Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

Do you think there should be international travel this summer?

There already is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,774 ✭✭✭saabsaab

People will unfortunately. We really need some leadership from out govt our MEPs also but most Irish people will shrug their shoulders and listen to Holohan and Donnelly.

True and they should instead of social media 'experts'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

People will unfortunately. We really need some leadership from out govt our MEPs also but most Irish people will shrug their shoulders and listen to Holohan and Donnelly.

Didn't the FG MEPs vote or abstain against the Green Cert earlier this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Darwin

bubblypop wrote: »
    There already is.

No, there is no government plan for a return of non-essential international travel and the goal posts are continually being shifted. FFG are deliberately obfuscating the matter to stop people from making travel plans.

Darwin wrote: »
    No, there is no government plan for a return of non-essential international travel and the goal posts are continually being shifted. FFG are deliberately obsufcating the matter to stop people from making travel plans.

The poster asked if there should be international travel this summer, there is.
    Non essential travel.is a different question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

saabsaab wrote: »
    True and they should instead of social media 'experts'

says the guy who read somewhere online that some Indian variant may escape the vaccine, and is using that to justify not allowing the reuniting of parents, children, grandparents and grand children, which to heartless people isn't essential.

Well able to quote the WHO when it suits his agenda though :rolleyes:

kilns wrote: »
    So France is on the hotel list while countries such as Nederlands Cyprus Croatia Slovenia etc with much higher per incidence rates are not. Who makes up this crap

Tony has an eight ball. No science, data or common sense needed.

The poster asked if there should be international travel this summer, there is.
    Non essential travel.is a different question

I think you will find the poster was inferring non-essential travel.

Valhallapt wrote: »
    says the guy who read somewhere online that some Indian variant may escape the vaccine, and is using that to justify not allowing the reuniting of parents, children, grandparents and grand children, which to heartless people isn't essential.

Well able to quote the WHO when it suits his agenda though :rolleyes:

Not somewhere..It was from Tony himself yesterday as far as I can recall. You'd prefer to swamp us with new variants before we vaccinate most people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

Tony has an eight ball. No science, data or common sense needed.

Anguilla is the latest one on MHQ to amuse me since they removed Bermuda and Wallis and Futuna.

They have had 109 cases (ever), 0 deaths and a grand total of 2 cases since the 11th May.

Even the dogs on the street know they're not a threat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Depends on the roll out and new variants. (I know the vaccines work on variants but there was some report that one strain of the Indian variant appeared to be able to defeat one dose of certain vaccines)

There is only one strain of the Indian variant.
    And it doesn't defeat one dose of the vaccine it reduces its efficiency by 1.5 to 2 %
    Stop telling lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 jn123

If Ireland are not budging on the non essential travel, how possible would it be to travel back from a “red listed” country via Belfast? Would there be issues booking covid tests after arrival? I see their policy is to quarantine at home, but to get covid tests on day 2 and 7 upon arrival.... just conscious with the address being in the south? Or having to drive up north for the tests? Anyone any experience? 🀔

I think you will find the poster was inferring non-essential travel.

Oh, you're a mind reader now? They said international travel. So I believed them

Not somewhere..It was from Tony himself yesterday as far as I can recall. You'd prefer to swamp us with new variants before we vaccinate most people?

Tony based his statement on old information that he received from his uk counterparts, perhaps he should have wanted till he received the latest information before he commented because it contradicts the uk findings released yesterday.
    Plus he never said it would defeat a first shot.

Oh, you're a mind reader now? They said international travel. So I believed them

If you want to be pedantic, international travel includes *all* travel. At least your buddy saabsaab understood what they were inferring.

I don't presume to assume what people are inferring, I take them at their word.
    International travel is allowed.

I don't presume to assume what people are inferring, I take them at their word.
    International travel is allowed.

Sigh. Let's try again. International travel is only allowed for what are deemed essential purposes and everybody is well aware of that, that is why this thread exists. It is to discuss the prospects or lack of relating to non-essential travel.

Yep. Essential travel had always been allowed.
    Does this thread exist just to discuss non essential travel?
    I dont think that is the case, although there is some serious doom and gloom going on alright.
    It's temporary lads, it will all be ok soon :)

Yep. Essential travel had always been allowed.
    Does this thread exist just to discuss non essential travel?
    I dont think that is the case, although there is some serious doom and gloom going on alright.
    It's temporary lads, it will all be ok soon :)

You and your mate harping on about scariants, that’s doom and gloom.

This thread is for those of us who want to get off the island with out be treated like a criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

This thread is for those of us who want to get off the island with out be treated like a criminal.

Or those of us who are fully vaccinated and get can't back with the current ridiculous rules even for fully vaccinated people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Sure what difference will the vaccination rate make if your argument is that the so- far-imaginary variants can dodge the vaccines?

I don't talk about scariants, have never mentioned anything about any variants or scariants or anything like it.
    We all want to travel again.
    Why are You Trying to make me something I am not?
    Why are you making up lies about me?

Sure what difference will the vaccination rate make if your argument is that the so- far-imaginary variants can dodge the vaccines?

Good question. A true 'scariant' (hugely infectious plus very fatal) would put us back to square one. However, if the vaccine roll out across the World is fast enough we won't allow it to develop plus if the vaccines give a reasonable degree of protection combined with local lockdowns when necessary it may not get a chance to spread. I'll get a link on this later.

ZX7R wrote: »
    There is only one strain of the Indian variant.
    And it doesn't defeat one dose of the vaccine it reduces its efficiency by 1.5 to 2 %
    Stop telling lies

See below no lie.

https://www.ft.com/content/a70d423a-7d7c-4736-8828-0a485d7c3a8e

More than one Indian strain , no lie. See below

Chairman of Nphet’s Coronavirus Expert Advisory Group, Dr Cillian De Gascun explained that there are two strains of the Indian variant, B1617.1 and B1617.2.

There have been 20 confirmed cases of the B1617.1 strain and 41 cases of the B1617.2 strain.

He said: “B1617.2 is the one that we’re more concerned about at the moment, based on the experience in India and in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Didn't the FG MEPs vote or abstain against the Green Cert earlier this week?

MEPs didn’t vote this week, they adopted their position a few weeks back. The Parliaments lead people on this file were negotiating with the Council (on behalf of ministers) think most Irish MEPs voted for the cert, but there are a lot of amendments and procedural votes which people often portray as “opposing” something

It's a lie saying it defeats one shot.
    Pfizer stating 1.5 to 2 % decrease in efficiency for first shot as are moderne real world data.
    UK released information today from clinical trials between 3 and 6 % reduction of efficiency for Pfizer and ac respectively

See below no lie.

https://www.ft.com/content/a70d423a-7d7c-4736-8828-0a485d7c3a8e

More than one Indian strain , no lie. See below

Chairman of Nphet’s Coronavirus Expert Advisory Group, Dr Cillian De Gascun explained that there are two strains of the Indian variant, B1617.1 and B1617.2.

There have been 20 confirmed cases of the B1617.1 strain and 41 cases of the B1617.2 strain.

He said: “B1617.2 is the one that we’re more concerned about at the moment, based on the experience in India and in the UK.

Fair enough on the second Indian strain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭jellies

From FT: "After two doses, the range of protection we’ve been living with is 85-90%.

The new data showing 87% for B.1.1.7 implies ~zero drop-off.

81% for B.1.617.2 is a very small dip and the confidence intervals overlap with the 85-90% range, so it’s possible there is no drop-off at all".

Study was done with Pfizer and AZ vaccines. Should be no need to be overly concerned with the India variant once folks are vaccinated with two doses.

ZX7R wrote: »
    It's a lie saying it defeats one shot.
    Pfizer stating 1.5 to 2 % decrease in efficiency for first shot as are moderne real world data.
    UK released information today from clinical trials between 3 and 6 % reduction of efficiency for Pfizer and ac respectively

Don't know where you got your info from but

'One dose of the Covid-19 vaccine offered 33 per cent protection against the virus variant, per FT.The data from the Oxford-AstraZeneca and Pfizer-BioNTech vaccines showed that while a single Covid shot offered 51 per cent protection against the B.1.1.7 variant, both doses provided 87 per cent protection. This means a single dose of Covid vaccine provides 35 per cent less protection against B.1.617.2 as compared with the variant first detected in the UK.'

33% or even 51% sounds a poor defence but I guess it isnot fully known yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭jellies

Don't know where you got your info from but

'One dose of the Covid-19 vaccine offered 33 per cent protection against the virus variant, per FT.The data from the Oxford-AstraZeneca and Pfizer-BioNTech vaccines showed that while a single Covid shot offered 51 per cent protection against the B.1.1.7 variant, both doses provided 87 per cent protection. This means a single dose of Covid vaccine provides 35 per cent less protection against B.1.617.2 as compared with the variant first detected in the UK.'

33% or even 51% sounds a poor defence but I guess it isnot fully known yet.

Again from FT. "Those relative reductions are FT calculations based on data showing that after one dose, protection against symptomatic infection with B.1.1.7 is 51%, falling to 33% for B.1.617.2.

And after two doses it's 87% for B.1.1.7 and 81% for B.1.617.2, a very high level of protection.

Those first dose figures of 51% and 33% may sound low, but need interpreting in their proper context:

First dose efficacy was previously estimated at between 55% and 70%, with a lot of this based on the 'pre-variant era', as it were https://t.co/ShstwE72W7 https://t.co/RN4JsLp8mg"

So not much difference to the pre variant situation for B117 and a relative reduction of 35% for B1617.2. This is just for the first dose. Two doses the gap narrows hugely. Nothing scary here at all.