Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,433 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod

Thread has turned into a complete mess. Lets get back to discussing the topic properly

Those arguing endlessly over definitions of words and phrases can stop it now or face threadban without further warning, it's derailing the thread and making it impossible to read. Move on

so Tony is urging the country to get a vaccine that lasts 6 months as it wanes. Great oul money spinner for those making it.

sure we're on an endless roundabout, what the feck happened to living with covid? a cyclical mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭godzilla1989

Its a typical Irish move alright 😂

Backed the wrong horse with the fancy marketing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The big problem with the NPHET governments policy of pushing fear and hiding under beds is that it really doesn't prepare the country for living with covid. You really can't push a narrative for 18 months and then immediately pivot to a very different one, especially when you haven't implemented any of the requirements that living with covid needs, more ICU capacity for example.

We are heading into winter and the justification for lockdowns to protect the health service apply just as much now as they did 12 months ago, that is a failure of governance in every regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

Very hard to call... I reckon 2k a few days ago, and probably ACTUALLY 2k on Saturday and Sunday, reported Sunday and today. So I think a backlog will appear over the next few days with a Wednesday bump of 2,500 cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Why does he say get a vaccine “as soon as a vaccine is offered to you”? All eligible people have been offered one by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

You would think we didn’t have one of the highest rate of vaccination in the world by reading the article. Plus at this point I doubt vaccinating the remaining 500k adults or so will make any real difference in cases and hospitalisation.

Vaccinating children?

That would never happen, there is no way we would ever vaccinate children for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Wouldnt be a great idea from an infection control POV since vaccinated people can still spread the virus.

Events with testing as a requirement for admission would be much safer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Ye I'm not sure why they are acting like the vaccine uptake isn't really high. Mind you I'm not getting a 3rd dose they can stick it up their hole if it doesn't change anything for me besides make the manufactors more money.

The video is very surreal.Everything people do is monitored on big screens, people’s movements, what they buy in the shop, etc etc and then they get points based on that or points deducted for not being good like buying the wrong food or saying the wrong thing.This system wouldn’t leave any room for human creativity or human error or human growth. People could be cancelled at the click of a button and get cut off the system with their phone disallowing them to buy goods / access services etc. Grim indeed.

If this type of baseless dystopian "fan fiction" is getting anything other than complete derision this place has completely jumped the shark

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

this is where they will run into serious problems with any suggestions of future restrictions.If I'm vaccinated and you're vaccinated then why shouldn't we meet indoors in the middle of December?That is what it will come down to and there will be uproar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Suggestions like vaccine passports, nationwide lockdowns, bans on travelling, vaccine papers to go indoors etc were all derided by the likes of yourself over the past year as mad conspiracies and tinfoil hattery. And look where we are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I don't think it would be met with anything other than open arms being honest. I know a good few older people (fully vaxxed for months now) that still refuse to sit indoors for a meal when out with other fully vaxxed people.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Some people were saying the army were being drafted in to patrol the streets and that supermarkets were gonna close so we all needed to storm the supermarkets and buy freezers... That's before we mention bog roll

Not everybody was right and not everybody was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Was in Dublin centre last week for a few beers, fair play to the boozers doing their best to accommodate people and allow them to be able to get in and have a beer but it is a hassle. The family over from the UK had their COVID vacc details with them but as we all agreed, its a shame that we're still doing this... but.... at least they are open i suppose.

And also noting some of my favourite pubs still closed and locked down, such a shame to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The events industry are calling specifically for vaccinations

The main issue I see with testing is the high cost vs a free vaccine, can't see many taking up testing if it was offered

Indeed. But specifically social engineering like vaccine passes for indoors, vaccine passports etc were absolutely rubbished and laughed at on here. Even as recently as the end of June anyone who suggested that there would be vaccine passes for indoor dining was scoffed at as a mad lunatic. A week later it was announced and soon became a reality and suddenly the people scoffing at it were engaging in mental gymnastics to try to justify to themselves that this was always going to happen and is a very good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

How can you deride something such as nationwide lockdowns and bans on travelling over the past year when they'd already happened. There's a lot of revisionism on this thread.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Lateral flow tests are free in the North. Why can't they do the same down here?

Have to say that I hadn't given any thought at all to whether I would take a booster shot, but on reflection it is an easy enough decision.

I was never scared of getting covid but I got my 2 vaccines anyway, just to get it done and over with. But I am sick to my teeth of this game of constantly moving goalposts, where 2 weeks becomes 2 years, where levels become "levels with modifications" and now where a vaccine becomes regular injections for a virus that I'm still not scared off.

What comes after the booster shot? I bet it isn't a full and complete return of civil liberties, that is for damn sure, so I'm not going to be playing my part any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

They don’t want alternatives to vaccination - pcr is expensive, the vaccine is free.

Except that's not what happened. Speaking for myself, I didn't think they would be a thing and I said as much. I didn't call anyone a mad lunatic though. I came back and posted when they were announced that I was wrong previously. I didn't say it was always going to happen and I still don't think it's a good idea. I'm not sure if there were many (any?) others that posted as you have described. More revisionism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭brickster69

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

I think you'll actually find the ban on travelling to airports, ports etc didn't come in until late in 2020/early 2021. Prior to that any suggestions that it would happen were laughed at. The evidence is in the threads so I think you should go back and read them.

Furthermore the initial lockdown was eased from May 2020 and largely lifted during the summer last year apart from local locdowns in Offaly, Laois and Kildare. Suggestions that we would have more lockdowns last summer were again absolutely laughed at.

This isn't revisionism - these are facts.

But it is what happened. There were numerous posters who laughed at these things and used the condescending "the conspiracy forum is thataway" nonsense. I'm impressed at the revisionism though.

The vaccine isn't free. We'll all be paying that back.