Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Graham wrote: »
    I see we're still making up the narrative to justify the permarage

I don't know anyone that wants indefinite lockdown.

This thread, from what I have seen off it dropping in and out over the past year, was a home for some that didn`t like lockdown, or pretty much restrictions of any kind, but they could never come up with a viable alternative.
    At least there was a consistency in that.

Now we have posters who reckon we will never leave lockdown or easing of restictions because we have some overlord called Tony, and posters who reckon we will leave lockdown and have no restrictions what-so-ever ever again because of state finances. .... and they all agree with each other.
    Of late this thread has gone from simply crazy, too full on bats**t crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

I called the guards in Kevin Street to shut down a ridiculous outdoor party in Dublin 8 and they sorted it within minutes.

Good stuff!

Had a nice restaurant meal and a pint today in the sun, thanks for reminding me why it was a good choice to leave Ireland. You utter embarrassment.

Why are you posting about your public nuisance complaint on a covid thread?

You don't think it's in any way related? Ok.

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    Had a nice restaurant meal and a pint today in the sun, thanks for reminding me why it was a good choice to leave Ireland. You utter embarrassment.

Good for you. I think this thread, as an Irishman, is embarrassing. So much complaining about being asked to make some sacrifices. But anyway.

Half a million people made an involuntary sacrifice: their jobs. If the Government/NPHET had shown any solidarity for the greater good, they would have gone on PUP. And then you try to position yourself above the fray as an "Irishman", you haven't one solitary clue. Imagine taking pride in ratting out people enjoying themselves to the Guards, jesus wept. What a pathetic sideshow.

They were taking the piss. And they were called on it.

We don't all just get to do what we want, when we want.

The title of this thread should be changed to "Replying to things that posters never said".
    Pandemic or no pandemic if a bunch of thoughtless moron where blasting music outside your door and taking the p**s would you just regard it as "no harm sure aren`t they just enjoying themselves" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,023 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

charlie14 wrote: »
    The title of this thread should be changed to "Replying to things that posters never said".
    Pandemic or no pandemic if a bunch of thoughtless moron where blasting music outside your door and taking the p**s would you just regard it as "no harm sure aren`t they just enjoying themselves" ?

Ringing the Gardai is "rat" so anything goes and is all just good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Why are you posting about your public nuisance complaint on a covid thread?

'cause he's a righteous dude.

:P

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ringing the Gardai is "rat" so anything goes and is all just good fun.

It always is until it happens to those who think it`s all just a bit of fun. Then it quickly becomes a case of it being a bunch of scumbags that the Gardai should have locked up years ago and thrown away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A street party on a Saturday night? Well I never. Annoying if youre trying to sleep certainly. I presume they moved it inside when the gardai showed enabling the covid to spread easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Junglejoe wrote: »
    I'm seeing a large scale ditching of restrictions

Anecdotally anyhow, people seem to have moved on and can't be bothered anymore

Prob since the important cohort got vaccinated

Same. Had a nice couple of pints last night with a crew to watch tipp cork game and know of a few other groups doing the same.
    Pints were lovely, game was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Are we not told outdoors is safer ? I wonder what action the guards took an the free Palestine march in town ? East target for the guardai.... Couple of lads having a bit of crack of a weekend and some people have a problem with it. Also my next neighbours have a party every couple of weeks for the last few months and do you know what the only problem I have is I never got an invite !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,023 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It always is until it happens to you. Then it quickly becomes a case of it being a bunch of scumbags that the Gardai should have locked up years ago and thrown away the key.

Dont worry I understand, I've no existing issue with the Gardai or law enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,105 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Tomorrow will be an interesting day most restrictions ending with regard to small businesses, retail etc, hope it goes well albeit I feel alot of small retail will either not open or open for a very short time until the true financial impact is realised, warehoused debt, Substantial rent arrears etc. Rates waivers realistically only a short term fix. Then of course its getting people back onto the high Street, very challenging when customers get used to online. I see government expecting banks to support SME"s once government supports end?, good luck with that delusional aspiration.

Seems there's a big push by county councils to expand outdoor space for bars, restaurants, I'm not at all sure this is going to be viable for restaurants in particular either long or short term given Irelands unreliable weather, that aside its bums on seats that make restaurants viable, curtailing potentially more than 50% of a restaurants business is not sustainable. Bars too, fine to point but a few more months of this and it won't be pretty.

The commentary about people refusing to return to work rumbles on and of course the demonising of those on PUP, led it would seem by lobby groups of industries still effectively closed, oddly enough it would seem an enormous amount of hospitality staff won't be needed if as is expected outdoor business models is the way forward for quite some time.

Now for some weetabix :)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Remember, it was Varadkar who got the public slap in the face last Oct when Martin left him hanging out to dry and took Tonys side....the moment we all got to see who was wearing the pants between the Government and Nphet...Martin has proven himself to be a complete donkey...FF are doomed.

I'll say one thing for Varadkar, and I'm no fan of his, he is a tuned in guy.

This.

Things went south once Varadkar was removed as Government leader, another masterstroke by the Irish public. The man isn't perfect but he can read a situation 10x better than MM. His attack on NPHET was just one example of this. They needed taking down a peg or two and he did it, on live TV!

MM is a coward, afraid to step out of line, he is very happy to sit back and let NPHET run the country but will of course take all the praise in "saving lives" once all this dies down.

FFS we were a hairs breadth from having SF rule the country. Varadakar and FG weren't perfect but IMO they were doing a fine job. Harris was much more tuned in than Dopey Donnelly too. But again the Irish people wanted them out because there was no free houses for Jacinta and her 5 kids. And guess what a year later? There's still no free houses, or even affordable ones. Shortsighted nonsense from voters.

Changing government in the middle of a pandemic was utterly insane and we are and will pay for this for a long time.

And we only have ourselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

These exchanges would go a lot more viral if they were reported by main stream media, instead it takes a randomer on Twitter to video the conference from his laptop via his phone just so that a small audience can hear this kind of arrogance.

Twitter at best is a cesspit. These 'exchanges' are available in full to view for all on 'main steam media" and have been since the beginning.

Quite funny that the media has been endlessly vilified on this thread but are here are held up as precious jewels where the argument suits :rolleyes:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Would the government ever buck up and give these rampant egoists a flying kick off centre stage. With the exception of King Tony, who should be hauled before the high court for prior transgressions. We have been under the thumb of a benign dictatorship for fourteen months, enough for this lifetime and several others.
    If Ireland was a nation of subservient lickarses like George Lee and majority of other thread, we would be in lockdown indefinitely. Most vocal proponents naturally are those with mortgages paid off and pensions tucked away. Good news is that terse exchange has gone viral, as the cracks start to grow in carefully stage managed facade. He needs to be pushed incessantly on matters pertaining to the public interest ("greater good" anyone?) until the tin-pot dictator breaks.
    Threadbanned

Swaine wrote: »
    This.

Things went south once Varadkar was removed as Government leader, another masterstroke by the Irish public. The man isn't perfect but he can read a situation 10x better than MM. His attack on NPHET was just one example of this. They needed taking down a peg or two and he did it, on live TV!

MM is a coward, afraid to step out of line, he is very happy to sit back and let NPHET run the country but will of course take all the praise in "saving lives" once all this dies down.

FFS we were a hairs breadth from having SF rule the country. Varadakar and FG weren't perfect but IMO they were doing a fine job. Harris was much more tuned in than Dopey Donnelly too. But again the Irish people wanted them out because there was no free houses for Jacinta and her 5 kids. And guess what a year later? There's still no free houses, or even affordable ones. Shortsighted nonsense from voters.

Changing government in the middle of a pandemic was utterly insane and we are and will pay for this for a long time.

A little harsh, There's no doubting Leo made some wise decisions at the start but in hindsight, very very easy to shut everything down, not so easy to reopen, close and reopen.

Without getting into politics, it also has to be said a new government had to be formed with a rotating Taoiseach and Leo was fully behind this (or perhaps not), I also feel it only fair to note Mixed Messaging,Leaks, critism of NPHET, kite flying were all instigated by Leo and his party.

I'll grant you MM has struggled but this hardly surprising with the carry on of his partners in Government.

I'm no lefty, very A political and try to look at government performance objectively.

Arra shure, what of tens of thousands of jobs lost provided it isn't mine. Great to take indoor hospitality for granted and casually accept that the "outdoor business model is the way forward". Can you imagine the uproar if a single teacher went on PUP. This whole bargaining of whether the Council can squeeze a few more punters into a beer garden is ridiculous, same applies to silly hypotheticals about the fickle Irish weather dampening profit margins. The government need to stop being afraid of their own shadows and take the initiative. Why create a mountain out of a molehill, a very simple solution exists to all of these unnecessary complexities: Just reopen indoor hospitality now. Restoring jobs, allowing publicans to ply a viable trade and boosting the economy. Problem solved.

Just to be Clear, I was on PUP for quite a long time and through no fault of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I hate to say I told you so, but...
    The Government is likely to set up a public inquiry next year into the handling of the Covid-19 pandemic.
    The Sunday Independent can reveal Health Minister Stephen Donnelly told Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan in January he was “disappointed” by the lack of progress in rolling out antigen testing, which has in recent weeks become a significant policy dispute between the Government and the CMO.

Text messages and emails obtained by this newspaper show the dispute over the use of quicker, cheaper but less accurate tests stretches back to a period when Ireland was besieged by a third wave of the virus.

There is a strong view among some ministers that the tests should have been more widely used at the time as part of the State’s response, while the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (Inmo) had issued public calls for them to be used to screen frontline staff.

The tensions between Government and public health officials that have arisen at various points over the past 14 months are likely to form part of a public inquiry that is likely to be set up next year.

Government sources said this weekend it will be established once the pandemic has subsided, probably after the winter

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/revealed-text-messages-between-donnelly-and-holohan-show-tension-over-slow-progress-in-antigen-testing-40430358.html

.... I told you so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I called the guards in Kevin Street to shut down a ridiculous outdoor party in Dublin 8 and they sorted it within minutes.

Good stuff!

Well done! You’ve saved countless lives with that action. You can now hold your head high safe in the knowledge that you are so much better than everybody else. Tony Holohan has sent your “I’m a great little boy for doing what I’m told” badge in the post. Thank you for your service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Graham wrote: »
    I see we're still making up the narrative to justify the permarage

I don't know anyone that wants indefinite lockdown.

Except all the people who move the goal posts all the time to constantly justify lockdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Parachutes wrote: »
    Except all the people who move the goal posts all the time to constantly justify lockdowns.

Not least of whom being Tony and NPHET themselves of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Good stuff!

No, not good stuff. You just forced a bunch of people indoors where the virus can now spread much, much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

funnydoggy wrote: »
    No, not good stuff. You just forced a bunch of people indoors where the virus can now spread much, much easier.

No, that’s not what happened.

Those party goers immediately realised the error of their ways, put down the drink, donned a mask, and walk safely home to protect our health service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

Parachutes wrote: »

They've moved the goal posts into the Quantum Realm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Swaine wrote: »
    This.

Leo's redemption in full swing again I see. This 'he isn't perfect but....' stuff is things he loves to see I'm sure. He talks and talks and he gets people believing his bull****. Even this whole 'tuned in' stuff is right of his PR handbook. Make it look like I'm doing something and people will believe that I actually am doing something. I've no idea what things people believe would be different under Leo.

Leo's tactic has always been: Something happens......it was a mistake......Leo sneakily quotes that he may have done it differently......Leo says loads of stuff that he knows himself he won't have to act on or actually do.....People lap it up.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

I imagine most countries will do the same.
    Sweden with their herd immunity/light touch strategy are presently having their second. Their first on care homes didn`t go well for the authorities there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Are Gardaí still doing road checkpoints?

There was one on our road yesterday and for the life of me I hope it was for something else. You can literally travel cross country to chat in someones garden if you want to now. Seems like a massive waste of time and resource.