Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This week's classic tractor I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 18,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

9935452 wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-crystal-8045/27882313

No loader but a lot more tidy .
    Multi power band wouldnt cost the earth to fix .
    Was advertised for 6800 in october last year

It's a way tidier tractor. I just cannot understand the point of putting up distance photo's of tractors working. He has one photo of the inside of the tractor. It well worth the 4k without the loader of you were interested in doing it up

It's much the same with photos lads not putting up photos of inside of tractors because they're untidy. We all know what a tractor can or cannot do. Any tractor could draw that trailer of logs even a mangy 135

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭endainoz

9935452 wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-crystal-8045/27882313

No loader but a lot more tidy .
    Multi power band wouldnt cost the earth to fix .
    Was advertised for 6800 in october last year

Actually wouldn't trust that ad at all. Same guy is on a Zetor Facebook group asking what it's worth and then trying to sell it for over the odds. Also denied he tried to sell the same tractor (with the exact same pics) a few months before for far less money. He seems to think the multipower issue is easy to fix, but why didn't he do it himself? I'd avoid anyway, seems a bit dodgy to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

timple23 wrote: »

Them balloon tyres would be worth a fair bit on their own

• Registered Users Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A few nice tractors for auction this evening at 7 in Tullow, the auction is on Mart Eye

• Registered Users Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

timple23 wrote: »

I’d love to have one of those half tracks. No idea what I’d do with it but it would be cool

A few nice tractors for auction this evening at 7 in Tullow, the auction is on Mart Eye

There was none of them value bar a Class with a loader taht was sold for about 23K. There was a 390T sold for over 20K and an ordinary 390 floor change that made 18K I think. Auction fees have to be added I not sure what the percentage is

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

endainoz wrote: »
    Actually wouldn't trust that ad at all. Same guy is on a Zetor Facebook group asking what it's worth and then trying to sell it for over the odds. Also denied he tried to sell the same tractor (with the exact same pics) a few months before for far less money. He seems to think the multipower issue is easy to fix, but why didn't he do it himself? I'd avoid anyway, seems a bit dodgy to me.

He was at the same craic on a few of the massey groups with the 188 asking how much its worth twice in 6 months instead of just putting a price on it

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭divillybit

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-f140dt-winner-series/28133617

Here's a good ex bord na mona F140, I recognise it from the nearby bog when it used there, it used to have triples tyres on each side on the back and duels up front on her....so wasn't rallied about the place compared to some, but did alot of pto work, but just during the summer. Twas kept well cos it used to pull a harvester

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭lab man

divillybit wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-f140dt-winner-series/28133617

Here's a good ex bord na mona F140, I recognise it from the nearby bog when it used there, it used to have triples tyres on each side on the back and duels up front on her....so wasn't rallied about the place compared to some, but did alot of pto work, but just during the summer. Twas kept well cos it used to pull a harvester

They are a great tractor if they are minded

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭emaherx

Grueller wrote: »

It's not even the show piece claimed, sure it's tidy by 600 series standards but the bottoms of the doors and mud guards are fairly rotten. Half that would be too much for a rusty tractor that's not particularly sought-after.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

How about this?
    Not find a small 4wd any cheaper.
    As long as the mechanicals check out.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/same-saturno-80/28135093?campaign=14
    zSRkE3C.jpg

emaherx wrote: »
    It's not even the show piece claimed, sure it's tidy by 600 series standards but the bottoms of the doors and mud guards are fairly rotten. Half that would be too much for a rusty tractor that's not particularly sought-after.

But put a 390 can on her and it would be worth 15k plus

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    How about this?

Neks have you bought that, it's the F&F dd curse again, ad is gone?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭emaherx

But put a 390 can on her and it would be worth 15k plus

It's certainly not worth 22K the way it is.

There is more than a cab in the difference between a 300 series that sells for 15K+ and a rusty old 3 sticks on the floor 600 series.

blue5000 wrote: »

Not me, but if the hydraulics were OK, it was a fair bargain for 80hp and a decent 4wd system.
    Pull a lot more than anything else you would find at twice the price.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    How about this?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/same-saturno-80/28135093?campaign=14
    zSRkE3C.jpg

Would she be a mighty yoke on hills,she has relatively large diameter tyres and very low centre of gravity by the look of her

• Registered Users Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

blue5000 wrote: »

Wer the seal of approval for buyers..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Asking price and selling price are two separate things

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭Grueller

Asking price and selling price are two separate things

I understand that but it is a mental start point

• Registered Users Posts: 18,508 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Is it worth about half that in reality.
    There’s allot of rust visible which means it’s pretty bad underneath as they rusted from inside out. A suck calf would slide out under the left hand door.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭E mac

Had a 699 it’s amazing just how fast cab deteriorated in a few years when I gave up repairing it and left it outside to the elements.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭endainoz

_Brian wrote: »
    Is it worth about half that in reality.
    There’s allot of rust visible which means it’s pretty bad underneath as they rusted from inside out. A suck calf would slide out under the left hand door.

What's the betting he paid 10k to bring it over and now he's trying to make a quick buck?

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭divillybit

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-3080/28045639

Nice looking 2wd 3080 for sale....any thoughts on it?
    Would the cab be as prone to rust as a 699?
    For similar money this case 4230 is for sale nearby, its a newer machine but I think the older massey is a better tractor...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-4230/28107509

K.G. wrote: »
    Would she be a mighty yoke on hills,she has relatively large diameter tyres and very low centre of gravity by the look of her

I don't know if the Saturno 80 had oil immersed brakes, or dry drum.
    But most Same's had great traction, easy starting etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,508 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

For similar money this case 4230 is for sale nearby, its a newer machine but I think the older massey is a better tractor...

Case is newer tractor with half the hours. Those XL cabs were prone to rot too so either way you’d need your eyes open. Both tidy looking tractors though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Gillespy

That 3080 is a beauty.

Rotting Massey cabs seems to still be a problem to this day. Read on a UK forum the roof of the modern ones are very prone to leaking and the floors rots as well. Cheapness basically the cause.

They are very different tractors. While both are 2wd tractors the Massey is a 6 cylinder and the Case 4 cylinder. The Massey would be a way stronger tractor the bones of a ton heavier. It would have a shuttle and I think alot of the gears are on a button. She would have more electrics than the Case back lift, draft, etc all.on buttona. They had a history of electrical problems however that could be because they were the first MF model tractors with any amount of electrics. It would not be as bad as the 6 series to rust. It would be way heavier on diesel than the Case

The Case would be a tidier tractor better around a yard less electrics less complicated. If I only wanted a tractor for drawing a few bales, spreading a bit of fertlizer and topping I take the Case.

The Massey would run an agtitater for you or lift two bales from a field with a few weight on front and pull a way heavier trailer load

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭DBK1

Depending on what a lad is looking for I’d say there’s a bit of value in both of them tractors. Both are tidy looking for their age, particularly the Massey relative to the balls of rust a lot of them Masseys turn into.

If you had a shed to keep them parked in and weren’t rough with them I can’t see them being worth much less than that asking price even in 10 years time. I’d say either of them would be a good investment for any lad looking for a bit of comfort in a second tractor or even a lad looking to come up from a 135/188 etc. as the main tractor.

With the type of money even rough older tractors are making it could turn out to be small money for a lad to change up to one of the above.