Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we have some fcuking control on the airports from high risk countries please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Jesus. Worst thing about the pandemic is that it’s shown how many people think like this

Mostly statement of fact fella. Can't remember too many standing up for the punters at Golfgate - same thing. Cost a couple of people their positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,603 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

and

• passengers who travel from another country to Ireland, and arrive via Northern Ireland, must also observe the mandatory quarantine regime
    • you may only leave your place of residence during the quarantine period for unavoidable reasons of an emergency nature to protect a person’s health or welfare, or to leave the State
    • you can end your period of quarantine if you receive written confirmation of a ‘non-detected’ RT-PCR test result taken no less than 5 days after arrival. You must retain the written confirmation of your test result for at least 14 days
    What do you mean by details though?

Regarding the last point they could state that we have to pay for the PCR ourselves, which I believe is the case, that one is a bit vague.

this is what I was looking for https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/self-isolation/how-to-self-isolate.html self isolate if if you arrived into Ireland from a high risk country

doesn't mention anything regarding those who are vaccinated, or have PCR test, (or take another one), or are coming from a country that was high risk until they changed their mind a few days into your MHQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Professional athletes will be exempt from internment - RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Im aware of the differences. Does not change the fact that there is still a challenge before the courts does it?

Not sure it makes a huge difference, the law doesn’t mention PCR or Vaccination afaik, you come in form country x go to quarantine, that is the issue whether it is proportional or not, it’s the law that’s being challenged in judicial review and effectively the trial of the individual is suspended until it is determined whether the law is constitutional. If other people have been given exemptions etc it might undermine the Government case even more as it will be seen to be arbitrary something the higher courts may not like. Lone parents from the inner city are equal before the law to millionaire golfers under our constitution

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Mostly statement of fact fella. Can't remember too many standing up for the punters at Golfgate - same thing. Cost a couple of people their positions.

Golfgate = going to your own wedding and doing MHQ upon return

Ooooookaaay, mate

I think my statement stands! There is some serious cognitive dissonance on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Jaysus that is a bit harsh. Is he not allowed to travel? Seems like the person is doing everything they can do to be safe. I don't think it's a good idea to escalate by telling his employer.

I've personally refrained from telling on other people through out this. It's hard enough on everyone. Also watching line of duty has put me off it. :pac:

giphy.gif

Stephen Donnelly is H!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Golfgate = going to your own wedding and doing MHQ upon return

Ooooookaaay, mate

I think my statement stands! There is some serious cognitive dissonance on this thread

They're totally comparable - breaking rules around travel.

I do agree about the cognitive dissonance.

The quarantine is neither here nor there - shouldn't be traveling outside of their 20km never mind the country. Disgraceful.

And they'd want to check the terms of their employment. People have been terminated for less.

No, no they haven't. A ridiculous statement.

Nope, no one was sacked from their job. You realise there is a difference between a politician stepping down and an employee being dismissed?
    mmclo wrote: »
    Not sure it makes a huge difference, the law doesn’t mention PCR or Vaccination afaik, you come in form country x go to quarantine, that is the issue whether it is proportional or not, it’s the law that’s being challenged in judicial review and effectively the trial of the individual is suspended until it is determined whether the law is constitutional. If other people have been given exemptions etc it might undermine the Government case even more as it will be seen to be arbitrary something the higher courts may not like. Lone parents from the inner city are equal before the law to millionaire golfers under our constitution

Not sure why you are telling me this. It was another user talking about that stuff. I just pointed out that there's still a challenge before the courts.

RTE saying Erasmus students will have their internment fee paid for by the state.

Farce.

RTE saying Erasmus students will have their internment fee paid for by the state.

Farce.

Good. They were told they had to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The reaction of some of the more “conservative” people here is a disgrace. That poor man, fully vaccinated and with negative tests, effectively interned for no good reason. Had to bring our country to court to see his dying father.

And lick arses saying “oh, it has to be done”. Bollix. It’s been a long year and there’s been a lot of sacrifice and lot of Golfgate-esque nonsense. Everyone is tired. But people’s willingness to wield the power of the state against an innocent family warrants a kick up the rear end. Yer man’s not John Gilligan ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

this is what I was looking for https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/self-isolation/how-to-self-isolate.html self isolate if if you arrived into Ireland from a high risk country

doesn't mention anything regarding those who are vaccinated, or have PCR test, (or take another one), or are coming from a country that was high risk until they changed their mind a few days into your MHQ

Now this is even more interesting, so gov.ie says you need to quarantine but the hse page says restrict your movements. So I can go out and exercise.
    These departments really need to get their sh!t together, communicate, and get on the same page.

Good. They were told they had to go
    whats it been like for Eramus students this past year?

Now this is even more interesting, so gov.ie says you need to quarantine but the hse page says restrict your movements. So I can go out and exercise.
    These departments really need to get their sh!t together, communicate, and get on the same page.
    no it tells you to self -isolate

restricting your movements is this page https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/managing-coronavirus-at-home/if-you-live-with-someone-who-has-coronavirus.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

"You do not need to self-isolate if you arrive in Ireland from a country that is not on the high-risk list and have no symptoms. But you may need to restrict your movements."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,417 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Farce.

I am delighted for the students individually, not fair they have to pay to come back in when they weren't aware of these detention centres before they left.

The way it's been implemented is a farce, MHQ will be the sword this gov falls on IMO.

I am delighted for the students individually, not fair they have to pay to come back in when they weren't aware of these detention centres before they left.

The way it's been implemented is a farce, MHQ will be the sword this gov falls on IMO.

I agree. Maybe that’s why FG stood by and let Donnelly have his ‘win’. They knew it would turn into a sh1tshow and they’ve made sure it’s on FF. Donnelly was even talking about quotas for entry into the state FFS

The reaction of some of the more “conservative” people here is a disgrace. That poor man, fully vaccinated and with negative tests, effectively interned for no good reason. Had to bring our country to court to see his dying father.

And lick arses saying “oh, it has to be done”. Bollix. It’s been a long year and there’s been a lot of sacrifice and lot of Golfgate-esque nonsense. Everyone is tired. But people’s willingness to wield the power of the state against an innocent family warrants a kick up the rear end. Yer man’s not John Gilligan ffs.

Imagine that your relative innocently comes into contact with the vaccinated, Covid free traveller and comes down with Covid.
    I believe that it’s best to err on the side of caution.
    There have been many dying parents whose children couldn’t be with them in their final hours, even though they live just down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,417 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

I agree. Maybe that’s why FG stood by and let Donnelly have his ‘win’. They knew it would turn into a sh1tshow and they’ve made sure it’s on FF. Donnelly was even talking about quotas for entry into the state FFS

Absolutely.

It's why IMO Varadkar let MM 'go first' in the coalition, he knew he'd fúck up and FG can swoop in when things are better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Imagine that your relative innocently comes into contact with the vaccinated, Covid free traveller and comes down with Covid.
    I believe that it’s best to err on the side of caution.
    There have been many dying parents whose children couldn’t be with them in their final hours, even though they live just down the road.

Can’t the relative come into contact with someone In Tesco tomorrow?

Has that someone just flown in from a red listed country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Has that someone just flown in from a red listed country?

Maybe or maybe not but they also may have been at a house party in Woodies in Costa coffee who knows!

Deflection, M’Lud. The great unwashed demanded quarantine at point of arrival. This was granted and they’re still revolting. Either we have quarantine or we don’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭Economics101

The concession to Erasmus students is no doubt the decent thing to do, given their likely personal and financial circumstances. However watch out for the next hard-done group to lobby for "free-fees" quarantine.
    What has always been a farcical policy will end up being another immense drain on the Irish Exchequer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭bluelamp

That's very misleading... In the below article somebody came back from holidays and didn't restrict ​movements resulting in 56 individuals in ten households and a sports team contracting Covid-19. So technically less than 2% of the cases (the 1 man of the 56) were accounted as travel and the other 55 were recorded as community transmission - as were the cases that the other 55 passed on

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1019/1172407-covid-19-midwest/

That article is also misleading in fairness - it in no way represents the current risk.

That flight was before masks were mandatory, before pre departure testing, before arrivals testing, and before vaccines.

Whatever risk was present at that point in time, is now miniscule in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The concession to Erasmus students is no doubt the decent thing to do, given their likely personal and financial circumstances. However watch out for the next hard-done group to lobby for "free-fees" quarantine.
    What has always been a farcical policy will end up being another immense drain on the Irish Exchequer.
    Considering the money we're borrowing, we might as well pay for everyone's quarantine.

Another court case tonight involving a woman interned who has a sick mother. She wants to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

Considering the money we're borrowing, we might as well pay for everyone's quarantine.

As quarantine is for the benefit of the state shouldnt the state pay people to quarantine ?

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Farce.

I think the more worrying thing is that night be a sign of this lasting a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Another court case tonight involving a woman interned who has a sick mother. She wants to get out.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1381724001014325255