Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Boggles wrote: »
    LOL!

Think you’ve pretty much proven my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

These chaps are loving this attention, such galling tripe to watch

Oh super Dr Ronan when can I go to Disneyland??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭mattser

gozunda wrote: »
    The odd thing about that exchange is that Tony asked for clarification as to her point and in turn Tony gets lambasted for "being nasty" or wtte

In the context of some of the questions asked and to questions answered - I can understand how a small number of media hacks could end up pissing someone off - especially where they're not adverse to misquoting people for the purpose of headlines and clicks.

And then some here claim the media only praises the government!

You couldn't make it up - but some of the media regularly do unfortunately

Honest to God I don't know how they hold the head with some of the wannabe virologist hacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

On reflection, was Varadkars speech the other day about how they tend to follow CDC guidelines a public slap in the face of Nphet, we did have a fairly noticeable change of gear recently....the "new virus" they were on about turned out to be nothing, even though the media have left them all off the hook it was a silly gamble like we predicted here)....the public are visibly weary and too many have lost all pretense of sticking to the restrictions.

Varadkar would also know that many States in the US have stopped following CDC guidelines.

Yes it was. He neatly sidetracked NPHET stating that we (government) tend to advise what the CDC advise, and that mask wearing recommendations would be considered by HSE and adopted by HSPC. Pretty deliberate omission of NPHET - when not too long ago we would be told those sorts of decisions would be deliberated by NPHET and that government would be guided by NPHET recommendations. Quite a distancing there by Varadkar, reading between the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Remember, it was Varadkar who got the public slap in the face last Oct when Martin left him hanging out to dry and took Tonys side....the moment we all got to see who was wearing the pants between the Government and Nphet...Martin has proven himself to be a complete donkey...FF are doomed.

I'll say one thing for Varadkar, and I'm no fan of his, he is a tuned in guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'm not going back into the other thread to find the multiple messages that were posted about Irish people and Christmas and how people being eejits and visiting family were to blame for the spike. You can do that yourself. I know they're there because I pushed back against them on a number of occasions, saying that B117 was the reason for the spike.Concerning you can't remember it, really.

Oh ffs. Completely and utterly irrelevant to anything which was stated.

These chaps are loving this attention, such galling tripe to watch

Oh super Dr Ronan when can I go to Disneyland??

Would the government ever buck up and give these rampant egoists a flying kick off centre stage. With the exception of King Tony, who should be hauled before the high court for prior transgressions. We have been under the thumb of a benign dictatorship for fourteen months, enough for this lifetime and several others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Would the government ever buck up and give these rampant egoists a flying kick off centre stage. With the exception of King Tony, who should be hauled before the high court for prior transgressions. We have been under the thumb of a benign dictatorship for fourteen months, enough for this lifetime and several others.

The thing is the politicians are so irrelevant that the kids only know who the celebrity medics are, that's why they ask him the questions.
    Glynn comes across well as per normal, Holohan needs to go yesterday. He's an absolute disgrace of a man.

The thing is the politicians are so irrelevant that the kids only know who the celebrity medics are, that's why they ask him the questions.
    Glynn comes across well as per normal, Holohan needs to go yesterday. He's an absolute disgrace of a man.

I found that video of Holohan answering (or scolding) the journalist very disturbing

Something not right there

On reflection, was Varadkars speech the other day about how they tend to follow CDC guidelines a public slap in the face of Nphet, we did have a fairly noticeable change of gear recently....the "new virus" they were on about turned out to be nothing, even though the media have left them all off the hook it was a silly gamble like we predicted here)....the public are visibly weary and too many have lost all pretense of sticking to the restrictions.

Varadkar would also know that many States in the US have stopped following CDC guidelines.

Is it? or is a case of reading way too much into a fairly simple comment? Reading that - there’s nothing there that doesn't suggest Nphet looks at CDC guidelines on Covid for guidance. Tbh I'd be surprised if they didn't.

That said the US cannot afford to not pay attention to the CDC imho. Apparent vaccination hesitatincy there could mean the country as a whole risks not meeting Vaccination herd immunity targets.

Regarding the "new virus" thingy

This is what was said a number of months ago about the 'new virus" ie the B.1.1.7 strain

This was Ronan Glynn Deputy Chief Medical Officer on March 22 2021
    Stalled progression

“We are dealing with a new virus versus 2020, that is for sure. And we have been dealing with significant levels of the virus in this country for some time this year,” Dr Ronan Glynn said on the issue of stalled progression.

This is Micheál Martin on 30 March 2021 clearly referring to the CMOs comment
    The disease we are dealing with now is a very different beast to that which we were facing at the beginning of the first lockdown in Ireland more than 54 weeks ago.

The so-called UK or B-117 variant is essentially a new virus. It is more transmissible and it is significantly more dangerous...

Whilst the description used should correctly read "new virus variant" - the point the CMO was making was that B.1.1.7 was responsible for the difficuly of getting case numbers down. Micheal Martin repeated the same and added that it was more transmissible and (therefore) more dangerous.

Could MM and Dr Glynn described it better? Yes they could. That doesn't invalidate that B.1.1.7 did indeed cause issues with case numbers long after the increased numbers of covid cases at Christmas.

I found that video of Holohan answering (or scolding) the journalist very disturbing

He's a horrible man (In my opinion), he came back to be the face of the reopening. I think the other members of NPHET are afraid and intimidated by him. You only have to look at how he responds to journalists who question him to imagine how it musy be like to work under him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Pressure brings out the worse in people

gozunda wrote: »
    Is it? or is a case of reading way too much into a fairly simple comment? Reaing that - there’s nothing there that doesn't suggest Nphet looks at CDC guidelines on Covid etc . Tbh I'd be surprised if they didn't.

The US cannot afford to not pay attention to the CDC imho. Apparent vaccination hesitatincy could mean the country as a whole risks not meeting Vaccination herd immunity targets.

Regarding the "new virus" thingy

This is what was said a number of months ago about the 'new virus" ie the B.1.1.7 strain

This was Michael Glynn Deputy Chief Medical Officer on March 22 2021
    Stalled progression

“We are dealing with a new virus versus 2020, that is for sure. And we have been dealing with significant levels of the virus in this country for some time this year,” Dr Ronan Glynn said on the issue of stalled progression.

This is Micheál Martin on 30 March 2021 clearly referring to the CMOs comment

Whilst the description usdd should correctly read "new virus variant" - the point the CMO was making was that B.1.1.7 was responsible for the difficuly of getting case numbers down. Micheal Martin repeated the same and added that it was more transmissible and (therefore) more dangerous.

Could MM and Dr Glynn described it better? Yes they could. That doesn't invalidate that B.1.1.7 did indeed cause issues with case numbers long after the increased numbers of covid cases at Christmas.

We started testing healthy people again at the beginning of February.....we knew then that the winter surge was past us.

The probability of another surge was minimal at that stage, they know this, they've been dealing with viral infection surges for decades....many of us here were of the same opinion, and we are amateurs.

They took the ultra cautious route, they used the media to maintain the fear, they shamed the people protesting at the time....and utterly disgraceful tactic, which will in time prove to be very costly for the media companies and political parties.

Case numbers are irrelevant when you are testing people who are healthy and not displaying a single symptom....we have since rolled out walk in centres for people who are healthy.....it is a demented policy to maintain the fear and control.

As for the variant number, it's a stick to beat us with...what is the number of the initial variant that shut us down in the first place?

PTH2009 wrote: »

Especially in the intellectually weak!

He's a horrible man (In my opinion), he came back to be the face of the reopening. I think the other members of NPHET are afraid and intimidated by him. You only have to look at how he responds to journalists who question him to imagine how it musy be like to work under him.

We saw it in October...he returned to work two days early...that is level of self importance we all witnessed.

PTH2009 wrote: »

You're being kind to him, he didn't need to waltz back into the hotseat if pressure was a factor. There's a relish there of a sadistic variety, just had to have his fingerprints all over summer roadmap. Knows he has the fate of many a livelihood in the palm of his hands, that's rather empowering for one with despotic tendencies. Menacingly staring down journalists who are duty-bound to enlighten the public. He. Must. Be. Removed. Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I've said it before, Tony Holohan wouldn't be the type of person who is used to to people saying no to him or disagreeing with him.

There are 2 types of people who get involved in medicine. People who want to help others and people who do it for the prestige. Being a doctor wasn't enough for him, he needed to go up the ladder. He is a careerist. He wants to be the big dog in whatever he is doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Junglejoe

I've said it before, Tony Holohan wouldn't be the type of person who is used to to people saying no to him or disagreeing with him.

There are 2 types of people who get involved in medicine. People who want to help others and people who do it for the prestige. Being a doctor wasn't enough for him, he needed to go up the ladder. He is a careerist. He wants to be the big dog in whatever he is doing.

Only 2 types

I can think of at least 1 more

Hint: $

Junglejoe wrote: »
    Only 2 types

I can think of at least 1 more

Hint: $

I don't believe it's money for him. It's power. He's a bully. In most modern work place environments he'd be removed for his behaviour. I'm just glad some journalists are asking him questions. The problem is I doubt othrs will pick up on it and continue to be George Lee types

https://twitter.com/sarahcareyIRL/status/1393299333878013955

https://twitter.com/sarahcareyIRL/status/1393301273915625478

A high ranking Irish health bureaucrat has no money issues, he/she has won the pension lottery....iron cast.

Is there higher paid health bureaucrats anywhere else in Europe?

It's like the Irish bureaucrats who negotiated with the IMF back in 2010...top tier Irish bureaucrats must be the envy of the Europeans.

I don't believe it's money for him. It's power. He's a bully. In most modern work place environments he'd be removed for his behaviour. I'm just glad some journalists are asking him questions. The problem is I doubt othrs will pick up on it and continue to be George Lee types

https://twitter.com/sarahcareyIRL/status/1393299333878013955

https://twitter.com/sarahcareyIRL/status/1393301273915625478

If Ireland was a nation of subservient lickarses like George Lee and majority of other thread, we would be in lockdown indefinitely. Most vocal proponents naturally are those with mortgages paid off and pensions tucked away. Good news is that terse exchange has gone viral, as the cracks start to grow in carefully stage managed facade. He needs to be pushed incessantly on matters pertaining to the public interest ("greater good" anyone?) until the tin-pot dictator breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

At the start of the pandemic I mentioned how great he seemed (Dr T) to someone who had worked with him years ago and they said he’s incredibly arrogant. He used to seem very calm and patient to me but he’s lost that now

I called the guards in Kevin Street to shut down a ridiculous outdoor party in Dublin 8 and they sorted it within minutes.

Good stuff!

I called the guards in Kevin Street to shut down a ridiculous outdoor party in Dublin 8 and they sorted it within minutes.

Good stuff!

Thank you for keeping us all safe

God bless

Good stuff!

- Seagulls the restriction thread regularly with sneery one-liners telling people to go outside and get some fresh air.

- Calls cops when people go outside and get some fresh air.

Champion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

If Ireland was a nation of subservient lickarses like George Lee and majority of other thread, we would be in lockdown indefinitely. Most vocal proponents naturally are those with mortgages paid off and pensions tucked away.

I see we're still making up the narrative to justify the permarage

I don't know anyone that wants indefinite lockdown.

We started testing healthy people again at the beginning of February.....we knew then that the winter surge was past us.

The probability of another surge was minimal at that stage, they know this, they've been dealing with viral infection surges for decades....many of us here were of the same opinion, and we are amateurs.

They took the ultra cautious route, they used the media to maintain the fear, they shamed the people protesting at the time....and utterly disgraceful tactic, which will in time prove to be very costly for the media companies and political parties.

Case numbers are irrelevant when you are testing people who are healthy and not displaying a single symptom....we have since rolled out walk in centres for people who are healthy.....it is a demented policy to maintain the fear and control.

As for the variant number, it's a stick to beat us with...what is the number of the initial variant that shut us down in the first place?

The 'surge' may have peaked at the end of January. Last year it peaked in April. Go figure.

From February what we were left with were case numbers which although reduced from the peak remained stubbornly high for months and related to the higher transmissibility of the now dominant B.1.1.7 variant.

Only in the last month and a half have those figures finally come down to last year figures. And looks like we can relate that to the rise in vaccinations. But yeah a bunch of Internet warriors know the experts were all wrong. Sure I'll buy that for a euro ...

Media will do what the media will do. Sell column inches and clicks. They don't need any prompting by anyone.

That said its true that Ireland has been cautious but its served us in one way with the result that overall we have had low case numbers compared to our nearest European neighbours and a very low death rate. And no I don't dispute the damage done to the economy as a result etc.

But don't be under any misconception that "Case numbers are irrelevant" especially those who are pre-symptomatic and can become spreaders within a community setting.

And no its not any old variants- its variants of concern like B.1.1.7. Which led us to where we are atm.

Thankfully we now have a way out via vaccines. Let's stick with that and leave the feking blame beloved of some behind us.

- Seagulls the restriction thread regularly with sneery one-liners telling people to go outside and get some fresh air.

- Calls cops when people go outside and get some fresh air.

Champion.

There's a difference between that and a bunch of people taking the p*ss blasting music and having outdoor sessions after 11pm. The very nice guard on the phone thanked me and said I wasn't the only one to complain.

And yeah, most of you should get some fresh air instead of living your lives on here posting about how things aren't just as you want them to be.

Maybe have a chat with your mates or something. If you have any that will still listen to your stuff.

There's a difference between that and a bunch of people taking the p*ss blasting music and having outdoor sessions after 11pm. The very nice guard on the phone thanked me and said I wasn't the only one to complain.

Why are you posting about your public nuisance complaint on a covid thread?

If Ireland was a nation of subservient lickarses like George Lee and majority of other thread, we would be in lockdown indefinitely. Most vocal proponents naturally are those with mortgages paid off and pensions tucked away. Good news is that terse exchange has gone viral, as the cracks start to grow in carefully stage managed facade. He needs to be pushed incessantly on matters pertaining to the public interest ("greater good" anyone?) until the tin-pot dictator breaks.

These exchanges would go a lot more viral if they were reported by main stream media, instead it takes a randomer on Twitter to video the conference from his laptop via his phone just so that a small audience can hear this kind of arrogance.