Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am looking for ( x ) in Galway city&county

• Registered Users Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Anyone know of a place that does fridge repairs? Specifically repairing / replacing the compressor and re-gassing the system.

I have tried a few places but they can’t repair the compressor. Been told it’s not worth doing? The fridge is only 4 years old, door was left open for few days and burned out the compressor. I’ve tried all of the usual fixes, unplugging, leave open door and restart etc etc. Nothing has worked.

It’s part of a set, matching tall freezer beside it and they have stopped making this style to I can’t just replace the fridge part as they won’t match. Need to have it repaired.

You could try the lads at Pre Loved Appliances on the Tuam Road.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭houseyhouse

Anyone know of a place that does fridge repairs? Specifically repairing / replacing the compressor and re-gassing the system.

I have tried a few places but they can’t repair the compressor. Been told it’s not worth doing? The fridge is only 4 years old, door was left open for few days and burned out the compressor. I’ve tried all of the usual fixes, unplugging, leave open door and restart etc etc. Nothing has worked.

It’s part of a set, matching tall freezer beside it and they have stopped making this style to I can’t just replace the fridge part as they won’t match. Need to have it repaired.

I can't help with the repair question, but you could try looking at adverts.ie, done deal FB marketplace etc to see if anybody is selling the same fridge secondhand. Sometimes people sell them relatively new. Then you could either replace the whole thing or use the one you buy to get the parts you need

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭StonedRaider

I know someone but it's not going to be cheap. Minimum €100 not including parts. Pm if you're interested

• Registered Users Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Looking for a larger-than-normal capacity deep fat fryer. looking for 1.5 liter food capacity or larger if possible.

Cheers,
    Pa.

dinneenp wrote: »
    Looking for a larger-than-normal capacity deep fat fryer. looking for 1.5 liter food capacity or larger if possible.

Cheers,
    Pa.

Try Tommy Vardens on the Tuam rd, they do all sorts of catering equipment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

I know someone but it's not going to be cheap. Minimum €100 not including parts. Pm if you're interested

Thanks, PM sent

I can't help with the repair question, but you could try looking at adverts.ie, done deal FB marketplace etc to see if anybody is selling the same fridge secondhand. Sometimes people sell them relatively new. Then you could either replace the whole thing or use the one you buy to get the parts you need

I've been looking believe me. Even tried Amazon / Ebay. Got my hopes up with one seller until I copped he was in Bulgaria..... I'll use a block of ice and a hole in the ground before I get that desperate for an exact replacement :D

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Saz2020

Can anyone recommend places to print pictures. Need to print some pics of land. Any standard ones will do. My printer has caved it so cant print. Need them for Thursday.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Saz2020 wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend places to print pictures. Need to print some pics of land. Any standard ones will do. My printer has caved it so cant print. Need them for Thursday.

Jaycee print on abbeygate street were open recently and did a print for my partner from her phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Saz2020

Jaycee print on abbeygate street were open recently and did a print for my partner from her phone.

Thank you so much.will check them out tomorrow x

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Issac

Boots on the Headford road have a printing station as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,732 ✭✭✭✭zell12

zell12 wrote: »
    How much do Chat&Net charge for printing A4 sheets?
    Libraries are closed for a while yet
    They appear to be charging minimum e1/page now?
    https://chatandnet.com/product/printing-online/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Does anyone know of any chiropodists who are working/open currently?(city or close by)

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

Bredabe wrote: »
    Does anyone know of any chiropodists who are working/open currently?(city or close by)

Athenry, Linda O'Connell. You can book online.
    https://www.lindaoconnellpodiatry.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭snoopy84

Bredabe wrote:

Barna is open

• Registered Users Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭xckjoo

I've been looking believe me. Even tried Amazon / Ebay. Got my hopes up with one seller until I copped he was in Bulgaria..... I'll use a block of ice and a hole in the ground before I get that desperate for an exact replacement :D
    Have you tried Des Kavanagh? Had him out for a few appliances before and found him very good and straight talking. He said he could fix the washing machine but it wouldn't be worth it cost wise. If you're determined to get it fixed he's probably the man to talk to.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭Gatica

bump

I have quotes from 2 builders now. I would love to get another recommendation to get a better comparison...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't bump threads please.
    Merged with big Looking For thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Stevolende

Somewhere to recycle cardboard and plastic bottles.
    I have accumulated cardboard boxes for a while thinking I would find a way of disposing of it ethically preferably recycling. is there anywhere that does that in Galway? Just seeing Liosban estate saying they don't. Been things like flattened boxes for computer peripherals and things.

Also not happy that I continually send plastic bottles to landfill is there any other way of disposing of them. Anybody else reuse them like Filling Station does? I just think everybody had the same idea re Filing Station so they have a backlog of bottles already, or is that surplus

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Former Coach

Anybody know of anywhere in Galway that will refill Sodastream gas canisters ?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stevolende wrote: »
    I have accumulated cardboard boxes for a while thinking I would find a way of disposing of it ethically preferably recycling. is there anywhere that does that in Galway? Just seeing Liosban estate saying they don't. Been things like flattened boxes for computer peripherals and things.

Also not happy that I continually send plastic bottles to landfill is there any other way of disposing of them. Anybody else reuse them like Filling Station does? I just think everybody had the same idea re Filing Station so they have a backlog of bottles already, or is that surplus
    Possibly https://www.citybin.com/for-home/drop-off/, ring and ask.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Green bin??

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

Citybin was mentioned and I can confirm that I have brought cardboard there for recycling. They have big separated bins, general waste, recyling, timber, WEEE items, metal, building waste, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭Bredabe

There are some on-street bins that take plastic bottles, I noticed quite a few in the nuig campus on the busypark side of the gym(kingfisher?) I was told they are used for raw materials.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

xckjoo wrote: »
    Have you tried Des Kavanagh? Had him out for a few appliances before and found him very good and straight talking. He said he could fix the washing machine but it wouldn't be worth it cost wise. If you're determined to get it fixed he's probably the man to talk to.

I’ve tried them all. Tried repair shops, specialist refrigeration repair companies, handy men etc.

Everyone is telling me it’s not worth repairing! Or if I do chances are it will fail again in a few months.

So that’s a roughly 4 year old whirlpool larder fridge I spent 650 quid on going on the scrap heap plus it’s matching freezer as they are a set. So the guts of 1300 quid gone up in smoke. Thank Christ we didn’t get the Smeg/smug units herself was eyeballing at the time. I think that fridge alone was over 2 grand.

Will be visiting a lot of Electrical shops at the weekend :rolleyes:

Pray for me....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

I’ve tried them all. Tried repair shops, specialist refrigeration repair companies, handy men etc.

Everyone is telling me it’s not worth repairing! Or if I do chances are it will fail again in a few months.

So that’s a roughly 4 year old whirlpool larder fridge I spent 650 quid on going on the scrap heap plus it’s matching freezer as they are a set. So the guts of 1300 quid gone up in smoke. Thank Christ we didn’t get the Smeg/smug units herself was eyeballing at the time. I think that fridge alone was over 2 grand.

Pray for me....

Try to sell the freezer. Somebody might want a second one for the utility and some people don't care whether appliances match.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭ratracer

Pray for me....

Can’t really help out on the repairs, other than what has already been suggested. Are your appliances integrated? If so you have more options as the cabinet size is pretty standard in most kitchens.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭dinneenp

You could try the lads at Pre Loved Appliances on the Tuam Road.

+1 if you haven't tried there yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

I hear ya when you think of something going to landfill especially when you haven't gotten the years our of it you feel you should have. We talk about being green but the world's throwaway culture is shocking. Recently the gas lift in my office chair (WFH) started sinking. I've had it 5 years so some would think nothing of replacing it. However it's quite a good chair and everything else works. Got a replacement gas cylinder off amazon and a few youtube videos later I fixed it for < 20 quid.

Unfortunately your situation is probably more complicated. All I can think of is if there are any pre-owned appliance stores. I have to imagine these guys know every trick in the book to milk some money from these things. There used to be one in briarhill and there seems to be another on the tuam rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭mitsuko045

Anybody know of anywhere in Galway that will refill Sodastream gas canisters ?

Expert electrical in the Galway Shopping centre have Soda Streams for sale. There's a good chance they'll have the gas cannisters too.