Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Not really bothered about the 105 min pub rule apart from the fact it seems unworkable and just another restriction that potentially has the opposite effect of the one intended i.e. people either moving around, mixing more or heading back to house parties where the risks of infection spread are well accepted to be higher.

Headline in the Journal this morning outlines where the real damage to society going forward is-

https://www.thejournal.ie/oncology-cacner-disruption-covid-5446942-May2021/

It doesn’t even speculate on the financial issues which are going to affect such services.

This is sad to read. Hope that the fact so much money was easily accessed during crisis might force a change in thinking, both in short term recruitment and retention, and in longer term structural overhaul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

If there is a 105m time limit for indoor hospitality- this needs to be reviewed very quickly there after. In July, I expect vaccinations to be ramped up with a majority of adults having being fully vaccinated. So in August, this rule should be ditched esp if Euro travel is allowed.

Time limits without the mandatory food rule, so encouraging pub crawls? Genius stuff really. Its all in the science.

A typical Irish "solution", that something - anything, no matter how ridiculous - needs to be seen to be done rather than leaving things be.

Another regulation, another rule - all of which are pointless and bound to eventuate to far more complications and social interaction. 105 minutes, Jesus...

Totally and utterly stupid, but nonetheless entirely predictable from those who simply love to be seeing to do something.

Classic Ireland; the same backward attitude when it comes to planning and construction, and just about everything else.

Delay, regulate, ban, block, regulate - "just do something"-kind of stupid attitude.

AdamD wrote: »
    Time limits without the mandatory food rule, so encouraging pub crawls? Genius stuff really. Its all in the science.

Does it need to be repeated 1000 times. This is a proposal from the Industry and Failte Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Widescreen

folks, anyone speculate on what way smoking will work out when all this "outdoor dining" starts.

If you are dining outside I assume that means people will be able to smoke at their tables?

I hope not, as that will rule many people out of the outdoor dining experience due to passive smoke inhalation which doesn't do asthma and other chronic chest/lung problems any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Is the 105 minute rule only for dining? Will wet pubs be allowed to open as well but have the 105 minute rule as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Graham wrote: »
    Certainly doesn't tally with what's happening in Limerick right now.

Any underlying conditions or overweight ?

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Site Banned Posts: 58 ✭✭mikeorange

Widescreen wrote: »
    folks, anyone speculate on what way smoking will work out when all this "outdoor dining" starts.

If you are dining outside I assume that means people will be able to smoke at their tables?

I hope not, as that will rule many people out of the outdoor dining experience due to passive smoke inhalation which doesn't do asthma and other chronic chest/lung problems any good.

Yeah smoking will be allowed

Not a chance I'll do outdoor dining for that alone

2m away from someone with that disgusting habit

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Is the 105 minute rule only for dining? Will wet pubs be allowed to open as well but have the 105 minute rule as well?

THe proposed Failte Ireland guidelines are going to cabinet this week and may or may not at that point become a rule. The guidelines will apply to both dining and drinking only establishments. If they are only guidelines, premises can reasonably choose to justify not following them.

For example last summer, there was no time limit applied where 2m distance could be maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Penfailed wrote: »
    The mica redress protest. There were gatherings in Buncrana and Letterkenny.
    Good stuff....Glad to see a good turnout in what must be a horrible issue for so many back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Why 105 minutes - why not 99 or 97.5 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

mikeorange wrote: »
    Yeah smoking will be allowed

Not a chance I'll do outdoor dining for that alone

2m away from someone with that disgusting habit

I hate smoking anyway but I never understood how during covid people could pull smoke down into their lungs then expel it with force all over an entire outdoor dining area.

But not once ever has any of the regulations insisting we dine outdoors included even a peep about disallowing smoking where outdoor dining happens.

Suppose govt need the taxes from smoking so (like all non covid deaths including from lung cancer) it didnt matter to them.

Follow the science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It's a good thing Ireland has Italian summers which makes outdoor a very pleasant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,457 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wow we are gone to 11 on the contrary meter.

Going to pubs or restaurants will not be mandatory, indoors or outdoors.

There will not be a shortage of people to take your place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Rules like this just fuel house parties

Sobit1964 wrote: »

Because it allows establishments to plan their service in 2 hour blocks. 15 minutes to herd the previous sitting out and clear tables prior to the next setting.
    Nothing to do with science, all to do with how hospitality runs

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    I hate smoking anyway but I never understood how during covid people could pull smoke down into their lungs then expel it with force all over an entire outdoor dining area.

But not once ever has any of the regulations insisting we dine outdoors included even a peep about disallowing smoking where outdoor dining happens.

Suppose govt need the taxes from smoking so (like all non covid deaths including from lung cancer) it didnt matter to them.

Follow the science.

Exactly, makes no sense, but follow the science sure :pac:

Especially when Covid infects the exact same way as passive smoking. It lingers in the air, over time, it won’t matter where you are, the smoke will be everywhere and the 2m rule is thus rubbish science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

The North opened yesterday as normal, none of these stupid time limits or whatever.

Can they not just leave things be and stop making up these ridiculous rules? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Sobit1964 wrote: »

I wouldn't read much into it. Its just the industry itself promising any old ****e to try and persuade the worlds slowest donkeys to open up ta f**k.
    They know well it will only be implemented where it actually suits from a business sense and completely ignored anywhere it doesn't.

A largely vaccinated or young general public isn't going to have much time for nonsense crap once we ever so slowly do open up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

It's going to be a repeat of what happened last summer. Pubs will play musical chairs with customers

"Right lads, I need that table for 6 o clock, will yis sit over there. Yis can have it back at half 7"

It happened in my place and every other pub I know

What is missing is a proper inspection regime.
    Perhaps require pubs to have a webcam so that someone centrally can review what they are at, then send the inspectors to the delinquents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Perhaps require pubs to have a webcam so that someone centrally can review what they are at, then send the inspectors to the delinquents.

Almost as ridiculous as your suggestion to electronically tag people.

With fully vaccinated people still having to self isolate for 14 days after being exposed to a Covid infected person

I wouldn't be suprised at all if wrists tags that notified you when you were within 2m of someone for more 15 minutes that had Covid was introduced.

Better a tag than 2 weeks at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Klonker wrote: »
    France and Germany had to do 'an about turn' yet are still on course to reopen quicker than us. Funny that.

England had outdoor dining opened at this stage in their vaccination and we don't. They now have indoor dining open and we look on plan to open ours 2 months later when we'll have a lot more vaccinated at that stage. So no doesn't sound like we're following the UK. Also the UK had the luxury of a slower reopening because of their quick vaccine rollout that the rest of Europe didn't.

I doubt the French or German public say the humour in both authorities getting it wrong and having curfews and restrictions restored due to it.
    It is funny that some are now hailing both France and Germany as the countries to follow while ignoring they messed up just last month.

England did not have outdoor dining opened at this stage of our level of vaccination. We will not be at that level (perhaps even slightly lower), until June 7th. when we will be doing so.
    Neither did the UK have the luxury of a slower reopening because of their quick vaccine rollout. They had a quicker reopening due of the amount of vaccine they received from a company who reneged on other contracts to supply the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

With fully vaccinated people still having to self isolate for 14 days after being exposed to a Covid infected person

I wouldn't be suprised at all if wrists tags that notified you when you were within 2m of someone for more 15 minutes that had Covid was introduced.

Better a tag than 2 weeks at home

A fully vaccinated person having to self isolate for 14 days is equally as unnecessary and bizarre as electronically tagging people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Yes, but we need everyone in the pubs to wear a stopwatch so we can see on the camera how long they have been there. We should really get a Garda at the entrance to each pub to make sure the stopwatches are started as soon as people walk in the door though.

This is going to be expensive but so worth it to be safe.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

OwenM wrote: »
    Yes, but we need everyone in the pubs to wear a stopwatch so we can see on the camera how long they have been there. We should really get a Garda at the entrance to each pub to make sure the stopwatches are started as soon as people walk in the door though.

This is going to be expensive but so worth it to be safe.....

Can we get giant Flavor Flav type clocks to hang around people's necks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,457 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

They don't.

But carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Can we get giant Flavor Flav type clocks to hang around people's necks?

You read my mind.....

Does it need to be repeated 1000 times. This is a proposal from the Industry and Failte Ireland

And its being reported in all of the media as likely to be implemented.