Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,042 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

So now you admit restaurants are non essential, so no need to differentiate between them and pubs.

If restaurants are "pretty essential" as you previously claimed they could have allowed them stay open during all lockdowns without serving alcohol.

Ok. So I've explained that The 9 euro meal is because that's the threshold for a "substantial meal" and places selling a substantial meal were given priority to open. Now do you now understand where the 9 euro meal fits in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

spurshero wrote: »
    No bother . Anyway as regards June 7 I think ya will see a 11 pm last orders to start with and take it from there. Prob see each table having to be a metre apart and something like 6 max at a table . I would imagine it will be something like that till everybody is vaccinated .

From what I have seen most people are going out early when the weather is a bit warmer and most gone home by 10pm, so 11pm will be fine for outdoors.

I saw pictures of Limerick the other night and pubs on main streets had tables and whiskey barrels directly outside the door with people standing around with no control on group sizes or distancing etc.

If they bring in a rule of 6 I doubt there will be any enforcement considering how many places will be open and from talking to a few cops they are sick of dealing with the curtain twitchers ringing to complain about everything.

Can someone answer me this...... If two people are vaccinated, why can't they sit up to a bar as normal and have their pint and chat? What's the scientific reasoning behind insisting on table service?

How do they demonstrate they're vaccinated? See the vaccination passport thread for all the reasons people have not to introduce a vaccination passport.

Ok. So I've explained that The 9 euro meal is because that's the threshold for a "substantial meal" and places selling a substantial meal were given priority to open. Now do you now understand where the 9 euro meal fits in?

And you claimed the reason they were given priority to open is because they are "pretty essential"

But here we are and every pub and restaurant will be opening together on June 7th.

Restaurants serving alcohol are no more essential than pubs.

As has been suggested here already - the €9 was to slow down pub crawls - that is far more plausible than your so called "explanation"

Now do you understand that your "explanation" does not stand up?

And you claimed the reason they were given priority to open is because they are "pretty essential"

But here we are and every pub and restaurant will be opening together on June 7th.

As has been suggested here already - the €9 was to slow down pub crawls - that is far more plausible than your so called "explanation"

You're getting side-tracked on the gradations of essentialness. Lets leave the word essential aside as it's an absolute term being used to describe something with gradations and it's causing you confusion.

Places primarily selling food were deemed more important than places primarily selling drinks. We know this because dry-led pubs and restaurants were given priority to open when wet-led pubs were not.

The distinction between a dry and wet led pub was established and it centres around the definition of a "substantial meal" (it was defined in the early 2000s as a meal which would be served as a main lunch or evening meal and would reasonably cost no less than €9). So when they decided to open dry led pubs and restaurants the distinction was the ability to serve a €9 meal.

Do you get it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Lads, give it a rest. Pubs are opening soon, let's rejoice! :D

You're wasting your breath. It's called "I want to get the last word in, cover my ears and go tralala". Everyone with more than two brain cells to rub together knows that the €9 meal was to stop Paddy losing the run of himself and to keep traditional publicans from opening their doors. A complete crock that has been discarded because it was discriminatory against publicans without means for cooking food on premises, and on the basis that it was arbitrarily devised nonsense. We've moved on from such mickey mouse shenanigans, government finally sporting their big boy pants. A little over three weeks from now I will be hurtling back the porter in my local, without a plate of onion rings or time constraints to stifle the craic. Chin chin boyos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

There was somebody on here a while back posting lies that pubs with restaurant licences were planning to open and serve no food just drink. And that the €9 rule was introduced for this reason.

Not a lie. In fact alot of the gastropubs don't have a pub license but operate off a restaurant license. Restaurant license permits them to serve alcohol as long as they serve food but they won't be able to have the extended opening hours. Think difference between late bar open till 3am in the city centre vs local pub serving food closing at 12am. I know a publican who owns two 'local' pubs with a pub license in Dublin. When the 9 euro food nonsense was materialising he simply went to the courts, applied for restaurant license to serve food all in a matter of days.

Y
    Places primarily selling food were deemed more important than places primarily selling drinks.

Who "deemed" them more important?

Have you a link to support your "theory"

Didn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Who "deemed" them more important?

Have you a link to support your "theory"

Didn't think so.

Mod

I think you are done in this thread. Any issues with that, PM me. Dont post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,730 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Can someone answer me this...... If two people are vaccinated, why can't they sit up to a bar as normal and have their pint and chat? What's the scientific reasoning behind insisting on table service?

Might be an idea to give the vaccinated a badge? perhaps a gold 'V'pin for vaccination or maybe a 'V 2' to show two vaccinations? Bit like the Fainne, discrete.

Maybe the Vintners would get behind it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,324 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'm guessing indoor hospitality opening in the north from the 24th May will have zero impact on our reopening

The irish government are so naive to think people won't be flocking north spending there money on food/drinks esp from the border counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,252 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I'm guessing indoor hospitality opening in the north from the 24th May will have zero impact on our reopening

The irish government are so naive to think people won't be flocking north spending there money on food/drinks esp from the border counties

No, I think they understand how a common travel area works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,324 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

hynesie08 wrote: »
    No, I think they understand how a common travel area works.

Then why don't we open Hospitality the same time, no because of the Vaccination levels, variants, this that and the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,252 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Then why don't we open Hospitality the same time, no because of the Vaccination levels, variants, this that and the other

Why don't drinks in southern supermarkets cost the same? Why do pubs open later down south? Why is their tayto yellow?

It's almost like they're 2 separate countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

3 lovely pints of Guinness yesterday with splendid sea views. The only disapointing factor is the plastic glass I much prefer the glass glass roll on June21.
    Since when did Portobello have a plaza? Now closed for the 1st time. Like wild camping wild drinking is one of lifes simple pleasures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

pottokblue wrote: »
    3 lovely pints of Guinness yesterday with splendid sea views. The only disapointing factor is the plastic glass I much prefer the glass glass roll on June21.
    Since when did Portobello have a plaza? Now closed for the 1st time. Like wild camping wild drinking is one of lifes simple pleasures.

What's on the 21st of June?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭tina1040

All those people drinking outside in pub car parks need toilets. Are the pubs providing outdoor toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭mightyreds

tina1040 wrote: »
    All those people drinking outside in pub car parks need toilets. Are the pubs providing outdoor toilets?

No they are pissing on streets and in alleyways, it's ridiculous, open the toilets and have a limit allowed in, probably be shut if they did though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

One of the pubs near me is taking bookings ahead of opening their refurbished beer garden on the 7th.

Bit worried that it'll be the common theme and will be hard to get in somewhere now.

[PHP][/PHP]
    Tony might have won a few battles over the past year, but he has the lost the war. The abstinence drive fell short, and I'm not the least bit sorry it failed. As well as any lofty social engineering notions of introducing continental-style drinking, "al fresco" my back passage. The traditional pub will rebound, it is deeply embedded in our culture and cannot be eradicated overnight.

Encountered my local publican yesterday, he has ploughed his remaining few bob into jazzing up the interior...a simple canopy suffices for temporary beer garden squeeze. It's all systems go in a few weeks time, and by July it will be a case of "Tony who?". Demand very much there, car parks were hotspots for takeaway pints & chatter over the weekend. Punters are itching to embrace a bit of normality again.

Vradkar as bad too. How they ever thought tapas and a glass of wine would work here was beyond me. They were never going to be able to force it forever.

One of the pubs near me is taking bookings ahead of opening their refurbished beer garden on the 7th.

Bit worried that it'll be the common theme and will be hard to get in somewhere now.

The good old Irish gouge, following their brothers in the hotels. Don’t be surprised to see cover charges soon.

We’re going to have a “post covid” gouge in this country across the board in the hospitality industry until at least 2023. Or longer if they can get away with it.

Inevitable, with many traditional publicans unable to open. Effectively funneling people into a handful of beer gardens. Genius logic of our leaders, if all pubs reopened at once there wouldn't be an issue of overcrowding. Inadvertently creating the very thing they are trying to avoid. All this jostling for space, driving demand which a few opportunists will exploit. My publican knows his regulars, he confirmed they receive priority in the beginning. Any canny operators trying to introduce extra charges on pints get named and shamed, in a small town there's no hiding space for that kind of carry on. I've never booked an evening for liquid refreshment, and never will. Strolling in the door on spur of the moment, if that isn't good enough there's another watering hole up the street.

I have heard there would be some support for a vaccinated pub opening. Generally 0ver 50's soon (the main pub goers) just show your vaccine pass at the door. Try it even as a pilot (I think it has worked abroad) and would act as an incentive for others to take the vaccine.

Carbman wrote: »
    Listen Chief. Indoor Pubs will open in July. If the over 50 alco's can't wait until then they can go to hell

That's a very dog in the manger attitude. It would include health workers and others who have been vaccinated. Also more will be added in time. The risks would be minimal so why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭aziz

saabsaab wrote: »
    I have heard there would be some support for a vaccinated pub opening. Generally 0ver 50's soon (the main pub goers) just show your vaccine pass at the door. Try it even as a pilot (I think it has worked abroad) and would act as an incentive for others to take the vaccine.

As if a pub owner,manager or staff will tell unvaccinated regulars to take a hike.
    Dream on

Carbman wrote: »
    Just tell them to buy a few cans and wait till July.

Afterall, Chief, we're all in this together

Why? A vaccine bonus would be useful. Just because some couldn't doesn't mean that others can't. Bit like saying because I can afford a new Tesla I shouldn't get one because others can't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭PommieBast

aziz wrote: »
    As if a pub owner,manager or staff will tell unvaccinated regulars to take a hike.
    Dream on
    Even without the turning of blind eyes I have doubts about the enforcability. How would anyone know if my NHS vaccination card is even genuine or not..

PommieBast wrote: »
    Even without the turning of blind eyes I have doubts about the enforcability. How would anyone know if my NHS vaccination card is even genuine or not..

HSE surely? Signed by a local Doctor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭PommieBast

saabsaab wrote: »
    HSE surely? Signed by a local Doctor?
    I'm getting jabbed in the UK Monday week.