Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

OOnegative wrote: »

I hope you’re not suggesting I have my tongue up TbL’s arse! Credit where it’s due. And I’m glad he noticed the abseiling comments the last time out and corrected admirably. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Murph_D wrote: »
    I hope you’re not suggesting I have my tongue up TbL’s arse! Credit where it’s due. And I’m glad he noticed the abseiling comments the last time out and corrected admirably. :)

Not at all, I just don’t like seeing him getting praise. His head is big enough!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Thats great running! Do you think the unintentional taper might have helped? You keep giving the shoes a lot of credit but they are probably not worth more than 20 seconds tops. I'd be taking credit for the PB if I was you. :)

Have you genuine worries about a physical reaction?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Thats great running! Do you think the unintentional taper might have helped? You keep giving the shoes a lot of credit but they are probably not worth more than 20 seconds tops. I'd be taking credit for the PB if I was you. :)

Have you genuine worries about a physical reaction?

Thanks S

I’ve spondylolisthesis (where one of your discs detaches and slips out onto the nerves) and it’s not generally advised to run with it. Two years ago there were days I couldn’t walk it was so bad but I went through a rehab program and it settled down.

The last few weeks have been rough as it’s been irritating me a fair bit.

It’s strange coz after a hard session it generally feels great but after a few days it appears to get inflamed and flare. The nerve pain can be anywhere from my arse to my toes!

I really want to have a crack at one more marathon cycle but it’s a head melt trying to keep the ship afloat and mentally trying knowing that I might have to give up at any point.

It feels better today than any day this week but that might just be the calm before the storm!

I’ve a functional movement assessment next week (had one previously from a poster on here but he’s too far away for frequent visits) and hopefully I’ll get a program that help limit the stress on the back.

If I ever do manage a sub 3 I’ll happily go out to pasture :)

The taper was probably balanced by the total lack of session quality recently tbh.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

This prospective pacing gig of mine just keeps getting faster and faster! By the time restrictions are lifted sufficiently for us to do something, you'll probably be racing me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Thanks S

I’ve spondylolisthesis (where one of your discs detaches and slips out onto the nerves) and it’s not generally advised to run with it. Two years ago there were days I couldn’t walk it was so bad but I went through a rehab program and it settled down.

The last few weeks have been rough as it’s been irritating me a fair bit.

It’s strange coz after a hard session it generally feels great but after a few days it appears to get inflamed and flare. The nerve pain can be anywhere from my arse to my toes!

I really want to have a crack at one more marathon cycle but it’s a head melt trying to keep the ship afloat and mentally trying knowing that I might have to give up at any point.

It feels better today than any day this week but that might just be the calm before the storm!

I’ve a functional movement assessment next week (had one previously from a poster on here but he’s too far away for frequent visits) and hopefully I’ll get a program that help limit the stress on the back.

If I ever do manage a sub 3 I’ll happily go out to pasture :)

The taper was probably balanced by the total lack of session quality recently tbh.

TbL

Yeah I have read your backstory and what you are doing now is properly impressive. I just wasn't sure whether something that was hard on the legs, heart and lungs would also stress the back more than other runs. Gimme a year and I'll try for that sub 3 as well :D

Not much happening this week and I’m taking that as a positive. Body was no worse after the 5k TT than it was the week before and was probably in a bit better nick.

Lots of sea swimming, foam rolling, stretching and easy miles was the theme for the week

Mon: very easy 5k

Tue: 10k with work running buddy, enjoy these runs as I can have normal conversations rather than having to entertain the madness that runs through my brain when I’m out solo. 6.4 miles @ 7.53

Wed: easy 5k around the pitch

Thur: had an early morning start as I was driving to Dublin to get a Functional Movement assessment. Was very happy with this as he identified a number of areas that need serious correction and a few things where we can get quick wins. Have a few basic exercises to start and an appointment every month for the foreseeable. Had some serious car battery range anxiety on the way back and the monitor was telling me I’d only 12k left in the battery before I got to Athlone to charge! Got home a bit frayed but got another easy 5k done.

Fri: I don’t usually run early in the morning but I’d the physioterrorist at 10 am and she told me she’d be zulu needling me so there’d be no running for 24 hours! Same easy 5k loop as Thurs

Sat: didn’t get up till after 1pm after going back to bed after walking the dog just after
    7am!! Watched Stoke lose abysmally to QPR, and wasn’t in the best of humour heading out. Had planned on doing 4 miles @ HM pace. Easy two mile warm up followed by 4 miles 6.54; 6.52; 6.48, & 6.46. Effort level felt very high for 4 poxy miles :( Easy mile to cool down, 7 miles in total

Sun: 8 miles nice and easy on Seanadhpheistin.

Feel a bit better this week now that I’ve a bit of structure, focus and a plan. I’ve decide to do the Hanson Advanced HM plan for Antrim half at the end of August. (Thanks to Phisto for the plan and documents and Ferris for the pointers). I might have to trim off some of the miles but I’ll see how it goes. I’m going to try and be aggressive and try for 6.40 average for the half.

I’ll spend the next 3 weeks working on strengthening the body and maybe see if I can land a 5 or 10k race.

I’ve also run now everyday for the last 6 months

TbL

Excellent. I had very good results from that HM plan a few years ago and found it transitioned excellently into some marathon work too. Read the book though - don't just rely on the schedules. Ferris probably told you that too. :p Best of luck with it.

Thanks D.

There’s a book...???

TbL

Hanson’s Half Marathon Method. You’ll find it in most online bookshops. You can also get a more customised plan and online coaching from http://lukehumphreyrunning.com if that’s more your thing - not sure how it works normally but might be worth checking out if book training isn’t your thing. I’d still read the book though.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭MrMacPhisto

Hanson’s Half Marathon Method. You’ll find it in most online bookshops. You can also get a more customised plan and online coaching from http://lukehumphreyrunning.com if that’s more your thing - not sure how it works normally but might be worth checking out if book training isn’t your thing. I’d still read the book though.

The books are well worth a read, however I think all the main details are in the info booklet I sent ya. The books are a padded out version of that. It would be no harm buying a hard copy of the latest version of the marathon or half book too read at your leisure and to dip in and out of.

I found Humphrey's training pace and race predictor calculator pretty useful. It provides an easy way to see the target paces for the specific Hanson workout paces (speed, strength, tempo). I would also have a look at his blog on the website, he explains (in a boring monotone way) some of the workouts, which can fill in some of the grey areas.

One of those grey areas for me was the Sunday run. Sometimes it would say LR and sometimes ER. He suggests that the ER version should start at EASY pace and finish closer to MODERATE. And the LR days should start at MODERATE pace and finishing closer to the prescribed LONG RUN pace.

https://lukehumphreyrunning.com/hmmcalculator/race_equivalency_calculator.php

Best of luck with the plan, I hope it serves you well :)

The books are well worth a read, however I think all the main details are in the info booklet I sent ya. The books are a padded out version of that. It would be no harm buying a hard copy of the latest version of the marathon or half book too read at your leisure and to dip in and out of.

I found Humphrey's training pace and race predictor calculator pretty useful. It provides an easy way to see the target paces for the specific Hanson workout paces (speed, strength, tempo). I would also have a look at his blog on the website, he explains (in a boring monotone way) some of the workouts, which can fill in some of the grey areas.

One of those grey areas for me was the Sunday run. Sometimes it would say LR and sometimes ER. He suggests that the ER version should start at EASY pace and finish closer to MODERATE. And the LR days should start at MODERATE pace and finishing closer to the prescribed LONG RUN pace.

https://lukehumphreyrunning.com/hmmcalculator/race_equivalency_calculator.php

Best of luck with the plan, I hope it serves you well :)

Thanks K, that calculator and the attendant paces was very helpful. Predicts a 3.01 marathon for me :)

Tang has kindly just posted me the HM book too.

This place is very helpful, anyone got spare legs :)

TbL

Nothing exciting this week, I made a conscious decision to drop any session and concentrate on trying to slowly build up the mileage, in advance of starting the HM plan in a few weeks. This weeks target was 40 miles.

After my recent functional movement assessment I got the video clips of me “running” on one of those self propelled treadmill yokes. It was like an X rated horror movie, I’d expected I’d be closer to PG after all the work I’ve put in, but I’ve a long way to go :(

Mon: 5k very easy

Tue: didn’t want to go out today, really not in the humour. Headed up to the pitch and listening to the Doors helped me get 4 miles easy done

Wed: work buddy 10k @ 7.47 pace. Was surprisingly tired and lethargic after this.

Thur: just over 5 miles easy, the young lad provided a bike escort to keep me company

Fri: 6 miles easy with my daughter.

Sat: 7 miles round and around the pitch

Sun: didn’t feel great with an upset stomach when I got up, but got 8 miles easy done @ 8.30.

45 miles target for next week

TbL

X-rated...... Send videos please!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Was just thinking was he not supposed to wear shorts for the treadmill run!

Now all the pointing and sniggering makes sense...:)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

So, if I have this right, B is asking to see xrated videos of TBL?

Nothing new in that A!!!!

Don’t know what you’re on about, you starred in the movie :)

TbL

So two different news stories this week confirmed what I already suspected, the worlds gone mad:

“Anal breathing, researchers hope to test it in humans”, no if this was in some obscure science paper it mightn’t cost you a though but this was on the State media’s website!!! Apparently rats and certain sea creatures can breath through their anus and there might be benefits to humans being able to replicate that. I seriously doubt that, Tangs been talking out his arse for years with no benefit to humanity :)
    Penny’s appointment slots being sold for €300, sweet Jesus are people really that naive/daft! Isn’t the place open properly tomorrow and wouldn’t you have been able to buy half their stock with €300 rather than give someone €300 for a 45 minute sweep around Penny’s. It’s not exactly a Harrods VIP shopping experience:(

Anyway back to reality.

This week I wanted to increase the mileage to at least 45 miles and add in a session.

All very easy running and got a double 6.5/3.5 miles done on Wednesday

Had to can the session on Saturday because of a tight and slightly swollen vastus med, so I took advantage of the good weather and the back behaving to get 10 easy miles done @ 9.30 pace.

On Sunday I headed out with my daughter for 5 miles and as I was feeling ok I decide to continue on and get my first back to back double digit run done in years. 10 @ 9.14 with the second half averaged about 8.30.

Very happy with the way the week went with just under 52 miles.

Just need to be able to incorporate some speed work. The mileage will probably drop over the next two weeks and I’ll try some faster stuff

TbL

Mental few weeks, the company I work for was going through the end phases of a buyout and I was incredibly busy. Running has seen zero quality in fact I haven’t run fast since the 5k TT :(

The only upside is the body feels the best it has in ages and my easy pace is coming down. I’m hoping to get a session done on Wednesday (negative PCR test permitting) and use it as the first session for my 12 week HM plan.

Mon 17th: post physioterrorist bashing 4m recovery was very tender

Tue: pre jab jog 5 m @ 8.24

Wed: post jab 6.5m @ 8.05

Thur: was up and down to Dublin (another functional movement session) was very tired and stiff so only managed a 5k recovery

Fri: enjoyable 5 m plod.

Sat: 6m easy jog @ 8.33

Sun: had to drive into Galway to get a PCR test. My god the woman doing it must have been having a bad day, she swabbed my throat sticking the swab into my tonsils and then stuck it so far up my nose I’d swear my eyeballs bulged!!! I looked like Marty Feldman and it was seriously unpleasant.

Drove to Dangan and got 5.45 easy miles @8.33 done, nice day for it.

Loads of boy racers converged in Salthill and as I was driving home someone must have taken a picture because my car appeared on their Facebook page “Salthill Sunday’s.” I was getting the absolute piss pulled outta me and one of my friends dropped a furry dice up to the house for me :)

Mon: up at 4am to drive to Belfast for work, was staying overnight in the Merchant hotel. Was great to be able to have a relatively normal meal indoors in a restaurant rather than sitting in my car with a styrofoam box of takeaway!! Managed to get just over 4 miles done along the river.

Tue: had to be up early as I was flying to Italy for work, got another 3 miles easy done around 5.30 am. I’d parked in a public car park across from the hotel and when I went over to get the car the place was locked up, 30 minutes later I got the car but the stress levels were high and I almost missed my flight as I had to also stop to charge the car. Was surprised how busy the flight was. Had thought I might try another run but by the time I got to the hotel I was zonked and just hit the scratcher.

Wed: lovely and warm and sunny in Milan. In between meetings I got a small jogging map from the hotel concierge and headed to Giardini Indro Montanelli, a small park about 1.5k away from the hotel. You’ve to wear masks outside in Italy but can take them off while running! I got to the park with only a couple of hitches and there was a fair few runners out and about. There were numerous entrances/exits to the park and I obviously took the wrong one out coz I got completely lost and as a result the run was very stop/start. 10k easy.

Had another PCR test and while not pleasant at least she didn’t loosen my eyeballs!!

I also changed hotels for the night moving to what was supposedly one of the best hotels in Milan, The Bvlgari. I had a decent lunch al fresco there and we had a 17 course tasting menu for the evening meal. The hotel was ridiculously expensive and completely underwhelming :(

Thur: back to the Hyatt hotel and another easy 4 miles around the park. Put the phone in one of the hotels sanitary bags and used Google maps to get back!

Had a really really good meal out in a restaurant recommended by the hotel, the food was fantastic although not eating carbs and having to forego some of the pasta dishes my colleagues were gorging on was tough!

Fri: woke up and my neck and right shoulder was rigid. On the way to a meeting on Thursday the taxi driver slapped on the brakes and swerved to avoid another car, I could feel a little jarring in my neck but thought no more about it, but I knew all bout it on Friday!

I decided that after a nice breakfast on the hotels rooftop that I’d try a run in Parc Sempione that was established in 1888. It was further away that the other park but looked much bigger. Took me a half an hour to walk there and while it was a beautiful setting for a run and the place was full of runners I absolutely despised every second of this run and it took ever ounce of willpower to even get to 5k (very easy). Slow 30 mins walk back to the hotel.

The Milanese are such a stylish people and the food is superb but the city is a **** hole, it’s filthy dirty, the roads and paths are like a 3rd world country’s and the drivers are obnoxious dangerous dicks! There’s also very limited running options although I don’t remember things were as bad the last time I was there but I wouldn’t be rushing back!

Sat: home isolation (and another antigen test) meant over 30 laps of the tarred path around the back garden to get 5k done :(

Sun: same as above just ran the other direction

Mon: same as above just changed direction half way :)

TbL

100% agree with you on Milan, food was absolutely superb anywhere we ate but it was filthy dirty. I ran in Parco Lambro most of the week we were there, any solid structure(bin, bench, bridge etc) was destroyed with graffiti. The lovely river running through it was completely filled with plastic bags or shopping trolleys.

Himself and myself done a tour of the San Siro one day, area around it was completely desolate and run down. But for some reason I enjoyed the visit as did herself, easily please a man from the bog & a farmer’s daughter!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Jaysus it's the life of Riley you have;)

That’s the Bvlgari off my list anyway. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Sat: home isolation (and another antigen test) meant over 30 laps of the tarred path around the back garden to get 5k done :(

TbL

Great to see these updates - normality slowly coming back.

You must have been only been using the East wing of the Garden??

Great to see these updates - normality slowly coming back.

You must have been only been using the East wing of the Garden??

Indeed A, unfortunately the pool was being extended and the tennis court being relaid on the West wing :)

TbL

Week 1/12 of Hanson’s HM plan.

Already I know, I won’t be able for the plans mileage, I’ll need to trim back some easy run mileage. I’m cutting it fine, I’d hope to give myself 13-14 weeks for this if I needed a step back week. I’m not as fit as I thought I was and I’ve no stamina. Apart from that all good :)

Mon: quarantine 5k around the garden

Tue: quarantine 5k the other way around the garden.

Wed: plan was 3 mile wu/cd with 3 x 1 miles at 5-10k pace off 800m jog. There was no way on gods earth I would be able for this at 5k pace so I settled on around 6.30. Did this on the trails in Dangan to lessen the impact on the back and I’ll probably try and do all the faster sessions in there.

Did a 1.5 mile warm up and hit the mile around the double pitch. Was fairly happy with this as it’s been weeks and weeks since I’ve done any faster stuff.

Splits 6.26, 6.28 & 6.23

Total 7.3m

Thur: was up in Dublin for another functional movement session. Morto, got ditched by the running cat walk model for two wrinkley OAP’s :) so didn’t get to run till I got back home and I was tired.

5k easy.

These sessions seem to be helping and a simple readjustment to my pelvic position has reduced my pain by about 20%

Fri: 10k with a work buddy @ 7.56, felt surprisingly good.

Sat: back to earth with a bag. Plan was for 3 wu/cd with 4 miles at HM pace. I’m aiming high for Antrim and hoping to average 6.40 pace, but if this was anything to go by I’m way off! Never comfortable and completely caved towards the end. After the 4 miles I actually walked in shock for a bit.

Splits: 6.51; 6.46; 7.00 & 7.03

Slow miserable plod home thinking I’m doomed! 7 miles in total

Sun: plan was for 12 mile LR. Would have been happy anything above 10 but I managed the 12 ok. Lovely day for it.

12 miles @ 8.26

42 miles for the week.

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Ooh another Hanson plan :) Good start, getting through it. You will get stronger and believe a bit more that you can do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Diablo Verde

Sat: back to earth with a bag. Plan was for 3 wu/cd with 4 miles at HM pace. I’m aiming high for Antrim and hoping to average 6.40 pace, but if this was anything to go by I’m way off! Never comfortable and completely caved towards the end. After the 4 miles I actually walked in shock for a bit.

Splits: 6.51; 6.46; 7.00 & 7.03

Slow miserable plod home thinking I’m doomed! 7 miles in total

The very same thing happened to me the first time I did this plan. Got about 3 miles in and I was done. Almost came to an absolute standstill at that point. I was pissed of with myself but just got the head down for a few weeks after that and kept going with the plan. The next time I went at it, I nailed the session and haven't really looked back since. Sometimes things are just off.

Thanks DV, I think the next 3 weeks have 5 miles @ HM pace and I’ll need to see improvement from a confidence perspective.

Completely surprised me given I managed the faster session comfortably enough, just seems like I’ve currently no stamina!

TbL