If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

revelman wrote: »

“ it’s a decision for Government along with public health advice

Not so bad. Tony and co should give us the pat on the back “ off you go lads and lassies enjoy flying off to see family and make sure you have a great holiday. Don’t forget to bring Philip and I back a stick of rock ” :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

faceman wrote: »
    Met a guy from Donegal at the weekend who was on holidays in Spain. He said that gardai were at their post in the airport but weren't stopping anyone when he was going through security.

The last few weekends that intercounty travel was banned was the same - gards on motorways but stopping no one. You get the impression they obviously dont think this is a good use of resources, but they have to take part in the covid panto lest the curtain twitchers get themselves all wound up.

Unbelievable waste of time, resources and tax payer money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Gael23 wrote: »
    Public Health advice will be not to implement it at all

And will be cheered on by the usual suspects wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Valhallapt wrote: »
    You continually claim the fine does not stop travel. I am applying your logic to another scenario.

It doesn't. Its there to discourage non essential. End of.

And your logic simply doesn't follow.

You're on your own island their mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

gozunda wrote: »
    It doesn't. Its there to discourage non essential. End of.

And your logic simply doesn't follow.

You're on your own island their mate.

I give up, you deliberately misconstrue everything. We’re derailing the thread now, so I won’t be replying to you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

faceman wrote: »
    Met a guy from Donegal at the weekend who was on holidays in Spain. He said that gardai were at their post in the airport but weren't stopping anyone when he was going through security.

I was also speaking to someone who flew to Spain a few days ago, said they were approached by a member of an Garda at the gate, he was asked why are you going, he replied he was going to work remotely, Garda said “ok”

It felt more like they wanted to be seen as opposed to giving out fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

They’re not checking your proof of residence

Today is the first date on which it has been possible to enter Spain on this basis so, with respect, I would wait and see! Spain wants British tourists; it would be less interested in people routing through the U.K. rather than flying directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Yapamillias

I had posted about two months ago as I was heading to the US via Turkey. Thought I would give an update since I arrived back in Ireland a few days ago.

Getting back in was pretty standard. I had my 72 hour PCR test in hand. I had read about hotel quarantine and would have had to do it since I was in the US and in Turkey and they are both on the list but I managed to get the J&J vaccine in LA. They don't care about your immigration status for the jab since they have a lot of undocumented workers so its pretty easy.

At Istanbul airport (and presumably any airport with flights coming into Ireland) they were very strict on making sure that if you weren't vaccinated that you had hotel quarantine reservations booked otherwise you can not fly. The immigration officer at the airport was obviously having a bad day (I try not to assume they are a**hats) since I had a digital confirmation of my vaccination and not the standard card they give you.

* what is really ****ed up is my dad (74 years old) has been waiting for his jab for a long long time and I managed to get it before him. Feels bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

I had posted about two months ago as I was heading to the US via Turkey. Thought I would give an update since I arrived back in Ireland a few days ago.

Getting back in was pretty standard. I had my 72 hour PCR test in hand. I had read about hotel quarantine and would have had to do it since I was in the US and in Turkey and they are both on the list but I managed to get the J&J vaccine in LA. They don't care about your immigration status for the jab since they have a lot of undocumented workers so its pretty easy.

At Istanbul airport (and presumably any airport with flights coming into Ireland) they were very strict on making sure that if you weren't vaccinated that you had hotel quarantine reservations booked otherwise you can not fly. The immigration officer at the airport was obviously having a bad day (I try not to assume they are a**hats) since I had a digital confirmation of my vaccination and not the standard card they give you.

* what is really ****ed up is my dad (74 years old) has been waiting for his jab for a long long time and I managed to get it before him. Feels bad.

Why did you fly to LA via Istanbul? Good deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭facehugger99

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    The last few weekends that intercounty travel was banned was the same - gards on motorways but stopping no one. You get the impression they obviously dont think this is a good use of resources, but they have to take part in the covid panto lest the curtain twitchers get themselves all wound up.

Unbelievable waste of time, resources and tax payer money.

The tens of billions that have been pissed away over the last year and a bit is absolutely criminal.

All because our cowardly shower of politicians were afraid to stand up to the social-media hysteria merchants.

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Why did you fly to LA via Istanbul? Good deal?

Had to choose a third country to fly since you can't fly direct from a Schengen country. Usually people go Mexico or Turkey. Turkey was really cheap so seemed like a good choice although the beaches in Mexico might have been good too lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Feria40

I saw this question posed on another non-boards forum and the answer seemed to be....there is no solution..

Question.

Whenever we are allowed travel again and you are in say Spain. 2 week holiday and 48 hours before you are due to return home you rock up for your PCR test.. and it's positive.

$hitballs anyway but you need to do your two week isolation period in Spain.

Time is up and you feel fine, but your PCR tests Keep coming up positive, we know that this can happen for weeks afterwards. You are not infectious but you are stuck abroad..

What do you do then?

I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I give up, you deliberately misconstrue everything. We’re derailing the thread now, so I won’t be replying to you again.

Nope. No need to get flustered. The scenario you presented doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. But if you don't want to try and explain it then that's fine. Take care now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

Green Cert allows for a someone who has had COVID freedom to travel for 6 months once recovered.

So once 'recovered' you are good to go, the definition of this is unclear and how this will be implemented is unknown.

Best option is wait till vaccinated and then you skip the PCR need, its the cheapest option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

What is the story with this government so many talking to the media with nothing concrete. Coveny is the latest today saying oh yes we will have the green cert by July 1st but oh I don't think we can implement it.

They should shut up and only communicate through official statements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

I was wondering what the rules might be for travel from the Republic via Belfast to a UK amber list destination in regard to what you need on return to Belfast. I found on the UK govt website the following advice, which applies to England but I expect is the same in N Ireland. In short you just need a pre-departure PCR test:

Transiting through the UK
    Before travel to the UK

If you will be transiting through the UK, you need to do the following before you travel to the UK:

take a COVID-19 test
    complete the passenger locator form

If you will be transiting landside through the UK, you need to do the following when you complete your passenger locator form.

select ‘Stay in the UK’ under the Your travel plans section
    reply ‘No’ to any questions about whether you are required to complete COVID-19 tests on arrival
    reply ‘No’ to the question ‘Have you visited a Red List country within the past 10 days and/or are required by law to quarantine in a government approved facility?’

When you transit through the UK

You do not need to quarantine or take a COVID-19 test on arrival or on day 2 and day 8.

This applies if you are transiting ‘airside’ or ‘landside’.

There are different rules for Scotland.

If you are transiting landside (entering the UK from outside the Common Travel Area), you must be entering the UK for the sole purposes of continuing a journey to a country outside of the Common Travel Area. You must either:

remain within your port of entry until your departure from England, or
    travel directly from your port of entry to another port of departure in England

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-safer-air-travel-guidance-for-passengers#transiting-through-the-uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,511 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

kilns wrote: »
    What is the story with this government so many talking to the media with nothing concrete. Coveny is the latest today saying oh yes we will have the green cert by July 1st but oh I don't think we can implement it.

They should shut up and only communicate through official statements

I don't know what else he's being saying today, but Coveney's comments on Morning Ireland were a response to a question posed at the end of an interview about Belarus.

He's not going to answer "sorry, I don't have anything to say on that matter".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

Outbound flight to Italy end of June just got cancelled (Ryanair)

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Feria40 wrote: »
    I saw this question posed on another non-boards forum and the answer seemed to be....there is no solution..

Question.

Whenever we are allowed travel again and you are in say Spain. 2 week holiday and 48 hours before you are due to return home you rock up for your PCR test.. and it's positive.

Time is up and you feel fine, but your PCR tests Keep coming up positive, we know that this can happen for weeks afterwards. You are not infectious but you are stuck abroad..

What do you do then?

I

You stay there until you come up clear! Or, if the cert comes in then you may fall under the “recovered from covid” categorisation.

Marcusm wrote: »
    You stay there until you come up clear! Or, if the cert comes in then you may fall under the “recovered from covid” categorisation.

That seems to be the crux of it. It's still not clear how the 'recovered from Covid' part will work in practice.

Is the answer therefore that this is where Antigen testing comes into its own (obviously completed in a professional setting)?

While clearly it's imperfect, it might be more appropriate from the point of view of detecting active cases/potential spreaders. Rather than picking up old infection

That seems to be the crux of it. It's still not clear how the 'recovered from Covid' part will work in practice.
    In Germany

"The test must have been a PCR test (or similar), checked in a lab and taken at least 28 days ago, and be no older than six months."

So worst case is 28 days after a positive PCR test, assuming the same is used by the EU scheme.

Source: https://www.thelocal.de/20210507/how-do-you-prove-youve-been-vaccinated-or-have-recovered-from-covid-19-in-germany/

Will home quarantine be scrapped once Ireland introduce the green cert?

Lumen wrote: »
    I don't know what else he's being saying today, but Coveney's comments on Morning Ireland were a response to a question posed at the end of an interview about Belarus.

He's not going to answer "sorry, I don't have anything to say on that matter".

Eh why not? He is just adding to the whole confusion. Why can't he say ab official announcement will be made on Friday instead of being one of those politicians who want to give out good news first even if it's not true

kilns wrote: »
    Eh why not?
    Because it would make him sound badly informed and weak. Better to waffle on in generalisations.

This is how the political and media circus operates. The journalists try and trip the politicians up. The politicians try to sound important but not give anything away.

It's just noise.

Lumen wrote: »
    Because it would make him sound badly informed and weak. Better to waffle on in generalisations.

This is how the political and media circus operates. The journalists try and trip the politicians up. The politicians try to sound important but not give anything away.

It's just noise.

Exactly it's just noise. He would look far more professional than Varadakar for example who runs tithe media with anything he can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭Blut2

Did the officer at immigration in Dublin grill you over the vaccination proof? How did it go?

I got vaccinated in the US a few months ago as well, but have yet to use my proof of that to fly into Ireland. I got a filled out WHO yellow vaccination booklet thing as proof instead of the basic CDC paper card, because I thought it would look more legit. But it'll be very annoying if I get grilled by immigration in Dublin every time I go to use it because not the CDC paper card though...

Blut2 wrote: »
    Did the officer at immigration in Dublin grill you over the vaccination proof? How did it go?

I got vaccinated in the US a few months ago as well, but have yet to use my proof of that to fly into Ireland. I got a filled out WHO yellow vaccination booklet thing as proof instead of the basic CDC paper card, because I thought it would look more legit. But it'll be very annoying if I get grilled by immigration in Dublin every time I go to use it because not the CDC paper card though...

I had a digital copy emailed to me from LA county. It has a QR code that you have to scan to get the info. I had the physical card but I thought the digital copy would be better.

The officer wouldn't entertain the fact I had the digital copy. He kept asking where it was and why didn't I bring it.

Me: I have a digital copy
    Him: Where is the card?
    Me: Back in LA
    Him: Why did you not bring it?
    Me: I was told that the digital copy was enough when traveling
    Him: I didn't ask you what you were told, I asked you why you didn't bring it
    Me: ...
    Me: I can show you a photo of the card
    *shows card*
    Him: It looks like it has been altered (they wrote a 2 instead of a 4 initially and just wrote over it on the date part)
    *Show him the digital proof from the website with my info*
    Me: Thats why they said digital proof is best...because the card is easy to alter
    Him: Next time bring your card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Question.

What do you do then?

I

When the green cert comes in, an antibody test will show you have had Covid more than two weeks ago and are okay to travel.

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    When the green cert comes in, an antibody test will show you have had Covid more than two weeks ago and are okay to travel.

I'm hoping to be able to travel in mid July, before the full roll out of the cert here.

Theoretical question really, I'm satisfied that by being sensible I will be no more likely to catch Covid abroad than I would be here. Perhaps less so given that any wining and dining I partake in will be outside.

It's just the small chance and then what happens next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

gozunda wrote: »
    So you're approach is to think its all some big conspiracy?

But is it? Where you get that? If you have an essential reason to travel there's no issue. You can travel.

And nothing stopping people physically travelling who chose to ignore the non essential travel advisory. Yes there will be a fine etc. Thats there to discourage non essential travel - yet you will be allowed to travel regardless. Which bit is difficult to understand?

Spain is on UKs Amber list which is listed as
    non essential travel for those in the UK. And yes Spain has just recently allowed travellers from the UK. Thats the facts as detailed.

ISAG? NPHET? What "coordinated media campaign". Sounds like CT suff. What media interactions exactly?

Btw in your last comment- who is the "Geography teacher / lecturer (ISAG member) acting as an immunologist / virologist" you referred to?

That and the tweet you linked to seems to make no sense tbh.

Anyone who wants to dismiss facts as conspiracy theorist has lost the argument.

https://twitter.com/julienmercille/status/1396385403280691200?s=21

Julien Mercille, ISAG member and who wrote many articles against travel including this weekend. Here is his job description:
    “Julien Mercille is an academic at University College Dublin's School of Geography, Planning & Environmental Policy.”

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/indian-variant-a-game-changer-and-must-not-be-made-welcome-40457384.html

He refers to travellers as barbarians in this article...

Here is Cathal Walsh, NPHET member tweeting his anti travel stance & re tweeting Gerry Killeen ISAG member.

https://twitter.com/isabelo20183051/status/1396413868189097987?s=21

Our current travel policy is indefensible in my opinion due to our position as an island, most affected by Brexit, members of the EU & projected vaccine roll out.