that now the passport has an expiration date.

Why don't we have passports as well for the MMR shots we would have had as kids?

Bollox to it lets have passports for everything. Had a flu? Passport for that - ah wait we do...

Had the ****? Passport to prove you don't have it anymore

The whole thing was a joke from the start. How much longer can this be sustained? We are close to entering our second year of this.. the bloody Spanish flu lasted two years.

This passport was always likely to be short term and will be dropped when there is no further perceived need for it. There may be a continued use of it in places with low vaccination rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,752 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Indeed, Labour, the SDs and SF were all very vocal about the need for more draconian measures. The SDs in particular were pushing a zero COVID agenda. With the mood starting to change a little we'll have SF and Labour criticize more and more of the measures as being too harsh while proposing nothing of worth themselves.

McNamara is about the only TD questioning any of this. O'Callaghan was more vocal last year but FF seem to have reigned him in. Donnelly is a PowerPoint parody character. He'd spout any aul guff presented to him in a nice slide and repeat it as gospel. Possibly the most dangerous man we could have in charge right now as he is taking everything NPHET say and just implementing it as if he has no other choice. Couple that with our worst most indecisive Taoiseach in living memory and it's a recipe for disaster.

It will be interesting next month when Paschal gets ready to present his budget. After another year of lockdown and severe restrictions I wonder how he's going to spin the "fiscal space" this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

That's not what Croatia and Austria safe saying. They've put a 270 day validity on it so without a booster shot it is of no use to travel to those countries. I presume they still accept a negative test for now?

How long before other countries follow suit? I'm sure expiring vaccine papers after just 9 months(!) was a conspiracy theory a few days ago.

They aren't talking about the passport being short-term. Some countries have said the current one is no longer valid after 9 months due to reduced efficacy and will likely require a booster to have a "valid" cert.

That's just prudent planning. The use of it here for indoor dining is up to October when it is quite doubtful it will be extended.

MM is like a Ron Burgundy character. Another parrot like Donnelly and completely incapable of independent thought.

It will 100% be extended. Sure we've just heard from MM that restrictions are to continue well into next year. Yet you think the pubs are about to go free for all in October!?

Can't see it myself.

We'll be at 90%, maybe for the full population so that risk is very low. Martin has said that most things will have restrictions lifted and the ones that remain IMO will be masks in some locations and maybe some level of social distancing. He's also said it will be personal responsibility over regulations.

TBH that whole booster idea is already starting to look very myopic and you may well get people to sign up once but it's really not a way to deal with a public health issue long-term.

I hope you're right and I'm wrong but right now I don't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

How can you keep a straight face when you type that? You seriously believe that after the overly cautious stance they had for the past 18 months, suddenly in 6/8 weeks they will ditch the vaccine passport? with the flu season and winter coming up, with the school reopening, with more and more countries enforcing it as a requirement to travel, with the billions spent to implement the system? Not a chance I'm afraid...

We know by now that if NPHET want it to stay then it stays. It's quite conceivable that NPHET and it's abundance of caution mantra will look for it's use to be extended to other areas. MM might not even class the vaccine passport as a restriction. After all, he was giving himself a big oat on the back for allowing indoor dining with the vaccine passport, completely obvious to the fact that it is yet another restriction being implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,105 ✭✭✭prunudo

Let me guess, something something is concerning. Something something be mindful of the virus. Something something the next 2 weeks.

On the on going indefinte use of the a vaccine pass. From the start of next month we're going to be at the stage where any adult that wants a vaccine has one, at over 90% we are at the point of diminishing returns. It was used as a form of coercive control and the idea should never have been entertained. The more establishments that stop asking for it the sooner it becomes redundant.