Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

lawred2 wrote: »
    "variants can overcome vaccines"

Is that a valid challenge to anything given what is known right now?

In your opinion!

TBH my opinion would not really be relevant.

That answers would have be driven by data, have the main vaccine companies published data on the current dominant variants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

robbiezero wrote: »
    They could have been started a month ago.
    That article on the tiny percentage of cases from outdoor activities really struck a chord with people.
    I was expecting quite a robust defence of the nonsense outdoor restrictions, instead we got some incoherent bleating about changing rooms and other such drivel.

Agreed could have started much sooner.

Your point on striking a cord I dunno . One day of faux outrage on the media and a lot of real rage on hear and from friends and family then silence. Nothing last few days.

Very week from GAA, FAI and all other organisations with amateur parts to it. They should be in the papers, radio etc. every day hammering this **** home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Kivaro wrote: »
    "Variants can overcome vaccines". That was the pronouncement from the presenter on RTE1 Morning Ireland this morning. There was a man (unsure who he was) interviewed about a wind farm off the coast of Clare and the conversation got around to his comments on how these Covid restrictions specific to Ireland were devastating the area. He said that Ireland was unique in the whole of Europe with our restrictions since March of last year, but then the RTE presenter interrupted him to make her scientific and medical views known to the Irish audience with her definitive statement about variants overcoming vaccines.

Even with all the good news and progress going on these last few days, RTE is doing their utmost to demoralise the Irish nation and inject further scaremongering in order to counter the positive news. Shame on them.

I've noticed this a lot lately. RTE presenters giving their supposedly definitive statements about restrictions and variants. I would not be surprised if they have been given a directive to do so by the DG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

nearly 6 months of Level 5 lockdown, 13 people admitted to hospital yesterday, the vulnerable are vaccinated, the curve has been flattened months ago and still NPHET are ruling the country with caution and fear saying lockdown should remain, do they care care about the younger generation or other issues :-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/we-re-not-there-yet-nphet-warns-against-further-easing-of-covid-restrictions-1.4532494?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fwe-re-not-there-yet-nphet-warns-against-further-easing-of-covid-restrictions-1.4532494

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

I didn’t realise until this morning that any business selling kids shoes is still in breach of COVID guidelines as no legislation was changed to reflect this.

Bonkers, country is bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    And yet, they ARE controlling their populations to an unprecedented degree - this isn't a conspiracy theory

The conspiracy I was referring to was that there is some kind of ulterior motive beyond limiting the spread of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

the kelt wrote: »
    I didn’t realise until this morning that any business selling kids shoes is still in breach of COVID guidelines as no legislation was changed to reflect this.

Bonkers, country is bonkers.

The laughing stock of the globe

It’s a complete embarrassment

The embarrassment will continue when we have the begging cap on in a few months looking for bail outs form the EU to keep basic services funded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 VeryWise

From the examiner today....

“More than half of all babies did not receive a crucial development health check due before they turned one due to the pandemic.

Public health nurse visits and important screening checks have been curtailed and delayed as a result of restrictions — and the HSE cannot say when full services will resume.

The HSE has confirmed over 28,172 infants reaching 10 months had their child development health screening on time or before reaching 12 months of age last year. An average of 60,000 babies are born here every year.”

There is something fundamentally wrong in our society if we think this is ok. We still have the opposition looking for more ridiculous restrictions like MHQ of vaccinated travellers.

I have thought so many times in the past year, ok this is so obviously ridiculous that it will not persist but it just never seems to happen. There needs to be real accountability for politicians, hse officials, NPHET and celebrity doctors that cancelled cancer screenings and child development screenings. It is just scandalous and immoral.

arccosh wrote: »
    1) good work on linking something behind a pay wall
    2) maybe read the lot before dropping sensationalist assumptions

it actually has on the splash page "UK businesses consulted on prolonged social distancing in offices"

which is common sense to be fair....

is this new? for some yes. However, in some critical infrastructure this has been common practice for decades... in my place if we're hit by a bad flu or cold bout we go into split shifts, reduced office numbers and have increased hygiene awareness .... pretty much what this article is proposing... and this was looonngg before COVID...

Sorry, didn't realise it was behind a paywall. I was able to read it for some reason.

But the article also talks about masks being worn and Perspex screens used. It would transform the workplace.

The point is we keep hearing about how the UK is to remove all restrictions in June. It looks like some will remain, however.

Do you think they are laughing at us in Brazil?

Dying in line: Brazil's crunch for COVID-19 intensive care beds
    Across the country there are over 6,000 people waiting for an ICU bed, according to government data. In 15 of Brazil’s 26 states, ICU capacity is at or above 90% full, as the country’s P1 variant fuels a second wave far deadlier than the first.

Even in Sao Paulo, Brazil’s wealthiest state with a sophisticated public hospital network, scores are dying in line for intensive care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

big syke wrote: »
    Agreed could have started much sooner.

Your point on striking a cord I dunno . One day of faux outrage on the media and a lot of real rage on hear and from friends and family then silence. Nothing last few days.

Very week from GAA, FAI and all other organisations with amateur parts to it. They should be in the papers, radio etc. every day hammering this **** home.

My feeling is that quite a lot of people are ignoring restrictions now.
    Teams are definitely doing bits of training in small pod and kids seem to be playing together freely. People meeting freely outdoors as well. Going for a few jars with a few lads myself for the Grand National tomorrow evening.

robbiezero wrote: »
    My feeling is that quite a lot of people are ignoring restrictions now.
    Teams are definitely doing bits of training in small pod and kids seem to be playing together freely. People meeting freely outdoors as well. Going for a few jars with a few lads myself for the Grand National tomorrow evening.

Ye agrees but the majority of amateur teams are absolutely not training in an any way. Its madness but again as I said some of the most powerful lobbying groups (GAA, FAI) are mute.

Enjoy your pints I imagine it's well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Who exactly is laughing at us? I'm talking specifically here, not just a one word response like "everyone".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭CapriciousOne

Hyperbole much?

VonLuck wrote: »
    Who exactly is laughing at us? I'm talking specifically here, not just a one word response like "everyone".

The French?
    France reports 5,705 people in intensive care units with COVID-19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

Boggles wrote: »
    Do you think they are laughing at us in Brazil?

Dying in line: Brazil's crunch for COVID-19 intensive care beds

shhh... just think of Sweden and it'll all go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

thebaz wrote: »
    nearly 6 months of Level 5 lockdown, 13 people admitted to hospital yesterday, the vulnerable are vaccinated, the curve has been flattened months ago and still NPHET are ruling the country with caution and fear saying lockdown should remain, do they care care about the younger generation or other issues :-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/we-re-not-there-yet-nphet-warns-against-further-easing-of-covid-restrictions-1.4532494?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fwe-re-not-there-yet-nphet-warns-against-further-easing-of-covid-restrictions-1.4532494

No, and it's not their job to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

VonLuck wrote: »
    The conspiracy I was referring to was that there is some kind of ulterior motive beyond limiting the spread of covid.

I would guess 95% of posters are suggesting that the governments handling is inept, overly cautious, and cowardly. I don't think anyone is suggesting that MM is smart enough to qualify as a 'lizard people'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

According to boggles there is only two choices, complete lockdown or massive death. No way of changing our restrictions or the entire system will collapse. Maybe I'm wronging you boggles, maybe you agree that there is at least one restriction we could change without a massive amount of dead people in hospitals?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    No, and it's not their job to.

So Covid is the only medical issue that matters in Ireland today???

We have flattened the curve, it is NPHETS responsibility to care for the overall holistic health of Ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Parachutes wrote: »
    The gaslighting again :rolleyes:

Going 5km for exercise and only leaving the house so you don’t die is being locked up. Even prisoners get exercise time.

Comparing it with prison? Gaslighting?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

We have flattened the curve, it is NPHETS responsibility to care for the overall holistic health of Ireland too.

Have you or any of the others ever considered why Ronan Glynn made the point about cancelled appointments and elective procedures?

Because if they went ahead in the middle of Level 5 lockdown while 2 thousand people were in hospital with the virus, then what possibly could have happened?

The reason for getting hospital numbers as low as possible is so they can reopen these elective procedures but you and others can't think for yourselves and just look at numbers and point fingers, without actually thinking what the problem is.

That's why the morons who talk about 'just do whatever you want', 'fair play to those people meeting up', 'fair play for getting on with their lives' etc are the same people who don't actually realise the potential damage a surge has on the hospital and wider health system, because these appointments and procedures are cancelled to stop it getting even worse.

It actually baffles how short-sighted some people are and that they are incapable of actually critically analysing anything. They'll just read a bunch of nonsense in an article or on the internet and shout and point fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

How so?

They are a task force set up when a public health emergency dictates it. Their sole reason for existence is Covid-19, the fact that they should be part of a larger group of advisors with experts on finance, economic recovery and mental health is a government failing. Nphet are doing the one thing they're set up for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

JMNolan wrote: »
    According to boggles there is only two choices, complete lockdown or massive death. No way of changing our restrictions or the entire system will collapse. Maybe I'm wronging you boggles, maybe you agree that there is at least one restriction we could change without a massive amount of dead people in hospitals?

Whatever the government announced he agrees with

JMNolan wrote: »

I don't really know what you are doing TBH.

It appears a figment of your imagination just made into print form on here.

Anyway I think people need to relax a small bit and stop inventing scenarios, like the "globe is laughing at us" and other such nonsense.

Schools are going back in full Monday since December, I think we can all agree that is a positive, April and May will see other things open up in line with vaccination program which relative to distribution is actually more ambitious than the UK.

The stay at home recommendation is being lifted Monday - which has been the major issue especially on this thread, but since that announcement the moaning has hopped onto other targets.

Restrictions being lifted, far less people getting sick and a vaccination program escalating.

Far from the globe laughing at us, I think there is a fair amount of countries that would snap your hand off for our position right now.

Nah. We're not.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Faugheen wrote: »
    Have you or any of the others ever considered why Ronan Glynn made the point about cancelled appointments and elective procedures?

Because if they went ahead in the middle of Level 5 lockdown while 2 thousand people were in hospital with the virus, then what possibly could have happened?

Were we not told 12 months ago the idea of lockdown was to flatten the curve , so medical services would not be over-run - we did that , looking at our hospital figures today they look pretty good, the vulnerable are now vaccinated ,should we not be lookingt at loosening lockdown instead of spreading more fear to an already of over-anxious and depressed population. ?

Boggles wrote: »
    I don't really know what you are doing TBH.

It appears a figment of your imagination just made into print form on here.

Anyway I think people need to relax a small bit and stop inventing scenarios, like the "globe is laughing at us" and other such nonsense.

Schools are going back in full Monday since December, I think we can all agree that is a positive, April and May will see other things open up in line with vaccination program which relative to distribution is actually more ambitious than the UK.

The stay at home recommendation is being lifted Monday - which has been the major issue especially on this thread, but since that announcement the moaning has hopped onto other targets.

Restrictions being lifted, far less people getting sick and a vaccination program escalating.

Far from the globe laughing at us, I think there is a fair amount of countries that would snap your hand off for our position right now.

Ye this whole globe laughing at us is ridiculous. I think a more apt phrase it is "a lot of countries are not jealous of our restrictions".

In regards to your comments about moving targets I think most on here have been consistent in their views about the need for sports, click and collect and outdoor dining to be allowed. And have been "moaning" about that.

Nope.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    How so?

They are a task force set up when a public health emergency dictates it. Their sole reason for existence is Covid-19, the fact that they should be part of a larger group of advisors with experts on finance, economic recovery and mental health is a government failing. Nphet are doing the one thing they're set up for.

Well I would have assumed (and hoped) they would work with HSE in ensuring what is best for overall health of country, along with ther mandate to control COVID.