Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

Ok Boggles....lets find out what you are made of.

Who do you think are the grifters here...

The Drug manufacturer who have no way of making money from a drug they used to produce.

or

A doctor, a leading expert, with decades experience who has used a very cheap drug to treat his patients with great effect.

Because he ain't the only person who has used that drug bear in mind....it's dirt cheap.

But you trust the Pharma company!!!

You do know Merck dont give the medication away for free dont you? Ivermectin isnt out there growing in the Comeragh mountains for people to use as they please! I literally just looked it up here in MIMS, a 30g tube of Ivermectin costs €22!

I literally cannot understand the inability to coherently think from the likes of you. Your so blind to see reality to suit your own narative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

PhoneMain wrote: »
    Because most viruses dont respond to medications. Hence why people still get colds. Conservative management is the mainstay of treatment for most viral courses. there's some witch doctors who say that Ivermectin or Hydroxychloroquine works but that's based on the lowest form of medicine.....their own experience! If they feel so strongly about it, they should organise peer reviewed, double blind, randomised control trials......but then they've already been orgainsed and shown to not work!

Ok I see what I'm dealing with here....I'll leave you at it!!! There's enough of your type around here I'm not wasting my time on another one!

Ok, fair enough, I shouldnt have called them witch doctors but just because some doctors say it on a youtube clip doesnt give them a strong level of evidence. If they feel so strongly about it, address the peer reviewed double blind RCTs that have been done on these medications. You can say something works in your experience all you like, it doesnt change the fact it's the weakest form of evidence going.

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Evidence-based-medicine-pyramid-The-levels-of-evidence-are-appropriately-represented-by_fig1_257072438

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,038 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

The UK government have 4 therapeutics for covid. Dexamethasone was the first one dating back to June 2020.

1. Dexamethasone – Hospitalised patients requiring oxygen or ventilator support.
    2. Tocilizumab and sarilumab – Patients in intensive care.
    3. Tocilizumab – Hospitalised patients who are receiving oxygen and are hypoxic.
    4. Inhaled budesonide – COVID-19 patients in the community who are 65 and over or 50 and over with an underlying health condition.

https://www.gov.uk/government/groups/the-covid-19-therapeutics-taskforce

Boggles says they don't exist tho so I'll let the UK government know.

The UK government have 4 therapeutics for covid. Dexamethasone was the first one dating back to June 2020.

1. Dexamethasone – Hospitalised patients requiring oxygen or ventilator support.
    3. Tocilizumab – Hospitalised patients who are receiving oxygen and are hypoxic.
    4. Inhaled budesonide – COVID-19 patients in the community who are 65 and over or 50 and over with an underlying health condition.

Maybe the UK government are grifters?

It is funny that they use them after someone is hospitalized....and not before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,667 ✭✭✭✭rob316

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Honestly why are we tolerating this ****e? When Glynn himself can't put forward a credible argument for stopping outdoor gatherings? Cases are in under 45's who won't end up in hospital. Why do we give a **** so?
    Dr Glynn urged people right around the country to stick to the guidelines while meeting up over the long weekend.

“We still have about 3,000 cases a week in this country,” he said.

“Now, compared to a number of months ago, the vast majority of those cases are in younger people – people under 45-years-of-age.

“Those people are less likely to end up getting severe disease, less likely to end up in hospital or critical care or to die – but we can’t be sure for any one person what their outcome is going to be.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,420 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Nope.

Treatment exists for people with Covid.

What the antivaxers are saying is there is therapeutics that can replace vaccines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Analogs daughter

Tocilizumab is an anti IL-6 drug. It's really expensive - few grand a pop for each dose - and can only be used during the cytokine storm phase of Covid. Not every ICU or hypoxic patient will receive it but if IL 6 levels are high then they will

Boggles wrote: »
    Don't be Silly, Tony should be down in Limerick treating people with therapeutics that don't exist. Something, something, Rat....

Meanwhile.

Treatment exists for people with Covid.

Boggles logic right there....it's the science Boggles right!!!

The regulatory bodies and the drug manufacturer.

At this point not antivaxers.

Miracle Cure and alternative to vaccine #578

The Mexican Government are anti vaxxers Boggles are they?

Maybe the UK government are grifters?

It is funny that they use them after someone is hospitalized....and not before.

Try reading the post before you reply, look at drug 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

How many people will die of covid because people ripped down a barrier?

A big fat ZERO.

PhoneMain wrote: »
    do you know of any therapeutics available to treat Covid19?
    How would I know?

Science indeed, an hour ago you didn't know, now it appears you know all about a cheap miracle cure. Strange that.
    The Mexican Government are anti vaxxers Boggles are they?

Nope, like other countries in the Americas, clutching at straws.

An antivaxer is someone who touts a "miracle drug" as an alternative to vaccines.

Which is completely fúcked up if you think about it, no problem touting a drug that hasn't been tested, hates vaccines that have.

But sure, loons being loons.

Nice long weekend ahead, it would of been great to have the outdoor dining/drinking open, but I guess Covid will be safer from Monday :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

https://www.bbc.com/sport/formula1/57360662

Singapore Grand Prix (October 2021) cancelled.

Still think this is ever going to end >?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

rob316 wrote: »
    Nice long weekend ahead, it would of been great to have the outdoor dining/drinking open, but I guess Covid will be safer from Monday :rolleyes:

Be proud of the lives you are saving.

rob316 wrote: »

I'll be indulging in outdoor drinking in about 2 hours, as will half the country I imagine over the weekend.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I'll be indulging in outdoor drinking in about 2 hours, as will half the country I imagine over the weekend.

The only ones that won't will be on here posting about not being able to drink outside :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I see Tony is on the way to Limerick with SD this morning to meet with pal TD’s regarding Limerick case numbers. Putting my personal opinions on him aside for a moment, I take huge issue with an unelected advisor being involved in government meetings such as this where is is likely he will have an input greater than his position should dictate.

By all means advise, but being involved in government discussions such as this is a step too far for me!

So you disagree with elected government officials having a meeting about the current public health situation in Limerick along with a designated public health official who has been appointed to review public health issues?

And all because you dislike " Tony"?

gozunda wrote: »
    So you disagree with elected government officials having a meeting about the current public health situation in Limerick along with a desinated public health official who has been appointed to review public health issues?

And all because you dislike " Tony"?

It's a little hard to stomach for many locals.

The health officials have done nothing for years about worst run hospital in the country which is in constant state of crisis, everyone has horror stories about the place, from clogged hallways full of sick people on trolleys to catching viruses during a stay, to being misdiagnosed by over worked doctors....

But that can all be ignored.

As soon as the public can be blamed, they flock to the place. It is pretty sickening given they have the power to lock the city down again.

As will I but it be damn nice to sit in a beer garden in a pub.

Except its not all young people - it was a small number of feckin eegits who ripped down the protective fencing

The bandstand is a protected structure which the OPW said it closed the amenity to “protect vulnerable historic features from vandalism and anti-social behaviour"

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/bandstand-fence-in-st-stephens-green-forced-open-40500886.html

It's a little hard to stomach for many locals.

The health officials have done nothing for years about worst run hospital in the country which is in constant state of crisis, everyone has horror stories about the place, from clogged hallways full of sick people on trolleys to catching viruses during a stay, to being misdiagnosed by over worked doctors....

But that can all be ignored.

As soon as the public can be blamed, they flock to the place. It is pretty sickening given they have the power to lock the city down again.

Is it? Or is that more like just some sceptics?

So because - like may hospitals in the country which were under resourced and or understaffed - we shouldn't do anything about what seems like a fairly rapid rise in new covid cases in Limerick?

And I haven't seen that "lockdown" has been agreed either.

Tens of thousands have still died there since using these treatments. Similar treatments are also in use here. And by and large work to make things easier on the patient while the immune system does the work. The immune system being by far and way the most effective therapeutic treatment with the bodies own response and preventative measure through vaccination

gozunda wrote: »
    Is it? Or is that more like just some sceptics here?

So because - like may hospital in the country which were under resourced and or understaffed - we shouldn't do anything about what seems like a fairly rapid rise in new covid cases in Limerick?

And I haven't seen that "lockdown" has been agreed either.

No, our hospitals get all the resources they want...it just doesn't get invested into patient care enough...the place out there is a particular basket case.

There is a chance to use an alternative to lock down which is being threatened, it's the right time of year, the right sized town, with a fairly identifiable community....surely you can see the logic in rolling out a quick response team during our summer season as a trial for later in the year when we will see rises in cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

MOR316 wrote: »
    I refuse to believe Tony Holohan was there last Saturday.

There is no way he could have driven near South William Street or Exchequer Street and wasn't spotted by anyone. Absolutely no way

Even if he did and was there, it literally means he would have gotten a 2 second glance before he had to turn up Clarendon Street.

How do you know no one spotted him?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kool-Aid is it?

No seriously, enjoy!